According to news reports.
Printable View
According to news reports.
I don't know if the last rites thing was ever confirmed but it seems he is gravely ill and apparently has hours to days left. He reportedly has suffered a heart failure, has breathing problems, can't swallow due to Parkinsons and has a urinary tract infection and no this is not a tasteless April's Fools.
He's the only pope i've known so it is like the end of an era.
Sad day.
Yeah, it does indeed look inevitable now. He has septic shock apparently he can only have 48 hours maximum.
A very very sad day :(Quote:
Originally Posted by harry crumb
It is a sad day but I feel it will mean more to the older community and the devout Catholics than it will my generation.
Thread split. One more disrespectful comment in this thread will result in a permanant ban. Who the pope is has nothing to do with it, he's a human being that's very ill at the moment, possibly about to die. Have a little respect, you animals.
Quote:
Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse
I think that is a very true statement. Where any of yous one of the kids brought out to see the Pope when he was here in Ireland in 1978 ?
The year or 2 below me in school had loads of John Pauls i wonder why ? ;)
yes I agree with you, Its a sad day and I'll be morning his death, not hoping for a day off work like certain people but sure each to their own..Quote:
Originally Posted by Roo69
Just hope they show him the respect he deserves even if they don't follow the Catholic church a man is on his death bed and its nothing to joke about IMO.. :(
Fair play to you dahamsta some people have no respect what so ever
I don't think so. But then again you'd never know.Quote:
Originally Posted by millwallfc
millwallfc banned permanently from Foot.ie. That's my fourth ban today, anyone else want to try me?
pronane banned permanently from Foot.ie. I've been looking forward to that one for a while. Next?
That was coming in fairness if not for his spelling alone :D
I don't know if i get a say as a non-practiser but seems a bit sad that Pole hasn't "retired" yet & only way can step down is by dying.
i agree with ya, he should have had his feet up and enjoying his retirement ages ago
religion is a private matter for most people. i think a national day off work for it would be too much
The Pope has been defined as one of the most influential men of the 20th Century, mainly because of his role as an opponent of Soviet Communism in the 1980s and his role as a focal figure in the collapse of the Soviet Empire.
It's not just about religion. Even if we're not religious, it's sad that someone who spoke up for the poor and the oppressed should be slipping away.
I'm not a Catholic.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pete
As far as Im aware other Popes have in fact abdicated/retired, and there is talk of introducing a retirement age for the next Pope, like they have done with Bishops.
The pope's view on retirement is I think to quote him 'Jesus did not come down from the cross'. In respect of the suffering of Christ in the crucifiction I think he sees himself as being able to do no less in the service of his followers.
My dad said on previous occassions when the pope died that all TV and radio programming would cease and they would just play sombre music annoucing his death every now and then, I don't see that happening this time.
just said on the news that the pope is in his final hours, Sky Italia Television said the Pope had lost consciousness but there was no independent confirmation.
According to TV3, he's just died.