http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage...merick-FC.html
Headline on every paper all over Europe what must pat o Sullivan be thinking the effort that was put into this event gutted for him city will prob never come near us again. THoughts?
Printable View
http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage...merick-FC.html
Headline on every paper all over Europe what must pat o Sullivan be thinking the effort that was put into this event gutted for him city will prob never come near us again. THoughts?
Is it very embarrassing? Yes of course. Should the club do all they can to identify the idiot(s)? Yes of course. Should the club make it known that they will do all they can to identify the idiot(s)? Yes of course. But.....
with statements like 'headline on every paper all over Europe' and 'the city will prob never come near us again', the winner for the award for overstatement goes to.....thomas72.
http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/
Not a headline in Irish Times sports section online.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/
Same for the Indo.
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/
Same for the Examiner.
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/
Same for the Herald.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football
Same for the Guardian.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...rick-game.html
Daily Mail has it as a headline, with quotes from Limerick about taking action and informing police.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/
No mention in the Telegraph.
http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/
No headline in the UK Independent.
Now, I'm not too confident in my foreign languages so I might be proven mistaken, but...
http://www.spiegel.de/sport/
As far as I can see, nothing in Der Spiegel.
http://www.gazzetta.it/
Can't see anything on Gazzetta dello sport.
http://www.lemonde.fr/football/
Same for Le Monde.
It clearly is an overstatement to say that it is a headline in every newspaper in Europe. We can acknowledge that it is a serious problem for the club without overstating the problem.
Once the lads are handed to the guards and named and shamed there is nothing more the club can do.
The idiot/s probably never seen a live game before in their lives.
Sorry I should of saying it will be reported in French newspaper prob tomorrow since the game was last night and players Tweet was late its big news more so since the player himself is talking about it and what's currently going on with john terry etc put on the blinkers all you want.
Not that I doubt the malevolent capacity of one of our home grown chavs (who probably listens to Chris Browne and Snoopy Dog on his stolen iphone sans headphones on public transport) to pull such a stunt but I'm reading elsewhere that the culprit is Polish.
It's on sky sports news now top headline yellow ticker sad sad ****
Just saw it on Sky Sports - what a disaster. So much good ruined by a numbskull.
...RTE radio news in on it now. Oh I shudder to think what Joe Duffys herd of Marys in Clontarf are going to make of this in half an hour.
Totally disgusted when I heard about this. The club has said all that it can, but the bad impression, for the club and the city, is made. Don't hold your breath for many more big friendlies in Thomand in the near future.
why was it possible to walk around outside the ground drinking cans/bottles that were cleary not sold in the stadium?
It was on Twitter just after it happened last night. Somebody was on blaming all Lim's scum for the trouble. Somebody who was at the match replied that it was 2 idiots who were involved. Supposedly they were then thrown out in the second half.
The top right of this pic is the section where it was thrown from
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?s...type=3&theater
I don't know whether It would have prevented this incident or not, but I still cannot believe that they were not searching and frisking fans going into the ground.
Ya bananas, weapons, any offensive material. A friend of mine was saying at the match, that at the Euros everyone was searched, sometimes twice. Having said that I still remember seeing loads of flares at the Croatia game. All im saying is that I think it was crazy not searching people before the game and you can be sure this wont be the case if there is a friendly on in Thomond again.