If I may play devils advocate on the whole Delaney/Monaghan/Oireland thing.
First off, let me start by saying I have no time whatsoever for John Delaney. The very nicest thing I could say about him is that he is a shrewdish politician.
The actions of the FAI (lets face it John Delaney) towards my own club Limerick and our chairman Pat O'Sullivan ever since the Barcelona farce have been nothing short of a disgrace.
Also, I'm not for a second suggesting that when John Delaney and the FAI do act the maggot it shouldn't be highlighted and highlighted vigourously.
However......
The recent wailing and knashing of teeth around Monaghan dying and the general state of the league has got me thinking.
Did the FAI not take over the league in the late 90s because of the absolute shambles the clubs were making of it??
Have the clubs as a whole gotten any better at running their own affairs?? Forget about the FAI. Just doing their own business properly.
Would it be fair to say that most clubs are still ran by (often well meaning and hard working, don't get me wrong) gobdaws??
If the clubs were being competently ran could they not go out on their own in the morning to the sound of popping champagne corks in Abbotstown??
Is it not now a fact, plain for all to see, that many clubs have been poorly ran to the extent that they are now bought and paid for by John Delaney/The FAI.
Take all the wailing about the Drogheda United board in the wake of the banners and chanting the other night. Don't get me wrong bannings would be ridiculously harsh (I'd be interested to hear if they actually happen) but if you think about it for a split second what way would you expect the Drogheda board to react?? Cast your mind back a little over twelve months to the Claret and Blue launch and Johns help and personal wedge from his expense account.
Bought and paid for by the FAI.
And the situation is the same the length and breadth of the league. Clubs in thrall to John Delaney because they've either needed a dig out at some stage or they are in such poor shape themselves that a dig out could be just around the corner and as such they are afraid of their lives of upsetting him.
This isn't John Delaneys fault. He's taking advantage of the situation. But the situation is nowhere near entirely of his own making.
LoI clubs for the most part are tiny, emasculated, shells incapable of even beginning to think of standing on their own two feet. Just hanging on in their day to day, not rocking the boat in the hope that if (when!!) the bad times come they'll be thrown a few crumbs from the top table, like medieval serfs bowing and scraping around their lord.
And what good does it do them in the medium term??
Look at Galway United.
Noel Mooneys (lord preserve us, he's over in Geneva now) model club. Lorded as everything a provincial club could be. A couple of years later, they've a ****** made of the whole thing, the poor fool fans pick it up, try and run with it and look for a bit of help. Where has all the arse kissing and model club nonsense got them?? Wait they're not needed anymore. So they are shafted. And make no mistake, when gust get back in next year, it'll be on John and Eamons terms.
Look at Monaghan United.
Tiny club with a few loyal volunteers. One of the FAI/JD's top cheerleaders in the past. Trawl back through the threads on here if you don't believe me. That was until the season before last when they were shafted out of a Premier spot by Galway being kept up. The warning signs were there at this stage. Fast forward just over a year to the first signs of serious trouble. Where has all the arse kissing got them?? Don't let the door hit ye on the way out lads. And why this attitude?? Because the FAI/JD have complete and utter power due to the weakness of the clubs and a diddly little junior club with no fans in the middle of nowhere was not part of the grand plan.
Compare the attitude to the troubles in Monaghan with the attitude to the troubles in Dundalk where there's Trap nights and a Chelsea xi and lions and tigers and bears oh my!
Why the difference?? Because the FAI/JD have been allowed to be all powerful by the shambolic clubs and while the FAI/JD like the sound of a Dundalk they have neither a want nor need for a Monaghan.
I was chatting hypotheticals with a mate the other night and we were saying supposing the clubs took back power in the morning and ran affairs themselves what radical changes could they make for the better.
We suggested two things. (We weren't thinking particularly deeply!) A wage cap and an under 23 reserve league which could also act a viechele for promotion and relegation to a 12, 14 or 16 team top tier.
And even as we suggested these two things we were shooting them down.
Why??
Because if you tried to enforce a wage cap you'd have gobdaw boards paying cash under the table.
And if you tried to set up an u-23 Reserves league you'd have gobdaw boards complaining about the costs involved with fielding a reserve team while they paid cash under the table in the top flight.
This is still the league of ireland in the year of our lord 2012.
Is the situation I've outlined above entirely the fault of John Delaney and the FAI??
My point in summary if I have one is as follows:
Lads, if massive efforts are to be made, instead of whinging about John Delaney and organising meetings to synchronise mass whinging, these efforts would be far, far better directed at helping your own clubs, improving their structures, improving your facilities, getting involved in whatever your boards ask or getting involved in getting rid of your own boards if they're not up to it. Put the effort not into navel gazing and nashing of teeth but into strengthening andrebuilding so that one day the clubs might again be able to stand on thier own two feet.
Would getting rid of John Delaney help the situation?? Undoubtedly yes in my opinion.
But make no mistake, with the way the league is headed, celebrating in the aftermath of getting rid of Delaney would be the equivalent of celebrating getting the bullet lodged in your brain removed while there's still a massive harpoon stuck in your chest.
Anyway, sorry for the big long polemic. I'm just trying to get some honest discussion going.
So.
Discuss the issues. :)