I heard on Sky Sports News the other night. "And he took full advantage of the new offside rule to slot the ball past the keeper" Did I miss something, what is this new rule? :confused:
Printable View
I heard on Sky Sports News the other night. "And he took full advantage of the new offside rule to slot the ball past the keeper" Did I miss something, what is this new rule? :confused:
This seems to be a reference to the guidelines from last season
http://worldsoccer.about.com/b/a/038626.htm
No new rules concerning offside were introduced this season
http://www.fifa.com/en/regulations/r...1584,3,00.html
One interesting proposal that we're familiar with from Rugby was rejected though:
"The IFAB chose to reject proposals to increase the maximum length of the half-time interval from 15 to 20 minutes and to advance free kicks by 9.15 metres if a player from the penalised team fails to retreat the required distance or prevents the free kick from being taken."
Might not have been such a bad idea though....?
So say the free kick is from about 12 menter out..........Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry Tipper
'Right! Up in the stands with ye!!'
:D :D :D
also; .15 what's that all about ya reckon? "Hang on a sec lads i'll just craic out me tape measure"
Good to have you aboard Harry but I have to ask....why Norway? ;)
:rolleyes:Quote:
So ten yards, so? Damn Europeans!
What about video referees then as in rugby? For penalty and other goal decisions (offsides etc)??
Why Norway?
I ask myself the same question everyday between November and March each year. It's a roller-coaster tale of a fair-haired woman, a starry-eyed Paddy and copious amounts of alcohol. And eh.. yes a Volvo. I apologise.
This sounds good but the main worry is slowing down the game-though at the expense of a fair result slowing it down seems mild-we've all heard the 'it's part of the game' but it still sucks getting cheated out of a match especially Cup finals (Celtic) and World Cup knock-out matches (Spain) :(Quote:
lol sounds fun :D no worries mate!Quote:
The 'experts' on the TV don't waste any time deciding if the refs made a mistake or not! Fair point though. Personally I think that the way it is now 4 'human' officials is an importan characteristic of the game. If you hang around football long enough you're going to come out quits in the end. We've had a few important decisions go our way too through the years.