Waterford's 'A' Licence...
Waterford United have been awarded an 'A' licence after meeting 4 (financial, legal, sporting, administrative) of the criteria. They failed on Infrastructure and this means that if they qualify for Europe they will have to play their games at a licenced ground.
Does this mean we could get an A licence as we - as far as i mind from the AGM - met these 4 criteria as well??
See here for Soccercentral's article on the story.
Also, see here for the FAI's response
Jaysus, every club should apply now. :rolleyes:
The FAI have managed to destroy the one mechanism
that would have saved our league.The only way you are supposed to get an "A" Licence is to have passed all 5 criteria and as of next year you have to have an "A" Licence to compete in the Premier league never mind Europe.
Does this mean Longford and Waterford will have to play their games in different grounds next season and surely Pats couldnt have passed on infrastructure so where do they play.
The whole livencing system is now held up to ridicule and clubs like ourselves and Derry who actually took the thing seriously are looking like fools but the lose in the long run will be the eircom league which has been kicked to death by the bully boys and gangsters of Merrion Square.
Before ye start gloating lads tell me one thing this week has done that will improve standards on and more especially off the field for el soccer.
The state of what ground Macy
We were waiting until we had all the work done to reapply as those were the guidelines (we will be ready in abou a month) but obviously someone moved the goalposts.
Also if one end of your ground is so dangerous after being only built 3 years ago what about the rest of the seated area.Im afraid Macy you will be hearing from me and others for quite a while as this story is going to get a lot more coverage in the next week.