Rovers game Vs UCD on Monday has been postponed, Too bad we couldnt get this when we had to come back from Russia and play a game a few days later, Too bad Dndalk or Fingal didnt get the luxury either, Enjoy the League title its been handed to youse
Printable View
Rovers game Vs UCD on Monday has been postponed, Too bad we couldnt get this when we had to come back from Russia and play a game a few days later, Too bad Dndalk or Fingal didnt get the luxury either, Enjoy the League title its been handed to youse
Thats the right decision made, just ridiculous that it couldn't have been done for other clubs previously. Fair play to UCD too for agreeing to it. Also makes a mockery of the FAIs press statement saying that they did everything they could for Foster/Dundalk.
Thats exactly it Jicked, If everyone had of got the same treatment it would have been no problem but it just seems to be Rovers, Now if its a case that Fingal and Dundalk asked but the teams they were playing said no then i will hold my hands up and say fair play UCD (but really really f*cking ****ed with them)
I'd think it's more to do with the FAIs love of a junket rather than Rovers. If we got through and were playing a Latvian team I wouldn't have expected this, but John Delaney wont want to be shown up in front of those lovely Italian Federation lads he met last year
Key bit in bold. If UCD had said no we would have been told to do one. The same option was open to Dundalk, Fingal and Bohs to request to postpone a league game if the other club agreed to it. A big thanks to UCD on this, nice to see one club helping out another for a change.Quote:
Following a request from Shamrock Rovers and with the agreement of U.C.D., the above Airtricity League Premier Division League fixture has been postponed in order to facilitate Shamrock Rovers with their UEFA Europa League tie v Juventus.
I could be wrong but did Pats not get some games postponed to help in some of their great European runs. I seem to vaguely rememebr they were but tbh can't give any specifics.
This far from hands Rovers the league, if anything it makes it harder for them to win. The only thing the FAI could have done to help Dundalk is permanently banned the physio from management.
Very suprised UCD agreed to this.
They have nothing to gain from Shams playing in Europe, except for the timing and the the possibility of 3 points from that game, when players minds could have been on the Juve game.
If my club done it and we were fighting for points like UCD are (which we are), id be ragin.
Its not a simple, "will you agree to this" type question. If they say no, they **** off the fai and no club wants that. Not starting another conspiracy thread but we all know it happens.
EDIT; and this isn't to suggest that UCD weren't happy to do it. They may well have been.
UCD could be looking at their home match against Galway 4 days later considering that 3 points in the Galway game would give them a 10 point cushion from Galway and the play-off zone. On the grand scale of things the Galway match is more important to them and Rovers/Juve situation presents them with an opportunity to keep themselves fresh for the Galway match.
What's the problem now?Quote:
Originally Posted by PartySaint
This in late July, is our first postponement of the season. Most other clubs in the league have had games postponed this year due to waterlogged pitches, floodlight failures, Setanta Crap games, or other reasons. Our first home game this year had to be postponed because of Setanta Crap fixtures. It's been us and 2 others who have played a full schedule to date. This postponement wipes out the game in hand advantage other clubs had over us. I don't agree with it, but it's perfectly understandable.
I'd imagine we would have gone to UCD with a request, and then could use the FAI to twist their arm if they didn't initially go for the idea. I'm not sure if any arm twisting was needed. The League of Ireland will be better for having more teams playing in Europe and playing as well as they can.
UCD wouldn't be guaranteed 3 points by playing us on Monday, and we wont be guaranteed 3 by playing them later on (in the middle of fixture pile up due to Europe/League Cup/FAI Cup) so its a sensible decision all round.
Jesus, UCD will never win anything if they keep being so nice.