View Full Version : What's up with Derry TV?
29/08/2008, 9:12 AM
I see TG4 is to show four matches over the next few weeks, three of them featuring Derry City, two of those being matches against Cork.
Who schedules these, and can someone tell them that, fascinating as they may be, people in Derry don't even pay a licence?
... beginning with the visit of Derry City to Turner’s Cross on September 5th for the eircom League of Ireland Premier Division fixture between the Candystripes and Cork City.
The following weekend will see a TG4 double-bill, with two FAI Ford Cup Quarter Finals broadcast live on the channel. The cameras will be in Terryland Park for the Galway United v Bray Wanderers fixture on September 12th, with the Cork City v Derry City Quarter Final broadcast live the following evening.
Derry City will again be the focus of attention on September 19th when TG4 screen the visit of Drogheda United to the Brandywell Stadium.
Duggie
29/08/2008, 9:14 AM
i know its an irish station but would it not be better to do the games in english ? does me head in at times esp that tosser that presents it before the game starts. how did he get on tv.
el punter
29/08/2008, 9:16 AM
I'd rather watch a 4th Derry game than Galway v Bray I think.
You're right about the presenter, hasn't a clue about football...and everyone he interviews seems to know that. Can't agree with you on the choice of language for the commentary though. It would entirely defeat the purpose.
29/08/2008, 9:26 AM
Your man Richie is an awful eejit. Did anyone see Henderson putting him in his place last week?
Richie: "You got a late one there."
Hendo: "Well observed. Good man."
29/08/2008, 9:35 AM
I see TG4 is to show four matches over the next few weeks, three of them featuring Derry City, two of those being matches against Cork.
Who schedules these, and can someone tell them that, fascinating as they may be, people in Derry don't even pay a licence?Its probably part of the reparations from a big club's fans wrecking a pub in the city last year...
In any case,
1) TG4 broadcast in the North and their advertising revenue is based on this.
2) The Cork League match was scheduled in advance and the Cup QF is the tie of the round. 2006 champions vs 2007 champions. Its the tie neutrals probably want to watch.
If my team were top of the League I'm not sure this is what I'd be worried about.
29/08/2008, 12:48 PM
how did he get on tv.
Because he has a good enough command of the language to blather on like a telly pundit does.
Duggie
29/08/2008, 1:01 PM
Because he has a good enough command of the language to blather on like a telly pundit does.
ya he blathers on alright and on and on and on and on....thats the problem.
29/08/2008, 1:06 PM
I'd rather watch a 4th Derry game than Galway v Bray I think.
A curse upon your house, its seldom were on in fairness.
Duggie
29/08/2008, 1:21 PM
no offense but watching bray - id sooner see richie....:D
el punter
29/08/2008, 1:59 PM
No problem with Na Fanaithe being on the box.....but not away to Galway zzzzz
29/08/2008, 2:50 PM
no offense but watching bray - id sooner see richie....:D
I don't know what you're getting so uppity about. Sligo were shown against Galway and Rovers and both matches were poor.
29/08/2008, 3:09 PM
If my team were top of the League I'm not sure this is what I'd be worried about.
In this case, mine is a more global concern. It's good when one can afford to look beyond one's own interests.
dortie
31/08/2008, 8:15 PM
people in Derry don't even pay a licence?
Just think.... all those extra licence payments you might have had....if only there were less citizens with the same jackeen mentality like you about after the rising.
dcfc1928
31/08/2008, 11:16 PM
Who schedules these, and can someone tell them that, fascinating as they may be, people in Derry don't even pay a licence?
Really pathetic attitude!
31/08/2008, 11:34 PM
Just think.... all those extra licence payments you might have had....if only there were less citizens with the same jackeen mentality like you about after the rising.
Yeah, its pretty much the same thing...
dortie
01/09/2008, 8:17 AM
Yeah, its pretty much the same thing...
Cracker !
01/09/2008, 8:26 AM
if only there were less citizens with the same jackeen mentality like you about after the rising.
Sounds like the seventies again. Why don't you just let it all out and call me a Free Stater? :D
I suppose if you want to pay your licence fee so that RTE can spend it on EPL and on your club, then there's noting stopping you. Certainly not as onerous as staging an insurrection.
dortie
01/09/2008, 8:36 AM
Sounds like the seventies again. Why don't you just let it all out and call me a Free Stater? :D
I suppose if you want to pay your licence fee so that RTE can spend it on EPL and on your club, then there's noting stopping you. Certainly not as onerous as staging an insurrection.
I pay for Sky with Great British Pounds, which entitles me to RTE etc, shock horror ! Looks like RTE are losing out with potential licence payments this way...maybe you should let them know !!
Was only born in the 70s myself so not 100% what it 'sounded like'...i can tell you what it sounds like in Derry 08 though ?
01/09/2008, 9:02 AM
I pay for Sky with Great British Pounds, which entitles me to RTE etc, shock horror ! Looks like RTE are losing out with potential licence payments this way...maybe you should let them know !!
Was only born in the 70s myself so not 100% what it 'sounded like'...i can tell you what it sounds like in Derry 08 though ?
You've already demonstrated, thanks... cant, hypocrisy, self-righteousnes and a lot of drums... hasn't changed a lot, although now we can tune in to TG4/Derry TV if we want more.
Interesting that you consider that you retain your consumer rights above those in Bray etc. in respect of our unworthy Free State television courtesy of Rupert Murdoch and, as you put it, the Great British Pound.
dortie
01/09/2008, 9:42 AM
You've already demonstrated, thanks... cant, hypocrisy, self-righteousnes and and a lot of drums... hasn't changed a lot, although now we can tune in to TG4/Derry TV if we want more.
Interesting that you consider that you retain your consumer rights above those in Bray etc. in respect of our unworthy Free State television courtesy of Rupert Murdoch and, as you put it, the Great British Pound.
Not into drums myself, actually despise them whether they belong to Loyalists or Derry fans.
TG4/Derry TV...get over it.
In regards to retaining my consumer rights above those in Bray. Unfortunately i have no other option due to my geographical position. Lets not go into that one.
Seriously lads, relax on the political stuff.
01/09/2008, 11:08 AM
Happy to leave out the politics. But I would like to see a reasoned justification for the disproportionate coverage of Derry City on TG4.
boovidge
01/09/2008, 11:22 AM
The way TG4 translates the club names really annoys me for some reason. I don't mind the commentary being in Irish, just good to see the league getting some coverage
JC_GUFC
01/09/2008, 11:28 AM
Happy to leave out the politics. But I would like to see a reasoned justification for the disproportionate coverage of Derry City on TG4.
How about looking at the fixture list and finding more competitive games?
I'd be pretty sure that they decided to show the Cork v Derry league game before Cork had the points deducted and so like the Derry v Drogheda game it was a big game with regards European qualification.
The 2 cup games they've chosen are clearly the best ones.
01/09/2008, 11:42 AM
If we're talking league games, they've been on (or are scheduled to be on) TG4 3 times. 1 more than Bohs. Hardly something of ridiculous proportions
The Cup tie is obviously the tie of the round and is rightly being covered
01/09/2008, 12:20 PM
I would like to see a reasoned justification for the disproportionate coverage of Derry City on TG4.
Which match(es) do you think should not be shown? Which should be dropped to make the coverage proportionate?
01/09/2008, 12:26 PM
Oh and for the record here's a breakdown on Club's appearance on TG4 in the league and cup (played and announced)
Derry City 4
Cork City 3
Bray Wanderers 2
Bohemians 2
Drogheda United 2
Shamrock Rovers 2
Galway United 2
Sligo Rovers 2
Cobh Ramblers 1
Finn Harps 1
UCD 0
St Patrick's Athletic 0
people in Derry don't even pay a licence?That's a bit of a lame argument in fairness; people in Derry don't even pay for the UK licence!
On the other hand I do pay for my TV licence, unlike lots of Dubs.
sligored
01/09/2008, 12:38 PM
Oh and for the record here's a breakdown on Club's appearance on TG4 in the league and cup (played and announced)
Derry City 4
Cork City 3
Bray Wanderers 2
Bohemians 2
Drogheda United 2
Shamrock Rovers 2
Galway United 2
Sligo Rovers 1
Cobh Ramblers 1
Finn Harps 1
UCD 0
St Patrick's Athletic 0
sligo rovers have been on tg4 at least twice this season ie away to galway and shams. when you are giving facts dodge make sure they are accurate
01/09/2008, 12:42 PM
Balls, that was my fault, cuuting and pasting. Sorry. Sligo have two.
01/09/2008, 12:54 PM
For the record here's the running total of live TV appearances this season (all comps inc friendlies)
Pats 11 (10 on setanta!)
Drogs 10
Cork 10
Derry 10
Bohs 7
Rovers 6
Sligo 3
Galway 3
Bray 2
Cobh 2
Harps 2
UCD 0
Wexford from the first division will make their TV debut with the League Cup final. Could we see a premier division side go the season without being on TV?
01/09/2008, 1:50 PM
Which match(es) do you think should not be shown? Which should be dropped to make the coverage proportionate?
Non in particular. Just a fair spread. I'm not necessarily arguing for more Bohs matches either, BTW. It's more a matter of using the medium to reach the greater spread of people.
I think if the channel is going to make such a singular selection then it has to have a very strong reason for it.
I'd be flexible and drop either league match, since the cup ones probably can't be changed. I'd replace them with any from the top rung or any from the bottom. Every neutral likes a relegation dogfight. I'm not sure that many will be as enamoured of Derry as TG4's schedulers seem to think.
Why, do you think you have better audience data or sponsors feed back than them? Or are you still fighting the losing battle?
01/09/2008, 2:10 PM
Of course I don't. Do you think that they conduct forensic audience research to discover who wants to watch what eL team on a week-by-week basis?
But I am not making a case for showing Derry three times out of four games, twice against the same opposition. Just calling them Derry in one sentence in the press release and the Candystripes in the next sentence doesn't really cut it in terms of variation, which, as a general rule, is a good thing.
01/09/2008, 2:14 PM
Had they known then what they know now (Derry v Cork drawn in Cup and not directly in the title race) I'm sure they would've shown the Cup game and not the League one.
But they didn't, so they won't.
And I'm fairly sure you knew that.
Of course I don't. Do you think that they conduct forensic audience research to discover who wants to watch what eL team on a week-by-week basis?
No, but they get viewership figures (and usually pretty specific data). If they didn't think it was worthwhile, they wouldn't show them
Fairness has nothing to do with it
01/09/2008, 2:48 PM
I like TG4 coverage, and I'd be pretty well disposed to watching a game on it as a neutral. But I wouldn't watch three out of four with Derry in them. Who would, other than Derry fans?
garyderry
01/09/2008, 3:59 PM
I pay my F**KING Irish TV licience, as do a fair few in all over Ireland,
I would say there are more Derry fans paying for Irish TV liciences as there would be at a lot of EL clubs, its a pretty irrelevant arguement in the first place
and total bull**** if you actually knew where the club is physically located, were a lot of fans would be only a few miles from the ground and living in Donegal,
add to that a fair few fans living and working all over Ireland,
So what is your whinging about?
It happens all the time with different teams at different times.
01/09/2008, 5:11 PM
That's interesting. What percentage of Derry fans live in the Republic, would you say?
When was the last time three out of a series four games, on any channel in UK or Ireland, featured one mid-table team? Do you really not think that is extraordinary?
dortie
01/09/2008, 5:17 PM
featured one mid-table team? Do you really not think that is extraordinary?
Maybe they get higher viewing figures showing Derry? Maybe the boring atmosphere at Dalymount ? Who knows...
I heard more atmosphere/noise from the away Bohs fans at the last encounter in the Brandywell than i ever witnessed at Dalymount. But hey that was coming from the fans that are banned from their home games, maybe you should invite them back ?
sligored
01/09/2008, 5:47 PM
That's interesting. What percentage of Derry fans live in the Republic, would you say?
When was the last time three out of a series four games, on any channel in UK or Ireland, featured one mid-table team? Do you really not think that is extraordinary?
Sun 10 Aug - St Patrick's Athletic v Drogheda Utd Setanta 0-1
Sun 24 Aug - St Patrick's Athletic v Sligo Setanta Sports 1-0
Tue 26 Aug - Shamrock Rovers v Cork City Setanta Sports 3-0
Tue 2 Sep - Linfield v st pats setanta sports
is this comparable boh diddley
Pats aren't mid table though are they?
This is the biggest example of "mountain out of molehill" I've seen on here in a while. Which is saying something given the dramaqueens here
Burny89
01/09/2008, 10:07 PM
what a ****ing stupid thread. Boh diddley sort it out!
Candystripe
01/09/2008, 10:59 PM
With house prices in Derry sky roceting over the last decade, Derry people upped sticks and moved a mile or so into Donegal (Killea, Muff, Bridgend and Burnfoot) all within ten minutes of Derry city centre.
Most of them still use their grannies adresses so they still use Derry schools and health services. But most would pay a TV licence to the R.O.I. goverment coffers.
Hope this clears it up for you.
BTW Have you checked on how many times we'll be on Setanta in the next few weeks as well :D
02/09/2008, 8:53 AM
With house prices in Derry sky roceting over the last decade, Derry people upped sticks and moved a mile or so into Donegal (Killea, Muff, Bridgend and Burnfoot) all within ten minutes of Derry city centre.
Most of them still use their grannies adresses so they still use Derry schools and health services. But most would pay a TV licence to the R.O.I. goverment coffers.
Hope this clears it up for you.
BTW Have you checked on how many times we'll be on Setanta in the next few weeks as well :D
That's the trend, but surely the vast majority of Derry fans still live in NI.
Krstic
02/09/2008, 9:36 AM
Has the EL been reduced to 7 teams?
Considering we're 3rd in the league, I'd like to know how that makes us Mid-table.
And once Bohs go belly up and are deducted points we'll be second behind Pats.
dcfc1928
02/09/2008, 9:59 AM
Mid table?
Since when was third considered mid table in a twelve team league? (and only two points behind second at that)
As I said earlier this is a pathetic thread, BohDiddley, you're really clutching at straws now. Give it up ffs.
You don't want to watch Derry City on TG4, then don't! You can watch us on Setanta instead. :D
Seriously though, these things have a habit of evening themselves out over a season so in reality it's nothing to get your knickers in a twist over
02/09/2008, 10:27 AM
Hmm, I may have erred on the table positioning. In my head, Cork were still ahead -- forgot about the deduction. Let's amend that to third-placed in the league, 12 points off the leaders, going nowhere, and set to be trounced by a manager you sacked. Hardly a gimme for a scheduler. Thank you for your patience on that one.
On the thread quality, I must agree. I do think that the amount of discussion of this also has been disproportionate, but if you take out all of the posts that are completely irrelevant, or just Derry folk venting predictably, and for which I have no responsibility, it's rather shorter.
As to my original point, I'm well over it, but it still stands. ;)
02/09/2008, 11:06 AM
Hmm, I may have erred on the table positioning. In my head, Cork were still ahead -- forgot about the deduction. Let's amend that to third-placed in the league, 12 points off the leaders, going nowhere, and set to be trounced by a manager you sacked. Hardly a gimme for a scheduler. Thank you for your patience on that one.
On the thread quality, I must agree. I do think that the amount of discussion of this also has been disproportionate, but if you take out all of the posts that are completely irrelevant, or just Derry folk venting predictably, and for which I have no responsibility, it's rather shorter.
As to my original point, I'm well over it, but it still stands. ;)Yawn.
You've got two alternatives for your motives:
1) You troll, people respond (see bold). Its the internet.
2) You're so insecure that you can't handle the fact that your big club aren't permanently on the telly.
Either way, you don't look clever.