View Full Version : GUFC V. Cobh

Paddyfield
28/08/2008, 8:36 PM
I was in Cobh on Wednessday. There is a great deal of expectation about the game in the town. There are posters everywhere and the local media are demanding that the locals come out in force to support The Rams in this 6 pointer.

Ramblers must come up with a lot of cash this week to avoid trouble from the Revenue Comissioners. The need a big crowd to show the world that Cobh is good enough to sustain a club in the Premier Division.

Cobh have been a bogey team for United over the years and JK will have his work cut out for him.

Con-Con
28/08/2008, 9:08 PM
We need a win, I don't care how we get it, all we need is three points.

eamo1
28/08/2008, 10:40 PM
Its not a TOTAL must win game but its pretty close to it.As long as we do better then Harps,UCD for the next few weeks and then beat them when we play them.So with both of those having tough matches this weekend if we could win it would be huge.Cobh are the worst team in the division though and so surely if we play some decent stuff and actually shoot we should nick it.
1-0 or 2-1 to us.

Claret Murph
29/08/2008, 6:06 AM
I feel at ease about this game and a 2-0 win is on the cards with Jay having one of those games where he will run the defence all over the park .
Jay to score both goals also .

29/08/2008, 8:08 AM
we never get anything easy down there so all this talk of winning it easy is way overboard.If we play like we did against Derry we will get something probably a win but anything less than 100% commitment by everyone and we will end up losing this one.

corbyeire
29/08/2008, 9:56 AM
im hopeful for a torturous 1-0 win - awful tight game i reckon - provide we dont give our usual first 5 mins gift

Mr Maroon
30/08/2008, 7:59 PM
:( 2-0 down. Updates on www.galwayunitedfc.net (http://www.galwayunitedfc.net)

Mr Maroon
30/08/2008, 8:34 PM
4-1 loss

Maroon 7
30/08/2008, 8:42 PM
That's that anyway.:(

Patrick Dunne
30/08/2008, 8:45 PM
An insult to the supporters who travelled to Cobh.

Appalling rubbish.

pixiehead
30/08/2008, 8:46 PM
That's that anyway.:(

Ya, we can now look forward to another 5 years in the first division.
Dont anybody even think of saying otherwise

jeff24
30/08/2008, 8:57 PM
otherwise

eamo1
30/08/2008, 11:46 PM
Thats as poor a result as ive ever seen from the club.Even i may now utter the words "we are gone"(i know i just did).Its not technically over,4 points off from 9 games left but really you have to think how will the lads pick themselves up from this.Also with the games we have coming up too it looks like one more nail in the coffin.
Seemed to be a weird formation Jeff had out tonight or was it just the way MIKe Raf described it,was jorgensen playing wide right??Surely Jay was playing there??
Poor stuff tonight,no heart,no passion,the amount of times i heard Mike Raf say "and one of the Utd lads has just been out muscled to that ball" or "out fought for that ball" was so sad.

Mr Maroon
30/08/2008, 11:52 PM
Seemed to be a weird formation Jeff had out tonight or was it just the way MIKe Raf described it,was jorgensen playing wide right??Surely Jay was playing there??

It was 4-4-2 afaik.
1 Rogers,
25 Conneely, 33 Kenna, 5 Fitzgerald, 3 McCulloch
19 O Shea, 9 Murphy, 24 Russell, 14 Davoren
10 Jorgensen, 28 Molloy

31/08/2008, 12:33 AM
I feel at ease about this game and a 2-0 win is on the cards with Jay having one of those games where he will run the defence all over the park .
Jay to score both goals also .

hehe.. :D

Mr. Kenna learned a harsh lesson tonight on management, saying midweek that we were relegated and he wouldnt worry bout us, totally ****ed him up, he didnt acknoledge hendo b4 the match, not once, bang out of order IMO, and after the match he got so much abuse from our fans, he'll never forget our place.

Have to say ye were **** poor, being honest, dont know what happened us but we were on fire in front of goal, 3 of the 4 golas were screamers, cant wait to watch MNS.

Ye're support tonight was fantastic and very friendly group of lads to be fair, whoever the langer supprting ipswich was i felt sorry for him. Ipswich and Galway?? Poor ****er:D..

Well done to the galway fans, and jeff, unlucky lad

Tir Oilean
31/08/2008, 12:44 AM
Didnt see that where he said ye were relegated but he was probably right about that anyway, but very much wrong not to worry about Cobh. Very bad night for Galway United.

Patrick Dunne
31/08/2008, 12:53 AM
Well done to Cobh on your win.

No-one from United or Jeff Kenna ever said that Cobh were relegated. This was just mind games from Henderson, which obviously worked.

31/08/2008, 12:56 AM
Well done to Cobh on your win.

No-one from United or Jeff Kenna ever said that Cobh were relegated. This was just mind games from Henderson, which obviously worked.

Na he was quoted on it during the week in the press, irrelevant really, hes a credit to the league, we were very happy to have a man with his footballing CV, play in St.Colmans

Patrick Dunne
31/08/2008, 1:05 AM
If you can produce this quote, I will donate E20 to the "Save Ramblers" fund !

31/08/2008, 1:09 AM
If you can produce this quote, I will donate E20 to the "Save Ramblers" fund !

:D:D:D *******, hit me where it hurts anyway.. I'llget back to you tomorrow on that..

31/08/2008, 1:20 AM
Lads there is a hell of lot more that that **** i witnessed tonight to be worried about.Unless the powers that be get their finger out and let the people of Galway especially our loyal fans know how serious or plight is we might not even make itto the end of the season.

Time to start worrying about our own club and let the others look after themselves.

31/08/2008, 11:32 AM
Lads im a neutral and i honestly think after seeing last night that your as good as religated. Kennas lack of knowledge of the league bore through last night, from the warm up both myself and my mate signalled why you wouldnt win, your team is too small to be going to play a big physical first divison side (sorry cobh but you are and will be next season)

YOur keeper is good, but fitzgerald is kack and doesn't dominate the area, Kenna is showboating in center half and bottled it in the second when asking the full back to swap with him. YOur mid field is poor, too many strikers (Murphy and Davoran) not enough battlers. and your strikers are ball players but because your defence was lobbing it long they had no hope against a big defence.

I laughed when your team went down to applaud you, we thought they were crazy and only the stupid music drowned out your boos. Your are in trouble and you will be religated.

Patrick Dunne
31/08/2008, 11:33 AM
Thanks for that !

pixiehead
31/08/2008, 3:39 PM
Lads im a neutral and i honestly think after seeing last night that your as good as religated. Kennas lack of knowledge of the league bore through last night, from the warm up both myself and my mate signalled why you wouldnt win, your team is too small to be going to play a big physical first divison side (sorry cobh but you are and will be next season)

YOur keeper is good, but fitzgerald is kack and doesn't dominate the area, Kenna is showboating in center half and bottled it in the second when asking the full back to swap with him. YOur mid field is poor, too many strikers (Murphy and Davoran) not enough battlers. and your strikers are ball players but because your defence was lobbing it long they had no hope against a big defence.

I laughed when your team went down to applaud you, we thought they were crazy and only the stupid music drowned out your boos. Your are in trouble and you will be religated.

What was so funny about the team clapping the fans who travelled to watch that bull. Its the least they could do???

SMorgan
31/08/2008, 3:43 PM
What was so funny about the team clapping the fans who travelled to watch that bull. Its the least they could do???

I think you missed his point. The funny thing, according to him, was that the team went over to the Galway fans and they were booed.

luka
31/08/2008, 3:52 PM
laughed when your team went down to applaud you, we thought they were crazy and only the stupid music drowned out your boos. Your are in trouble and you will be religated.

What was wrong with my music?

31/08/2008, 3:55 PM
I think you missed his point. The funny thing, according to him, was that the team went over to the Galway fans and they were booed.

The team were being booed long before they came over to applaud the fans. Its amazing how you can comment on a match that you were nearly 200 miles away from.Terry will you ban this clown .

31/08/2008, 4:56 PM
The team were being booed long before they came over to applaud the fans. Its amazing how you can comment on a match that you were nearly 200 miles away from.Terry will you ban this clown .

You can ban people for giving an opinion? what i was laughing at with the fans booing etc is that the team, bad and all as they were and having played so....:rolleyes: badly thought that they would get a favorable response from the travelling fans in gratitude for their ahmmmm efforts! And as for the music, garage never took off in ireland but we were treated to tons of it long before the game hence the ground didnt fill till it was switched off. Also if the PA is reading this turn off the music when you speak.

SMorgan
31/08/2008, 5:36 PM
Unfortunately, this is par for the course are far as these guys are concerned.

One explains something to a guy that obviously missed a point and somebody wants you banned and he calls me a clown!!!

When are you going back to North Korea?

The sad thing is Terry will oblige.

luka
31/08/2008, 6:55 PM
And as for the music, garage never took off in ireland but we were treated to tons of it long before the game hence the ground didnt fill till it was switched off.

I wouldn't be a fan of garage myself, however that particular CD belongs to the players and it's their choice of warm-up music. The ground filling up late has nothing to do with the music. It's usually like that.

31/08/2008, 7:16 PM
You can ban people for giving an opinion? what i was laughing at with the fans booing etc is that the team, bad and all as they were and having played so....:rolleyes: badly thought that they would get a favorable response from the travelling fans in gratitude for their ahmmmm efforts! And as for the music, garage never took off in ireland but we were treated to tons of it long before the game hence the ground didnt fill till it was switched off. Also if the PA is reading this turn off the music when you speak.

Gael S. Morgan has been coming on this forum trying to stir it for the last 2 years and has been banned previously and warned on numerous occasions. Great result for yourselves on friday made me smile.

SMorgan
31/08/2008, 7:40 PM
Gael S. Morgan has been coming on this forum trying to stir it for the last 2 years and has been banned previously and warned on numerous occasions. Great result for yourselves on friday made me smile.

I've been what??

Behave yourself man!!

I joined foot.ie in May 2008 and I have never been banned from any forum. I only join the forum to partake in the Lisbon debate. Before that I was just an observer and didn't contribute.

Sorry mate, but you've got the wrong girlll.

I also have to say that I am absolutely delighted you'd something to smile about on Friday.

31/08/2008, 8:10 PM
I wouldn't be a fan of garage myself, however that particular CD belongs to the players and it's their choice of warm-up music. The ground filling up late has nothing to do with the music. It's usually like that.

Understood, however you have to think of the rest of your support (old young) and first up turn it down, your ground is now fully loaded with speakers unlike before when there was just one or two and you had to have it loud. There is no nead for it and most ppl were shouting at each other before the game sitting alongside each other. Maybe im getting old but today im deaf in one ear and feels like i went to a gig and stood alongside the main speaker.