View Full Version : Drogs 30/8

deecay
27/08/2008, 2:12 PM
No Seamie and no Rommy,both on international duty.McT or Feeney up front?Noctor or Raf at right back,that shud be about all the changes. Definatly a game we can win,id love to see a Rovers goal,havent seen a competive goal in over a month

27/08/2008, 2:19 PM
are you sure they aren't out next week instead?

deecay
27/08/2008, 2:32 PM
It is a headline in the champion,thats all I know

deecay
27/08/2008, 11:00 PM
Champion was wrong

sligored
28/08/2008, 8:58 AM
No Seamie and no Rommy,both on international duty.McT or Feeney up front?Noctor or Raf at right back,that shud be about all the changes. Definatly a game we can win,id love to see a Rovers goal,havent seen a competive goal in over a month

i presume this same rule will mean that robbie keane cant play for liverpool this sunday. and that lampard cant play for chelsea.

brianw82
28/08/2008, 1:49 PM
Drogheda are poor at the moment, no question. If we could only get a goal, there's no telling how it might turn out...

deecay
28/08/2008, 1:56 PM
i presume this same rule will mean that robbie keane cant play for liverpool this sunday. and that lampard cant play for chelsea.
As said above,I seen it in the champion and they are wrong.Both players are not away

sligofan4ever
28/08/2008, 3:30 PM
I would love to atleast a goal (even if they lose 2-1) because its been nearly a month since they last scored, Seamie's done it in the past and hopefully against Drogs he can break down the defense and create a good chance for a more attacking player.

EDIT:
Team news for Saturday night Thursday, 28 August 2008
After returning from a long lay off with injury to last week's game with St.Patricks Athletic, Steve Feeney has cruelly rejoined the injury list for at least six weeks having picked up a bad ankle injury in training on Tuesday. Matthew Judge remains on the long term injury list. Kick-off against Drogheda is 8pm on Saturday night.

Whats New :( and after a fairly good performance against St.Pats.

sligored
29/08/2008, 8:37 AM
from ocean fm
Manager Paul Cooke is looking forward to a big night at the Showgrounds and says his boys are well up for the test
Despite reports in the local media to the contrary, Romald Boco and Seamus Coleman are both available for the Drogheda United game. They will both, however, miss the home game against Bohemians as they will be on international duty

i thought if a club had 2 players or more on international duty that we can postpone our game

i presume that our current financial woes mean that this is not an option

Rovers fan
29/08/2008, 4:40 PM
I'm looking forward to this one. We really need a good crowd for this one. We all have to try and get as many friends/family/anyone to try and go to the game and lets hope the lads on the pitch can put on a good performance. I've a feeling it's gonna be a draw. God i hope we score,it's been too long!!

iceman
29/08/2008, 10:16 PM
What time is kick-off at lads? Should be about 100-150 Drogs there.

29/08/2008, 10:30 PM
Savour the moment (http://www.sligorovers.com/content/view/622/1/)

deecay
29/08/2008, 10:30 PM
What time is kick-off at lads? Should be about 100-150 Drogs there.
Eight

brianw82
30/08/2008, 10:00 AM

Lovely piece. Something the barstoolers will never understand.
All those who do, I salute you.

MMVIII
30/08/2008, 11:21 AM

Brilliant piece Rory.

Knappagh Red
30/08/2008, 4:28 PM

Good article, but the Showgrounds was never in Maugheraboy

brianw82
30/08/2008, 5:01 PM
The sun is doing its best to come out from behind the miserable clouds out here in Ballisodare. Hopefully it'll continue its gradual progress and make an appearance at the game.

C'mon Rovers!

30/08/2008, 9:18 PM
Robbbed.

Absolutely robbed.

We deserved 3 points tonight, and as far as i'm concerned we were robbed by a dodgy linesman and Ref...:(

30/08/2008, 9:28 PM
Great result tonight. Hadn't scored in weeks and then we get three tonight. Disappointed we didn't win but I'd have taken the point before hand.
but the Showgrounds was never in MaugheraboyI'm noticing the local papers starting to call it that more often these days too.

srfc19
30/08/2008, 9:37 PM
gutted with the manner of the draw but saying that would have taken a draw before it.
felt like a defeat leavin the ground
boco,seamie,cash and raf all outstanding

showgies
30/08/2008, 9:53 PM
How ironic that the first goal tonight was scored by a man called "Cash".......

Another evening where all players played out of their skins...........that goal and peno shout will make interesting watching on MNS.

It is the first time I saw a linesman leave the pitch before the ref, did you see him fly down the tunnel and not wait for the other officials......obviously felt guilty

30/08/2008, 10:08 PM
robbed AGAIN!!

stone wall penalty before the goal was tapped in. even a drogheda fan said we were absolute robbed

deecay
30/08/2008, 10:28 PM
Robbbed

Game of the season til their 3rd goal,ref and lino the Jinks side were terrible.Best of all what Chrissy not killing Maher after geting a pretty nice kick off the ball

srfc1928
31/08/2008, 12:28 AM
very disapointed with the result,
dont care if we would be happy with a draw before the game.
Why we would we be happy with the outcome of that.
By hook or by crook Drogheda were not leaving the Showgrounds with a defeat tonight. The officals were terrible to put it politely.
Rovers were brillaint again and tried to play football on what was the worst condition ive seen the pitch this season

red bellied
31/08/2008, 12:45 AM
Coleman was clipped when he put the cross in for the disallowed goal, was right in line with it. Definetely dodgy decisions tonight

sligofan4ever
31/08/2008, 9:49 AM
Why was the goal disallowed in the last minute ? and I agree with red bellied the officials last night were very dodgy.

red arrow
31/08/2008, 9:55 AM
we played brilliant tonight. i hope to god that we can hold on to that bunch of players and build for next season. do the people of sligo realise how good this team is and the manager we have. its the best football i've ever seen being played in the showgrounds and i'm following the bit of red a long time.i was very dissapointed by the turnout because if we had got a big crowd it would have capped a great week financially. fair play to those who worked so hard to bring the funds in. its a pity that more people would not come to the games. we will have to keep plugging away for our beloved bit o'red until the end of the season so keep the ideas comming along and lets show the manager and team that we want them to stay. also the committe is to be praised for doing trojan work on this occasion i know that there are a few who work harder than others but i feel they are all to be congratulated. we can still generate big interest in the next home game in anticipation of a big crowd so keep the wheels turning lads

brianw82
31/08/2008, 10:04 AM
"No, she was robbed. They stole her."

I don't know how on earth that was not a penalty at the end. Seamus was chopped down. I can only assume the resulting tap in was offside, but with officials like these, you just don't know.
It's been said time and time again that officials are costing teams points left and right. Maybe we're only complaining right now because it happened to us, but it is a real problem.
Every player played out of their skins last night. Cashy and Raf took their goals brilliantly. Goals for Rovers really are like buses.
You do have to credit Drogheda for not giving up, and the decision to finally play 2 up front worked well for them. O'Brien and Zayed caused us a lot of problems. Fair play to Faz as well for not making a big deal of scoring, and for clapping the main stand at the end.

31/08/2008, 10:53 AM
Felt happy at full time....robbed we may have been, but couldn't be disappointed. It was sensational....

sligofan4ever
31/08/2008, 11:03 AM
What was the attendance last night ? afaik the home stand was full except for. i'd say there was more than 2000 anyways.

31/08/2008, 11:16 AM
Also, WTF happened to the pitch over the space of the last 3 weeks?

It's gone into complete disrepair!

red bellied
31/08/2008, 11:19 AM
Also, WTF happened to the pitch over the space of the last 3 weeks?

It's gone into complete disrepair!

Yeah its back to a field again. They fell out with the Tubbercurry fellow who was looking after it and he walked.

srfc1928
31/08/2008, 12:24 PM
What eejit wrote this
http://www.droghedaunited.ie/fixtures/match/id/34

Rovers fan
31/08/2008, 12:38 PM
the drogheda match reports are known for being so retarded and biased.

I was absolutely devastated at full time last night. We just deserved to win. We have had no luck throughout the season. Who knows how many points we would be on if the opposite were true.

Still though,you had to be proud of the lads last night(finally scoring:D). Look at the spending power of drogheda,the amount and the quality of the players and then look at us,no strikers,we've offloaded so many important players and yet we matched and bettered them! If only that goal at the end wasn't disallowed:(.

Well done to all who were involved in the various fudraisers and to all those who contributed. Sligo rovers will live forever:)

brianw82
31/08/2008, 1:15 PM
the drogheda match reports are known for being so retarded and biased.

Also highly inaccurate. Apparantly we fielded 10 players, and one of them was called 'Rees'

sligofan4ever
31/08/2008, 1:29 PM
Teams line-ups

Sligo Rovers

Brush,Coleman,Butler,Rees,Almieda,O'Grady,Cash,Ven tre,Ryan, Cretaro

Who ? :p

Rovers Maniac
31/08/2008, 2:50 PM
I thought we were very unlucky during the week and deserved the 3 points. Seamie i thought was fouled for their peno and then his legs were taken from under him. Then we had a stone wall peno ref played on and O'rady who put it in the net seem to run on to it he looked a mile onside. Fair play to the players they are credit to the club and their profession.

Edit: Nice touch by Faz not to celebrate his goal.

Knappagh Red
31/08/2008, 5:34 PM
.I'm noticing the local papers starting to call it that more often these days too.

Lazy journos not checking their facts Sligoman

red arrow
31/08/2008, 6:25 PM
i agree pitch was in poor condition last night apparently the groundsman had a falling out because there were two games playes on it (merville/ A team) recently and he was not notified. who can blame him he was working on it for the drogheda game and next weeks (bohs) game.whose responsibility was this to consult with him and or inform him. the good news is that he is back with the club because a certain gentleman intervened and got him back on board. of course that gentleman is sligo rovers christopher columbas and lets hope he never walks. what i would suggest to people on this board iss find out the name of the groundsman and send a letter of congratulation to him on a job being very well done or if anybody knows him in passing just thank him for what he is doing. lets try and keep the good people on board a pat on the back for those (in whatever capacity) people who are trying desperately to keep sligo rovers football club above water.

Inside Man
31/08/2008, 10:47 PM
Thrilling game. Scoring Straight after them was a huge kick in the teeth to Drogs and it showed great character from us to come back every time and score when they did. I say that as we still came back and scored after their 3rd, but for brutal Refereeing mistakes we would have won 4-3. Pity.
Great game and well worth the 20euro to anyone who attended that game.

Redzer
01/09/2008, 9:40 AM
what i would suggest to people on this board iss find out the name of the groundsman and send a letter of congratulation to him on a job being very well done or if anybody knows him in passing just thank him for what he is doing. lets try and keep the good people on board a pat on the back for those (in whatever capacity) people who are trying desperately to keep sligo rovers football club above water.

Nigel O'Brien is the man AFAIK.

sligored
01/09/2008, 9:55 AM
i see jeff kenna got right full player of the week in the irish indo.
This is despite the fact that he has been slated for his performance on the galway forum.
in his heyday he never had a better game than seamus coleman had on saturday night.
every time ollie cahill got the ball he could not get past seamus and ended up passing to his full back at every opportunity.
i cant believe that premiership clubs never mind championship clubs are not camping at our doorstep

Redie
01/09/2008, 10:02 AM
the Showgrounds was never in Maugheraboy

Just to clarify - The Showgrounds is in the Townland of Knappagh Beg. The opposite side of the main road is the Townland of Magheraboy (spelling as per ordnance survey maps)

01/09/2008, 10:18 AM
Thank you for clarifying that, Redie. No more than myself, you need to get out more.

Only1Rovers
01/09/2008, 10:24 AM
Brian Cash had one of his best games for us on Saturday night aside from both goals.

He marked Kendrick out of the entire game. Cashie was phenomenal! Great to see him coming into his own. Chris Butler is also an inspiration, seeing him bursting out of defence with the ball at his feet. He looks to comfortable and dominant. There was nearly tears in my eyes…..

I thought Drogs were poor they offered very little to the game and that lad Ibrahima Iyane-Thiam is a joke! How in the name of all that’s sacred can Paul Doolan see anything in him? I was delighted to see him come on.

sligofan4ever
01/09/2008, 5:40 PM
When I seen Thiam come on, I tought he would be dangerous for corners with his height, barely seen the ball in the game, Seamie,Cash,Boco and cretaro had great games and any of them 4 deserved MOTM, IMO opinion Cashie desrved, and not just because he scored 2 goals, he marked his player very and just all the other players, alot of the time Drogheda were forced to play the ball back to their defense.

Also tought i'd mention its been awhile since I heard the home stand start chanting like that.

Rovers fan
01/09/2008, 7:53 PM
btw,who was the motm?

sligofan4ever
01/09/2008, 8:00 PM
btw,who was the motm?

Boco.

deecay
01/09/2008, 10:21 PM
Also tought i'd mention its been awhile since I heard the home stand start chanting like that.
No need for lie's like that,we shud pull up the seats in it

dublinred
02/09/2008, 8:21 AM
Only seen the highlights but were robbed at the end on 2 counts , defo peno also the ball came off the drogs player who tacked raf for O'Gradys goal.