View Full Version : Cork City
mrmurphster
25/08/2008, 9:02 PM
Nice one:D
charliesboots
25/08/2008, 9:03 PM
After the way we were welcomed in Ferrycarrig I'm delighted for you, great achievement for the club to make the final.
YellowbellyRed
25/08/2008, 9:26 PM
And well done to Mick's pink and pink army by the way:o:p
cheifo
25/08/2008, 9:26 PM
Congragulations fellas.Quite Incredible achievement.
What in undergod is going on down there atm?:)
Hopefully come Sunday, you will have two finals to look forward to.
dublin_owl
25/08/2008, 9:58 PM
Match report... Sounds like we defended for our lives :cool:
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=3479
Good sportsmanship shown by the Cork fans. Fair play.. like.
5ForKeeps
25/08/2008, 10:03 PM
Pa Doyle a fellow Enniscorthy man, it is clear played a blinder. Played against him years ago, in street league soccer. A good few years younger. He leaves across the road from my brother. His brother Jammy Doyle will be proud tonight.
Fair play too Cork fans, it has too be said.
Happy face on Mick,
http://www.eircomloi.ie/
dublin_owl
25/08/2008, 10:06 PM
25/08/2008, 10:09 PM
Well done Wexford, I hope you win it out! I also hope the Gaelic team does their bit at the weekend and gets to their considerably less important final;)
5ForKeeps
25/08/2008, 10:14 PM
Highlights and reaction maybe on Sports Tonight at 11.30?
Youths4Ever
26/08/2008, 12:32 AM
Match report... Sounds like we defended for our lives :cool:
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=3479
Good sportsmanship shown by the Cork fans. Fair play.. like.
then defended with ever part of their bodies. :D it was just brilliant to experience. the fans sung it out from start to finish and got right behind the team
the cork fans where great clapped our lads off the pitch at the end and very friendly and welcoming before and after the game.
26/08/2008, 12:32 AM
Well done, from a Sligo Rovers fan. Keep the dream alive !!!!!!
Salmon Coloured
26/08/2008, 7:19 AM
Id just like to give my congrats to the Youths from a Longford Town fan. Well done & I hope ye win it. I also hope ye get to play the Final in Ferrycarrig Park.
26/08/2008, 8:36 AM
Still can't believe it. Wallace really is a cup specialist. Absolute backs to the wall performance by the sound of things, they can't complain if they don't put the ball in the net. I think I read someone on the Cork forum pointing out that Mathews has had years of success based on pretty much the same formula so he just got a taste of his own medicine. Delighted for all the lads, they put in a massive amount of time and effort and this is a serious reward, hopefully it'll make the county council take notice too and they'll get fully behind the development of Ferrycarrig Park as one of the premier football grounds in the country. :)
26/08/2008, 8:55 AM
Well done Wexford Youths. A fantastic result! My other half is an Enniscorthy woman so I'll definitely be bringing her along to the final wherever it is! Hopefully I can pick up a pink jersey for myself too! :D
jinxy lilywhite
26/08/2008, 9:21 AM
Well done Wexford. Great for Football.
Never laughed so much when I seen the result. On MNS they where talking about a Derry Cork League cup final, then the cup tie and they play each other in the league then.
Come on the Pink Panthers.
BTW if you lose and Derry get through to the setanta cup through the league or cup do you qualify for the setanta sup.
The Optimist
26/08/2008, 9:23 AM
It truly was a great night last night!.We defended for our lives especially in the the second half when cork threw everything at us.We really rode our luck at times.Cork must be wondering how they never scored but we got the rub of the green for a change!
It has to be said that the cork fans were very gracious in defeat.Spoke to a few on the way out they were wishing us all the best for the final.
5ForKeeps
26/08/2008, 10:37 AM
According too South East Radio, the final will be played in Ferrycarraig. But in an interview with, he is not too sure. Interview on the Supporters site.
www.freewebs.com/wysfc
26/08/2008, 10:50 AM
BTW if you lose and Derry get through to the setanta cup through the league or cup do you qualify for the setanta sup.The place goes to the next team in the league unless it's changed since we were in the final.
26/08/2008, 10:58 AM
Just to add further encouragement:
The last time Derry City met a side that were bottom of the first division in the League Cup Final was 2002. That side was Limerick FC. They were managed by your now coach, Noel O'Connor. Limrick won in the Brandywell on pens....
Good Omen or what????:D
jinxy lilywhite
26/08/2008, 12:02 PM
The last time Derry City met a side that were bottom of the first division in the League Cup Final was 2002. That side was Limerick FC. They were managed by your now coach, Noel O'Connor. Limrick won in the Brandywell on pens....
I would worry about the What happened after that?
26/08/2008, 2:03 PM
Different clubs run by different people. Noel had nothing to do with the demise of Limerick FC and Mick Wallace isn't a selfish, hungry, greedy degenerate like the pariahs running Limerick around that time were.
jinxy lilywhite
26/08/2008, 2:16 PM
In some way I can relate to that. Hopefully Limerick can get back to where they belong (on the pitch though).
Anyway well done wexford. All the neutrals in the country will be cheering you on
26/08/2008, 2:19 PM
I would worry about the What happened after that?
6 years later got there act together ;)
LK37oldskool
26/08/2008, 2:28 PM
Well done wexford. Hope the Funboys win the Cup now!We're all behind you.
Best of luck.
Candystripe
26/08/2008, 5:44 PM
That was actually a strange one.
The FAI had said that because it was a two legged final that away goals would count.
Derry lost 2-1 away and won 1-0 at home. Near the end of the game Derry just didn't bother pushing on as we all thought that we had it sown up. We were all in shock when the ref after a chat with someone and called for extra time. Even then it was funny after we lost on penalties.
That was very typical of the FAI more so than the decisions they make now.
oldyouth
26/08/2008, 6:45 PM
Thanks for all the compliments but as I keep posting everywhere, special word to the Cork City fans. It's not an easy time at the moment but they put football first last night and anyone who was there will never forget it.
Congrats lads, absolutely delighted for ye.
26/08/2008, 7:54 PM
Well done Wexford Youths. Mick Wallace a much needed character. But credit to the Cork lads too, enjoy your day in the sun! We've probably had ours.
Sunny Jim
26/08/2008, 10:50 PM
Bloody hell. I still can't believe that we won and that we're in a final! Every single Youth out there was a hero. They weren't going to let Cork in and they threw their bodies in front of everything. I'm absolutely thrilled, I wouldn't swap last night's experience for anything. And Paul Murphy's a heavy so-and-so. I know, because he jumped on me after the final whistle!
HarpoJoyce
27/08/2008, 3:07 AM
That was actually a strange one.
The FAI had said that because it was a two legged final that away goals would count.
Derry lost 2-1 away and won 1-0 at home. Near the end of the game Derry just didn't bother pushing on as we all thought that we had it sown up. We were all in shock when the ref after a chat with someone and called for extra time. Even then it was funny after we lost on penalties.
That was very typical of the FAI more so than the decisions they make now.
Are you serious! You are criticising the FAI because of a League Cup Final.
When you say you were in shock, maybe a little confused is what you meant.
Well done Wexford. Keep doing what you're doing.
Pablo Escobar
27/08/2008, 7:01 AM
Wexford did actually play some nice football. And they will probably admit that how Cork City didn't score is baffling. But we didn't, and I wouldn't deprive Wexford a place in the final. Well deserved. They put in some effort. Mick Wallace is some man!
Sunny Jim
27/08/2008, 10:19 AM
According to today's Irish Independent, the final will be live on TV on Saturday 27 September. A decision on the venue will be made on Friday, and it's possible it will be played in Waterford.
Youths4Ever
27/08/2008, 10:23 AM
Wexford did actually play some nice football. And they will probably admit that how Cork City didn't score is baffling. But we didn't, and I wouldn't deprive Wexford a place in the final. Well deserved. They put in some effort. Mick Wallace is some man!
it what baffling how cork did not score probably just one of those nights for ye for which i am grateful
27/08/2008, 11:39 AM
Congrats to everyone from Wexford and enjoy every minute of it.
You have a group of hungry hardworking lads who threw themselves in front of everything and made their own luck, and an owner/manager who is a true football man.
Best of luck in the final
kopite
27/08/2008, 12:13 PM
well done to the lads,when you put your mind to it you can achieve anything.no schoolboy errors just honesty and commitment,what more can we as supporters ask for?
Candystripe
28/08/2008, 12:25 AM
According to today's Irish Independent, the final will be live on TV on Saturday 27 September. A decision on the venue will be made on Friday, and it's possible it will be played in Waterford.
If you's win the toss I hope you's do your utmost to play it at home.
An invasion of Derry fans over the weekend would certainly help bring out the locals for the game.
We refused to move our European games (including the PSG game)for the sake of the people of Derry even though we knew we were restricted to the 3,100 seats when we could have sold 15,000+ at another venue.
So if the final is restricted to only 3,000 I say let it be and play it at your own ground.
P.S. May the best team win. :)
28/08/2008, 8:41 PM
Well done Wexford on your semi final win.
Don't know how we didn't score but your team put their heart and soul into every clearance and tackle. Mick Wallace seems like a genuine football man as well.
Enjoy the Setanta Cup next year as well;)