View Full Version : Pats away

deecay
21/08/2008, 5:27 PM
Potentially our last away game but id doubt it,Buttimer is ref.Id like to see a Rovers goal

brianw82
21/08/2008, 7:54 PM
I'd take any goal. I won't care if it's an OG off a Pats player's arse.

In reality, I can't see us getting anything from this. 2-0 to Pats.

21/08/2008, 10:58 PM
We need to start scoring soon IMO...

A draw would be great.

21/08/2008, 11:14 PM
Mauro will get the goal, we'll lose 3-1.

22/08/2008, 12:14 PM
2-0 Rovers. Boco, Butler.

Jeebus
22/08/2008, 12:35 PM
2-0 Rovers. Boco, Butler.

Jesus, you've started the drinking early!!!!:D

22/08/2008, 1:25 PM
SRFC always get a surprise result against a "big" club,at least once a season, this might be it ;)

22/08/2008, 1:27 PM
Jesus, you've started the drinking early!!!!:D

More chance of it happening than my green raffle ticket being pulled out anyway!:D

22/08/2008, 1:34 PM
my green raffle ticket being pulled out!:D

keep it in the pants Rory ;)

dublinred
22/08/2008, 1:47 PM
More chance of it happening than my green raffle ticket being pulled out anyway!:D

You should of bought a white one.

Rovers fan
22/08/2008, 10:26 PM
Mauro will get the goal, we'll lose 3-1.

Jeez,you sound very sure of yourself:D

23/08/2008, 6:01 PM
whats the weather been like up there today lads anyone know?

brianw82
23/08/2008, 7:15 PM
whats the weather been like up there today lads anyone know?

Overcast, the odd shower.

23/08/2008, 7:38 PM
Overcast, the odd shower.

cheers Brian, so not game threatening weather?

sligofan4ever
23/08/2008, 9:44 PM
I just hope Jennings isnt or these big matches again.

brianw82
24/08/2008, 11:07 AM
Nice and sunny today. No chance of the game being called off, unless the heavens open this afternoon.

24/08/2008, 5:47 PM
if you're an Eircom broadband customer you can watch the game here

http://setanta-video.eircom.net/eircom/channels/Live.aspx

sligofan4ever
24/08/2008, 8:14 PM
Absolutly robbed tonight. Altough tonight rovers showed they really can put on a peroformance aginst big teams, lets hope with 2 home games in a row coming they can do it on home soil, and put the ball in the back of the net, even 2 draws would be amazing for us.

forza rovers
24/08/2008, 8:53 PM
robbed:mad:

roversman
24/08/2008, 9:13 PM
robbed:mad:

yes robbed and well played he lads might work
but as i said before we have no striker so
how do we expect to score
raf should have won it for us

brianw82
24/08/2008, 9:23 PM
I put money on St. Pats, fully expecting a 2 or 3 goal defeat. I feel a bit dirty now. To lose it like that, just gutted for the lads. You could see that Boco and Almeida were heartbroken by it.

thesilverfox
24/08/2008, 9:44 PM
Didnt deserve to lose like that and have to feel sorry for Brush after that mistake. Felt he had a good game. You could see it with Raf's interview that he was hurting and by looking at the lads on the pitch you could see the pain. A very similar type of game to the 1-0 loss in Drogheda last season when they effectivly won the league, when we deserved something but didnt get it.

On a sour note, I heard from a friend at the match that Brush was being abused at the end of the game by a Rovers "fan". Cop[ the f**k on and you know well who ya are cause your on this forum. Brush in my opinion is one of the best keepers this club has had in my memory and as a goalkeeper he is going to be liable to mistakes as the spotlight is shone on goalkeepers. Would you prefer him or Jennings week after week?

Also heard of someone trying to break seats at the end of the game as he was in disgust at the result. Maybe if he watched the game whilst sober he too would have had a bit of sense. The last thing we need is the clubs fans getting a reputation of abusing other clubs grounds:mad:

sligofan4ever
24/08/2008, 9:49 PM
Didnt deserve to lose like that and have to feel sorry for Brush after that mistake. Felt he had a good game. You could see it with Raf's interview that he was hurting and by looking at the lads on the pitch you could see the pain. A very similar type of game to the 1-0 loss in Drogheda last season when they effectivly won the league, when we deserved something but didnt get it.

On a sour note, I heard from a friend at the match that Brush was being abused at the end of the game by a Rovers "fan". Cop[ the f**k on and you know well who ya are cause your on this forum. Brush in my opinion is one of the best keepers this club has had in my memory and as a goalkeeper he is going to be liable to mistakes as the spotlight is shone on goalkeepers. Would you prefer him or Jennings week after week?

Also heard of someone trying to break seats at the end of the game as he was in disgust at the result. Maybe if he watched the game whilst sober he too would have had a bit of sense. The last thing we need is the clubs fans getting a reputation of abusing other clubs grounds:mad:

And a fine for damage to other teams property.

24/08/2008, 9:56 PM
Dreadful game. Thought we created enough chances to win, and of course we had a definite penalty turned down.

Your centre halves played well

Uncle Tupelo
24/08/2008, 10:02 PM
It was gutting losing the game like that in the end. St. Pats dont look the best despite all the money they've spent. Thought the Rovers back four were great. But we never looked like scoring and apart from Rafs chance at the end we didn't create anything. A striker is badly needed. Maybe when Paul McTiernan gets his fitness up he'll be a good partner for Boco.
Played way too deep in the second half, Cookie was screaming at them to get up the pitch.
Good to see Foyzer at it!

MMVIII
24/08/2008, 10:17 PM
Brilliant performance by the lads tonight, whole team played brilliant. Didn't deserve to lose like that. The lack of a real goalscorer is what stopped us from winning imo. Cheek of that c*nt Lynch to come at the end and say "We deserved to win":mad:

24/08/2008, 10:18 PM
I hate losing games in the last minute, especially when we don't deserve it:mad:

On a sour note, I heard from a friend at the match that Brush was being abused at the end of the game by a Rovers "fan". Cop[ the f**k on and you know well who ya are cause your on this forum. Brush in my opinion is one of the best keepers this club has had in my memory and as a goalkeeper he is going to be liable to mistakes as the spotlight is shone on goalkeepers. Would you prefer him or Jennings week after week?Totally agree with the above, abusing Brush for that is embarassing and no excuse for it. The man has been great all season and with Pat Jennings the only alternative, he's definitely needed.
Dreadful game.From a Pat's point of view yeah, ye were very poor and it's easy to see why Bohs will win the league.

brianw82
24/08/2008, 10:26 PM
Also heard of someone trying to break seats at the end of the game as he was in disgust at the result.

Some fair/ginger-haired lad gave the seat in front of him a kick. That was all I saw. Fair play to the seat. It held its ground well. Hard as nails.
If we get fined for that, well at least it won't be as much as Pats for letting off that smoke cannister.

24/08/2008, 10:29 PM
Some fair/ginger-haired ladGinger?:eek:, he won't like that when he reads it:D.

srfc1928
24/08/2008, 10:35 PM
Dreadful game. Thought we created enough chances to win, and of course we had a definite penalty turned down.

Good man slodge
the most arogant person ive ever have encounterd,

srfc1928
24/08/2008, 10:41 PM
Ginger?:eek:, he won't like that when he reads it:D.
yeah that guys a bit of a hooligan alright:D
Fair play to the lads for turnin up.
they looked good on tv for the small number that was there

thesilverfox
24/08/2008, 10:45 PM
Some fair/ginger-haired lad gave the seat in front of him a kick. That was all I saw. Fair play to the seat. It held its ground well. Hard as nails.

It was his blonde haired accomplice I was referring to.

24/08/2008, 10:55 PM

I take it you just expected us to rollover for ye? If any team deserved to win, it was us.

Jeebus
24/08/2008, 11:27 PM

Fair play to you for highlighting this. :mad: While i disagree with both actions (and i said it to one of them that it wasn't acceptable) i dont think you need to be bringing this up on a forum. Peoples emotions take the better of them at times, happens to us all. Our performance tonight deserved a draw. And as Cookie highlighted to us in the pub after, everyone that wore the Rovers jersey tonight gave their all. It was a performance to be proud of.

deecay
24/08/2008, 11:32 PM
Photos http://www.flickr.com/photos/soccerc/sets/72157606928216354/

One of the captions is ''Dick Brush punches ball'' what a man

srfc1928
24/08/2008, 11:58 PM
Fair play to you for highlighting this. :mad: While i disagree with both actions (and i said it to one of them that it wasn't acceptable) i dont think you need to be bringing this up on a forum. Peoples emotions take the better of them at times, happens to us all. Our performance tonight deserved a draw. And as Cookie highlighted to us in the pub after, everyone that wore the Rovers jersey tonight gave their all. It was a performance to be proud of.
My player of the season would be Brushie
Im so proud to be a Rovers fan tonight the lads were fully comitted.
It shut up a lot of the barstoolers tonight and maybe won over a few of them.

25/08/2008, 7:08 AM
I take it you just expected us to rollover for ye? If any team deserved to win, it was us.

Why? You had 2 shots in the game. We had (maybe) 4? One of ours went in. HOw were you unlucky? Sure you worked hard, and of course it was a terrible mistake by Brush. But thats not unlucky, thats bad goalkeeping.

showgies
25/08/2008, 8:07 AM
I thought the subsitution of Doherty was a turning point in the game. I assume he was injured. Up to that point Pats were finding it difficult to cope with our system and Ryan seemed to be getting on the ball more. His passing impressed me.

Each player worked superbly ............if only we could score or at least have someone capable of taking a good free kick.

forza rovers
25/08/2008, 10:05 AM

Your centre halves played welllook at it again Conor clearly won the ball.

fair play 2 brush for playing on after getting his finger put back in.

25/08/2008, 10:15 AM
look at it again Conor clearly won the ball.

The only penalty I'd have given was the handball. None of the tackles were penalties IMO (although others around me disagreed ;) )

thesilverfox
25/08/2008, 10:45 AM

Totally agree with ya about emotions taking the better of people as its happened to myself but the last person that should be abused after the game was Brush, and I think its pathetic that this "fan" would kick him while hes down.

Sligobhoy
25/08/2008, 11:30 AM
Jeebus. What the h*ell were you doing home at 12:30 last night posting on the forum. Was Coppers closed?

Seems like the auld Dublin sessions not as good as they used to be!

25/08/2008, 11:49 AM
Why? You had 2 shots in the game. We had (maybe) 4? One of ours went in. HOw were you unlucky? Sure you worked hard, and of course it was a terrible mistake by Brush. But thats not unlucky, thats bad goalkeeping.

We had more than 2 shots. Were you even watching the same game?

And even most of the neutrals agree we deserved a draw at least!

25/08/2008, 11:55 AM
We had more than 2 shots. Were you even watching the same game? Not on target you didn't

And even most of the neutrals agree we deserved a draw at least!
Why? This isn't boxing, there's no judges to decide who wins. It doesn't matter if you worked harder, or even played better. The only thing that matters is goals. Even if you had 500 shots on targets to our one, if you don't score and we do, we deserve to win. (And this isn't anti Sligo, I have the same argument on the Pats site when we lose and people say we were robbed).

sligofan4ever
25/08/2008, 12:02 PM
I don't why fans would go and abuse brush,well its ok if he conceded 4 or 5 but he was incredible all night one of his best matches this season. And Lynch reckons the "deserved" to win, if that was a draw i suppose he was going to go in Rovers favour. If only we had some proper strikers we cuould've taken advantage of Pats poor record at home but we simply don't have them, unless you consider Boco as a "striker" if Cook brought on McDaid or McTiernan in the final minutes they might have found the target but in the end, it was still a fantastic ferformance for rovers but did not get the points. Hopefully we can put Bohs and Drogs under pressure inthe next 2 games.

25/08/2008, 12:51 PM
Not on target you didn't

Why? This isn't boxing, there's no judges to decide who wins. It doesn't matter if you worked harder, or even played better. The only thing that matters is goals. Even if you had 500 shots on targets to our one, if you don't score and we do, we deserve to win. (And this isn't anti Sligo, I have the same argument on the Pats site when we lose and people say we were robbed).

You never said anything abou on target or not. And in any case, It shows that we were creating chances in and around your third of the pitch.

Absolutely, the only thing that matters is goals. However, to say, after the work-rate put in by our players in the match and what not, that we deserved to lose is preposterous.

yes, Goals win games, but just because one team doesn't score as many as an other, by no means that they absolutely deserved to lose.

25/08/2008, 1:00 PM
Absolutely, the only thing that matters is goals. However, to say, after the work-rate put in by our players in the match and what not, that we deserved to lose is preposterous.

yes, Goals win games, but just because one team doesn't score as many as an other, by no means that they absolutely deserved to lose.

I disagree. I'm not saying you shouldn't be disappointed, or happy with your teams performance, but goals are the only thing that matter

brianw82
25/08/2008, 2:53 PM
Dodge is right. Football is a 90 minute + injury time game, a goal scored in the 92nd minute is as valid as one scored in the 1st.
Sure, we played pretty well and were fully committed, and probably deserved to get something out of it for the sheer effort that was put in. BUT, Pats got the late, late goal. Nobody can begrudge them that.
TBH, it should have been 1-0 at half time. At about the 40-minute mark, if Quigley had just squared the ball to O'Neill instead of letting Almedia take the ball off him, he would've almost certainly scored.

kkontour
25/08/2008, 9:10 PM
...... At about the 40-minute mark, if Quigley had just squared the ball to O'Neill instead of letting Almedia take the ball off him, he would've almost certainly scored.
but no games were ever won by almost scoring.;)

dublinred
26/08/2008, 8:36 AM
but no games were ever won by almost scoring.;)

Liverpool won a champions league semi by almost scoring against Chelsea.