View Full Version : Galway & District League 2008/09

Raheen
21/08/2008, 10:14 AM
The Galway & District League kicks off shortly. Any transfer news from the big sides?

Any views on how the Premier Division might shape up? Athenry will be looking to hold onto the title for a third year but they're not as strong as previous seasons. Will the absence of strong Salthill and Mervue sides make a difference? Will Hibs and West keep up last year's momentum? What about the newly promoted sides?

west awake
22/08/2008, 12:46 AM
West i think will struggle this year,not many training and alot of key players out injured,i think Hibs will put up a big challenge this year,they've made alot of decent signings including ex Galway United striker Barry Moran,Athenry as usual will be the team to beat,it's probably a 3 horse race with West been the weaker of the 3,the A league will probably kill Mervue and Salthills chances,Corrib Rangers will probably be best of the rest with Oranmore,Colga,Dynamo Blues and NUIG fighting it out 2 stay up!

Billynose
23/08/2008, 2:17 PM
Nice start from Oranmore, 4-3 win over Corrib Rangers out in west side. I can see them staying up comfortably. I reckon NUIG will struggle to stay up and from what i've seen of Dynamo Blues I wouldn't be overly impressed.

west awake
28/08/2008, 12:39 AM
results from week 1

west utd 4-0 colga
oranmore 4-3 corrib rangers
dynamo blues 2-1 mervue united
athenry 2-0 salthill devon

midweek games

west utd 5-1 salthill devon
athenry 1-0 oranmore
galway hibs 3-0 corrib rangers
mervue united 2-0 colga

Raheen
28/08/2008, 8:00 AM
Jaysus, West are banging them in....:ball:

west awake
30/08/2008, 11:52 PM
results from saturday's games

dynamo blues 2-2 galway hibs

salthill devon 6-0 colga

west united 3-2 oranmore

Billynose
31/08/2008, 1:58 AM
What did you think of Oranmore today West_awake?

west awake
31/08/2008, 8:39 PM
What did you think of Oranmore today West_awake?i don't know were ye missing many?west were short of about 6 definate starters and had their keeper playin left wing and the reserve keeper in goal,but west have a fairly big panel so they weren't to weak yesterday,i taught oranmore were well organised and tried to play some passing football,i've seen salthill and colga so far and i would say oranmore are far stronger than them 2,i think ye should finish mid table comfortably enough,which would be a great return for your 1st season up in the premier.

todays result

athenry 1-2 mervue united

Billynose
01/09/2008, 4:48 PM
We were missing two, center half and left winger. We were a bit disappointed at the goals we conceeded, as we were with the goal against athenry. Need to cut out the silly mistakes, get punished for them at this level. I definitely thought west were stronger than athenry.

west awake
02/09/2008, 9:18 PM
Corrib rangers 1-6 west united

galway hibs 2-1 colga

Cloggs
14/09/2008, 8:11 PM
alright there lads
just wondering if anyone might have a contact number for any member of ahascragh (spelt wrong-sorry) junior soccer team as clew bay united are trying to contact them re their connacht cup game next weekend.if anyone has one they can pm me.cheers

the hoops
15/09/2008, 9:22 AM
is johnny mernagh playing with athenry this year?

Raheen
18/09/2008, 12:17 PM
is johnny mernagh playing with athenry this year?

Not that I know of. last time I heard he was playing down south, Tipperary I think. A modest player.

west awake
19/09/2008, 12:35 AM
is johnny mernagh playing with athenry this year?he's playing with athlone town at the moment.

west awake
23/09/2008, 11:25 AM
weekend resuts
saturday
galway hibs 3-2 nuig
corrib rangers 6-3 dynamo blues

sunday
athenry 0-2 west united
salthill 1-2 mervue utd
colga 3-1 nuig

Raheen
23/09/2008, 7:58 PM
Big win for West!

west awake
27/09/2008, 10:19 PM
west utd 2-1 galway hibs

dynamo blues 0-0 salthill devon

gufcfan
15/12/2008, 10:44 PM
Thought I'd post this up.

Link (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Galway_%26_District_League)

Bit of info on the Galway & DL.

Most teams have info on them. If you have any on yours, add it in if you like... but be careful it is in the correct format for Wikipedia or the article could be deleted.