View Full Version : The vultures are circling

18/08/2008, 1:01 PM
Back of tonights Echo that Coppell has bid £200K for Dave Mooney.
An insult but I guess Steve (& his fat friend) know we're in trouble.

Be more in his line to flog Doyler and give us the 10% but whats to stop him delaying that transfer in order to force our hand.

jinxy lilywhite
18/08/2008, 3:40 PM
Thats a great price for him. How much do you think hes worth? 500k, 750k. Get real. He's a loi footballer ffs maybe going to a Championship side. A player is only worth what another team is willing to pay for him.
You Cork guys really are on another planet

18/08/2008, 4:57 PM
Thats a great price for him.How much do you think hes worth? 500k, 750k. Get real. He's a loi footballer ffs maybe going to a Championship side. A player is only worth what another team is willing to pay for him.

We sold O'Donovan for E600k when he only had 6 months left in his contract. Ironically Coppell is looking for him to replace Doyle & if that happens we won't actually need the money.

Reading looking for 8m sterling for Doyle. If he turns down that type of money he will never get a bid like that again.

E1m would be good price.

sligofan4ever
18/08/2008, 5:06 PM
We sold O'Donovan for E600k when he only had 6 months left in his contract. Ironically Coppell is looking for him to replace Doyle & if that happens we won't actually need the money.

Reading looking for 8m sterling for Doyle. If he turns down that type of money he will never get a bid like that again.

E1m would be good price.

Dave Mooney's a good striker but BE REALISTIC hes no where near worth E1m.

higgins
18/08/2008, 5:13 PM
I think it's great that when your club is fecked you're on here talking about a fair market price for Dave Mooney.

I think we got about 20K for the entire 2006 Shels team !!

You'll save on the weekly wage too :)

18/08/2008, 5:48 PM
I think it's great that when your club is fecked you're on here talking about a fair market price for Dave Mooney.

Reading will only want Mooney if they sell Doyle. IF they sell Doyle we won't have to sell as sell money from Doyle sale will clear debts & more.

18/08/2008, 6:03 PM
Anyone else think Reading will have a bit more sense than to sell Doyle at this moment? He will do a good job for them in the Championship and if they hold out til even January Cork City could be gone and they will keep that 10% that they would owe Cork

18/08/2008, 9:18 PM
Thats a great price for him. How much do you think hes worth? 500k, 750k. Get real. He's a loi footballer ffs maybe going to a Championship side. A player is only worth what another team is willing to pay for him.
You Cork guys really are on another planetWe sold a teenager with 3 first team appearances to Sunderland for £180K and you think the leagues top scorer is worth 200K? :rolleyes:

19/08/2008, 1:13 AM
You Cork guys really are on another planet

In fairness I think its you who's way out of touch here.
Look at the prices for Murphy, Bennett, Ward, O'Donovan and Meyler.

19/08/2008, 2:21 AM
We sold a teenager with 3 first team appearances to Sunderland for £180K and you think the leagues top scorer is worth 200K? :rolleyes:

that would be my biggestr selling point for him too, if meylers wordth 200k, mooneys worth 1m imo, only thing is i do not think meyler is worth 200k, wouldnt have paid 10k for him being honest

19/08/2008, 7:25 AM
Reading will only want Mooney if they sell Doyle.
They only have three recognised strikers at the moment so I doubt that would make a difference.

As for the price is what this guy did any better than what Mooney has done? Mooney would probably end up scoring more than him in less games is a similar standard league. Hopefully Cork will be tough negotiators like they usually are.

19/08/2008, 9:08 AM
Im is the least we should get for him. Reading are putting in an unrealistic bid in the hope we bite the hand as well. If Arkaga do bite then they will confirm they haven't a clue about football and should just go now.

Mooney should go for €1,500,000.00 with 25% sell on clause and all the other nice bits added in as well. Hopefully City can lead the way in LOI getting proper money for players, money that can sustain a football club, like every other club across Europe are doing.

The lack of back bone from some other LOI fans as regards getting market value and realistic money for players is disgusting. Its enough to make me vomit.

19/08/2008, 9:31 AM
They only have three recognised strikers at the moment so I doubt that would make a difference.

Reading have Doyle, Lita, Long & Hunt.

19/08/2008, 10:23 AM
Mooney should go for €1,500,000.00 with 25% sell on clause and all the other nice bits added in as well. Hopefully City can lead the way in LOI getting proper money for players, money that can sustain a football club, like every other club across Europe are doing.
There's a bit in One Foot in the Grave about Man United offering Torquay £100k for Lee Sharpe back in the day. Torquay asked for a sell on clause and were told where to go, and generally told their place in the greater scheme of things. That's exactly why the bid you outlined is complete fantasy, even if Cork weren't desperate to sell, which they clearly are.

jinxy lilywhite
19/08/2008, 10:40 AM
Im is the least we should get for him. Reading are putting in an unrealistic bid in the hope we bite the hand as well. If Arkaga do bite then they will confirm they haven't a clue about football and should just go now.

The lack of back bone from some other LOI fans as regards getting market value and realistic money for players is disgusting. Its enough to make me vomit.

Wait a second I'll get you a bucket. A player is only worth what the other team is willing to pay for him. You say he's worth 1.5m and maybe he is but Reading won't offer that money because they don't think he is worth that. So Cork has 2 options accept the bid and put the money off the €800k that you owe or decline Readings offer and keep paying Mooney extortionate wages.

19/08/2008, 11:04 AM
Wait a second I'll get you a bucket.

Good man thanks cheers ... can you wash it out when i'm done cheers

A player is only worth what the other team is willing to pay for him.

'At the end of the day', 'Its a game of two halves' etcetera etcetera etcetera

You say he's worth 1.5m and maybe he is but Reading won't offer that money because they don't think he is worth that.

No they dont, they are offering that because they think they can get a cheaper deal. Its got nothing to do with what he is worth. They think they can get a bargain and thats what they are offering ... a bargain price.

Reading will not offer what he is worth. But why shouldn't City look for what he is worth .... or more.

And he only reason Reading would get that deal is because Arkaga are not up to the job, nothing to do with the players value. If the same player came from Holland then he would be worth €2m

So Cork has 2 options accept the bid and put the money off the €800k that you owe or decline Readings offer and keep paying Mooney extortionate wages.

Its good of you to point that out, we knew we had those options already though ..... but your concern has been duely noted.

19/08/2008, 11:12 AM
But why shouldn't City look for what he is worth .... or more.
Because if you don't take what's being offered and get him off the wage bill, you die (it seems). Then the player's available on a free. If you can't keep paying his wages, he's available on a free. You made your bed, now lie in it.

19/08/2008, 12:56 PM
Because if you don't take what's being offered and get him off the wage bill, you die (it seems). Then the player's available on a free. If you can't keep paying his wages, he's available on a free. You made your bed, now lie in it.

For starters, the bed hasn't been made yet ..... there are options.

Unless its examinership and they will sell straight away.

19/08/2008, 2:19 PM
Rumours abound that Mooney is in Reading today, the boy is worth more than 200K, we know that , Reading know that but we need the cash.
Simple really.
Best of luck to the lad.
Coppell on the other hand :mad:

noby
19/08/2008, 3:00 PM
Reading will only want Mooney if they sell Doyle. IF they sell Doyle we won't have to sell as sell money from Doyle sale will clear debts & more.

I guess the trouble with that theory is that Reading will probably buy (cheap) before they sell.

19/08/2008, 4:43 PM
I guess the trouble with that theory is that Reading will probably buy (cheap) before they sell.

Seems like a certainty now at anything from E250-380k. By all accounts Mooney seems like he would like to stay all things being equal.

Learning to accept that Mooney has to go but disappointed with so low price as will badly affect price we can charge for any future players. It took us a long time to recover from price Doyle was sold for.

19/08/2008, 4:56 PM
Learning to accept that Mooney has to go but disappointed with so low price as will badly affect price we can charge for any future players. It took us a long time to recover from price Doyle was sold for.
As I said on the Arkaga thread, the failure of O'Donovan and Bennett to establish themselves in the same way Doyle did will knock down future prices.

19/08/2008, 5:00 PM
As I said on the Arkaga thread, the failure of O'Donovan and Bennett to establish themselves in the same way Doyle did will knock down future prices.

Given the prices I don't think they are failures as you don;t pay 500k for Premier League players. I also don't think many fans thought they would be playing Premier League football. Bennet did fairly well at Southampton in the Championship which would be his level. Sunderland was a bad long term move for O'Donovan.

19/08/2008, 7:18 PM
Given the prices I don't think they are failures as you don;t pay 500k for Premier League players.
Doyle was only €100k though and that was at Championship level. Weren't O'Donovan and Bennett both record EL deals at the time?

€100k up to €500k is a big rise. The only reason Reading and Sunderland were willing to pay that much was because of the success of Doyle.

20/08/2008, 12:42 AM
Doyle was only €100k though and that was at Championship level. Weren't O'Donovan and Bennett both record EL deals at the time?

€100k up to €500k is a big rise. The only reason Reading and Sunderland were willing to pay that much was because of the success of Doyle.

Doyle was 125k because of contract clause. Think Bennet was 400k or so which we knew was good price from our point of view. O'Donovan was 600k when would have got maybe 200k compensation when he was out of contract in 5 months time.

Getting bigger transfer fees is important (saying they are undisclosed gives leeway) as makes it easier to bargain next time.

Keane bought some guy Prica for i think 2m from Denmark & barely been seen since & I don't hear claims Danes are failures. O'Donovan could be good if he had a brain but his positioning is still poor.

20/08/2008, 5:31 PM
How much did Cork pay for him 6 months ago? €1 mill was it?

20/08/2008, 5:37 PM
How much did Cork pay for him 6 months ago? €1 mill was it?

Why would we pay for an out of contract player :confused:

(excluding the compensation)

LK37oldskool
20/08/2008, 8:24 PM
lookin forward to seein you cork boys next season in the 1st division! The way things are going its going to be a very small Prem league and a very expanded 1st div.

20/08/2008, 9:05 PM
Why would we pay for an out of contract player :confused:

(excluding the compensation)
Just think its staggering for Cork fans to claim they're being robbed blind when the l;ad cost them 25 grand and they're receiving close to ten times that in 6 months

20/08/2008, 9:08 PM
Do you think Reading would have sold Doyle for £1.5m six months into the season?

20/08/2008, 9:10 PM
Do you think Reading would have sold Doyle for £1.5m six months into the season?

Exactly.

The lad is worth more than that and has 2 and a half years left on his contract, its in no way comparable to the Longford scenario where they left his contract run out.

We got plenty of our best players for free, does that mean we should accept pittance for them if someone graces us with a bid?

If the situation wasnt as it is financially, this offer would be laughed at. So yes, we are being robbed blind, but its our owners that are at fault for it

bigmac
21/08/2008, 9:31 AM
Not sure if everyone already knows this but Patrick Kenny said in the Irish Times this morning that Mooney has gone to Reading with no sell-on clause and Alan Matthews was not consulted.
Fee estimated at around €250K

21/08/2008, 9:34 AM
The lad is worth more than that and has 2 and a half years left on his contract, its in no way comparable to the Longford scenario where they left his contract run out.

It absolutely is comparable. Contracts mean nothing. Longford got him for a bargain, Cork got him for a bargain and now Reading got him for a bargain. C'est la vie...

21/08/2008, 9:35 AM
He is gone to reading (http://www.readingfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/Home/)

21/08/2008, 10:06 AM
It absolutely is comparable. Contracts mean nothing. Longford got him for a bargain, Cork got him for a bargain and now Reading got him for a bargain. C'est la vie...

Right so......Il have to inform all the club owners who mistakenly think theyl get money by having players under contract.

What a stupid comment.This isnt about his contract. If he had the same contract and we were on sound financial footing this bid would be laughed at.

The contract wasnt the problem.

21/08/2008, 10:09 AM
The contract wasnt the problem.

Thats the point I'm making.

21/08/2008, 10:10 AM
Thats the point I'm making.

Threes a big difference between 'contracts mean nothing' and 'Mooneys contract meant nothing' which id agree with.

jinxy lilywhite
21/08/2008, 10:15 AM
Do Cork receive the full amount or does Mooney get a cut. Is there a percentage for players who don't ask for Transfers?

WoodquayBoy
21/08/2008, 10:27 AM
Piece in Times by today says deal has been done, for aorund €225,000, no sell-on clause, and deal was concluded without the input of Alan Matthews.

<edit> sorry, did not see Bigmac's earlier post>

21/08/2008, 10:43 AM
Lads, of course Matthews wasn't consulted. The examiner is running everything now, and he'll try and get as much money and take as much financial burden as he can away from Cork.

21/08/2008, 10:48 AM
Lads, of course Matthews wasn't consulted. The examiner is running everything now, and he'll try and get as much money and take as much financial burden as he can away from Cork.

This deal was done before the examiner came in

21/08/2008, 10:52 AM
he was sold before the examiner was in place. Its great to see the fans of other clubs delighted to see that the leagues biggest talent gets sold for peanuts. We will never have a sustainable league here if this continues whil the Scandanavian clubs get huge money for average players.

We are a small enough group at the moment and slagging, infighting and gloating over other clubs misfortunes is only making our base smaller.

brianw82
21/08/2008, 10:58 AM
Well said, gufct.

Good luck to Mooney. I'm disappointed to see him to, tbh. Damn good player. The league needs more young talents like him to stay until their mid-twenties.

The examiner's statement on the Cork website at least gives me cause for optimism. It seems that he understands the importance of the club to the city.

21/08/2008, 11:08 AM
he was sold before the examiner was in place. Its great to see the fans of other clubs delighted to see that the leagues biggest talent gets sold for peanuts. We will never have a sustainable league here if this continues whil the Scandanavian clubs get huge money for average players

GTF, I'm just pointing out the hypocrisy of some fans crying about little they receive for players, that they themselves picked up for peanuts. They got Doyle for nothing, laughed at pats fans who complained, and they got Mooney because Longford went down. What comes around...

Oh and Cork have no one to balme but themselves. They've already shown they can sell average players for decent sums (O'Donovan, Bennett). English clubs coming in here and signing our players cheap is not amongst the top 10 reasons why the league isn't flourishing, but as long as we're not to blame, eh?

21/08/2008, 11:11 AM
GTF, I'm just pointing out the hypocrisy of some fans crying about little they receive for players, that they themselves picked up for peanuts. They got Doyle for nothing, laughed at pats fans who complained, and they got Mooney because Longford went down. What comes around...

Oh and Cork have no one to balme but themselves. They've already shown they can sell average players for decent sums (O'Donovan, Bennett). English clubs coming in here and signing our players cheap is not amongst the top 10 reasons why the league isn't flourishing, but as long as we're not to blame, eh?

Find me a City fan who doesnt blame our owners and your post might have some merit.

Just because we also happen to strongly dislike Readin and their manager doesnt mean we dont blame our owners

21/08/2008, 11:12 AM
Dodge you want to watch that chip its getting bigger everyday.;)

21/08/2008, 11:56 AM
They've turned a €225,000 profit on Mooney, boo hoo for Cork.

21/08/2008, 3:06 PM
Dodge you want to watch that chip its getting bigger everyday.;)His bitterness defines him, F.O.C.C. membership beckons. :D

21/08/2008, 4:51 PM
Just because we also happen to strongly dislike Readin and their manager doesnt mean we dont blame our owners

Irrespective of the money Reading have or have not paid us they have behaved in insulting manner towards City something which other English clubs have not repeated.

fergalr
21/08/2008, 5:09 PM
with no sell-on clause

Very surprising. Anyone know why not?