View Full Version : Can women play in the Eircom League?
The Rebel Ram
13/08/2008, 11:46 AM
Before I win the Euro millions on Friday and begin to transform Cobh Ramblers I was wondering if women can play in the Eircom League?
After seeing the highlights of Sweden's womens Olympic team I recon I'll sign them all for Ramblers.
Great players and full house every week.............
Plenty of TV revenue too I recon:p
WoodquayBoy
13/08/2008, 11:48 AM
Ye're playing aren't ye?
The Rebel Ram
13/08/2008, 11:52 AM
Big girls blouses maybe, they might be men after the next two games......;)
Seems to be a few women playing for Ramblers already. How has that affected crowds?
13/08/2008, 12:18 PM
The German striker bears an uncanny resemblance to Jason Gavin. Except she's taller and has broader shoulders...
diamond
13/08/2008, 12:45 PM
in all seriousness two of the swedish ladies are/ at least were registered with a league club in Italy - it could have been Genoa (men). i remember seeing it on footbal mundial. they would certainly be up to the ramblers standard. it is a possibility in the future when you see the standard of the top ladies teams increasing. was at match in New York with crowd of about 25000. top quality USA ladies team, good football and you'd wonder how long before at least one woman worldwide makes the big move.
13/08/2008, 12:55 PM
Fifa rule-wise, I think it is possible for a woman to play for a "men's" team but not the reverse. I seem to recall that the Italian League were the ones who stopped the women playing for whomever it was.
deecay
13/08/2008, 1:02 PM
i was wondering if women can play in the eircom league?
Post of the month
paulie_walnuts
13/08/2008, 1:05 PM
Foot.ie reaches new depths of rubbish.
Duggie
13/08/2008, 1:06 PM
jeez i love women but it would / could never happen. would cause to many problems. would be up to it anyway week in week out.
BrayUnknowns
13/08/2008, 1:33 PM
Before I win the Euro millions on Friday and begin to transform Cobh Ramblers I was wondering if women can play in the Eircom League?
After seeing the highlights of Sweden's womens Olympic team I recon I'll sign them all for Ramblers.
In a word.... NO
The same Swedish team played against Ireland down in the Carlisle in June and the standard of football is terrible... They trounded Ireland 5-0 that night but were sill very average at best. An average MSL or LSL side would beat them handy enough.
Women can't play football full stop.
finnpark
13/08/2008, 2:25 PM
The German striker bears an uncanny resemblance to Jason Gavin. Except she's taller and has broader shoulders...
She has a bit more facial hair also
SalvadorSanchez
13/08/2008, 3:52 PM
Mightn't help the football much but it would make it a lot easier to look at... might get more supporters in as well from a demographic that the LOI have marketed to before...:D
13/08/2008, 3:59 PM
Was it the womens football at the Olympics or the awful Charlton, McCarthy, Giles ad that prompted this thread?
There was a funny sexist womens football sketch in the old Alas Smith & Jones show if any one remembers... (can't find on Youtube) ;)
Armando
13/08/2008, 5:19 PM
Can they? No they can't because women don't have the ability, they're all brutal footballers:p....May they? I'm almost sure the rules would say no.
passerrby
13/08/2008, 5:58 PM
what are you a troublemaker or what....????? bloody liberal
gufcfan
13/08/2008, 8:43 PM
On a more serious note than 90% of the posts that got there before me...
If women were allowed to play in the LOI, you would have a situation where clubs would have to provide separate changing facilities for the wimins.
I don't see any club bein bothered with that tbh.
EDIT:
I can't believe that I dignified this thread with a response :D
Paddyfield
13/08/2008, 8:56 PM
If women were allowed play in the FAI Cup Final, then there would be 80.000 at the game.
That's 10,000 to support the 2 League of Ireland teams involved plus an extra 70,000 just to watch the players swap jersies at the end of the game.
Cabs88
13/08/2008, 9:31 PM
although this thread has descended to farce, one thing it possibly raises is Getting more females to games is one area that has often been overlooked in marketing football in this country
gufcfan
13/08/2008, 10:37 PM
If any team had a female player they would automatically have the **** taken, but it would create a media circus, with the ultimate outcome being that the league would be seen as being more mickey mouse than the FAI could ever hope to achieve on their own.
although this thread has descended to farce, one thing it possibly raises is Getting more females to games is one area that has often been overlooked in marketing football in this country
Descended???!!!
LeixlipRed
14/08/2008, 9:20 AM
Plus, I'd imagine any of the decent women's players (Aresenal, Swedish teams, US teams) are being paid more than EL players anyway.
redobit
14/08/2008, 9:27 AM
Of course they can - if they leave their sports bras in the dressing room!
Duggie
18/08/2008, 10:58 AM
Of course they can - if they leave their sports bras in the dressing room!
and there kits....:D
sorry that was uncalled for i know. i love women:o
Mr Maroon
18/08/2008, 11:12 AM
Perugia tried to sign a woman a couple of years ago. (They also signed Gaddafi's son!)
That's true. I was at a Bundesliga match over the weekend and there a much higher percentage of the crowd were female than we get in the EL.
diamond
19/08/2008, 1:00 PM
god i cant believe there are so many immature morans on here. when are yous back to school lads?two weeks is it? cant wait.
back to topic - are you telling me that mia hamm couldnt play for drogheda united? you're havin a laugh. although why would she when she is the third biggest earner after tiger woods and coby in the us now
you're the same ****s that watch the olympics 100m women and reckon you lazy fat *******s could beat them all
Well no, no she couldn't really, if you think about it. Firstly she's now too old, and has retired. Secondly as a woman, and not a particularly bulky one, she wouldn't be too well able to stand up to the physical abuse a player, particularly a forward, gets in this league from big burly blokes. Sorry, but that's basic physics. And thirdly, even the free-spending Drogs wouldn't even approach being able to afford her.
This takes nothing away from the fact that she is one of the best footballers who ever played.
But that second point is why I reckon the thread to be fairly farcical from the beginning, and again, sorry to have to pour cold science on some laudable sexual politics. Some of the players, and particularly some centre halves, are absolute animals when you play against them.
As to the immature posts, you have a point there, but I would recommend that when you call someone a moron you spell it right - looks bad is all. :D
Who's Coby? We're not all on first name terms with him/her. ;)
Duggie
20/08/2008, 8:24 AM
Well no, no she couldn't really, if you think about it. Firstly she's now too old, and has retired. Secondly as a woman, and not a particularly bulky one, she wouldn't be too well able to stand up to the physical abuse a player, particularly a forward, gets in this league from big burly blokes. Sorry, but that's basic physics. And thirdly, even the free-spending Drogs wouldn't even approach being able to afford her.
This takes nothing away from the fact that she is one of the best footballers who ever played.
But that second point is why I reckon the thread to be fairly farcical from the beginning, and again, sorry to have to pour cold science on some laudable sexual politics. Some of the players, and particularly some centre halves, are absolute animals when you play against them.
As to the immature posts, you have a point there, but I would recommend that when you call someone a moron you spell it right - looks bad is all. :D
Who's Coby? We're not all on first name terms with him/her. ;)
i can only assume he means koby bryant - superstar basketball player.
22/08/2008, 1:38 PM
god i cant believe there are so many immature morans on here.
I would recommend that when you call someone a moron you spell it right - looks bad is all. :D
Sorry Stan, I think he's talking to a few posters on this thread here (who happen to be cousins, coincidentally enough) by the family name...