View Full Version : Norway v Republic of Ireland - pre-match

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

12/08/2008, 2:04 PM
Squad Announcement - Norway v Republic of Ireland
Date: Tuesday, 12 August 2008
Section: FAI News
Today, Tuesday, August 12th at 4:00pm Irish Time, Giovanni Trapattoni will announce his squad for the Senior International friendly against Norway at the Ullevaal Stadium, in Oslo on August 20th at 9:00pm, local time.

This squad announcment will be broadcast live on FAI.ie at 4:00pm. A copy of the broadcast will also be added as a podcast for those who missed it.

soccerc
12/08/2008, 2:17 PM
Squad Announcement - Norway v Republic of Ireland
Date: Tuesday, 12 August 2008
Section: FAI News
Today, Tuesday, August 12th at 4:00pm Irish Time, Giovanni Trapattoni will announce his squad for the Senior International friendly against Norway at the Ullevaal Stadium, in Oslo on August 20th at 9:00pm, local time.

This squad announcment will be broadcast live on FAI.ie at 4:00pm. A copy of the broadcast will also be added as a podcast for those who missed it.

Crazy, do the FAI departments not talk to one another?

There was a scheduled FAI Cup reception to promote the competition ahead of this weekends games in Dublin City centre. The time 2pm.

Generally it's the same journalists and photographers who cover the game here and surely someone could see there was a clash in the two media events.

12/08/2008, 2:23 PM
Any bets on surprise inclusions?
Darren O'Dea isn't in the U-21 squad, Scannell, Garvan, McCarthy, Treacy and Judge are in it though.

Greenforever
12/08/2008, 2:28 PM
Crazy, do the FAI departments not talk to one another?

There was a scheduled FAI Cup reception to promote the competition ahead of this weekends games in Dublin City centre. The time 2pm.

Generally it's the same journalists and photographers who cover the game here and surely someone could see there was a clash in the two media events.

Surely the squad is just being posted on FAI website, is there an actual press conference??

finnpark
12/08/2008, 2:30 PM
Darren O'Dea isn't in the U-21 squad, Scannell, Garvan, McCarthy, Treacy and Judge are in it though.

Darren O'Dea would barely make the Finn Harps squad.

zenokelly
12/08/2008, 2:38 PM
Surely the squad is just being posted on FAI website, is there an actual press conference??

Ya there always is............

The most interesting thing to discover is if any of the three are named, other than that, I'd say there aren't going to be any massive talking points.

tomred23
12/08/2008, 2:45 PM
What three?

12/08/2008, 2:49 PM
Darren O'Dea would barely make the Finn Harps squad.

I have been very impressed with him any time I saw them

Erimusred
12/08/2008, 3:06 PM
Well its delayed till 5pm now.
Trap is stuck in traffic on the m50

12/08/2008, 3:06 PM
I have been very impressed with him any time I saw them
He was poor against Middlesbrough, but so were the rest of the Celtic side. Supposed to have improved in later games. Still started the season on the bench though

12/08/2008, 3:08 PM

S Ireland :D ???

Carrigaline
12/08/2008, 3:14 PM
Anyone listening to the live feed on fai.ie? A load of lads talking about going out boozing for the night.

Carrigaline
12/08/2008, 3:21 PM
What I want: Finnan, O' Brien, Ireland, Morrison, Lawerence
What I don't want: Bruce, O Halloran, Stephen Elliot, Glen Whealan, Douglas
I can't see the bolded guys getting near the squad to be honest.

zenokelly
12/08/2008, 3:22 PM
Live feed gone here. Back now!

zenokelly
12/08/2008, 3:30 PM
O Brien not returning, Finnan back, Ireland not ready to make himself availble for this squad "may still in future"!

Carrigaline
12/08/2008, 3:32 PM
For ****s sake Stephen Ireland!

Now as your chance, wipe the slate clean and get back on board. Instead, you turn your nose up at it.

Disgrace.

zenokelly
12/08/2008, 3:38 PM
GOALKEEPERS
Name Club Caps Goals
Shay Given Newcastle United 86 0
Dean Kiely West Bromwich Albion 10 0

DEFENDERS
Name Club Caps Goals
Alex Bruce Ipswich Town 1 0
Damien Delaney Queen’s Park Rangers 2 0
Richard Dunne Manchester City 42 5
Steve Finnan Liverpool 50 2
Kevin Foley Wolverhampton Wanderers 0 0
Kevin Kilbane Wigan Athletic 87 7
Joey O’Brien Bolton Wanderers 3 0
John O’Shea Manchester United 45 1

MIDFIELDERS
Name Club Caps Goals
Damien Duff Newcastle United 68 7
Stephen Hunt Reading 11 0
Aiden McGeady Celtic 18 0
Liam Miller Sunderland 18 1
Andy Reid Sunderland 27 4
Steven Reid Blackburn Rovers 20 2
Glenn Whelan Stoke City 2 0

FORWARDS
Name Club Caps Goals
Kevin Doyle Reading 18 5
Robbie Keane Liverpool 81 33
Andy Keogh Wolverhampton Wanderers 7 1
Shane Long Reading 8 3
Daryl Murphy Sunderland 8 0

Greenforever
12/08/2008, 3:42 PM
Can this be the end of the SI crap.

Carrigaline
12/08/2008, 3:43 PM
The only big surprise for me is that Glenn Whelan is in the squad.

Other than that, you can't really argue with Trap on his squad selection.

Oh, it doesn't sound like Andy O'Brien will ever play for Ireland again.

12/08/2008, 3:44 PM
Not too happy with the midfield selection- no natural right winger is a bad choice as you might want to change things round if you are looking for a goal.

Team pretty much picks itself.

Given

Finnan Dunne O'Shea Kilbane/Delaney

Duff Reid Reid McGeady

Keane Doyle/Keogh

Carrigaline
12/08/2008, 3:45 PM
It also looks like Carsley would have been in this squad but for his injury.

disabledrog
12/08/2008, 3:45 PM
Watched McCarthy play for hamiltom last nite and he was well impressive in da middle.also think whelan is good and deserves a chance if the likes of potter got his and dat muppet s ireland not wanting to play for us,at least whelan would give his all and be proud to get his chance and give his all

12/08/2008, 3:46 PM
No Stephen Kelly or Lee Carsley, both Birmingham. Any reasons.

Sligo Hornet
12/08/2008, 3:47 PM

Maybe the answer is in the question!:p

12/08/2008, 3:48 PM

both injured i think. kelly missed weekend lge game for birmingham

Carrigaline
12/08/2008, 3:49 PM
Not too happy with the midfield selection- no natural right winger is a bad choice as you might want to change things round if you are looking for a goal.

Umm, McGeady is strongest on the right wing. Duff can also do a job on the right wing.

bwagner
Both Kelly and Carsley are injured, Kelly out for a month i think
S Ireland ( who now looks like ming the merciless) is the biggest odd ball section 8 freak I have ever come across!

Kelly has a groin strain, Carsley played at the weekend, don't think he's injured

disabledrog
12/08/2008, 3:52 PM
alex bruce this has to be a misprint he is muck and lost his place in the ipswich team,g,gartland, sean st leadger ne other c half should be in der before this joke of a player

12/08/2008, 3:53 PM
Umm, McGeady is strongest on the right wing. Duff can also do a job on the right wing.
No, McGeady is best out left. I know Duff can play there, and I would start him there, but I'd be more comfortable with somebody who plays in that position as an option on the bench if things are going wrong. Lawrence should have been in the squad.

Carrigaline
12/08/2008, 4:04 PM
No, McGeady is best out left. I know Duff can play there, and I would start him there, but I'd be more comfortable with somebody who plays in that position as an option on the bench if things are going wrong. Lawrence should have been in the squad.
McGeady is naturally right footed but can play with the left foot as well. He's suited to either wing.

There is no place for Lawrence in the squad. We only need four wingers, McGeady and Duff are our first choice with Reid and Hunt as backup.

RogerMilla
12/08/2008, 4:10 PM
both reids must be in centre mid, now and for ever , Amen.

12/08/2008, 4:11 PM
No Lawerence isn't the end of the world. In reality McGeady and Duff will be first choice wingers. S.Hunt first backup. Moving Andy Reid to the wing would be next in line. Probably Steven Reid and Kilbane as 5th and 6th choices. Even Miller perhaps as a 7th.

Point is there are more experience and solid options he could and would choose ahead of Lawerence. I think it's not a bad move for him to wait and see how Liam handles the step up to the premiership before doing anything. In reality he won't realistically need him unless he proves to be very competent at the highest level.
Yeah, but none of them are natural right wingers. S. Reid and Miller are terrible on the wing.

My point is that depending on circumstances in the game a change of approach could be needed. Duff on the right would be cutting in a lot but this might not work against a team who crowds their defence in the middle, perhaps by playing two midfielders who sit back. The other alternatives you have given wouldn't change our tactics. McGeady could do a decent job going on the outside but he is our biggest attacking threat so put him in his best position.

I don't think there's any need to see if Lawrence proves himself at the highest level- a number of the teams we will be playing in qualfying would be Championship standard.

McGeady is naturally right footed but can play with the left foot as well. He's suited to either wing.

There is no place for Lawrence in the squad. We only need four wingers, McGeady and Duff are our first choice with Reid and Hunt as backup.
Left wing is far and away his best position, I can't believe there could be a dispute over this.

See above for my explanation.

Colbert Report
12/08/2008, 4:14 PM
Interesting to note that Kilbane is listed as a defender.

Given
Finnan-O'Shea-Dunne-Kilbane
McGeady-Reid-Reid-Duff
Keane-Doyle

Hunt can come on as an energy sub, give some pace to the wings with about half an hour to go. Long can relieve Keane or Doyle, depending on who is more knackered. Delaney can come on for McGeady or Duff, and we can push Kilbane up to LM if needed, with Delaney taking over the left back duties. Miller capable too of playing CM or RM. Glenn Whelan can come on as a CM too. Loads of options. Let's hope not too many players pull out, I remember a friendly against Holland in August two years ago where most of the team was out and we were hammered four nil. Italy hammered us the August before that, if I remember correctly.

Over the post
12/08/2008, 4:15 PM
both reids must be in centre mid, now and for ever , Amen.

Joey O'Brien did a good job for his club in centre mid towards the end of last season; he could be an option too now that he's fully fit.

Stokes has looked good for Sunderland in pre-season matches, I felt he could have been in with a shout.

12/08/2008, 4:16 PM
Did anyone see much of Kilbane at LB last season? Didn't see all too much of him myself but he was caught out positionally a lot when I saw him, same when he played for us there. I wouldn't be too comfortable with him there, I'd go for Delaney myself.

12/08/2008, 4:25 PM
Fecking, FAI Ipod is out of date and its the one for the Serbia game.

12/08/2008, 4:33 PM
Is Paul McShane injured.

12/08/2008, 4:34 PM
Is Paul McShane injured.
He is.

12/08/2008, 4:38 PM
I see now that he has injured his patella.

cclinton
12/08/2008, 4:54 PM
Darren O'Dea not in senior or U21 squads ...

12/08/2008, 5:11 PM
The U21 squad mainly consists of players who have not played at the level before to give them a chance to force their way into the sqaud. It's no big deal.

12/08/2008, 5:12 PM
Maybe he is too old for it as he was born in Feb 1987

colster
12/08/2008, 5:13 PM

Team pretty much picks itself.

Given

Finnan Dunne O'Shea Kilbane/Delaney

Duff Reid Reid McGeady

Keane Doyle/Keogh

I think Keogh has done a decent job on the right when asked.

12/08/2008, 5:15 PM
Maybe he is too old for it as he was born in Feb 1987
No, players born in 1986 or later are still eligible.

12/08/2008, 5:47 PM
My point is that depending on circumstances in the game a change of approach could be needed. Duff on the right would be cutting in a lot but this might not work against a team who crowds their defence in the middle, perhaps by playing two midfielders who sit back. The other alternatives you have given wouldn't change our tactics. McGeady could do a decent job going on the outside but he is our biggest attacking threat so put him in his best position.
McGeady and Duff will play on the wings and switch around I guess. McGeady switched from right to left against Colombia a bit and Duff is well used to it too.

Let's pray for no players pulling out of the squad. Jesus I'm excited about the chance of seeing Reid, Reid, Duff and McGeady in our midfield.

Irish_Praha
12/08/2008, 5:58 PM
I think Keogh has done a decent job on the right when asked.

I would have to disagree, he looked lost out on the wing against Germany. He is much more effective up front.

Irish_Praha
12/08/2008, 6:01 PM
Jesus I'm excited about the chance of seeing Reid, Reid, Duff and McGeady in our midfield.

I don't mean to p!ss on your chips but still 8 days to go, which means a game and a few training sessions for them to get through but hopefully all 4 will make it :)

12/08/2008, 6:36 PM
Fecking, FAI Ipod is out of date and its the one for the Serbia game.
I just changed the date in the link.

http://www.fai.ie/audio/2008-08-12.mp3

Noelys Guitar
12/08/2008, 7:12 PM

O'Dea was arrested in Glasgow at the weekend (wrongly I believe). O'Dea, McGeady and Brown were attacked by some morons outside of a nightclub. O'Dea was arrested and later fined (breach of the peace)! Hope thats not the reason he wasn't picked.