View Full Version : Ireland to play at Parkhead?

Pages : 1 [2] 3

12/09/2003, 9:03 AM
Originally posted by lopez
A pittance, true, but it's £200 more than a lot of the people in Ireland ever contributed to their country. But don't suppose you'll be asking for them to be disenfranchised.
And a hell of a lot less than anyone working is paying in PAYE, PRSI, VAT etc etc....

Again I ask, how can you logically say that you should get a vote in a country that you don't live in? Just because other countries have stupid systems, doesn't mean that we should....

12/09/2003, 9:22 AM
Originally posted by Macy
Again I ask, how can you logically say that you should get a vote in a country that you don't live in? Just because other countries have stupid systems, doesn't mean that we should....

If we'd given those irish-american nationalists (anyone whop visited the US must have met a few) the vote we'd already have invaded the North.

lopez
12/09/2003, 9:56 AM
Originally posted by Peader
You value the Irish passport but are píssed off because you had to pay for it and some Irish citizens have never contributed to the exchequer? There must be so many things in every day life that upset you? Just imagine this, if we do build a new stadium, it will cost you a fortune to go to the games.

Read my post again. I never said I was p*ssed off with paying for a passport. What, you think I want it for nothing?:rolleyes: I was pointing out that even someone who never lived in Ireland, has contributed more than some on the electoral lists. Try not to be too presumptuous.

And a hell of a lot less than anyone working is paying in PAYE, PRISM, VAT etc etc....

Macy, can I ask you exactly what did they taught you at school about emigration in history or was it just all Tudors and Victorians as is the case here? I mean we are talking about what was a fundamental pillar of Irish society. Some mock the ignorance of the Irish over emigration as 'just Free State education'. Perhaps that's harsh, but let me put it this way. Between the founding of the Irish FS and perhaps the reforms of Sean Lemmas, the remittances sent home by emigrants kept Ireland afloat, and stopped it being reduced to a country like Mozambique. Also emigration performed as a pressure switch in keeping down what was once the highest unemployment in Europe (Hence Bertie in the eighties going begging to his pals in Irish-America to get Ireland made a special case to increase emigration to the US). Perhaps you might think that this is some old cojones I'm making up. Alas it is true. Check it out! Emigrants, have contributed plenty to Ireland, be it in remittances, contributions to buy arms (either pre or post 1921) or fund political parties to gain the state that you are so proud to live in, or just by paying years of taxes before their departure. That's why a vote, at least for them, is deserved, if not for someone like myself.

Yeah,, yeah. There were plenty in the nineteenth who thought those without a sufficient rateable property (let alone women) should be denied the vote, so I'm hardly impressed by your equally stoopid argument.

Originally posted by Pete
If we'd given those irish-american nationalists (anyone whop visited the US must have met a few) the vote we'd already have invaded the North.:rolleyes:

How many Irish- Americans have JUST Irish citizenship?:rolleyes:

Duncan Gardner
14/09/2003, 7:27 PM
Originally posted by pete
Playing Parkhead would be a complete disaster.

Millenium Stadium in Cardiff would be good option if required - they used to tens of thousands of people visiting for games in the city.

Are you saying Parkhead would only be a bad idea in practice, not on principle?

I disagree. And Cardiff would be little better. The problem isn't any perceived sectarianism, as much as the political difficulty of playing in another country. I know the English rationalise staging their cup finals in Cardiff by saying 'yes, but their clubs play in our league'. Obviously Ireland couldn't argue that.

Lopez- your broad point (that emigrants contributed plenty to Ireland) is a fair one. But you don't help it with exaggerated comparisons (ie Mozambique). Most ex-colonial African countries have long been markedly poorer than Ireland- measurable by GDP, infrastructure, life expectancy and the rest. And in any case the direct benefit to the Irish economy from remittances etc. has been marginal.

lopez
14/09/2003, 10:58 PM
Originally posted by Duncan Gardner
Lopez- your broad point (that emigrants contributed plenty to Ireland) is a fair one. But you don't help it with exaggerated comparisons (ie Mozambique).

Not an exaggeration perhaps, but the worse case scenario.

[i]..and in any case the direct benefit to the Irish economy from remittances etc. has been marginal.

In the era discussed three things combined to highlight the importance of emigration. First, emigrant families were far more dependent on money being sent back home than now. Secondly, the social repercussions of from even higher unemployment would have crippled the economy had it not been for emigration. Thirdly, from a (partitioned) country with negligible industry (compared with today), the remittances impact on the country's foreign reserves would have disproportionally higher. To say emigrants contributed nothing for the country is rubbish.

Getting back to football. BA is the man who promised so much, but delivered f*ck all. Remember that at the next election!

Lionel Hutz
15/09/2003, 4:17 AM
GAA are bigoted because they class my (your) sport as an inferior foriegn game - they're quite happy to use Rugby and proper football facilities for training, but not let us use their grounds or facilities. The GAA wouldn't exist in most other countries if it wasn't for football, rugby and even cricket grounds letting them use their facilities. Thats not even getting into the fact that players were banned from the GAA for playing the so called Garrison Games. They are bigots.

Seems to me they are in good company then with your average league of Ireland supporter who looks down his nose at someone who supports a "foreign" team from "across the water".
Bigots the lot of ye!

Duncan Gardner
15/09/2003, 9:03 AM
Originally posted by Lionel Hutz
Seems to me they are in good company then with your average league of Ireland supporter who looks down his nose at someone who supports a "foreign" team from "across the water".
Bigots the lot of ye!

Except that Eircom League fans have not

institutionally discriminated against the minority population in Ireland for decades ('British security personnel' being a euphemism for 'unionists')
received large-scale public investment for infrastructure while simultaneously
refusing access to that infrastructure to the taxpaying fans of other sports who've paid for it.

PS I saw in the Irish Indo the other day that the bold Gerard is now the most popular party leader. Aye, Bertie out :)

15/09/2003, 9:09 AM
Originally posted by patsh
As usual this has brought out those bigoted about the GAA, with their usual rants and criticisms.
However, it's the GAA, who built the state of the art, 80,000 seater stadium, as well as the other 40,000 to 50,000 seater stadiums, with SOME money from the state (a fraction of what the GAA itself has put into communities all over the country in terms of facilities, time and the general health of people).
No other sports association managed it, for all the GAA's faults.

exactly
ppl seem very bitter at the GAA for pulling off a big coup and getting the govt to shell out alot of money for the revdeveloped croker..fair play to them.. its a great fcuking stadium and one of the best in europe..

if the FAI cant lever that kinda money from the govt then it not the GAAs fault !

lopez
15/09/2003, 10:10 AM
Imagine a world where the wages, from Roy Keane and Damian Duff right down to the lowly part timer, were taken away by the FAI? No need for any 'big coup' or levering then.

Lionel Hutz
16/09/2003, 12:23 AM
Except that Eircom League fans have not

institutionally discriminated against the minority population in Ireland for decades ('British security personnel' being a euphemism for 'unionists')
received large-scale public investment for infrastructure while simultaneously
refusing access to that infrastructure to the taxpaying fans of other sports who've paid for it.

PS I saw in the Irish Indo the other day that the bold Gerard is now the most popular party leader. Aye, Bertie out :)

None of which takes away from the fact that yer average league of Ireland fan is as narrow minded as the ruling body of the GAA only as yer average GAA fan in the street doesnt really care if soccer is played in GAA grounds or not.
A case of the pot calling the kettle black in my opinion

Lionel Hutz
16/09/2003, 12:39 AM
Originally posted by James
exactly
ppl seem very bitter at the GAA for pulling off a big coup and getting the govt to shell out alot of money for the revdeveloped croker..fair play to them.. its a great fcuking stadium and one of the best in europe..

if the FAI cant lever that kinda money from the govt then it not the GAAs fault !

Its a typical Irish attitude to take Im afraid!

One of my mates was upset as he has a family and is still waiting on a council house
His atttitude was that the "*******" are getting all the houses.
When I asked him if it shouldnt be the government and local authority he was angry with as they are the ones that introduced and run the current housing policy he starred at me blankly!:D

I feel the LOI crew are acting in the same way, instead of giving out cos the GAA managed to get one over on the government
they should be trying to see how the GAA pulled off the stroke!

Duncan Gardner
16/09/2003, 9:32 AM
None of which takes away from the fact that yer average league of Ireland fan is as narrow minded as the ruling body of the GAA only as yer average GAA fan in the street doesnt really care if soccer is played in GAA grounds or not.
A case of the pot calling the kettle black in my opinion

Thing is, we know what the GAA thinks, and thought. If the 'average' (ie majority) fan thinks otherwise, they can change things. As they did re the Brit ban. But as they haven't done re Ireland internationals at Croke.

Whereas we don't know that the typical Eircom League fan is as bad. We're only taking your (anecdotal) word for it :)

16/09/2003, 9:39 AM
I feel the LOI crew are acting in the same way, instead of giving out cos the GAA managed to get one over on the government they should be trying to see how the GAA pulled off the stroke! ;)
In fairness you'd be hard pressed to find an eL fan who thought the FAI were great for not getting those grants. It doesn't take way from the fact that the GAA is a bogotted organisation.

No foreign sports unless its American Football

16/09/2003, 9:46 AM
Originally posted by lopez
Imagine a world where the wages, from Roy Keane and Damian Duff right down to the lowly part timer, were taken away by the FAI? No need for any 'big coup' or levering then.
The anti-GAA lobby is getting increasingly desperate in it's attempts to somehow link the success of the GAA to the lack of a stadium for soccer.
What wages?
EVERY GAA player knows he will not be paid for playing.
Even if they were, would the so-called wages pay for ALL the stadiums the GAA have built in this country?
Virtually every GAA club in this country has a decent ground, clubhouse, bar and range of social activities for ALL age groups and gender.
Instead of the usual few ranting about the "bigotry" of the GAA, maybe soccer people should take a long hard look at how the GAA is such an incredible success, take some steps to do some of the things that garnered that success, and get off their as*es and do something.
The FAI was shafted by Ahern, he shouldn't be given the chance to do it again. Build our own stadium, and get the money from American Football, Rock concerts and anyone else who wants to pay the rent.

liamon
16/09/2003, 11:49 AM
Originally posted by Conor74
Please quote the source of the study or the evidence to back this up, I would be interested. Unless of course it is all based on your opinion. Or maybe that of your good friend who thinks the word "n****r" is acceptable. You sound like such an open and understanding bunch of guys.
Maybe he's referring to the scientific study recently published in that eminent scientific journal – “The Evening Echo”, which clearly proved that all CCFC fans were racist.

16/09/2003, 12:02 PM
Bigots the lot of ye!

Bigots the lot of ye? Ye, incidentally, is not a word.

I'm a LoI fan and I also follow English football. To a lesser extent, I follow Italian and Spanish football. I dislike the GAA as an organisation, but occasionally watch hurling and used to play both codes. At one time, my playing of "soccer" would have had me banned from the GAA, though I'm lucky enough to live in a society that's slightly less tolerant of such bigotted ****e. I admire what the GAA have built, and wish the FAI were that organised.

But whatever I am, I'm not a bigot, you narrow-minded twit.

16/09/2003, 12:44 PM
Originally posted by Dodge
No foreign sports unless its American Football

Or Boxing - Ali in '74!

I think that a colleague of mine hit the nail on the herad when I was rarging with her about the ban. She described it as a ban on "English sports" the whole time, and when I corrected her that it was supposed to be a ban on foreign sports, she grumbled before accepting that it was the case. This is what a large problem at Croker is - "English" games.

I seem to recall that right up until the late 1970's, early 1980's the ban on GAA players playing "Foreign" sports was enforced, but as far as I can remember, it was only ever Rugby and Soccer that were punished. Roscommon player Dermot Earley was "Lieutenant Late" when playing rugby for the army. George O'Connor of Wexford hurlers got into a similar pickle when playing rugby after the ban ended - there was a lot of speculation over whether he should be let play for the county I am told. Yet how many basketball players, athletes and so forth have played and won medals for their county teams.

I don't begrudge the GAA their stadium. I enjoy Hurling greatly. I think that Croker is a fabulous ground, and as impressive as most European stadia, including the Flansiro. Yet I don't think that we will see the ground given to us, even to rent. To be honest, I don't really want us to get it, as I don't think that it is particularly productive to allow the Government or the FAI away with their responsibilities. While pointing at and blaming the GAA is fun, and an easy target, they only did what the FAI should have. They stuck to their guns and got themselves a classy stadium. That is their business.

Similiarly, in the ideal world where the Blues own Kilcohan, I wouldn't like to see the Waterford Senior Hurlers, the under 21 footballers, or the Waterford Ladies Gaelic team - all teams I like to see do well - renting the ground from us. I can't see the Cork squad having a disagreement with that after the loss of Flower Lodge.

The FAI had us under the impression that there was a serious probability of eircom Park happening before the government came in with their bluff and bluster. So, as I see it, either the government owe us an explanation, or the FAI do - we, the fans, have been short changed.

liamon
16/09/2003, 1:26 PM
Originally posted by John83
Ye, incidentally, is not a word.

Is "Ye" not the plural form of "you"?
Or should we all be using the phrase "youse" like the Dubs?

Junior
16/09/2003, 1:59 PM
Originally posted by liamon
Maybe he's referring to the scientific study recently published in that eminent scientific journal – “The Evening Echo”, which clearly proved that all CCFC fans were racist.

I remember a similar study, I think it also proved the theory that all Celtic supporters have a fond affinity with stools of the Bar variety and were unable to identify opposition players due to their high levels of 'muppetness':D

16/09/2003, 3:31 PM
Originally posted by Junior
.....and were unable to identify opposition players due to their high levels of 'muppetness':D....

I remember the Clinical trials, it was a Pavlovian experiment where a highly trained PA announcer waved an unsuspecting Great Dane in front of them, and they Salivated, then booed.:D

As for the Croker debate, I think Patsh is right. There are aspects of the GAA which I dislike, but credit where it's due, Croker is as good a staidum as any I've seen, and better than most.

But to be fair, a lot of the money that went into it came from receipts at intercounty games, a fund raiser we don't have as of yet, and we pay the players. But it's true we'd be better off looking at how they did it and try to emulate it rather than complain.

The argument that were we to move into Croker that we'd never build a soccer stadium is valid too. We just need to get our act together.

liamon
16/09/2003, 4:03 PM
Personally, I'm not a big fan of the GAA.
To much in-breeding for my liking.:D

But, I do admire the stadia they have built and the way they have paid for them. Croker may have been built with some tax money, but there are other stadia that were built through local community fund raising and hard work. Go to Thurles and you'll find a pretty decent stadium, paid for largely by loal fundraising and a series of concerts held there around 1990.
The GAA may have got some money from the government, but the bulk of the cash has come from the fans over the past 100 years.
They paid for the pitches, so they should not be under any obligation to share with any other sport, esp one that threatens to steal their young players and turn them into soccer players.

Aer Lingus got plenty from the government over the years, should they have to supply planes for Ryanair?

16/09/2003, 4:05 PM
Originally posted by tiktok
But it's true we'd be better off looking at how they did it and try to emulate it rather than complain.

The argument that were we to move into Croker that we'd never build a soccer stadium is valid too. We just need to get our act together.
We did, we had the plans but got screwed over by Bertie and his FF/PD cohorts..... No funding for eP, promised riches for going with the state funded bertie bowl....

It's a total fallacy to say that FAI didn't have their act together on this - it simply wasn't possible without Government support, just as the redevelopment of Croker wouldn't have been....

liamon
16/09/2003, 4:19 PM
We did, we had the plans but got screwed over by Bertie and his FF/PD cohorts.....

To be fair to the PDs - I don't think they ever promised to support eP.

Bertie on the other hand..............

16/09/2003, 4:24 PM
that's fair enough Macy, I realise that the whole Bertie Bowl agenda scuppered the FAI, and after they'd laid out quite a bit of money.

But we can't use landsdowne at full capacity for the WC qualifiers, the Bertie Bowl was further scuppered by the PD's which as liamon points out is something they should have foreseen, in any case, it's not going to happen and it's left the FAI high and dry. All i'm saying is that they need to get the plans in place to do it themselves, and maybe look to the GAA for ideas.

16/09/2003, 4:36 PM
It's a FF/PD government, so they are both to blame and as leader of that Government Bertie carries most of the responsibility....

Considering our esteemed leaders couldn't see (or wouldn't let on) that the country was fooked, how do you expect the FAI. I have no time for the muppets of merrion square, but on this issue they are not the ones we should be pointing the finger at.... Its the muppets a few hundred yards down the road that must carry the can....

16/09/2003, 5:32 PM
Jesus lads, is the failure of the FAI to acquire a home over the past 100 years the fault of Bertie Ahern in 2001? Or is this yet another chance to have a go. Sure it's a shame we don't have a stadium, it's a shame the FAI botched their own plans through mismanagement and personality battles, it's a shame they pinned their dreams to the hope of a National Stadium which was always far from a certainty, it's a shame they forgot to look for any security in lieu of their agreement to become the anchor tenant. If Bertie had sold them magic beans for a cow, would everyone here still absolve them of blame? The failure of the FAI to obtain a stadium rests with the FAI, no matter how trendy it is to blame Bertie Ahern. If eircom Park was seriously viable, we would have been spared the years of toing and froing before the idea was eventually strangled.

Point taken but they were being pushed into a corner through the whole affair. The "aircraft" not being able to fly out of Baldonnel was one of the best yet, Bertie and co. were up to all sorts at the time and some of it we'll probably never hear about.

I personally think the FAI and IRFU should ignore any offer the gov. make and strike on with their own project.

It would be more in line for Bertie to sort out all the loose ends of all the tribunals and reports that have been going on in recent years.

Lionel Hutz
17/09/2003, 1:24 AM
That's a really good point Lionel. Please quote the source of the study or the evidence to back this up, I would be interested. Unless of course it is all based on your opinion. Or maybe that of your good friend who thinks the word "n****r" is acceptable. You sound like such an open and understanding bunch of guys.

You really are the saddest individual Iv come across in a while Conor74!
My comments to the guy were to suggest to him that he might be directing his anger in the wrong direction and that he should be more understand to others.

Get a life pal but if thats not possible at least read the post properly. :rolleyes:

Lionel Hutz
17/09/2003, 1:32 AM
Originally posted by John83
Bigots the lot of ye? Ye, incidentally, is not a word.

I'm a LoI fan and I also follow English football. To a lesser extent, I follow Italian and Spanish football. I dislike the GAA as an organisation, but occasionally watch hurling and used to play both codes. At one time, my playing of "soccer" would have had me banned from the GAA, though I'm lucky enough to live in a society that's slightly less tolerant of such bigotted ****e. I admire what the GAA have built, and wish the FAI were that organised.

But whatever I am, I'm not a bigot, you narrow-minded twit.

Hey if LOI supporters are allowed brand all celtic fans as bigots I think its only fair that I be allow to point out some of your own shortcommings, even if its only to prove to you lot that you are infact only human and not perfect as indeed some of you seem to think!:rolleyes:

BTW I wont make personal insults against you as to be honest it seems like a childish exercise which Il leave in your more than capable hands!

17/09/2003, 7:58 AM
blah blah blah anyone's fault but FF blah blah blah
Conor, Bertie could (should) have pumped in the €50 million into eP that would've seen it built by now....

It wasn't botched plans - One stadium would've been viable, but with the Government insisting they would go ahead with Stadium Ireland regardless, and with no money for eP, the FAI had no choice..... You can build it up all you want as the FAI's fault, put whatever spin you want on it but we were screwed by the Government.

Lansdowne Road was fine, temp seats were fine - it was UEFA changing the rules that necessitated the need for a new stadium, so how is that the FAI's fault? They had the plans, all they needed was the backing and some funding from the Government - which they outright refused to do.

Interesting that the money that they are willing to give the FAI/IRFU at this "time of economic prudence" is over 3 times the amount that the FAI were requesting for eP in a time of economic boom......

17/09/2003, 9:03 AM
I think Bertie should have shut down a wing of Tallaght hospital and built the stadium regardless. In a time of economic prudence we need our white elephant sports projects...

Amazing the way an FFer can spin anything.
We are talking about the time when Champagne Charlie was telling everyone to "party on". There was going to be a velodrome, golf academy, you name it, FF were going to build it.
Some labs in the way?
No problem, heres a few hundred million, move them.
The phrases "white elephant" and "economic prudence" were being bandied about all right, but it was by Labour, Fine Gael, economists and, to use your leader's own phrase, "creeping Jesuses".
Unless you have finally converted to Lab or FG, Conor, that only leaves two options for you. When did you become an economist?;)

Jesus lads, is the failure of the FAI to acquire a home over the past 100 years the fault of Bertie Ahern in 2001? Or is this yet another chance to have a go. Sure it's a shame we don't have a stadium, it's a shame the FAI botched their own plans through mismanagement and personality battles, it's a shame they pinned their dreams to the hope of a National Stadium which was always far from a certainty, it's a shame they forgot to look for any security in lieu of their agreement to become the anchor tenant. If Bertie had sold them magic beans for a cow, would everyone here still absolve them of blame? The failure of the FAI to obtain a stadium rests with the FAI, no matter how trendy it is to blame Bertie Ahern. If eircom Park was seriously viable, we would have been spared the years of toing and froing before the idea was eventually strangled.
The FAI should have had their own stadium years ago, nothing will change that.
However, no matter what way you try to spin it Conor, when they did have plans for a stadium and were going to do it themselves, it is a fact that Ahern in particular bribed, cajoled, pressured and did everything to make sure it would not go ahead.
The grants for soccer, which the FAI are fully entitled to, became dependent on their support for Abbotstown, then, all of a sudden, we hear of the utterly spurious notion that flights from Baldonnell would be endangered, and money would flow to the FAI coffers from the stadium itself. All of this at a time when FF were botching their own plans through mismanagement and personality battles.
Ahern still wants this satdium, still won't let it go.
FAI are to blame for years of dithering and utter incompetence, but when they did eventually try to get their act together, they were shafted by the all time master of dithering and incompetence.

17/09/2003, 11:34 AM
GAAS are to be commended for building their own stadium.

The government must hold their hands up for giving €140 million of our money to them and now are claiming poverty when trying to build the national stadium they promised. Particularly as €60 million of it was a bribe to keep Croke Park closed when the GAA were in financial trouble.

There is a separate issue with sectarianism within the GAA or most cirrectly propogated by a minority who are very influential.

17/09/2003, 12:37 PM
Conor, I take you're failure to answer the points about the funding etc to mean that you accept that the FAI were screwed by the Government?

17/09/2003, 12:41 PM
Hey if LOI supporters are allowed brand all celtic fans as bigots I think its only fair that I be allow to point out some of your own shortcommings, even if its only to prove to you lot that you are infact only human and not perfect as indeed some of you seem to think!:rolleyes:

BTW I wont make personal insults against you as to be honest it seems like a childish exercise which Il leave in your more than capable hands!

Fact: You called LoI fans bigots.
Fact: I am a LoI fan.
:. You called me a bigot.

Simple reasoning? I'm sorry if you can't follow it.

BTW, I've never, ever called, or even regarded Celtic fans bigots, and I don't like it when other fans make generalisations. You, on the other hand, seem to love making generalisations.

17/09/2003, 1:13 PM
As for government funding, I think I made the observation about the "always looking for a handout and whinging" mentality in some other thread - search for my definition of a "pinko"... ;) :D
No, that was the definiton of "farmer", "publican" and "FF local councillor".

Greenbod
17/09/2003, 1:22 PM
Ah, patsh...FF Councillors, farmers, publicans - all three occupy a special place in my heart, though if there was a burning building scenario I think I'd rescue the publican first!!!

Rescue one and you've probably rescued them all. Me? I'd let it burn;)

17/09/2003, 1:44 PM
Not at all. On the contrary, I was merely trying to avoid the whole "let's blame FF" argument which will go around in circles. We will start disagreeing, and end no closer to accepting the other's arguments...but we'll enjoy ourselves geting there!!!
Possible, but I think it's hard for you to argue this case.....

For what it's worth, I'm happy with the judgement of those like John Delanay on the project. National stadium or none, the eircom League project was simply not viable.
Think you confusing the issues.... Delaney and Co only got involved when Bertie and Co said there would be no funding for eP and the promise of riches from Stadium Ireland...

Even you yourself acknowledge it with your observation that the government should have funded it, though I see you deem yourself qualified enough to give an opinion on the amount needed. Given that we were lied to about the project, I wouldn't be so confident about anything at all.
Maybe not viable to build without funding, but then niether would Croke Park... The funding that the FAI were looking for was only a percentage of what the GAA get, and continue to get, for Croker... We could all see private companies falling over themselves to build stadium ireland when the Government pulled out - does that make it not viable either? The Government could have helped the FAI with their home, as they are saying they will now - however it would have been a hell of a lot cheaper to go with eP than the current proposals on the table....

As for government funding, I think I made the observation about the "always looking for a handout and whinging" mentality in some other thread - search for my definition of a "pinko"... ;) :D
Actually just looking for parity with the GAA. Not whinging for funding, whinging for equality..... But if you're going to bring in pinko terms, we shouldn't be surprised that the working class sport is treated like the working class people by this right wing Government.... :p

17/09/2003, 2:01 PM
Ah, patsh...FF Councillors, farmers, publicans - all three occupy a special place in my heart, though if there was a burning building scenario I think I'd rescue the publican first!!!
Nothing to say about my earlier post, Conor? ;)

lopez
17/09/2003, 3:55 PM
[Giving emigrants the vote] I think it would drag us back further into the civil war politics that we desperately need to get away with...

Yeah, I see what you mean now.;)

Qunnie
17/09/2003, 5:19 PM
Seen an interesting thread starting at Cork GAA Forum for a National Stadium to be build in Cork
http://corkgaa.proboards21.com/index.cgi?board=general&action=display&num=1063792253&start=0

17/09/2003, 5:38 PM
Plenty to say patsh, but if I say it the thread will continue in the following vein...

You/Macy "Bertie bad boy, FAI good"
followed by my response
Me "FAI bad, Bertie good boy"
then your response
then my response
then your response
then my response

and so on and so forth. I see a distinct pattern emerging..:D :D :D
Not really, there was a simple question posed. ;)

18/09/2003, 7:52 AM
Planning a future on a politician's promise, notwithstanding Bertie's undeniable honesty and integrity (;) ) is simply not clever.
At last, Conor admits that FF can't be trusted - that's all I wanted from you.... :D

18/09/2003, 12:57 PM
No no, I put in a "wink" sign after

Shame there isn't a "nod" sign, in keeping with recent national stadium promising party policy:D :D

Duncan Gardner
21/09/2003, 8:56 AM
He's from Worcester really :)

lopez
21/09/2003, 6:22 PM
He's from Worcester really :)

No he isn't! He's from a lair in indo-china where he spends his days masterminding the theft of the secrets to International Rescue.;)

Welcome aboard...erm...Davros.:)

nlgbbbblth
23/09/2003, 5:34 PM
Originally posted by davros
Green

OF COURSE WE SHOULD!As a life-long Ireland & Celtic fan,this is an ideal venue........all the clowns who witter about Sectarianism forget that 80000+ members of the Irish diaspora coverged on Seville with no problems,despite losing!

Why not Celtic park for big games-have more experience of these than the FAI,& there are plenty of Irish-friendly watering-holes across the city!Know a few rebel songs may have been sung in them over the years,but with recent events in the osc.,the atmosphere is much dissipated,exc.Huns'games!

Also the likely crowd @ Ireland games,inc.the suits,FG B*stards & Ole Ole brigade,are hardly prime recruiting fodder for most MOR parties,let alone the RA!We are mainly adults,& er,live in a 'democracy';so why not!

Finally whatever you say,Celtic always have & always will be an IRISH club;They are the only club in mainland Britain who fly the Tricolour,a'foreign'flag,over their ground(Hibs.are allowed,also?) & the massive amount of C.S.C's & Club shirts across the whole island of Ireland are testament to to this!I'm sure all those schoolkids,not even teenagers,wearing Celtic tops,are rampant Sectarian bigots!In fact,these days,across Dublin(a bastion of Republicanism(my home town!),you see more Hoops than some obscure team from NW eng.,whose fans are well known for reaing the Sun & watching Coronation St.!Re.song,Portugal'95?

Celtic are NOT an Irish club. They are a Scottish club, or some might say a British club.
If you want to support an Irish club you will find plenty of them in Ireland.

There is nothing wrong with supporting obscure "NW Eng" teams - at least they don't pretend to be Irish
There is nothing wrong with watching "Coronation Street" - at least it doesn't pretend to be Irish.

My local car hire firm flies a number of flags from the top of it's building including an American one. Obviously to please the tourists. However it does not make them American.

Someone should tell the hardline republicans flogging An Phoblacht on Dame St that wearing a Celtic shirt doesn't make you more Irish than the rest of us. And they are sectarian p r i c k s believe me.

25/09/2003, 9:05 AM
Fat Boy;Have an affinity to the place,but my place of birth is Kilmainham,Dublin & the ma,from Ardee,Co.Louth(Baile Ath Cliath/An Lu Abu!)dark-blue

Not questioning your credentials, Davros, but Dublin AND Louth:confused: I reckon you'd get massacred on the Hill if cheering both on at a doubleheader at Croker.

Duncan Gardner
25/09/2003, 3:46 PM
I'm not nlgbetc., as Davros suggests.

Dav thinks that

a) Celtic are an Irish club
b) this is self-evident
c) anyone suggesting otherwise must be either a moron or a unionist bigot
d) Ulster unionists are by definition bigots
e) opinions such as those offered by nlgbetc. or Conor put them in category c
f) thus quite likely they are me using a different name.

It's incoherent, convoluted nonsense of course- almost a paradody, you might say :)

NB Dav hasn't lived in the RoI since age two, nor in Glasgow at all. Nothing wrong with any of that, of course: but it may make his ranting just a little less, er, authoritative?

nlgbbbblth
25/09/2003, 5:29 PM
mate/FB,You're clearly more ignorant than you even sound!Will credit you with the 'insight' that you have actually been to Parkhead?!Or to any Celtic games?
Celtic Are an Irish club based in Glasgow;ask the vast majority of people in the city-even H*ns & the island of Ireland wearing the Hoops(Incidentally last year,more Celtic shirts sold in Ireland,than for M*n U.,& certainly inc.the Puppet state!).Also,er,30000 Irish were in Seville-you muppet!

Would encourage the masses to support their local Lge.sides,exc.where obviously sectarian,in the osc!However,as most have minimal chances of reaching the CL,no harm in following the'de facto' Írish diaspora's club........

If you want to wallow in local Mancunian culture,more fool you...........the hordes from Surrey(Manc.diaspora?!)may be a tad offended?!Its TV profile mainly tries to be a paradody of itself!

Don't see many US tourists floating about in the wake of 9-11;the clued-up ones don't really worry pandering to their lowest basic instincts;That's addressed to Wubya & his morons!

As for Republican paper sellers,well,we live in a'democracy',don't we?Think about it!sea-green

still b o l l o c k s mate

I am aware of all the statistics you spout

have been to matches involving Celtic - never Parkhead though
one particular occasion stands out - when they played St Pats in 1998 in Tolka - and getting called a hun/orange ******* by IRISH Celtic fans for supporting St Patrick's Athletic - who are an IRISH team, with 9 Irishmen in their starting eleven.

That kind of shi te is inexcusable. - and backs up my earlier statement about that while wearing a Celtic shirt doesn't make you more Irish than the rest of us nobody told those p r i c k s in Tolka that

Greenbod
26/09/2003, 8:16 AM
I carry a photo of Brian Cowen in my wallet

Jesus Conor, you are one sick individual. You need help badly;)

liamon
26/09/2003, 9:13 AM
...,who were supportive of our nationalistic aspirations,as I am of theirs;so not all bad,then!

You live in London and you rant about nationalsit aspirations. Have you joined the National Front then?;)

And having been to Parkhead, I can say it's a Scottish club. Very proud to be scottish. Incredibly proud of the fact that it's European Cup winning team were all Scottish and all from within 15 (?) miles of the club. Strong links to local (Scottish) community.

The fact that a few thousand sectarian idiots support them, doesn't make them Irish.

In summary....Scottish, not Irish.