View Full Version : Stag Locations in Ireland

galwayhoop
08/08/2008, 4:07 PM
I have been lumbered with best man at my cousins wedding. Along with the annoyance of having to pen a speech for the big day I also have to organise a stag. The crowd will be a bit younger than me and most in their late twenties/ early thirties.

I am looking to organize a one night event (absolute maximum of two) in Ireland and we are mostly coming from Galway. Any ideas appreciated!!!

10/08/2008, 2:07 PM
Carlow town isnt a bad shout, plenty of good night spots and its too small for anyone to get lost. I was there at a stag about 2 years ago, had a ball. Spent the satruday afternoon playing snooker, listening to duke box in the basement of a pub, they made us burgers and everything (which I thought was nice).

10/08/2008, 4:38 PM
Had mine in Letterkenny. Coincided with game in Ballybofey. Terrific spot

11/08/2008, 9:11 AM
whiiiile bit of rallying in letterkenny sir!

McShels
12/08/2008, 9:42 AM
Was in carlow for a stag meself a couple weeks back good spot and some amount of talent around it as well......:D:D

GuisaSaigon
12/08/2008, 9:52 AM
Went to a mate's stag in Tralee a couple of years ago. It was during the Rose of Tralee festival. Great craic!

12/08/2008, 10:08 AM
Just back from Ennis at the weekend. Might be a bit close to Galway but it was good town for drinking. Pretty high standard of women for the singletons too. Drink pretty cheap, and you can't argue with getting cans of bulmers over the counter. The Queens is the maddest/ wierdest spot I've been to in a long time. The one caveat, I'd say some of the pubs could be shady enough, but no reports of any trouble spotted at all.

18/08/2008, 9:45 AM
The brother's wedding was in Letterkenny. Mad craic altogether. Great town.

deecay
18/08/2008, 4:25 PM
The brother's wedding was in Letterkenny. Mad craic altogether. Great town.
Marthino?He's a great man

18/08/2008, 5:58 PM
Marthino?He's a great man

Ha ha, he's a dark horse alright that lad. ;)

18/08/2008, 8:37 PM
check out the Rally School of Ireland in Monaghan, its a great day's fun and Monaghan town is great for a bit of craic on a sat nite. The Pig or the Crazy Camel and then the Forum niteclub are the best spots for the young lads.

18/08/2008, 9:30 PM
I bumped into some lads in the pub in Longford who were on a stag night. They were from Cavan so they probably felt they'd save on the price of accomodation and petrol the stingy hoors. Anyway, Longford god bless it, wouldn't be high on my list if I were an outsider. Westport is supposed to be good.

19/08/2008, 11:19 AM
I bumped into some lads in the pub in Longford who were on a stag night. They were from Cavan so they probably felt they'd save on the price of accomodation and petrol the stingy hoors. Anyway, Longford god bless it, wouldn't be high on my list if I were an outsider. Westport is supposed to be good.

Stereotypical mane Caaaaaaavvvan hoor there. ;) I've never understood the appeal of having a stag in a large city. London has loads of them but much better when its a much smaller town. UK wise, Bournemouth is a great place for a stag, all the pubs and clubs very close to each other, and then you have the beach. :cool:

22/08/2008, 10:45 AM
Cant beat Derry for a night out. I'm havin' my stag up there next year. I can recomend the Abbey B&B(right beside FDC) for cheap and cheerful Accomodation and Peadar O'Donnels for a good night out

MysticMon
22/08/2008, 11:38 AM
i wouldn't recommend cavan to go out in let alone havin a Stag in it at all.....Monaghan ( Poc Fada & Squealing Pig) niteclubs aint great only two, but Forum would be best option as it in the town and handier to get a taxi........... or Letterkenny which is a pretty good spot alot livelier & moe craic..........

22/08/2008, 11:43 AM
To me its a disaster when a stag ends up in a Nightclub. I hate things. Good thing about nightclubs it gets rid of the scum from the proper pubs.

We headed out the Arran Islands for a Stag and had a blast. Lock in with guitars out and the pints flowing and loads of students over from UCG. Also less danger of the group getting split up etc as there were only 2 or 3 pubs.

Monkfish
22/08/2008, 1:10 PM
Lock in with guitars out and the pints flowing and loads of students over from UCG.

The word hell comes to mind, sorry. :)

May I recommend Kilkenny.

22/08/2008, 2:42 PM
The word hell comes to mind, sorry. :)

May I recommend Kilkenny.

They were female students I should add.

Monkfish
22/08/2008, 3:06 PM
They were female students I should add.

Art students? or my boat aint leaving the jetty! :)

stann
26/08/2008, 6:56 AM
Or student nurses! :)
Kilkenny also gets a resounding commendation from this quarter.

28/08/2008, 10:18 AM
To me its a disaster when a stag ends up in a Nightclub. I hate things. Good thing about nightclubs it gets rid of the scum from the proper pubs.

We headed out the Arran Islands for a Stag and had a blast. Lock in with guitars out and the pints flowing and loads of students over from UCG. Also less danger of the group getting split up etc as there were only 2 or 3 pubs.

Leaving Monkfish to his devices that sounds like a good night and a good way to actually get to have a laugh with the people at your stag.

I'd mine in Ennistymon, there's only one street with a whole glut of pubs on it and we visited them all. We were staying in the Falls hotel (2 minute walk away) and we had a scream until someone suggested going to the local nightclub (which is actually in the Falls and was a case study in 6-toed mutantism) and split the posse on us.

Worth pointing out -the age range at mine would've been the same as that GH is describing and, other than casually viewing the menu, the vast majority of them wouldn't have been looking to score skirt in the club anyway.

Mercifully anyway there was a residents late bar in the Falls so we all hooked up again later on but the nightclub thing was a blot on the night. It just knocked a couple of hours out of it on us.

Row Z
06/01/2009, 12:28 PM
Have to organise a stags now myself.
two day-er... want to do something on the saturday, paintball, go-karting, buggy driving, etc etc...
was thinking of going to Cavan Town, then to a buggy driving place, found the website at www.odd.ie....
if any has been let me know how you got on, else any other suggestions??

Paddyfield
06/01/2009, 9:51 PM
I had mine in Tullamore. Train station is in the middle of the town which suites those travelling from Galway and Dubland. Lots of quality pubs and there one big MoFo of a nightclub for those interested.

We had a great meal in a restaurant called the PADDYFIELD which inspired my username, well, kind of.

hula4
08/01/2009, 5:18 PM
had our christmas party in carrick on shannon and i have to say was sceptical with the choice but really liked it. some great pubs there and the nightclub was quite good as well. was pleasantly suprised with the standard of women down there as well

id also recommend limerick as a good drinking city.

15/01/2009, 9:13 AM
Kilkenny is a great spot for a stag.

Going to on in Kenmare Saturday week and they hate stags down there. I have a feeling its going to be a disaster.

Thunderblaster
17/02/2009, 12:04 AM
A great town for a stag party is Aughagower!!:p:D

Row Z
26/05/2009, 8:24 AM
Stags now going to Waterford. anyone any ideas on pitch and putt courses in the city, snooker halls, i know theres a go karting place in Kiltorcan, but is it far from Waterford?
any help on ideas for Saturday day time events, much appreciated...

Wangball
26/05/2009, 10:05 AM
I used to live in Belfast and can't speak highly enough of the nightlife and craic there is to be had around the city

Also stayed in Derry for a few months working, great place to go out on the rip...its cheap as rice...pound a pint in some places and a lot of quality skank too

26/05/2009, 11:39 AM
go karting place in Kiltorcan, but is it far from Waterford?

I was at the place in Kiltorcan years ago, it was a very good setup, we came up from Wexford and my main memory of it is that it was in the middle of nowhere, miles up the side of a mountain or something.

26/05/2009, 12:08 PM
Stags now going to Waterford. anyone any ideas on pitch and putt courses in the city, snooker halls, i know theres a go karting place in Kiltorcan, but is it far from Waterford?

There's at least one snooker hall there. Dingy tpe of place with no bar etc

There's a bowling/pool place a taxi ride out of cty centre too

Real ale Madrid
26/05/2009, 1:23 PM

There's a pitch and Putt club on the Cork road - Waterford Crystal P&P club - I'm fairly sure its still up and running. Nice course from what i can remember, been a good few years since i've been down there.

old site here:
http://homepage.eircom.net/~vtoswaterford/web_authoring/anne_maire/Course_fees.htm

Have my own Stag in Galway in a couple of months - any good pubs people can recommend. Not too much into niteclubs. What's the evening entertainment like out on the Racecourse?

Paddyfield
27/05/2009, 6:41 PM
Have my own Stag in Galway in a couple of months - any good pubs people can recommend. Not too much into niteclubs. What's the evening entertainment like out on the Racecourse?

How old are you?
When are you going?
Where are you staying?

Real ale Madrid
28/05/2009, 8:48 AM
August weekend (going racing on saturday)
Jury's.

thanks.

stann
28/05/2009, 2:29 PM

Kiltorcan (http://www.kiltorcan.com/) is very good, it is a little out of the way mind. It's on the Kilkenny side of Mullinavat.
From memory, after you go through Ballyhale heading south, you take the next left immediately after you pass under a railway bridge, and then left again after 500 metres or so. The track is about a kilometer down that road.

What direction are you coming from?
If it was from Dublin or the like you could hit the raceway early, and go on to Waterford from there. There's a decent pub in Mullinavat too called The Rising Sun that would make a good staging post. :D

Sully's snooker club is in the city and is only brilliant! :)
There's a pitch and putt course at the RSC that you get at from the Tramore road side, which I think is pretty good though I never played on it. There's also a few courses out in Tramore.

Feck it, karting is the best craic on a stag anyway. I'd say if you're all going in separate cars best to meet at the Rising Sun and then head to the track, and on to Waterford after, or if in a minibus go straight to the raceway and stop off in Mullinavat on the way to town.

28/05/2009, 3:06 PM
Jury's.

thanks.

Hope you have a hotel booked.

Real ale Madrid
04/06/2009, 11:10 AM
How old are you?
When are you going?
Where are you staying?

Jury's.

thanks.

bump :)

Paddyfield
04/06/2009, 10:07 PM
bump :)

There is more craic in the city centre than at the racecourse, after the races anyway. Regardless of weather, stick to the 20 or so pubs in the Quay Street area. They will all be wedged do why not do as the locals do and bring a few cans. Jurys is at the bottom of Quay Street.