View Full Version : Fundraising

Pages : 1 [2]

higgins
30/08/2008, 1:37 PM
This might sound silly but why didn't Sligo release/sell more players in the last Transfer Window ? The savings made on wages over the past month or two would go a long way to making up that 130k ?

As somebody not involved with Sligo it does appear to be a little like the boy who cried wolf. You won't raise the 130K by September 1st and yet you'll still be playing football. Somebody is telling lies somewhere.

What exactly is the 130K for ?
I can't fully understand the significance of that figure ?

Best of luck anyway

forza rovers
31/08/2008, 6:16 PM
This might sound silly but why didn't Sligo release/sell more players in the last Transfer Window ? The savings made on wages over the past month or two would go a long way to making up that 130k ?

As somebody not involved with Sligo it does appear to be a little like the boy who cried wolf. You won't raise the 130K by September 1st and yet you'll still be playing football. Somebody is telling lies somewhere.

What exactly is the 130K for ?
I can't fully understand the significance of that figure ?

Best of luck anywaythat was for thee wage cap

Inside Man
31/08/2008, 10:51 PM
The best fundraising Idea i have seen on here is the 2euro a week one mentioned by the Trust. Brilliant.
100,000 a season. Massive money and very little out of the pocket of the supporter. Price of a bar nearly these days.

Just curious when does it hope to be up and running?

dublinred
01/09/2008, 3:58 PM
Any updates on this or are we still counting the money?

Only1Rovers
01/09/2008, 4:56 PM
oh dont worry, if your wrong on this forum you will be corrected.:D
but,yes, afaik €45,000 was the last word

I think you'll find that they are currently at €45,047.25!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Can't anybody get anyting right on this forum?:mad:

red bellied
02/09/2008, 3:05 PM
DESPITE passing a self-imposed deadline of Sunday last - August 31 - to have raised €130,000, cash-strapped Sligo Rovers Football Club have thrown themselves a financial lifeline by generating approximately €70,000 of their original target.

In July, club officials warned that the Bit O’Red, founded 80 years ago, would “no longer exist in football” if the •130,000 mark wasn’t reached, but recent initiatives - drawing on Sligo’s inherent goodwill towards its local FAI League of Ireland Premier Division club - have postponed a possible meltdown at The Showgrounds.

http://www.sligoweekender.ie/news/story/?trs=mhgbmhojkf&cat=sport

dublinred
02/09/2008, 4:07 PM
DESPITE passing a self-imposed deadline of Sunday last - August 31 - to have raised €130,000, cash-strapped Sligo Rovers Football Club have thrown themselves a financial lifeline by generating approximately €70,000 of their original target.

In July, club officials warned that the Bit O’Red, founded 80 years ago, would “no longer exist in football” if the •130,000 mark wasn’t reached, but recent initiatives - drawing on Sligo’s inherent goodwill towards its local FAI League of Ireland Premier Division club - have postponed a possible meltdown at The Showgrounds.

http://www.sligoweekender.ie/news/story/?trs=mhgbmhojkf&cat=sport

Postponed is probaly the key word there ,fairly shocking numbers considering at least 10k was raised via supporters clubs/trust /fan intiatives etc. so it looks like only 60 cards/1200 sydicate lines were sold for 60k, probably a lot of people bought more than one so does not look well for the future with more funds needed to see out the season at this stage. I am dreading the size of next seasons budget hopefully Tony McGee & the businessmen can pull something out of the bag.

higgins
02/09/2008, 4:20 PM
You do realise you owe the tax man money because he gets a cut of wages and wages are too high ?
I'm still shocked you didn't reduce the wages in the last transfer window!!

There's only so much good will going around and using that up crying wolf is not a great idea.

I fear for your future if that's the way you're doing business. Saying nothing is bad enough but coming out with lies is much worse.

02/09/2008, 4:33 PM
I'm still shocked you didn't reduce the wages in the last transfer window!!

what are you on about?....alan moore, jamie mckenzie, keith foy, faz and anto murphy

higgins
02/09/2008, 5:39 PM
Well why has the figure required gone from 130,000 down to 60,000 now and all of a sudden you have to raise 130,000 again.
Looks like income streams are not matching your expenditure.

Find it hard to believe you're under the 65% too. Unless you came into the season with a lot of debt and repayment structures already in place.

Rovers Maniac
02/09/2008, 5:44 PM
Well why has the figure required gone from 130,000 down to 60,000 now and all of a sudden you have to raise 130,000 again.

Find it hard to believe you're under the 65% too. Unless you came into the season with a lot of debt and repayment structures already in place.

lol getting financial advice from a Shels fan :D

higgins
02/09/2008, 5:51 PM
It's not advice.
I'm just puzzled as to what you're playing at that's all.

You can only cry wolf so many times.

Rovers Maniac
02/09/2008, 6:02 PM
Just because you have a history of not paying your players for sustained periods of time does not mean we should do the same ! Our lads want to get paid every week. Also we have not raise enough money if you can do the most basic of claculations.

03/09/2008, 12:12 AM

SRFC over-compensated on this one, alot of people in Sligo are puzzled as to why the club stated that they would be out of business by the 31st Aug, if €130,000 was not raised, then days before the Drogs game, the same statement was put about, saying "5 days to save Rovers" n the front of The Sligo Post last Wednesday 27th August, yet the club called for supporters to flock out for the Bohs game on the 5th, 5 DAYS after the club were supposed to go out of business. I didnt like the way the club did this, i know they were trying to gather as much as possible, but it shows the intransparancy of the MC of SRFC over the years.

anyway hopefully the remaining few grand will be raised and we'll be able to keep at least 7 or 8 of the nucleus of this years squad

Rovers Maniac
03/09/2008, 12:27 AM
Nothing sells papers better than a bit of sensationalism. I'd say the papers just ran with this tabloid news nobody interviewed from the club and overall i'd say quiet newsweek at home, i also agree with Rovers1 about raising the rest of the funds somehow as it needs to be done.

03/09/2008, 1:52 AM
I'd say the papers just ran with this tabloid news nobody interviewed from the clubIt came from a Rovers press release following a committee meeting.

Redzer
03/09/2008, 9:40 AM
I was told before the Drogs match that over 70K was in. 1800 people at that game. Say 1000 paid €20, thats 20K and 800 average €5 = €4K.
Should we not have raised around the 100 Grand now???:confused:

Rovers Maniac
03/09/2008, 10:16 AM
It came from a Rovers press release following a committee meeting.

Your wrong there, what was on the front of the champion and the Post was not a press release it was a story written by the papers themselves. The last press release released by the club was on the website and it was an update of what had been raised to date and appealing for people to pay the extra €5 euro on the gate. Neither papaer had any quotes from sources at the club that i seen anyway.

Fri Aug 22nd

Despite a doubling of efforts in the sale of the €1,000 syndicate tickets, Sligo Rovers have so far only managed to gather €44,000 of their targeted €130,000.

The club is now appealing to all the people of Sligo and beyond to come along to fill The Showgrounds for our next two home games against Drogheda United on August 30th and Bohemians on September 5th.

We are also asking all those who normally pay the €15 entry fee, season ticket holders, committee members, stewards, press, and anyone who comes to the next two home games to pay an entry fee of €20 on a voluntary basis (this exludes, OAPs, students and children). In a welcome show of support by the manager and players, they have agreed to return their free passes for the remainder of the season.

higgins
03/09/2008, 1:53 PM
As a group of fans it must be twice as hard now to look someone in the face and tell them that yet again you need 130K or you're going out of business!

Seems like a mess created by those in charge. It looked like lies from the very start and that's what it turned out to be.

Of course you need the money, not doubting that but so does 21 other clubs in the league. Sooner or later you have to stop acting like a charity and start acting like a business.

03/09/2008, 2:07 PM
Of course you need the money, not doubting that but so does 21 other clubs in the league. Sooner or later you have to stop acting like a charity and start acting like a business.

ok thanks for calling

Redzer
03/09/2008, 2:19 PM
It came from a Rovers press release following a committee meeting.
Not sure I read a press release, but we were told at the EGM by both M. Toolan and V. Nally in no uncertain terms, that 130K by the end of AUG was the deadline. If the funds were not raised by then, it would be curtains.

03/09/2008, 2:21 PM
Seems like a mess created by those in charge. It looked like lies from the very start and that's what it turned out to be

it was a scare tactic. Would they have raised 60k if people didnlt think the club was at death's door? I'd guess no.

As it is they've saved the club for another couple of months. Obviously they'll have to sort themselves out long term, but thats up to the fans and committee of Sligo. Nothign a preachy Shels fans and a know it all pats fan post on the internet will help them

03/09/2008, 2:29 PM
a know it all pats fan

ah no need for that Dodge!, you'll hurt yourself

higgins
04/09/2008, 12:17 AM
And me being a Shels fan has what to do with this ?

Of course it's up to Sligo Dodge! I'm only asking some questions as it appears that most on here taking this crap from the Sligo management about going out of business. I posted weeks ago that they wouldn't go out of business come end of August. People are telling lies here.

I just wanted to know was there a resonable explaination for this 130K rubbish. Appears there isn't.

I like Sligo, I'd hate for them to go out of the league. I'd even hate for them to go out of the Premier division. Certainly one of my favourite clubs around the country. Situation just seems messy... easy thing to do would be to cut expenditure in line with income ??

Inside Man
04/09/2008, 4:37 PM
The board spotted this unfolding well before it could hit crisis point. Well done to management for that. They Managed it BRILLIANTLY. Don't care what anyone on here says now.
If they didn't give it as much publicity and we failed to react the way we did then it would be all of the same people complaining on here how the committee messed us up for 'not reacting' in time, that we were sitting on 130k debt come the end of the season.

If we have any outstanding debts at the end of the season (November) we will not be awarded an Premier licence and then it would be back to first Division or even extinction if the debts were too severe. Thats why the committee needed to raise as much cash at first as possible because they still need to clear any of the outstanding debts as the season progess' and thats why Fundraising must continue.

Shiba
04/09/2008, 5:53 PM
I just watched Toolan on the news saying we need another 130000 now to keep going.He did not once show any appreciation for the work done to date.He is a complete "Dick Head"!

deecay
04/09/2008, 10:54 PM
I just watched Toolan on the news saying we need another 130000 now to keep going.He did not once show any appreciation for the work done to date.He is a complete "Dick Head"!
I didnt know whether to laugh or cry

04/09/2008, 11:20 PM
details?

higgins
04/09/2008, 11:23 PM
What news was he on ?

The same figure would indicate that it's all made up !
No doubt you are in debt, no doubt you need more money to pay the bills but this 130K thing is nearly as bad as Cobh asking players to take out 2K loans to pay themselves :)

deecay
04/09/2008, 11:25 PM
RTE 6 o clock news,he was interviewed again and hee said we need another €130,000,dont think he said by a certaib date?

04/09/2008, 11:26 PM
details?6 o'clock news and 11 something news on RTE. www.rte.ie you'll probably get it there.

srfc1928
04/09/2008, 11:51 PM
http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0904/6news_av.html?2417745,null,230
Link to interview
Starts about 1.30

I think it'll take more than "one day for everyone to sit down" and sort the leagues problems out

Redzer
05/09/2008, 9:14 AM
The board spotted this unfolding well before it could hit crisis point. Well done to management for that. They Managed it BRILLIANTLY. Don't care what anyone on here says now.
In my humble opinion, they spotted it 12 months to late. If the tax issue was highlighted and addressed last season, we would not be in the mess we are today.
The problem is or was the 110K debt we carried over.

deecay
05/09/2008, 1:01 PM
We have five more home games,anyone know on average what money we get in per game? And are we supposed to raid our bank accounts and start fundraising all over again?

First
05/09/2008, 2:02 PM
Might have helped if ye didn't drive people away who were willing to support the club but because their opinion was different to the "hardcore" fans they were not made feel welcome.

Anyway best of luck in getting out of this situation.

deecay
05/09/2008, 5:30 PM
Might have helped if ye didn't drive people away who were willing to support the club but because their opinion was different to the "hardcore" fans they were not made feel welcome.
What are you on about?

brianw82
05/09/2008, 6:11 PM
http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0904/6news_av.html?2417745,null,230
Link to interview
Starts about 1.30

I think it'll take more than "one day for everyone to sit down" and sort the leagues problems out

I couldn't hear half of what he said because of the atrocious sound quality of that clip. Not the first time that's happened when trying to stream something from the RTE website.

RedRebel32
05/09/2008, 7:29 PM

Anyway best of luck in getting out of this situation.

chip on your shoulder? explain

05/09/2008, 10:31 PM
What news was he on ?

The same figure would indicate that it's all made up !
No doubt you are in debt, no doubt you need more money to pay the bills but this 130K thing is nearly as bad as Cobh asking players to take out 2K loans to pay themselves :)

ok youve made your point, are you a financial advisor or what?, you have told us what we know and seem to have done the same to the Cork fans too. Run along now.