View Full Version : Speeding law question?
06/08/2008, 7:08 AM
when using a speed gun in Ireland, does a traffic Gardai member have to stop you on the spot to inform you or is the fine sent to your house?
I know it's different for Speed Camera's!
Mark Breen
06/08/2008, 8:49 AM
My understanding is he has to stop you. If your not stopped then you were not caught
If it's one of the hairdryer types then you're ok if you weren't stopped. I'm not sure they even have the mobile camera's that used to be in the ads a few years ago.
06/08/2008, 9:47 AM
If it's one of the hairdryer types then you're ok if you weren't stopped. I'm not sure they even have the mobile camera's that used to be in the ads a few years ago.
Yes it was the one where they are standing with it, one eye closed and aiming so far down the road they could see your ****ing spot on your chin. Grand wasn't stopped so happy days. Isn't there only a few stationary speed cameras in the whole country.
06/08/2008, 9:51 AM
Isn't there only a few stationary speed cameras in the whole country.
There are some converted vans with cameras in them. They move from place to place but are easy enough to spot, usually have one window blacked out. Often seen on the Naas Rd.
I think even the hairdryers have to be aimed at a particular spot which is probably why used on the longest & widest roads in the country. AFAIK they have to issue on the spot fine.
I wonder if you were doing 60mph-ish could you just ignore the Garda with his hand out trying to stop you & claim you never saw him. Its not like he would chase you in his car?
There are some converted vans with cameras in them. They move from place to place but are easy enough to spot, usually have one window blacked out. Often seen on the Naas Rd.
There's a white one and green one that have holes in their back door, and then there's a blue with the camera sticking up from the roof iirc. Any van in the hard shoulder just by a speed reduction don't chance it.
Its not like he would chase you in his car?
What are you basing this on?
Failing to stop would just land you in deeper trouble.
What are you basing this on?
Failing to stop would just land you in deeper trouble.
Just on the way they stand at side of the road trying to stop a moving car by waving their arms. Not saying I would do it but it must happen.
06/08/2008, 10:40 AM
My missus got a fine in the post from a "non fixed" speed check. We think it was the van variety. Weren't stopped at the time.
I should clarify, I don't think they have hand held/ tripod camera's. The van's do of course take photo's of you, to send you the fine months later and then take more months to actually issue the points.
dublinred
06/08/2008, 11:20 AM
Any cops on here to explain the different kind of traffic cameras in operation at the moment ;
1)Fixed gatsos are the grey boxes like beside the Spa Hotel these are accompanied by horizontal white lines on the road which are used to calulate your speed .
2)Transit Vans - Usually parked in the hard shoulder , they have blacked out windows and a camera pointing out the back of them , there is one permanently parked on the M1 in the 80k zone between airport and port tunnel, always slow down when you see vans parked in hard shoulder.
3) Hand Held Hairdryers - Aimed out the door of cars or back of motorcycles , very popular on entrance to port tunnel in docklands and stretch of road between point depot and port tunnell especially outside the point at weekends when there is no traffic on the roads.
3) Round yokes on top of traffic lights - Not sure about these but they seem to be appearing everywhere , they look like webcams , do they get you breaking lights ??
4) Video cameras above the road as in Fariview/Clare hall , can these get you for speed/bus lanes/lights or are they just traffic flow cameras???
If anyone knows of more let us know , it seems to be like big brother at the moment .
06/08/2008, 11:29 AM
How long does it usually take to be issued with a fine from speed cameras?
3) Round yokes on top of traffic lights - Not sure about these but they seem to be appearing everywhere , they look like webcams , do they get you breaking lights ??
4) Video cameras above the road as in Fariview/Clare hall , can these get you for speed/bus lanes/lights or are they just traffic flow cameras???
If I understand what you are describing I believe these are just traffic monitoring cameras. What the monitors of traffic actually do is another question. Maybe they are for AA Roadwatch? ;)
06/08/2008, 11:43 AM
I'm pretty sure they are to allow the sequence of lights change if an emergency vehicle appraoches them. Ambulance etc have a type of radar in them that tells those "Round Yokes" to change to green.
06/08/2008, 12:00 PM
The cameras at lights are for traffic purpoes. monitored by Dublin city council (in Dubland obviously)
I'm pretty sure they are to allow the sequence of lights change if an emergency vehicle appraoches them. Ambulance etc have a type of radar in them that tells those "Round Yokes" to change to green.
I don't think so, just monitor whether there are cars waiting.
The camera's on most of the routes in are supposed to aid traffic management. Whoever's watching the tele must be asleep on the sofa though.
I only know of two of the traffic light camera's. N11 inbound at the Nutley Lane junction, and at the end of the Chapelizod by pass heading in bound. I'm not sure they issue tickets for red light jumping (they didn't used to anyway), but do issue for speeding. Most chancing the lights put their foot down to make it.
KevB76
06/08/2008, 12:22 PM
I wonder if you were doing 60mph-ish could you just ignore the Garda with his hand out trying to stop you & claim you never saw him. Its not like he would chase you in his car?
I would say if you're doing 60mph-ish then you should have no fear of being stopped. If they tried to do you for being a couple of mph over I would take my chances in court.
It's drivers doing 10% or more over the limit that the focus should be on, as this requires a concious decision to ignore the law.
A couple of k's over could happen if you're on a slight downhill incline or a multitude of other legitimate reasons where there was never an intention to "speed".
06/08/2008, 7:50 PM
How long does it usually take to be issued with a fine from speed cameras?
Aprox 3-4 weeks.
06/08/2008, 8:26 PM
It's drivers doing 10% or more over the limit that the focus should be onI think that's what the focus is on, they generally allow 10% over the limit afaik, unless they're behind on their targets maybe:).
inexile
08/08/2008, 10:04 PM
when using a speed gun in Ireland, does a traffic Gardai member have to stop you on the spot to inform you or is the fine sent to your house?
I know it's different for Speed Camera's!
if its an actual Guard doing a speed check on the side of the road he has to stop you. Those radar guns dont take pictures of the car merely record the speed, so if your not stopped your safe.
Incidentally i think there is a loophole that if he doesn't show you the speed on the gun you can get away with it but its a bit risky