View Full Version : Best World XI right now?

05/08/2008, 2:40 PM
I'd say after last season few would argue that these guys should be there or thereabouts. Who would you have in yours?

I suppose this is like a select team of 2007/2008 maybe?

G - Frey (Fiorentina
D - Daniel Alves (Barca), Barzagli (Wolfsburg), Vidic (Man Utd), Phillip Lahm (Bayern)
M - Leo Messi (Barca), Kaka (AC Milan), Wesley Sneijder (Real Madrid), Franck Ribery (Bayern)
F - Trezeguet (Juventus), C.Ronaldo (Man Utd) [supporting striker)

Bench: Casillas (Real Madrid), Maxwell (Inter), Cambiasso (Inter), Iniesta (Barca), Xavi (Barca), Toni (Bayern), Del Piero (Juventus)

haha your posts are always a good laugh. Id expect to see this one in "rubbish" soon enough....

sligofan4ever
05/08/2008, 3:47 PM
I'd say after last season few would argue that these guys should be there or thereabouts. Who would you have in yours?

I suppose this is like a select team of 2007/2008 maybe?

G - Frey (Fiorentina
D - Daniel Alves (Barca), Barzagli (Wolfsburg), Vidic (Man Utd), Phillip Lahm (Bayern)
M - Leo Messi (Barca), Kaka (AC Milan), Wesley Sneijder (Real Madrid), Franck Ribery (Bayern)
F - Trezeguet (Juventus), C.Ronaldo (Man Utd) [supporting striker)

Bench: Casillas (Real Madrid), Maxwell (Inter), Cambiasso (Inter), Iniesta (Barca), Xavi (Barca), Toni (Bayern), Del Piero (Juventus)

You are kidding, right ?

05/08/2008, 3:52 PM
To defend Ciaran slightly :( He did say select team of 07/08 , I'd have no problem seeing Lahm and Del Piero amongst that

05/08/2008, 5:11 PM
For me,
1:Buffon
2:Alves
3:Evra
4:Ferdinand
5:Carvalho
6:Essien
7:Arshavin
8:Xavi
9:Torres
10:Fabregas
11:Rooney

hahaha are you Ciaran in disguise?

05/08/2008, 7:00 PM
And who would you play instead of him then? If it's Cristiano Ronaldo then I guess your another of these Premiership lovin Andy Gray is God people. Get a grip. Ronaldo is over paid, over rated and a symbol for everything that's wrong with modern football. I'd have Arshavin over him every time.

where did i once mention him???? he wasnt even in my mind but seens as you mentioned him. what has Arshavin done that Ronaldo hasnt??? i hate CR (Pool fan) by the way but he should be in a team of 07-08 definitely.

id have plenty of players ahead of him. he played good in the scaldy UEFA Cup where Rangers (who are now out of Europe altogether this season) made the final and he had 2 good games in the Euros. Ronaldo gets 600 goals or something in the best league in the world and in the CL.

you also have Essien in there who played more at right back than midfield last season. do you know much about football? you say i love the Prem yet you have 7 of your team from that league???? :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

ken foree
05/08/2008, 8:24 PM
ah but these lists are often about personal taste/style rather than a player's statistics and effectiveness, no? i'd rather see a list with a midfield combining essien and arshavin than yet another CR7 (tm) nomination even if ronaldo is currently twice the player of either (massive if, given all their roles). regardless of the thread title, it's more fun to create a team of your own interpretively rather than simply arguing who's the "best" in each position. evra on the other hand gets in every time, surely that is beyond contention :)

stojkovic
05/08/2008, 8:39 PM
Buffon
Alves-Carvalho-Chiellini-Zhirkov
Senna
Messi-Xavi-Kaka
Torres-Villa

Fair play to ya Ciaran, ya crack me up. You wont give up on Trezequet and Toni, where's Ibrahimalazybitch ?

05/08/2008, 8:53 PM
Ya, good points as usual Ken, I was going to respond to Newbie, but I just thought, why bother. He's not going to get it. Thanks for saving me the job amigo.

sorry i just assumed that by the title : "best world XI RIGHT NOW" would mean the best players RIGHT NOW.... :rolleyes:. il go back to lovin my Premiership...how many did you have in your team again Ruben?

Cassilas
Alves
Chiellini
Vidic
Evra
Ronaldo
Fabregas
Kaka
Messi
Torres
Villa

Razors left peg
06/08/2008, 8:08 AM
Buffon
Alves-Carvalho-Chiellini-Zhirkov
Senna
Messi-Xavi-Kaka
Torres-Villa

Fair play to ya Ciaran, ya crack me up. You wont give up on Trezequet and Toni, where's Ibrahimalazybitch ?

That cracked me up:D

06/08/2008, 10:35 AM
are you going on stats like that? ok then how many did Torres,Adaboyour,Van Nistelrooy get?
in much tougher leagues against much better defences.

Toni is brutal. if you put Crouch in that league he would get all them goals too...would you have him in your world XI?

Closed Account 2
06/08/2008, 11:36 AM
------------------Casillas
Ujfalushi*---Thiago Silva---Vidic---Zhyrkov
------------------Senna
-----------------------------------------
---------------Riquelme
-Chucho Bolaños------------------Arshavin
----------------------------------------
------Salvador Cabañas -----Torres

*He's played at RB for most of last season at Fiorentina

old git
06/08/2008, 3:33 PM
where did i once mention him???? he wasnt even in my mind but seens as you mentioned him. what has Arshavin done that Ronaldo hasnt??? i hate CR (Pool fan) by the way but he should be in a team of 07-08 definitely.

id have plenty of players ahead of him. he played good in the scaldy UEFA Cup where Rangers (who are now out of Europe altogether this season) made the final and he had 2 good games in the Euros. Ronaldo gets 600 goals or something in the best league in the world and in the CL.

you also have Essien in there who played more at right back than midfield last season. do you know much about football? you say i love the Prem yet you have 7 of your team from that league???? :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

would have to agree with you on ronaldo / arshavin
as much of a tosser ronaldo is at times he was brilliant last season in preimership ... arshavin had 1 good game against a poor rangers & 2 good game in euro 2008 .. and suddenly all the experts / pundits are drooling over him .. he is 26 /27 years old what has he been doing untill now he is totally overatted ,, as for essien a class player would walk onto any team in england & europe

old git
06/08/2008, 3:41 PM
Trezeguet scored 20 last season, Toni 24, Del Piero 21. Frey was regarded keeper of the season and along with Mutu the key reason why Fiorentina will be in the champions league this year.

It's all well and good if you don't agree with it but if you criticise some of the finest performers last season without reason it just makes you look like an idiot. :rolleyes:

torres / ronaldo ( winger ) / adabenyour / van nistlerooy scored plenty last year do they not justify places also fine performers .
fiorentina did they not also crash out of uefa cup tamely this year ..
man utd won a league & european cup double ( kills me to say that) this puts fiorentinas achievement way down the list :ball:

06/08/2008, 3:47 PM
fiorentina did they not also crash out of uefa cup tamely this year ..

Lost on penalties in the semi finals - hardly tamely

06/08/2008, 4:21 PM
Zenit were a class act in the UEFA all last season. I wouldn't single out Arshavin as being especially outstanding. Tymoschuk for me was a much greater driving force. Arshavins been around for a while, he nearly has 40 caps for god sake. It's only the renowned ignorant british media and their followers that are claiming "he's come out of nowhere". Just like they said about Modric when he tore his team apart in the qualifiers. Arshavin's been well known in the game to actual fans for a long time.

are Barca british?? they had 2 bids for him turned down this Summer. why didnt they bid for him before? maybe they only watch Sky Sports...

OG, i know Essien is a quality player,i rate him VERY highly but he wouldnt be in a specific team of 07-08 for me. hes been played out of position alot last season.

06/08/2008, 4:31 PM
1st rights means they can have him 1st if they bid the required amount. they did bid but not the crazy amount Zenit want. €17mil if memory serves correct is what they bid (open to correction on the amount).

Closed Account 2
06/08/2008, 4:52 PM
would have to agree with you on ronaldo / arshavin
as much of a tosser ronaldo is at times he was brilliant last season in preimership ... arshavin had 1 good game against a poor rangers & 2 good game in euro 2008 .. and suddenly all the experts / pundits are drooling over him .. he is 26 /27 years old what has he been doing untill now he is totally overatted ,, as for essien a class player would walk onto any team in england & europe

That's just plainly wrong... He was a massive player for them in all of their UEFA matches, esp vs Leverkusen and Marseilles. As a point of fact the final was one of his more absent games...

stojkovic
06/08/2008, 9:58 PM
This is just a Euro 2008 Select XI with added Messi, Alves and Kaka. :rolleyes:

The title of the thread says Best World XI right now. Are you saying I should have picked a Euro 1988 select ? Thats my best XI based on the last few months (ie RIGHT NOW)

Before you criticise Trez, Toni or Zlat can I ask if you've seen them play at any point in the last year except for Euro 2008 (for the last two) or against Premiership teams (for Zlat)
I have seen enough of those three players over the last four years to know that they are stockings and nowhere near the great Serie A players of the past. They wouldnt lace van Bastens boots.

We have had this debate before. My opinions are not pro-Premiership and anti Serie A. I can tell you anything you want to know about Italian football and Serie A from 1980 onwards.

I do respect your opinion, I just don't agree with it.

old git
06/08/2008, 10:51 PM
Lost on penalties in the semi finals - hardly tamely

for such a great team our friend was talking about it was very tamely... in a substandard uefa cup . ball:

Morbo
07/08/2008, 9:10 AM
I thought it was a pretty tame effort by Fiorentina, Rangers were there for the taking but as JG would say, they lacked the moral courage to do it

Closed Account 2
07/08/2008, 9:09 PM
I thought it was a pretty tame effort by Fiorentina, Rangers were there for the taking but as JG would say, they lacked the moral courage to do it

To be fair they threw everything at Rangers in the 2nd leg... Vieri missed countless chances, it was just one of those nights when you are destined not to score.

Pike B
08/08/2008, 6:03 PM
1: Casillas 2: Lahm 3: Clichy 4: Vidic 5: Puyol 6: Mascherano 7: Kaka 8: Gerrard
9: Torres 10: Messi 11: Etoo

Razors left peg
08/08/2008, 6:36 PM
Lads how anyone doesnt have Ronaldo in the best 11 team in the world right now is crazy, he is an arrogant fcuker and not exactly a fans favorite outside Old Trafford but there isnt 11 better players in the world than him right now, and there is no better right winger

Pike B
08/08/2008, 6:53 PM
Lads how anyone doesnt have Ronaldo in the best 11 team in the world right now is crazy, he is an arrogant fcuker and not exactly a fans favorite outside Old Trafford but there isnt 11 better players in the world than him right now, and there is no better right winger
Not true. He had an awful Euro 2008 and I reckon he's never again going to produce like he did last season. I don't rate him as high as the News of the World or The Sun, or Andy Gray says I should. I like to call it free will.
I do not think that one great season makes a great player. And he still goes missing in the big games.

Razors left peg
08/08/2008, 7:44 PM
Not true. He had an awful Euro 2008 and I reckon he's never again going to produce like he did last season. I don't rate him as high as the News of the World or The Sun, or Andy Gray says I should. I like to call it free will.
I do not think that one great season makes a great player. And he still goes missing in the big games.

I dont need Andy Gray or the Sun or whoever to hype him up... the fella scored over 40 goals last season... and as for going missing in big games, didnt he score in Champs league final, or is that not a big enough game for u?

and he did it the season before too so hes more than a one season wonder

Pike B
08/08/2008, 8:21 PM
I dont need Andy Gray or the Sun or whoever to hype him up... the fella scored over 40 goals last season... and as for going missing in big games, didnt he score in Champs league final, or is that not a big enough game for u?

and he did it the season before too so hes more than a one season wonder
I still don't rate him as high as you do. Simple as really.

09/08/2008, 11:43 AM
--------------------------Casillas-------------------------
---Sergio Ramos-----Kolo Toure------Cordoba-----Clichy----
---Cronaldo-------Kaka-----------Fabregas-------Messi----
-------------Torres-----------------E'too----------------

Keeper: It's between Casillas and Buffon for this, anyone saying otherwise hasn't got a clue. Casillas gets it for me as I think he is more important for Spain and Real than Buffon is for Italy and Juventus, only just mind

Defender: Real lack of quality defenders in world football at the moment I think. Ramos had a great season at Madrid, and played okay at the Euros after a shaky start, Kolo Toure is about as under-rated a centre back as you can get, Cordoba similarly has been one of the best defenders in the world for a long time, and Clichy is just superb, a great reader of the game for such a young player too.

Midfield: These four are the four best players in the world at the moment, so it was an easy choice for me. Xavi and Iniesta just edged out by Fabregas as he had a better season last year

Forward: Torres has added something to his game since going to Liverpool and wa sthe outstanding striker of last season in Europe. E'too to partner as I don't think one bad season takes away from his quality. A move to Milan or possibly United would do wonders for him I think

09/08/2008, 11:46 AM
Right now as in if I was playing a match in the morning against some Martian XI and had to pick 11 players to represent Earth assuming all are fit and on form

-------------Buffon------------
Zambrotta--Cannavaro--Ferdinand--Lahm

----------Xavi----Essien-------------

Messi----------Kaka----------C.Ronaldo

--------------Torres-----------------

With a bench of
Casillas
Ramos
Fabregas
Ronaldinho
Scholes
Eto'o

stojkovic
09/08/2008, 8:30 PM

So you are saying that CRonaldo is better than Lionel Messi ?

Razors left peg
09/08/2008, 10:55 PM
So you are saying that CRonaldo is better than Lionel Messi ?

no, but I wouldnt regard Messi as an out and out right winger. Messi is the best player in the world

pearse4t3
09/08/2008, 11:42 PM
1. Casillas
2. Ramos
3. Evra
4. Carvalho
5. Vidic
6. Essien
7. Ronaldo
8. Fabregas
9. Torres
10. Kaka
11. Messi

12. Gerrard
13. Buffon
14. Xavi
15. Rooney
16. Cannavaro

11/08/2008, 12:37 AM

dont be so arrogant as to think that just because someone rates ronaldo that they are from the andy grey school of football analysis! you just contradicted your "free will" statement yourself you fool. i support liverpool so hate the ladyboy but fook off if you dont think he is among the best 11 in the world RIGHT NOW!! im his biggest critic and thank god none of my mates read this coz i always wind them up BUT he scored against Liverpool (big game), Arsenal (big game), Chelsea (big game + CL FINAL) oh and prob the most hungry and determined header iv seen in a long long time (roma). what more do you want? oh oh Kaka whos team came 5th in league and was slaughtered against Arsenal. oh oh no i know,Messi....who missed alot through injury and also got beaten by Ronaldos team. hmmmm who esle...? 7000 goals and 6879 assists is decent enough aint it?

if only Pennant was so good......

11/08/2008, 12:42 AM
1: Casillas 2: Lahm 3: Clichy 4: Vidic 5: Puyol 6: Mascherano 7: Kaka 8: Gerrard
9: Torres 10: Messi 11: Etoo

haha you have to be jokin me Pike?

Lahm??? based on what? a half decent Euros where he was made a show of when attacked?

Puyol?? probably the most over rated defender of our recent times

Macherano?? i love the chap but can thnk of about 8 diferent players last season.

Gerrard?? plase see above

if you dare say that Lahm had a great Euro then please delete your profile....

Mr Maroon
11/08/2008, 12:54 AM
1-Buffon (Juve)

2-Sergio Ramos (R.Madrid)
3-Chiellini (Juve)
4-Kolo Toure (Arsenal)
5-Vidic (Man Utd)

6-Xavi (Barca)
8-J.Zanetti (Inter) (I'll probably get slaughtered for this)
7-Messi (Barca)
11-Ronaldo (Man Utd)

10-Kaka (Milan)
9-Trezeguet (Juve)

Subs
Casillas (R.Madrid)
Carvalho (Chelsea)
Clichy (Arsenal)
Essien (Chelsea)
Fabregas (Arsenal)
Del Piero (Juve)
Villa (Valencia)

11/08/2008, 1:12 AM
give us all ONE good reason why Del Piero,Trezeguet and Villa are ahead of Torres?
Are you Ciaran?

actually....whats the craic with Darrent Bent this pre-season?? 400 in 3 games!!! Also..Poyet has just said that Bentley is the best player in the league over the last 2 years....how do these people get jobs?!

Mr Maroon
11/08/2008, 2:04 AM
give us all ONE good reason why Del Piero,Trezeguet and Villa are ahead of Torres?
Are you Ciaran?

I'm not going to pull some statistic out of me arse but in my opinion they are better players.
Newbie, how much Serie A did you see last season?

Pike B
11/08/2008, 7:54 AM
dont be so arrogant as to think that just because someone rates ronaldo that they are from the andy grey school of football analysis! you just contradicted your "free will" statement yourself you fool. i support liverpool so hate the ladyboy but fook off if you dont think he is among the best 11 in the world RIGHT NOW!! im his biggest critic and thank god none of my mates read this coz i always wind them up BUT he scored against Liverpool (big game), Arsenal (big game), Chelsea (big game + CL FINAL) oh and prob the most hungry and determined header iv seen in a long long time (roma). what more do you want? oh oh Kaka whos team came 5th in league and was slaughtered against Arsenal. oh oh no i know,Messi....who missed alot through injury and also got beaten by Ronaldos team. hmmmm who esle...? 7000 goals and 6879 assists is decent enough aint it?

if only Pennant was so good......
Time to up the meds friend...

Pike B
11/08/2008, 7:55 AM
haha you have to be jokin me Pike?

Lahm??? based on what? a half decent Euros where he was made a show of when attacked?

Puyol?? probably the most over rated defender of our recent times

Macherano?? i love the chap but can thnk of about 8 diferent players last season.

Gerrard?? plase see above

if you dare say that Lahm had a great Euro then please delete your profile....
Again, seek help. You are an annoying little person, who from what I can see just gives out to everyone.
Pi$$ off will you.

11/08/2008, 8:37 AM

Playing him in central midfield?

You'll rightly get slaughtered for that:D

Roadend
11/08/2008, 11:14 AM
1-Buffon (Juve)

2-Sergio Ramos (R.Madrid)
3-Chiellini (Juve)
4-Kolo Toure (Arsenal)
5-Vidic (Man Utd)

6-Xavi (Barca)

I'll spare you zanetti and slaughter you for Ramos, he is not a good defender at all.

Mr Maroon
11/08/2008, 12:38 PM
Playing him in central midfield?

You'll rightly get slaughtered for that:D
That's where he played for all of last season, and very well too.

11/08/2008, 12:56 PM
That's where he played for all of last season, and very well too.

Consider me suitably embarrased :o

11/08/2008, 2:37 PM
Excellent team gustavo - I'd probably have Evra instead of Lahm and Ramos over Zambrotta but the rest remain.

Mr Maroon
12/08/2008, 1:00 PM
Consider me suitably embarrased :o
:D It's all right Gustavo.