View Full Version : UEFA Cup 31/7 Latest

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Hibs4Ever
31/07/2008, 8:41 PM
Pat's should be ****ing ashamed of themselves only beating these jokers 2-0 with a couple of set-pieces. They should withdraw before the next round, we're deluding ourselves if we think our teams belong at this level.

Jokeshop. Disgrace.

Why bother posting that nonsense? They won 3-0 on agg.

Big Ears
31/07/2008, 8:42 PM
that's hilarious.

either wummery or fantasy. can't decide. you're usually so much more balanced. I'm going with wummery.

It's a parody of Rovers Maniac, and a very good one imo :p

31/07/2008, 8:42 PM

With Sheridan, you'd never know :)

31/07/2008, 8:43 PM

I was just going to say it was an impression ! :)

31/07/2008, 8:44 PM
Pat's should be ****ing ashamed of themselves only beating these jokers 2-0 with a couple of set-pieces. They should withdraw before the next round, we're deluding ourselves if we think our teams belong at this level.

Jokeshop. Disgrace.

Inspirational stuff!................I bet your an absolute joy to be around when you have a few pints in ya. European football is tough, there are never easy games. Just be happy that Ireland have a team in the next round and players of the quality of Keith Fahey and Mark Quigley can showcase their talents outside of the Eircom League and on the European stage.

Just because your team isn't even in existence anymore doesn't mean you have to be bitter, twisted and negative toward other teams. Your the real jokeshop and disgrace for not having a little faith!

Rovers Maniac
31/07/2008, 8:44 PM

Jokeshop. Disgrace.

To be honest never a truer word spoken :p
Fair play but if they did not beat them well then i would be asking them to withdraw. Lets up they get a good draw in the next round and keep on progressing and i tell you what i will be happy to eat some humble pie ;)

31/07/2008, 8:50 PM
Inspirational stuff!................I bet your an absolute joy to be around when you have a few pints in ya. European football is tough, there are never easy games. Just be happy that Ireland have a team in the next round and players of the quality of Keith Fahey and Mark Quigley can showcase their talents outside of the Eircom League and on the European stage.

Just because your team isn't even in existence anymore doesn't mean you have to be bitter, twisted and negative toward other teams. Your the real jokeshop and disgrace for not having a little faith!

Why bother posting that nonsense? They won 3-0 on agg.

Oh dear.

Hibs4Ever
31/07/2008, 8:52 PM
Oh dear.

Big Ears
31/07/2008, 8:53 PM

you may want to read my post from above..........

31/07/2008, 8:54 PM

Jokeshop. Disgrace.

Its a fiasco and a fyaaaaaaarce.

cestlavie
31/07/2008, 8:59 PM
Well done to the Pats :)

Demoshield
31/07/2008, 9:20 PM

Jokeshop. Disgrace.

It's all muppet Delaney's fault. That's what happens when he goes to the Galway races. He should be banned from every race track in the country 'till he steps down as CEO. This is an ABSOLUTE DISGRACE :eek:

31/07/2008, 9:35 PM
It's all muppet Delaney's fault. That's what happens when he goes to the Galway races. He should be banned from every race track in the country 'till he steps down as CEO. This is an ABSOLUTE DISGRACE :eek:

I hope to christ your taking the p!ss!

Saint_Charlie
31/07/2008, 9:44 PM
Jesus, some people really need a sense of humour on here....

Not everything has to be dead serious lads!

31/07/2008, 9:54 PM
http://www.sarcasmdetector.com/

Suggest a few people invest in one of these....

31/07/2008, 10:51 PM
"A sarcasm detector, that's a real useful invention."

31/07/2008, 11:21 PM
Oh dear oh dear.

Dave77
01/08/2008, 6:58 AM
fair play pats, shocked that cork city would lose by 4

CuanaD
01/08/2008, 8:20 AM
Very amusing thread to wake up to - & really shows the value of reading threads from page one!

CuanaD
01/08/2008, 8:31 AM
As far as the results go
Cork :( :confused: what happened????

Pats - that was a good show - I was at the match & there was only ever one team in the game. Olimps had all of 5 shots on goal (all from set pieces I think) all easy to deal with, whereas Pats - I lost count after 20.
Reminiscent of Kiev on Tuesday actually - Pats played the passing football & looked great but needed loads of chances to score (difference was that Drogs attacked too & always looked capable of scoring, whereas Olimps really didnt)

Duggie
01/08/2008, 8:43 AM
alan matthews isnt good enough for the job - never rated him. hes been found out now if u ask me. a richo cork team would never have lost 4-0 to haka !! FFS 4-0. well done pats, was listening to it on radio, job done.
what time is the draw today for the next round ?????? 12 ish ????

01/08/2008, 8:44 AM
I didn't actually think Pats played that well. I take it as a positive. They were in control, result never really in doubt and plenty more in the tank.

I know all the talk in Inchicore is of Man city or aston Villa but I hope they draw Queen of the South. Leave the big guns for the group stages.

Well done Pats.

I was shocked by the Cork result.

Flexy
01/08/2008, 8:48 AM
No infractions here Just some of these:eek: :D:D
Dodge were there many at the match last night. The atmosphere seemed to be crap until yous got your second goal.

Duggie
01/08/2008, 8:54 AM
forget man city or villa get a team that we can beat possible over 2 legs and get into the next round.

01/08/2008, 9:06 AM
Dodge were there many at the match last night. The atmosphere seemed to be crap until yous got your second goal.

Less than 100 empty seats I'd say. Pretty good considering the weather was rubbish.

I'm with gspain BTW. We didn't play particularly well but had the game controlled and did a nice professional job.

BTW the only teams we can face are Aston Villa, Copenhagen, Brondby, Stade Rennais or Elfsborg. I wouldn't expect us to do well against any of those

01/08/2008, 9:28 AM
http://stpatsfc.com/tv/highlights.php?id=112

The goals from last night

01/08/2008, 9:34 AM
BTW the only teams we can face are Aston Villa, Copenhagen, Brondby, Stade Rennais or Elfsborg. I wouldn't expect us to do well against any of those

Best to get Aston Villa for the money or Elfsborg/Rennais as easiest option. You would have a chance against the Swedes as they only beat Riga 1-0 in the Inter Toto Cup.

01/08/2008, 9:36 AM
They also made the group stages of UEFA Cup last year (hence why they're seeded and other Swedes aren't)

Flexy
01/08/2008, 9:49 AM
They also made the group stages of UEFA Cup last year (hence why they're seeded and other Swedes aren't)
Have seen Rennes play quite a lot over the last few years, as father in law is a season ticket holder there, but this year they havent a great side, some of their best players have left, they are managed by Guy Lacombe ( who managed PSG when they beat Derry )

Boo_Boy
01/08/2008, 10:07 AM
Just watched the Haka v City highlights, god city were bad, where the hell was the defence for the 1st goal?!

EDIT: forgot to post the link:rolleyes:

http://areena.yle.fi/toista?id=1401022

Duggie
01/08/2008, 10:19 AM
Just watched the Haka v City highlights, god city were bad, where the hell was the defence for the 1st goal?!

EDIT: forgot to post the link:rolleyes:

http://areena.yle.fi/toista?id=1401022

good link man
that defending was a joke - so frustrating knowing the quality in cork side. the finns prob thought cork are **** after that, walked through them.

charliesboots
01/08/2008, 10:20 AM
Pats highlights are here

http://stpatsfc.com/tv/highlights.php?id=112

Duggie
01/08/2008, 10:37 AM
"You give away a soft goal early on and you have a mountain to climb. We knew it would be difficult coming out here because we didn’t do the job properly in Turner’s Cross,” admitted Matthews.

“We set out to keep it tight with a view to springing John O’Flynn or Denis Behan on them, but that did not work. We did not play. Overall the performance was disappointing.”

i mean did he think he was playing against real madrid or milan or someone ? spring o'flynn or behan ??? i dont know

01/08/2008, 10:41 AM
Spring Behan? LOVFL

Seriously, if I was a centre half and starting to tire and Cork brought on that fat waster I'd busrt out laughing

01/08/2008, 10:43 AM
Was Delaney over at it?
He's still down in Galway, editing DVD's for the AIPL application whilst eating a copy of Tony Cousins severance package

01/08/2008, 10:54 AM
"You give away a soft goal early on and you have a mountain to climb. We knew it would be difficult coming out here because we didn’t do the job properly in Turner’s Cross,” admitted Matthews.

“We set out to keep it tight with a view to springing John O’Flynn or Denis Behan on them, but that did not work. We did not play. Overall the performance was disappointing.”

Further proof that changing formation to 451 in Europe does not work. Fair enough if you are playing big side but not in the early rounds. Fenlon played it in Riga, Doolin at home to Talinn & now Matthews.

Duggie
01/08/2008, 10:59 AM
Further proof that changing formation to 451 in Europe does not work. Fair enough if you are playing big side but not in the early rounds. Fenlon played it in Riga, Doolin at home to Talinn & now Matthews.

ya but they didnt get battered 4-0

CuanaD
01/08/2008, 10:59 AM
uefa draw starts in a minute - is there a streaming link or is it pay-per-view?

01/08/2008, 11:11 AM
uefa draw starts in a minute - is there a streaming link or is it pay-per-view?

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/video/22072008/58/uefa-cl-2nd-qual-rd-draw.html

Free streaming

01/08/2008, 11:25 AM
so Dodge if they got past the 2nd round who could they meet?
Is it just meet or over the last few years has the 2nd round have teams more difficult to beat than before...so as the EL teams have progessed so have the competition more even more.

01/08/2008, 11:29 AM
this is there only chance now against elfsborg

couldnt have gotten it better in fairness.

Duggie
elfsborg - 50/50 chance i would reckon
good draw

01/08/2008, 11:30 AM
Best possible draw for Pats. Weakest of the seeded teams and playing away first.

Rovers Maniac
01/08/2008, 11:31 AM
Real prospect of going through here.

01/08/2008, 11:35 AM
I'm nowhere near as confident as you lot

Straightstory
01/08/2008, 11:35 AM
Noticed this in the Pat's programme last night: 'Remember - while it's nice to progress in Europe, it would be unrealistic to think that we will ever go far in tournaments that are designed to showcase - and even swell the coffers of - apparently bigger clubs'.

Rather defeatist attitude worthy of Alan Mathews. Surely Pat's should be getting the fans fired up for the UEFA Cup? (And why the use of the word 'apparently'?)

Hope they fo well against Elfsborg.

01/08/2008, 11:36 AM

well if you're not, i'm not. But I meant in terms of the draw,couldn't have got it better, plus away draw first, they know exactly what they need to do, I think away leg first draws suit EL teams.

Who could they meet in the third round if they got through?

01/08/2008, 11:37 AM

Elfsborg are nothing to fear ;) although they are favourities to win the tie. Just get a bit of practice on a plastic pitch before the away leg.

swinfordfc
01/08/2008, 11:38 AM
well if you're not, i'm not. But I meant in terms of the draw,couldn't have got it better, plus away draw first, they know exactly what they need to do, I think away leg first draws suit EL teams.

Who could they meet in the third round if they got through?

if they get through -its the first round proper! :D