View Full Version : Delaney-Trappatoni
Razors left peg
30/07/2008, 3:53 PM
People really love to have a bitch and moan about the smallest thing on this forum sometimes. He had made the agreement months ago to be at the Galway United Fundraiser, which went extreemly well by all accounts. He would have made Galway United look very foolish if he hadnt showed after they had advertised that he would be there. And yes it was a big game he missed but he didnt miss out on seeing any players that would be part of his plans for the next 2 years of his contract so being at the game would only be a PR exercise in truth, at least the PR exercise in Galway made alot of money for a club in need of it and will help us survive
ltfc_2004
30/07/2008, 4:18 PM
There would have been a thread if John Delaney had been at the game, I am sure someone would accuse of him of jumping on the bangwagon !!! Sometimes that man cant win at all.
I hate this place
Ah you love it, stop lying...
Rovers Maniac
30/07/2008, 5:32 PM
People really love to have a bitch and moan about the smallest thing on this forum sometimes. He had made the agreement months ago to be at the Galway United Fundraiser, which went extreemly well by all accounts. He would have made Galway United look very foolish if he hadnt showed after they had advertised that he would be there. And yes it was a big game he missed but he didnt miss out on seeing any players that would be part of his plans for the next 2 years of his contract so being at the game would only be a PR exercise in truth, at least the PR exercise in Galway made alot of money for a club in need of it and will help us survive
replace 'very with 'more' :)
You can't blame Galway in all this they don't nothing wrong to be fair but i would blame Delaney for not understanding the sporting calendar. I think his ego needs to start taking a back seat and he needs to stop hob nobbing it. Anyway i am sure the people of Galway would be happy enough to see Trapp and Marco alone, only in JD's head would he think people wanted to see him.
paulie_walnuts
30/07/2008, 5:40 PM
What did he say at the San Marino game?
The Delaney out banner appeared over in San Marino, to which he flippantly said 'that probably something to do with Dundalk'.
I thought Noel Mooney was the man involved with promoting domestic football, not Delaney.
Ireland4ever
30/07/2008, 5:59 PM
There would have been a thread if John Delaney had been at the game, I am sure someone would accuse of him of jumping on the bangwagon !!! Sometimes that man cant win at all.
Spot on, i was just thinking that.
Razors left peg
30/07/2008, 6:04 PM
replace 'very with 'more' :)
You can't blame Galway in all this they don't nothing wrong to be fair but i would blame Delaney for not understanding the sporting calendar. I think his ego needs to start taking a back seat and he needs to stop hob nobbing it. Anyway i am sure the people of Galway would be happy enough to see Trapp and Marco alone, only in JD's head would he think people wanted to see him.
There were people on this thread bitching about Trapp not being at the Drogs game and my comment was mainly directed at that. Personally I dont think it matters either way where Delaney went, and I think way too much has being made out of it here. I do think its a bit unfair on him to say that he should have seen that Drogs were going to be playing last night in Dublin, for starters Drogs could have been knocked out in the first qualifying round and secondly the their 1st leg could have been away in Kiev. He was asked to go to the Galway function and accepted months ago, so come on lads Delaney has made huge mistakes but this was far from one of them and people should just let it go
I am Multi millionaire i am the CEO of a major company who is interested in greater public exposure through a sporting medium. We are already looking at the possibility of sponsoring a league, JD knows we may be interested in the league of Ireland as the league is within our Marketing budget.
I am introduced to JD at the Galway Races, i am already a Football fan and the conversation freely flows over a glass of chardonnay in between the first races. He talks about great strides the league has made and how each club are trying to attract more fans to the matches.
I like what i hear and i tell him of my company's interest in supporting the league, he is delighted as we are well known successful company which is highly regarded and the kind of company the FAI would love to have him onboard. I ask him about the Drogheda game is he hopping on a helicopter to make it, "no" is the answer, i make my excuses and leave his company but all the time thinking to myself If the CEO of FAI can't be arsed going to see the biggest game a club from the their league is likely to play then why would i bother sponsoring it, what does that say for the league trying to attract new people as his actions sends out a signal to the general public they can't be arsed with the league.
As i leave the room i shout back at him "that is a serious own goal you just scored JD and give the fingers and say no wonder Eircom pulled out".
Are you Michael O'Leary?
Paddyfield
30/07/2008, 9:42 PM
Slightly off topic, but it was almost €4k per table of ten to be at the GUFC event at the Galway Races.I heard that one bank bought 13 tables.
Last year, the guests were Niall Quinn and Staunton.:eek:
30/07/2008, 10:20 PM
If the CEO of FAI can't be arsed going to see the biggest game a club from the their league is likely to play then why would i bother sponsoring it, what does that say for the league trying to attract new people as his actions sends out a signal to the general public they can't be arsed with the league.
I agree with this. Prior 'meeting' or not, Delaney should have been at Dalymount for possibly the biggest game an Irish club will play in this year. Isn't this the same FAI that just announced massive profits last year? Surely one night off from courting clients wouldn't have made much difference.
John Delaney is not an ambassador for Domestic Football, it's not in his job description to attend football matches. His job is to carry out the policies of the board of the FAI, that's all.
John Delaney is one of the most visable men in terms of media coverage, in Irish sport- as such he is an ambassador for the Irish game whether he likes it or not. And that includes domestic soccer; surely a European Cup match involving the champions of Ireland is worthy of his time?
being at the game would only be a PR exercise in truth
Yeah, because the last thing we need is positive PR. :rolleyes: Given the view of domestic football most people seem to have in this country, PR is exactly what we need. I don't care if it's just window dressing, it's a fact of life these days and it needs to be done.
I hate this place
"Last thing I remember, I was
Running for the door
I had to find the passage back
To the place I was before
’relax,’ said the night man,
We are programmed to receive.
You can checkout any time you like,
But you can never leave..."
Greenforever
31/07/2008, 12:33 AM
An awful lot of narrow minded posters on this thread.
A couple of simple questions
Would Delaney or Trap attending Dalymount have attracted any more spectators?
Would Drogheda be financially better of if Delaney had attended?
Would Galway have had to refund table money if thier guests of honour didnt turn up?
Have the Board of Directors of Drogheda made any comment?
Which would you prefer
Delaney and Trap and gang to attend one of your clubs matches?
or
to attend one of your clubs fundraisers?
Would you be happy if Delaney and Co broke a commitment to attend a fundraiser for your club resulting in your club losing badly needed revenue?
I would imagine anyone answering the questions above honestly will accept that Delaney and Co were in the right place in Galway
Razors left peg
31/07/2008, 6:53 AM
I agree with this. Prior 'meeting' or not, Delaney should have been at Dalymount for possibly the biggest game an Irish club will play in this year. Isn't this the same FAI that just announced massive profits last year? Surely one night off from courting clients wouldn't have made much difference.
John Delaney is one of the most visable men in terms of media coverage, in Irish sport- as such he is an ambassador for the Irish game whether he likes it or not. And that includes domestic soccer; surely a European Cup match involving the champions of Ireland is worthy of his time?
Yeah, because the last thing we need is positive PR. :rolleyes: Given the view of domestic football most people seem to have in this country, PR is exactly what we need. I don't care if it's just window dressing, it's a fact of life these days and it needs to be done.
"Last thing I remember, I was
Running for the door
I had to find the passage back
To the place I was before
’relax,’ said the night man,
We are programmed to receive.
You can checkout any time you like,
But you can never leave..."
wasnt that exactly what he was doing in Galway, and by being in Galway they were actually doing something constructive in helping raise money for a struggling club.... surely that was more important than sitting in a stand watching a game with players that have little or no chance of breaking into the Irish squad in the near future
Greenforever, Delaney wasn't the fooking guest of honour. He sent an important message that going on the lash at the Galway races was more important than going to watch the League of Ireland Champions in Europe. Even if you do buy the fundraiser excuse (which I don't - it's more like Delaney's on a back slapping tour to get praise for hiring Trap), most people in and out of the league will have just seen the photo of them at the races and won't bother finding out. It sends a terrible message.
And LTFC_2004, people probably wouldn't have passed any comment on Delaney being at the match, as that's where they would've expected him to be.
Razors left peg
31/07/2008, 7:35 AM
Greenforever, Delaney wasn't the fooking guest of honour. He sent an important message that going on the lash at the Galway races was more important than going to watch the League of Ireland Champions in Europe. Even if you do buy the fundraiser excuse (which I don't - it's more like Delaney's on a back slapping tour to get praise for hiring Trap), most people in and out of the league will have just seen the photo of them at the races and won't bother finding out. It sends a terrible message.
And LTFC_2004, people probably wouldn't have passed any comment on Delaney being at the match, as that's where they would've expected him to be.
It wasnt an excuse, this fundraiser raised something in the region of 100 thousand Euro for the club which was pretty damn successful.
At this point the critisism of Delaney and Trapp is getting pathetic.
I'm not disputing Trappatoni being there, and he was the guest of honour not Delaney, or that it raised money. I'm disputing why Delaney needed to be there. Is Trappatoni not capable of going anywhere without Delaney holding his hand? Anyone from the FAI could be there with him as a handler, doesn't need Delaney himself the whole time. But then Delaney would be missing out on the reflected glory of the appointment if he let him go anywhere alone.
Greenforever
31/07/2008, 8:06 AM
And you didnt answer even one of the questions I posted, because you know that Delaney was correct in honouring his prior committment.
Would Delaney or Trap attending Dalymount have attracted any more spectators?
Maybe not for this specific game, but it would've been better that Delaney wasn't seen at Galway Races at the same time as a Champions League match for the credibility of the league
Would Drogheda be financially better of if Delaney had attended?
As above - Drogs have struggled for sponsorship, so for their credibility in gaining the revenue, yes it could've been
Would Galway have had to refund table money if thier guests of honour didnt turn up?
Delaney was not guest of honour, so why would Galway have had to refund anyone?
Have the Board of Directors of Drogheda made any comment?
Irrelevant, but Delaney's put in such controls on what clubs can say all that it would do is to get them a fine anyway.
Which would you prefer
Delaney and Trap and gang to attend one of your clubs matches?
or
to attend one of your clubs fundraisers?
It's an either or choice? :confused:
Would you be happy if Delaney and Co broke a commitment to attend a fundraiser for your club resulting in your club losing badly needed revenue?
Delaney was not guest of honour. I doubt many of the attendee's would've noticed him missing, and anyone at a football fundraiser I would expect to be perfectly understanding that the head of the FAI had to attend "his" champions in European action. Trappatoni was the attraction for the Galway fundraiser, not Delaney.
31/07/2008, 9:04 AM
just out of interest... how many of those giving out about delaney bothered to turn up themselves at dalymount on tuesday?
I'm not sure of the relevance, unless they're also CEO of the FAI?
31/07/2008, 9:23 AM
Just about all of us who who hold high ranking jobs in the Football Association of Ireland.
31/07/2008, 9:24 AM
I'm not sure of the relevance, unless they're also CEO of the FAI?
as i said, its just out of interest really. would support their argument if they actually bothered to go along themselves
at a guess i would imagine that most of the giver outers werent even at the match. surely they should be out supporting another lge team in such an important night for the lge? where were all the 20k + supporters that turned up for the shels game a few yrs ago in a similar important european match?
where were all the 20k + supporters that turned up for the shels game a few yrs ago in a similar important european match?
Not the same level of importance at all. The Drogs game was the same level as Shel's game with Hadjuk split. and there was more at Dalymount. And you surekly not saying that PR wise that me not going is the same as the FAI top brass?
And again, for the record, I'm not that pushed about it. Just can't understand why people, at the very least, can't understand why the complaints are being made
31/07/2008, 9:32 AM
wasnt that exactly what he was doing in Galway, and by being in Galway they were actually doing something constructive in helping raise money for a struggling club.... surely that was more important than sitting in a stand watching a game with players that have little or no chance of breaking into the Irish squad in the near future
No because it's not even about the money. Anyone who knows anything about football knows Drogheda were going to find the match tough. Nooone on this forum, those who know Irish football pretty well, said anything other than the best Drogheda could do could be a draw in the home leg. We didn't expect them to win, we don't expect their players to be called up for the next Ireland team, it's not about Drogheda making money, or attracting more spectators- it's simply a point of principle. It was a massive game for Irish football and the CEO should have shown a bit of respect and put everything else on hold for a couple of hours because of it. Yes, raising money for clubs is important, but it could have been postponed for just one night to see the champions of Ireland in action, as our country's respresentatives in Europe.
An awful lot of narrow minded posters on this thread.
The opposite in fact- while raising money for clubs is all well and good; the CEO shouldn't be seen to be fundraising all the time. It's narrow minded to put one night's fundraising event (if that's what it truly was) over a match that could have a significant bearing for the future of Irish clubs in Europe. Thinking long term instead of the short term is sometimes necessary.
31/07/2008, 9:36 AM
And you surekly not saying that PR wise that me not going is the same as the FAI top brass?
well, a full house and a rip roaring atmosphere seen by all the "barstoolers" on tv may have been a great PR exercise for the lge. in fact, that would have done far more for the lge than delaney or any of the FAI top brass turning out
Yep, and him not going and been seen at galway has done more harm than me not going.
Vicious circle?
Razors left peg
31/07/2008, 10:33 AM
No because it's not even about the money. Anyone who knows anything about football knows Drogheda were going to find the match tough. Nooone on this forum, those who know Irish football pretty well, said anything other than the best Drogheda could do could be a draw in the home leg. We didn't expect them to win, we don't expect their players to be called up for the next Ireland team, it's not about Drogheda making money, or attracting more spectators- it's simply a point of principle. It was a massive game for Irish football and the CEO should have shown a bit of respect and put everything else on hold for a couple of hours because of it. Yes, raising money for clubs is important, but it could have been postponed for just one night to see the champions of Ireland in action, as our country's respresentatives in Europe.
The opposite in fact- while raising money for clubs is all well and good; the CEO shouldn't be seen to be fundraising all the time. It's narrow minded to put one night's fundraising event (if that's what it truly was) over a match that could have a significant bearing for the future of Irish clubs in Europe. Thinking long term instead of the short term is sometimes necessary.
That is total and utter crap. Galway United had this event planned for months with tables being sold for a hell of alot of money. Plans were made by the people attending the event, venues had to be booked long in advance and you reckon that all that could have been postponed so that Delaney and Trapp could go and watch Drogs in a game that they were never likely to win. Get a grip mate, your arguement is ridiculous
31/07/2008, 10:39 AM
That is total and utter crap. Galway United had this event planned for months with tables being sold for a hell of alot of money. Plans were made by the people attending the event, venues had to be booked long in advance and you reckon that all that could have been postponed so that Delaney and Trapp could go and watch Drogs in a game that they were never likely to win. Get a grip mate, your arguement is ridiculous
Delaney wasn't a guest of Galway, and nobody here has said Trap shouldn't have been at the Galway do. Suggest you read the thread properly
Razors left peg
31/07/2008, 10:43 AM
Delaney wasn't a guest of Galway, and nobody here has said Trap shouldn't have been at the Galway do. Suggest you read the thread properly
He might not have been the main guest of honour but yes he was an invited guest of the club and he made the commitment to attend long before it was known that Drogs would be playing a home game in the Champions league. And I suggest you read through the comments on the thread yourself because an number of people have said that Trappatoni shouldnt have been in Galway, in fact is the title of the thread not Delaney-Trappatoni?
MyTown
31/07/2008, 10:56 AM
I've been away for a while. This thread reminded me why.
Some truly petty posts.
My thanks to the dignitories who supported the GUFC event at the races on Tuesday. We're on a survival knife edge & people, many of whom have never been to Terryland stumped up big time, to try to give us a dig out. My thanks to them. Without them I wouldn't have a league of Ireland club to support.
Incidentally, the Irish team manager may be very well paid, but he left a very sick wife at home to honour his committment to GUFC.
Thank you Gio & I hope your command of the English language is sufficiently poor that you are spared the never ending negativity we are subjected to here.
The vast vast majority of negative comment is at Delaney, but sure keep making it about Trappatoni. :rolleyes:
31/07/2008, 11:24 AM
I've been away for a while. This thread reminded me why.
Some truly petty posts.
My thanks to the dignitories who supported the GUFC event at the races on Tuesday. We're on a survival knife edge & people, many of whom have never been to Terryland stumped up big time, to try to give us a dig out. My thanks to them. Without them I wouldn't have a league of Ireland club to support.
Incidentally, the Irish team manager may be very well paid, but he left a very sick wife at home to honour his committment to GUFC.
here here. its just hilarious how many people are lurking just waiting for delaney and the fai to do the slightest thing they dont like to have a good old whinge. sure give this thread a little longer and jd will be blamed for conceeding the second kiev goal on tuesday!
31/07/2008, 12:09 PM
I cant believe people are not blaming Galway United for this whole fiasco, clearly they are at fault for holding the event on the night. They should have anticipated the possible clash on the calendar and selected another day to have the event. The organising committee should all be shot at dawn :eek::p
31/07/2008, 12:11 PM
Wonder will any of the FAI be in INchicore tonight?
Razors left peg
31/07/2008, 12:19 PM
I cant believe people are not blaming Galway United for this whole fiasco, clearly they are at fault for holding the event on the night. They should have anticipated the possible clash on the calendar and selected another day to have the event. The organising committee should all be shot at dawn :eek::p
:D... give it time, somebody is bound too
Rovers Maniac
31/07/2008, 12:20 PM
I cant believe people are not blaming Galway United for this whole fiasco, clearly they are at fault for holding the event on the night. They should have anticipated the possible clash on the calendar and selected another day to have the event. The organising committee should all be shot at dawn :p
Us Sligo boys don't need to be asked twice lets get them :p:)
Two footed lunges will be the order of the day !
paulie_walnuts
31/07/2008, 12:22 PM
I can't believe such pettiness has made it to 5 pages. I haven't actually seen 1 Drogheda fan complain. Some of you ought to catch a grip of yourselves :D
Paraic
31/07/2008, 12:38 PM
Wonder will any of the FAI be in INchicore tonight?
time to close this one i think, even Dodge has given up and joined the WUMmers:eek:
this thread truly is pathetic regarding the sniping at Delaney - in my opinion he did absolutely the right thing in honouring his previous promise to attend this event.
The reaction of some of the posters here reminds me of this... (http://www.owenbloggers.com/tyler/WindowsLiveWriter/WinterWonderland_13F83/image%7B0%7D_thumb%5B6%5D_1.png)
Greenforever
31/07/2008, 5:02 PM
Maybe not for this specific game, but it would've been better that Delaney wasn't seen at Galway Races at the same time as a Champions League match for the credibility of the league
No it wouldn't have been better for the CEO to break a prior commitment to a club who are on the verge of going out of business. That would leave him with a credibility issue, and would not go down well with sponsors etc.
As above - Drogs have struggled for sponsorship, so for their credibility in gaining the revenue, yes it could've been
So Delaney should be seen to support the Champions of the El over and above all other clubs, sorry but I don't accept that.
Delaney was not guest of honour, so why would Galway have had to refund anyone?
He was an invited guest as was Trap and it was on this basis that a lot of tickets were probably sold, and it is quite feasible that Delaney helped sell some of those tables through his contacts. For him not to honour his commitment would have sent the wrong message to all sponosrs and potential sponsors.
Irrelevant, but Delaney's put in such controls on what clubs can say all that it would do is to get them a fine anyway.
Its irrelevant that no Drogs management or supporters are supporting this anti Delaney crusade, mind you I'm sure they would love you to purchase a few tickets to show your REAL support for any of their matches.
It's an either or choice? :confused:
Yes
Delaney was not guest of honour. I doubt many of the attendee's would've noticed him missing, and anyone at a football fundraiser I would expect to be perfectly understanding that the head of the FAI had to attend "his" champions in European action. Trappatoni was the attraction for the Galway fundraiser, not Delaney.
Shows your complete lack of understanding of how business works.
31/07/2008, 6:13 PM
There should be a ban on the word disgrace on this board...
That would be hilarious. Almost as hilarious as this thread.