View Full Version : Bohs on Saturday
chimpster
29/07/2008, 8:12 PM
Its been a mad few days, now we have to start looking ahead to Dalymount on Saturday. Sure Bohs are a decent side but I feel that despite our difficulties we are still improving. I fancy us to go and sneak a point: 1-1, Dav the scorer.
From what I've seen in the last few games, I reckon Hendo should stick with a 4-4-2 (with height up front to take the pressure off the back four) and pick on form:
Bilko
Mucky Guts Murray Coleman
Kavanagh O'Halloran O'Brien Dav
Gaynor Cummins
Subs: Carey J.Meade J.Kearney Mikey C.Meade
pcplod
29/07/2008, 8:46 PM
dont think mucky will be up for sat night he cant be fit enough and why would you leave john meade out IMO he has been one of the most consisitent
offside rule
29/07/2008, 9:06 PM
Its been a mad few days, now we have to start looking ahead to Dalymount on Saturday. Sure Bohs are a decent side but I feel that despite our difficulties we are still improving. I fancy us to go and sneak a point: 1-1, Dav the scorer.
From what I've seen in the last few games, I reckon Hendo should stick with a 4-4-2 (with height up front to take the pressure off the back four) and pick on form:
Bilko
Mucky Guts Murray Coleman
Gaynor Cummins
Subs: Carey J.Meade J.Kearney Mikey C.Meade
Bilko
COLEMAN Guts Murray J.MEADE
Gaynor Cummins
Subs: Carey Barrett J.Kearney Mikey C.Meade
Another battling performance, close call - beaten by one goal ...
honestly cant see us getting anything out of his game
UNLESS WE FCUKIN SCORE!!!
Bohs WILL SCORE!!!
don ramo
29/07/2008, 9:46 PM
dont think mucky will be up for sat night he cant be fit enough and why would you leave john meade out IMO he has been one of the most consisitent
maybe so, but coleman and mucky are just better at the mo, coleman is vital for the deadballs, should be takin everyone,
its a good line up, even move davin up-front, and stick mikey out the wing, would like to see how davin and gaynor would work, do disrespect to cummins, just would like to see
how come its saturday, i might have to go, cross another ground off my list, that and tolka are top priority,:D:ball::ball:
chimpster
29/07/2008, 10:08 PM
Oops, its Friday (I'm just SO used to Saturday games!)
For me, Mucky is the answer at right-back - when Caro got injured last season, Mucky was superb as his replacement.
Johnny Meade always gives 100%, but I just feel Kenny is a more intelligent player who has the necessary experience at this level.
Cummins is in only coz its an away game - he can hold the ball up and take pressure off the defence. If we were at home, I'd go for Mikey instead.
By the way, what state is Reilly in these days? And is there any update on Alan Kearney?
29/07/2008, 10:15 PM
By the way, what state is Reilly in these days?
A terrible state, his hip is gone again this could well be his last year with us!
And is there any update on Alan Kearney?
Out of hospital as of this morning. He was knocked out for 7 mins and came round in the ambulance. Just a concussion.
As for the team for Bohs:
---------------Bilko
Coleman--Guthrie--Murray Meade
----------Gaynor Cummins
don ramo
29/07/2008, 10:31 PM
Oops, its Friday (I'm just SO used to Saturday games!)
hmmmmmmmmmm shut down starts friday, suppose if i finnish early might head up,
ramblersfan
29/07/2008, 11:52 PM
bohs are playing well right now , it would be grate to get three points ,but one will do , and show the rest of the league that you cant keep a good team down ,on matter how muce the refs go agenst us .
30/07/2008, 12:45 AM
A terrible state, his hip is gone again this could well be his last year with us!
Where do you get the info from??? In all fairness
30/07/2008, 12:46 AM
Muckys injured again by the way. Dont think hell be fit for friday
30/07/2008, 12:43 PM
looking ahead to Dalymount on Saturday... I fancy us to go and sneak a point
Damn. I'd like to have seen that. :D
socket
30/07/2008, 12:57 PM
Paul Tuite is the Referee......views
ramsfan
30/07/2008, 1:29 PM
cant be as bad as stokes... can he?
socket
30/07/2008, 1:42 PM
he was the ref for the pats game.............
30/07/2008, 4:13 PM
Where do you get the info from??? In all fairness
It's been well known up and around Ramblers for the last week or so. He has to have the operation on his hip again that he had a few years ago but AFAIK he's having it at the end of the season and has been told to rest it for a while which should keep him out for another 2-3 weeks.
he was the ref for the pats game.............
and did a bloody good job that day as did his linespeople.
Marco
30/07/2008, 11:50 PM
O'Brien is suspended for Friday, because of sending off against Bray
01/08/2008, 8:11 PM
I'll use Pat McAuliffe's words on LW252 to describe Bohs opening goal:
"Bohs scored after 30 seconds of the 2nd half when Alan Carey looked to have the situation under control but allowed Joxer Kelly to sneak in who beat James McCarthy at his near post":mad:
Our two most inconsistent players combine again! I mean one week there bad and the next week there absolutely useless allowing the opposition to get the better of them from nowhere and beat them at their near post again................make up yeer minds for feck sake, are ye good or crap?
Galway winning aswell:mad: vs Harps:)
01/08/2008, 8:21 PM
2-0
Killian Brennan penalty. John Meade brought down Joxer in the box.
pcplod
01/08/2008, 8:21 PM
they are crap and getting worse i know we dont really have better choice for keeper but carey needs to be dropped his head hasnt been in the game for way to long. Some hard decisions have got to be made and fast or we are not going to have any hope of surviving :mad:
pcplod
01/08/2008, 8:32 PM
three nil.
01/08/2008, 8:34 PM
Could this be the end of Hendo???
pcplod
01/08/2008, 8:40 PM
well the buck has to stop with someone and it has to stop sooner rather than later
ramsfan
01/08/2008, 8:44 PM
we can all give it loads about we are playin bohs and we didnt expect to get anything and that we should concentrating on teams around us but facts are we are being torn assunder by bigger teams and we are not collecting half enough points against teams around us
it is a results business and we arent cutting it by a long way, we need to be careful because if galway get there act together we could be cut a drift
what is the answer?
do we change manager and hope that new manager brings a change in fortune as is seen at most clubs when new manager comes in and players have to move out of their comfort zone and play for positions
i personally dont think this is the answer hendo is a good coach and manager but football is a funny game so ?
the carey situation is a dodgy one the guy is struggling the best thing would be to give him a break on sidelines and put coleman or mulcahy in, but we still persist and he has cost us probabaly 4-5 games this year
i dont know lads but when i came off ferry today i saw next weeks opponents on sign is derry then came home and saw them on telly and i really cant see us beating them they look like they could hockey us
poor result tonight and poor campaign doesnt even sum it up
ramsfan
01/08/2008, 8:46 PM
well what ever happens it needs to be done quick, too much faffing about has cost us dear this season, make the hard decisions and make them quick:mad:
01/08/2008, 8:50 PM
i personally dont think this is the answer hendo is a good coach and manager but football is a funny game so ?
Agree with ya 100% I'd love it if he stayed but as you say football is a funny game.
the carey situation is a dodgy one the guy is struggling the best thing would be to give him a break on sidelines and put coleman or mulcahy in, but we still persist and he has cost us probabaly 4-5 games this year
Drop him and drop him now!...........Coleman in right-back and John Meade in at left-back. Failing that put Mucky in at right or left back with Coleman going in at the opposite side.
As for Bilko.......it's a pity we didn't sign competition for him during the window. It might have spurred him on to be a better keeper!
pcplod
01/08/2008, 8:50 PM
i agree if the hard decisions are made fast then maybe we can get it together but it is hard to be optimistic at this stage:(
01/08/2008, 8:52 PM
2-0 Galway:mad:......We need at least a draw vs Derry. Were 3 points from safety, wouldn't ya love a sneaky 1-0?
Galway are a different team with Kenna in their defence.
ramsfan
01/08/2008, 9:15 PM
derry are a differnet class to us so i am really feeling depressed tonight, aertel is not nice reading:mad:
ramsfan
01/08/2008, 9:22 PM
Team P W D L F/A Pts
12 Cobh Ramblers 21 2 5 14 10 / 35 11
is this good enough?
01/08/2008, 10:54 PM
:eek::mad:
I just saw the goals on Sports Tonight. The 1st goal was an absolute disgrace. Ball went over all the defenders heads and it fell to Joxer on the byline. All Carey had to do was shield him out yet he backed away and ended up on his arse! Joxer shot from an impossible angle as he was right on the line, all he did was sidefoot it yet Bilko went to ground like an old granny and made an absolute b0llocks of it.
Hendo would want to go way and throw his gloves on again and try and do a Jeff Kenna because Bilko is sh!te and is not good enough for Ramblers. He must play drunk because he seems to see two balls!........he is useless, yet somehow he's still 1st choice without any competition.
Carey should definetley be dropped on evidence of what I just saw because he hasn't a clue what he's doing either!
6yardpunisha
02/08/2008, 9:03 AM
well the buck has to stop with someone and it has to stop sooner rather than later
who would you suggest at this stage, the chairman, the manager, the kitman, the people of cobh for not supporting the club, tell me now oh great one:eek:
Rights lads, I've had to delete a rake of posts. If you can't argue the point without resorting to calling each other names, don't bother posting
pcplod
02/08/2008, 2:45 PM
All i am saying is that something has to be done if you cant see that then you must have blinkers on. What is to be done is not up to me to decide and it is not going to be easy but hendo has some tough decision to make regarding team selection in my opinion which i am entitled to. Now that you mention it i think everyone including staff, members and supporters must take some of the blame for the position we are in but rather than dwelling on that i would like to see us batteling or way out of it and trying to survive which sadly is looking less and less likely after every game. So quit with the sarcasim because i dont see you coming up with any solutions either in case you have forgotten this is a discussion forum so that is what i intend on using it
02/08/2008, 3:18 PM
All i am saying is that something has to be done if you cant see that then you must have blinkers on. What is to be done is not up to me to decide and it is not going to be easy but hendo has some tough decision to make regarding team selection in my opinion which i am entitled to. Now that you mention it i think everyone including staff, members and supporters must take some of the blame for the position we are in but rather than dwelling on that i would like to see us batteling or way out of it and trying to survive which sadly is looking less and less likely after every game. So quit with the sarcasim because i dont see you coming up with any solutions either in case you have forgotten this is a discussion forum so that is what i intend on using it
Well Said.
Agree with all of it especially the last part.
ramsfan
02/08/2008, 3:28 PM
exactly, we all want to stay up but how is the question
€500 goal bonus to the goalscorer(s), but only if we win. Money talks.
ramsfan
02/08/2008, 3:58 PM
luka that is what we should have been doing all season money does talk, small basic wage and huge win bonuses, money motivates everyone fact
ramblers
03/08/2008, 12:47 PM
I think it would be worth getting Damien Richardson on board until the end of the season.
There is no point in continuing the way we are going!! It is fine the Chairman getting in the funds but when the manager has acted like a spoiled child over the last few weeks then something has to happen.
There will be no point in doing something about it when we are relegated!!
The Rebel Ram
03/08/2008, 1:14 PM
2-0 Galway:mad:......We need at least a draw vs Derry. Were 3 points from safety, wouldn't ya love a sneaky 1-0?
Galway are a different team with Kenna in their defence.
I can't see why Galway winning is bad, i thought it was a great result for us. Fourth from bottom is where we need to be and that result still keeps us only 4points from that, if Harps won we would be 7 points from it..............
The Rebel Ram
03/08/2008, 1:18 PM
I think it would be worth getting Damien Richardson on board until the end of the season.
There is no point in continuing the way we are going!! It is fine the Chairman getting in the funds but when the manager has acted like a spoiled child over the last few weeks then something has to happen.
There will be no point in doing something about it when we are relegated!!
Hendo really needs to get a grip, suspending players himself is not going to save us, we need every player we have, we need John Meade back in the team and Carey to be dropped. Find other ways of punishing them.
He was pretty novel last season when players late for training had to sing infront of the squad. Something that brings a bit of life and spirit back into the team.
It was spirit that got us promoted last season, how many injury time goals did we score. That was the difference between us and them last season.
03/08/2008, 1:33 PM
I'm embarassed to be reading this **** about, rebel ram john meade was in the team the other night, so there goes that. As for carey being dropped its a big decision and just cause people on this who single carey and meade out weekly say it, doesnt mean its right for the team as such.
As for sacking hendo, dont be so stupid, how many people have said it on this before hes the best manager weve ever had and how would sacking him answer any problem. Damien Richardson my ******, were struggling financially so we take on a manager who will demand 3 times hendos money and realistically will offer us nothing extra.
ramblers
03/08/2008, 1:44 PM
Bella he was dropped for the last 2 games because the manager had an issue with him.
It cost us in the Bray Game in my opinion which was the game we should have won. I never said Hendo should be sacked what I was saying is bring someone in to try and help him get the best out of the players for the rest of the season.
I also think hendo has lost the dressing room with his antics the last few weeks and that is going to be hard to turn around so someone new looking at things might be good!!
I am tring to think of solutions because we need something to spark this team in to life!!
ramblers
03/08/2008, 2:02 PM
Bella Just for the record I dont think hendo has been the best manager rams have had!!
If he keeps us up this season that may change.
Was away the last week it seems i missed a fair bit on the pitch but the only positives im hearin are the sunderland luncheon which was suppose to be a cracker,that game was never goin to be a sellout anyway coz of pricing but surely the club made something off it.As for this talk about the manager i think hes a bit too good to let go,maybe G.Mellerick to add a bit of belief might be handy having him around??? As for Carey ive said it b4 he is going through a messy patch and needs to be dropped its different with the goalkeeper we really have no competition for him.J meade is fine its hard to get a good left footer and he is fairly consistant.
Rambler20
04/08/2008, 9:54 AM
I was at the game friday night and to read this **** would make you sick does anybody else realise what we were up against a full time team with bags of quality , they were able to leave joxer kelly on the bench . as for hendo losing the dressing room bullsh8t the performance of the team in the 1st half was outstanding and for long periods we had boes on the back foot if a manager had lost the dressing room they wouldnt have even bothered. As for bringing in rico what a load of crap bringen in a man who would demand louds of money and do fook all and wouldnt give a ****e what happens at the end of the day dont think so. We have a manager who is passionate about this football club, why would we get rid of him thats just stupid . Nobody is more hurt by our position right now then Hendo so instead of spreading doubt about the man get behind him and he will make this club a success. As for carey and Bilko r14 its obious you have something against them your going on snippets you saw on tv3 and heard from pat mcauliffe your as bad as roddy, Carey played very well friday night his distribution was outsatnding he started move after move yet you say he needs to be droped your commenting on a game you didnt even see and Bilko kept us in the game in the 1st half and was very unlucky not to keep the peno out even the boes fans I spoke to after the game were saying how good he was incl the outstanding save from anto murphy . The lads gave it there all friday night and as a fan i cant ask for any more and i have no doubt in my mind were here to stay beat harps and galway and were right back in the mix after that rovers and ucd at home pick up a coupe of points along the road and were safe
don ramo
04/08/2008, 12:30 PM
rose tinted glasses there 20, ive been to all home games a few away games, and ive seen bilko cost us a few points and carey even more, i wont coment on bohs as i havent seen it, but if they played better im happy that there starting to play, but carey was terrible the previous 5 games, constantly missing, poor distribution, no decision making, bilko was the same although he looked better the last 2 games, same as davin, ill have to wait for derry to see if carey is doing better, but judgeing on the last time a saw carey he shouldnt have been in the first team,
ramblers
04/08/2008, 3:55 PM
Passion is not getting him very far!! I would rather have a Manger who can Manage then a Manger with passion. We all have passion thats why we pay our good money every week.
Just to point out we are bottom of the league. We have 2 wins out of 21 game not exactly staying up form.
While lots of people will keep on the rose tinted glasses now is the time to add some experience to the backroom team to try and keep us up as in a few weeks time it might be to late.
I just said Damien Richardson as he has done it at the top level. It could be someone else just as easy who could add some experience to try and keep us up. If hendo was able we would be safe by now he just lacks the experience for the higher level.
04/08/2008, 4:04 PM
Passion is not getting him very far!! I would rather have a Manger who can Manage then a Manger with passion. We all have passion thats why we pay our good money every week.
Just to point out we are bottom of the league. We have 2 wins out of 21 game not exactly staying up form.
While lots of people will keep on the rose tinted glasses now is the time to add some experience to the backroom team to try and keep us up as in a few weeks time it might be to late.
I just said Damien Richardson as he has done it at the top level. It could be someone else just as easy who could add some experience to try and keep us up. If hendo was able we would be safe by now he just lacks the experience for the higher level.
I would class a manager who won the first division on the lowest budget in the league as being a manager who can manage.
Clearly i have ful confidence in hendo and you dont, were just goping to have to agree to disagree.
ramblers
04/08/2008, 4:30 PM
The reason he had a low budget was he threw away all the money the year before when he had one of the highest budgets in the league!!
don ramo
04/08/2008, 5:00 PM
were not here to go on about that stuff, hendo is the man to get us out of it, but he has to make though decsions, he is no worse than any other manager in the league, if you have the resources you can do anything, spending the money the year previous caused a situation where only players with a love for the club would stay for so little money, and got rid of the deadwood, and 12 months later we were a premier division team,
hendo has though decsions to make and he will be judged on where we end up at the end of the season not 2/3 of the way through it