View Full Version : FAI don't want us!!!

The Rebel Ram
26/07/2008, 9:19 PM
Tonights game has to be proof that the FAI don't want us:mad::mad::mad:

Guitd
26/07/2008, 9:27 PM
Tonights game has to be proof that the FAI don't want us:mad::mad::mad:

why? what happened i see ye lost

ramsfan
26/07/2008, 9:47 PM
i would normally say that statement is rubbish but on tonights match i have to agree i have never seen such a mess made of a game by the officials, if right is right the assessor should ban doyle like he banned hanney as he had a shocker, his credibility as a referee and his linesmans credibilty have to be questioned, it was a blatant decision to do us and i am disgusted, sligo talk about summer football is bad for the league , in reality it is not the football it is the referees who are killing it they dont make decisions on facts they make it on whether they like ya or not. i shout and roar at games like the next man , but tonight was the first time ever i felt anger and would have loved to give the lino a dig the smart prat

26/07/2008, 10:00 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2008/0726/cobh_braywanderers.html

Cobh Ramblers remain rooted to the foot of the table after a controversial match at St Colman's Park...

Then there was drama as first Cobh had a goal disallowed when Kenny Coleman crossed and Daryl Kavanagh headed home. But the referee Ian Stokes disallowed the effort for apparent pushing by the scorer.

There was an even bigger talking point on 81 minutes when Kavanagh tumbled after a challenge form Ray Kenny.

Stokes pointed to the spot,and with Ramblers Kevin Murray about to take the kick, the referee was called by his assistant Ken Hennessey.

After the consultation, Stokes called Kavanagh who he booked and awarded Bray a free out, which was greeted with dismay by the home bench and the fans.

pcplod
26/07/2008, 10:05 PM
absolute disgrace firstly i would say brays goal was offside, there was nothing wrong with kavanaghs goal, then he must have had his eyes closed not to give a penalty for davin been taken down eight yards out and the biggest farce to give a penalty only for it to be taken back cos linesman says to if that doesnt show weakness and incompetance i dont know what does tonights match officals could have nailed the first nail in our coffin i am sorry to say it is a sad night for football but an absolutly devastating one for ramblers

ramblers08
26/07/2008, 10:08 PM
An absolute fcukin disgrace . You cant change your mind after makin a decision like that . That ref should be banned forever . DISGRACE

pcplod
26/07/2008, 10:13 PM
when officals from our own county can do this to us what chance do we stand!

ramsfan
26/07/2008, 10:41 PM
football wise we should have had it wrapped up though and instead a glorious chance has gone a beggin, bottom of the table and nothing seems to be goin our way , gutted lads absolutely gutted.

but at end of the day it is a results business and eleven points from 20 games is a disgrace and not good enough.

where do we go from here?????

The Rebel Ram
26/07/2008, 10:46 PM
Two hours since the final whistle and I still can't relax. My blood is boiling!
This has been by far the worst display of officiating I have ever seen in my life.
I have been a Ramblers supporter all my life and never have i felt so robbed or cheated.
I cannot find the words to say how gutted I am.
I am convinced 100% at this stage that the FAI do not want us in their new super league. It has become farsical.
I cannot for the life of me make sense of it, as PCPLOD said this is a nail in our coffin.............
There will have to be repercussions over this, this fcuking league is shambolic!
Play a Dublin team we get a Dublin ref, play City and we get a Cork ref.......
:mad::mad::mad:

Aaron
26/07/2008, 10:47 PM
Stokes is an idiot. The worst ref in the EL by a mile IMO

ramsfan
26/07/2008, 10:51 PM
stokes gets away with it week after week and nothing is ever done are the ref assessors watching the sames games as us or what , there is too much of an old pals act going on with refs and assesors, if your not good enough you shouldnt be given games end of story. they are killing the league with this rubbish and pushin teams to the brink of existance with there idiotic decisions
mns footage should be studied by fai and doyle should get a ban :mad:

naoise kennedy
26/07/2008, 10:59 PM
stokes gets away with it week after week and nothing is ever done are the ref assessors watching the sames games as us or what , there is too much of an old pals act going on with refs and assesors, if your not good enough you shouldnt be given games end of story. they are killing the league with this rubbish and pushin teams to the brink of existance with there idiotic decisions
mns footage should be studied by fai and doyle should get a ban :mad:

as a bray fan can i take it that bray where **** again tonight and that we should not have won..we lost against galway, finn harps and some how got a result here tonight... i feel its time for eddie to go..

pcplod
26/07/2008, 10:59 PM
tonight was soul destroying to say the least the feeling is unimaginable to think bad officiating could end up being the deciding factor to our season. We were miles better than bray tonight they had two chances and scored from both how mant did rams have? we should have won the game on merit alone but failed to do so but these things happen in football and you end up getting a bit of luck instead like getting awarded a peno but for it to be taken away again is well i dont know only that it seems like there is a curse over our club one that doesnt want us to play premier football as someone mentioned tomight maybe we should do what fulham did and get a vodoo doctor in to break the spell cos at the momment i dont think things can get much worse

luka
26/07/2008, 11:52 PM
Stokes is an idiot. The worst ref in the EL by a mile IMO

I'd have to agree with you there.

No offence lads but ye were all ****e except for the keeper. The officials got ye the result. I firmly believe that we need a serious look at the standard of officiating in our game here. They were totally and absolutely ****e. You wouldn't see those kind of decisions at a School Boys game.

I'm almost leaning towards the thread title as well.

Ramtillidie
26/07/2008, 11:57 PM
Can anyone tell me how the fcuk that ref WALKED away from colemans park tonite? 30 years watching football and ive never even heard of much less seen a penalty decison reversed

depor
27/07/2008, 2:07 AM
its a ****ing disgrace, thats all i have to say.

27/07/2008, 2:17 AM
Normally I don't comment when I come in half cut from the comm but even after numerous pints i'm still absolutely raging at that knobhead Ian Stokes and that pr!ck Ken Hennessy. What an absolute cowardly excuses for men!:mad:

It was without a doubt the worst refereeing performence that i've ever witnessed and I hope to God that the MNS panel ride those two gimps into the ground.
AFAIK an assisitant referee can't over rule the referee yet tonight he did. To make it worse after finally leaving the dressing room that pr!ck Hennessy who is supposed to officiate Monday and someone i'd now advise to stay away admitted after the match that he could find nothing wrong with Daryl Kavanagh's goal!:mad:

Speaking of Daryl Kavanagh can I compliment him on possibly one of the best individual performences after Dave Warren vs Monaghan ever witnessed by Cobh Ramblers fans at St. Colmans Park. Daryl was fantastic and didn't deserve to end up on the losing side.

It speaks a lot of the officials performence's when they needs a garda escort out of town! The referee parked his car outside and needed 3 people to bring him out and as for Ken Hennessey lets just say he drove very quickly put of Ramblers.

I'll admit the penalty wasn't a penalty but there was a blatant incident 2 minutes beforehand for a foul on Davin which was missed and there was a horrendous offside call on Greg O'Halloran.

Bray were sh!t and didn't deserve to win but the fact that the ref's have been instructed not to let us win is hard to take seeing as Bray's first goal was impossible to be onside for and also the referee calling the Bray players by their first names didn't help either.

It's now clear the FAI don't want us and to be honest lads i'm absolutely heartbroken. I took one look at Hendo and Martin after the game and I saw the pain they were in and this sh!t standard of refereeing is gone beyond a joke and I for one am sick of it, that referee should be banned and never allowed officiate agin but the problem is Pat Kelly is head of the referees and he absolutley hates Ramblers so if ever sees a tape of that game he'll sit in his fancy chair with his cocky little smirk laughing at Ramblers and their misfortunes.

As for the performence of the players I thought it was superb. The only negative i'd have would be with Alan Carey and his frankly useless set-piece delivery.

............................I could go on but to be honest i'm tired and really really angry still even though the match finished nearly 5 hours ago.:mad:

don ramo
27/07/2008, 2:50 AM
lads i dunno

that is the single worst referring performance i have EVER seen, how they made it out of cobh alive i dunno, but i certainly wouldnt expect to ever see them prsent at a game ever again, there not rockbottom they are the rock at the bottom of the referring standards, i have never in my life seen a peno decision being overturned EVER, id say youd hard pressed to find someone who did,
kavanaghs goal was perfectly legitimate, and its a disgrace, as he, more than anyone else deserved it, that was the best decsion the linesman made all night only for the ref to overrule him and disallow the goal the linesman had a perfect view of, to bad the linesman turned only moments later,

if these muppets are still reffing next week it will only go to show how corrupt the organiseation is,

and i will be havin words with john delany if he is present monday,

that ref spat at the rulebook tonight and took the law into his own hands

27/07/2008, 3:09 AM
AFAIK an assisitant referee can't over rule the referee yet tonight he did. To make it worse after finally leaving the dressing room that pr!ck Hennessy who is supposed to officiate Monday and someone i'd now advise to stay away admitted after the match that he could find nothing wrong with Daryl Kavanagh's goal!:mad:
Who do you think made the final decision?

Yeah, because Hennesy was the one who disallowed the goal...

I'll admit the penalty wasn't a penalty but there was a blatant incident 2 minuted beforehand for a foul on Davin which was missed and there was a horrendous offside call on Greg O'Halloran.So all this complaining is about a penalty that shouldn't have been given in the first place? There's a number of comments in this thread about the poor officiating but what has happened is that the officials ended up making the right decision. Hang them I say.

Every team gets decisions that go against them. You don't read fans of other clubs constantly moaning and whinging about every incident.

Bray were sh!t and didn't deserve to win but the fact that the ref's have been instructed not to let us win is hard to take seeing as Bray's first goal was impossible to be onside for and also the referee calling the Bray players by their first names didn't help either.

It's now clear the FAI don't want us and to be honest lads i'm absolutely heartbroken. I took one look at Hendo and Martin after the game and I saw the pain they were in and this sh!t standard of refereeing is gone beyond a joke and I for one am sick of it, that referee should be banned and never allowed officiate agin but the problem is Pat Kelly is head of the referees and he absolutley hates Ramblers so if ever sees a tape of that game he'll sit in his fancy chair with his cocky little smirk laughing at Ramblers and their misfortunes.:D PMSL. You're right, everyone's out to get you. That's why Cobh are bottom of the league...

don ramo
27/07/2008, 3:25 AM
Who do you think made the final decision?

Yeah, because Hennesy was the one who disallowed the goal...

So all this complaining is about a penalty that shouldn't have been given in the first place? There's a number of comments in this thread about the poor officiating but what has happened is that the officials ended up making the right decision. Hang them I say.

Every team gets decisions that go against them. You don't read fans of other clubs constantly moaning and whinging about every incident.

:D PMSL. You're right, everyone's out to get you. That's why Cobh are bottom of the league...

are you honestly here to stir, i cannot believe you are attempting to justify that refferin performance without even witnessing it,

27/07/2008, 3:31 AM
are you honestly here to stir, i cannot believe you are attempting to justify that refferin performance without even witnessing it,
No, the main complaint seems to be about a penalty which (apparantly) shouldn't have been a penalty at all. Not trying to justify the refereeing performance at all, just pointing out that it's not because of some dislike for Cobh by the FAI.

27/07/2008, 4:24 AM
Dman pass all the smart comments you want but by god god you will see on monday night that this league is beyond belief, how can a club like cobh ramblers survive when there are rules being made up to lose us games.

Tonight i have never felt prouder to be supporter of cobh ramblers they gave 110% tonight i can ask for no more being honest. We won eveery tqckle tackle every 50/50 dominated possesion and the facts are we should have won 3-1.

It is beggars blief that what i witnessed tonight and i have to admit i was close to being reduced to tears in anger, that the club i love and have supoorted my ho,e life be put up to that **** toinght, it says alot when the official sprints off the pitch thte second the whistle is blown, heart breaking.

Cobh Ramblers as aclub suffered tonight unbelievably and it is not acceptable, i spoke to a bray afn after the game he was well in his 50's if not 60 and aid in his lifetime supporting LOI football he never seen anything like it, and felt embarassed to take home 3 points from the game. Says it all really.

I hope MNS highlight this and the lino gets banned for life, its outrage and a ****ing joke.

By the way Martin Cambridge heart felt reaction in my opinion has to be applauded a ral club man true and true. **** the sunderland game we can have as many good people working for the club as we want when theres corrupt cheating *******s out there like the linesman tonight what hope does our club have.

ramsfan
27/07/2008, 5:05 AM
well said bella, but you can be sure nothing will be done about it as we a re a small fish , if the same thing happened in bohs- pats game for example it would be a major news story but cos its rams it will be swept under the carpet

27/07/2008, 6:59 AM
Play a Dublin team we get a Dublin ref, :mad:

Bray is a town in northern County Wicklow, Ireland, making it the fourth largest town in Ireland (excluding the five cities). It is situated about 20 km (12 mi) south of Dublin on the eastern coast.

The town is the location of some industry, is home for many who commute to Dublin by car or rail, is a market town for the surrounding area and still attracts tourists particularly from Dublin at weekends.

There are 4 Dublin teams in the league, Bray are not one of them. So having a ref from Dublin is fine then

chimpster
27/07/2008, 7:20 AM
Lads, one thing to remember here is that Hendo and the club committee can't say a word. If they do they'll be hung out ot dry by the blazers in Dublin who are responsible for this junk 'policy' in the first place. The club itself has to rise above this and focus on the next game, the only people who can protest over this are the supporters.

So keep the messages coming (you can be sure the FAI read this board) and get plenty of emails in to MNS. Banners and placards on Monday night (live on Setanta), call the radio stations, whatever it takes to put a stop to it. The refs are a farce, lets turn St. Colman's into a fortress and give 'em reason to dislike us, it can't get any worse than it is now.

Lets also ignore the idiot Dubs coming on this forum, who seem to think they are entitled and qualified to shoot down the reasons for our anger even though they didn't go to the match.

27/07/2008, 8:00 AM
they'll be hung out ot dry by the blazers in Dublin who are responsible for this junk 'policy' in the first place. The club itself has to rise above this and focus on the next game, the only people who can protest over this are the supporters.

Lets also ignore the idiot Dubs coming on this forum, who seem to think they are entitled and qualified to shoot down the reasons for our anger even though they didn't go to the match.

Clearly a believer in the "ridden rock solid" conspiracy theory. Funny how the boss who made those comments, did so after a match refereed by I. Stokes. And it also didn't feature a Dublin club.

Refs make bad decisions all the time. The main gripe here, is he overturned a penalty decision, which he is entitled to do. That's why he's a ref. :confused: There's no guarantee that it would have been scored anyway.

There's noone out to "get Cobh". If you're looking for someone to blame, it should be your defence that allowed Bray to score twice to win away from home.

chimpster
27/07/2008, 8:06 AM
Yawn :rolleyes::p

Didn't notice last night (left in a huff very quickly) ... just seen on the Bray website that the clown with the whistle also issued reds to O'Brien and Gaynor after full time. Had to shaft us for our next game too! :mad:

27/07/2008, 8:22 AM
The only reason the linesman could overrule the ref for the peno is that the player who was fouled was in an offside position before he went down. You'll never know though with the standard of reffing in this league as its probably the poorest you can get ! I take it the two players who were red carded after the final whistle for cobh were given them for mouthing at the ref and nothing else?

The Rebel Ram
27/07/2008, 8:23 AM
Didn't notice last night (left in a huff very quickly) ... just seen on the Bray website that the clown with the whistle also issued reds to O'Brien and Gaynor after full time. Had to shaft us for our next game too! :mad:
:mad::mad:IT JUST GETS WORSE AND WORSE

I couldn't sleep last night and had to get up early because of the rage I still have. I was looking forward to this weekend so much put that pr1ck has engraged me so much. I honestly feel that this game should be replayed. I honestly do feel that we are not wanted in the league. How can the FAI stand over this game. Now they have fcuked us for the next 3 games with the red cards. I can't wait to see Delaney on Monday.
Every team gets decisions against them but it has gone beyond a joke, beyond belief.
The amount of fundraising, work and commitment going into this club to keep it alive is second to none yet we are expected to cope with these idiots on top of that. This game i feel could have finished off Ramblers. I strongly feel it should be replayed. The officials have the game and the league turned into a joke.
Absolutely devestating if this isn't replayed....................

27/07/2008, 10:08 AM
I'll stop ye there lads! Red cards were not issued to O'Brien and Gaynor.................The red cards were given to O'Brien and Carey after the match.

Martin Cambridge should be applauded which he was because he was absolutely heartbroken and was reduced to tears.
Hendo was heartbroken and couldn't understand how we lost.
Daryl Kavanagh was immense and didn't deserve to be on the losing side.

Nobody seems to have this so may i be the first to say WELCOME BACK DAVIN it's about fookin time!:)

27/07/2008, 10:11 AM
I'll say one thing about Martin Cambridge and it is that the man is a cobh ramblers man through and through. A great man to have at the club.

27/07/2008, 12:22 PM
We havn't hope in staying up because the refs are taking turns in riding us into the ground :mad:

An absolutly disgraceful performence. A 90 year old man was talking to my Dad in the pub after the match and even he said in all his years he's never seen a worse refereeing performence!

rammie
27/07/2008, 12:42 PM
" I get knocked down, but I get up again.
You're never goin' to keep me down":mad:

don ramo
27/07/2008, 1:10 PM
" I get knocked down, but I get up again.
You're never goin' to keep me down":mad:

well theyll keep us down for another 10 years anyway,

barring a miracle im gonna start bookin my trips to monaghan and kildare next year

ramsfan
27/07/2008, 6:43 PM
result was bad enough but red cards have really added a nail to coffin:mad:

Rovers Maniac
27/07/2008, 7:12 PM
Just read on the attendance thread you guys had 1,200, good crowd as your bottom of the league. You would probably get very decent crowds if you were in the top half, respect

littlebray
28/07/2008, 11:02 AM
... on the Bray website that the clown with the whistle also issued reds to O'Brien and Gaynor after full time

The red cards were given to O'Brien and Carey after the match.

Sorry if we misled, the information reaching us was incomplete. 'Anor' is a (fairly) well-known abbreviation for 'Another' - but not well-known enough, obviously!

The details have now been updated, thanks for the additional information.

Commiserations: we have enough experience in the past of dodgy decisions going against us to know how you feel. It's not the happiest way of gaining three points.

Rambler20
28/07/2008, 11:29 AM
This league is a ****ing disgrace stokes was demoted at the start of the season for making a balls of a big decision and yet the fai find it in their wisdom to give him a premier division game again. Ive heard that the lino tould the ref that he had doubts about the penalty that he wasnt sure, then stokes bottled it. Surely the advantage goes with the attacking team . Two days on and im still raging and to rub salt into the wounds that excuse for a ref Kelly standing there smileing into all our faces hes a ****ing disgrace yet he was the 4th official for the city game even after doing that says it all really

ramsfan
28/07/2008, 11:43 AM
think youll find that is called nepotism and it stinks

BrayUnknowns
28/07/2008, 11:55 AM
Bray were 2nd best all night but still came away with 3 points so i'm happy and releaved ! Cobh is not an easy place to go at the best of times so seeing as we have being playing very poor of late i'm delighted.

The match itself was all Cobh and should have had the match won without the ref's decisions so on that front they have no one else to balme but themselves.

The disaloud goal was a wrong decision by the ref, he headed the ball and it was on its way before contact was made, the goal should have stood.

The peno decision was a farce though. it should have NEVER have been given in the 1st place, no way on earth was it a peno, i'm just shocked that the ref took so long to spot his lino...

If i was a Cobh fan i would feel hard done by to, just like we were hard done by in Dalymount earlire in the season when we were robbed of 3 points but again in saying that we still should have won the match with the chances we had at the end of that game. If you don't put your chances away you can't win.

All the best for the rest of the season but i predicted taht you would go down and i think that could be the case but out of the bottom teams we have played this season i think Cobh are the best and play a very decent brand of football.

Redshanks
28/07/2008, 1:25 PM
My post- Bray is mere suburb of Dublin and recieved the preferential treatemnt that most Dublin clubs do in games such as Saturday nights. By the way -there are 8 cities in Ireland. The 3 you left from Ulster are part of my country -i do know about yours!

ramsfan
28/07/2008, 2:07 PM
we were screwed by ref but brayunknown is right we should have had game wrapped up long before that , in first 20 mins we had about 10 corners and every single one missed its target, about 5 couldnt beat the first man. what i thought was sad was carey a superb freetaker and corner taker normally had such an attack of confidence that when we really needed him to step up and deliver he turned his back and left responsibilty to gaynor.

on a note about team, i thing it was bad form to drop john meade he is one of our best/consistent players and to drop him and bring back carey was a poor decision. carey needs to give up captains armband in order to take a little pressure off and allow him to concentrate on his own game

28/07/2008, 3:05 PM
What pressure is there being the captain like? Makes no difference IMO. Maybe so at a huge club where you have to be a role model and perform civic duties but not our level. If a player is playing crap, removing a piece of elasticated fabric from his arm won't normally have a huge impact on his form...

ramsfan
28/07/2008, 3:21 PM
it made a huge difference with john meade:ball:

28/07/2008, 3:26 PM
I don't think the captaincy got taken off him mid season though did it? And anyway, I stand by what I said. If someone feels big pressure being captain of a semi professional team then it doesn't say much for their temperament IMO.

pcplod
28/07/2008, 9:59 PM
John Meade should never have been dropped Carey is playing absolutly terrible and i agree that maybe the armband should be given to someone else but that doesnt mean that he will improve. He isnt the only player that is having a bad run though and a couple more could do with warming the bench along side of him.

29/07/2008, 12:33 PM
My post- Bray is mere suburb of Dublin and recieved the preferential treatemnt that most Dublin clubs do in games such as Saturday nights.

Bray is as much in Dublin as Drogheda, i.e. it isn't.

offside rule
29/07/2008, 12:52 PM
John Meade should never have been dropped Carey is playing absolutly terrible and i agree that maybe the armband should be given to someone else but that doesnt mean that he will improve. He isnt the only player that is having a bad run though and a couple more could do with warming the bench along side of him.

Completely agree 110%.
John Meade has been the most consistent player this season on the back of being player of the season last season. There is no way he should be dropped!.(stories of a rift with henderson are being branded about - if so Hendo nedds to let bye-gones be bye-gones, swallow some pride and bring Meadie back in!)
Its common sense you play your strongest 11 every week, and as long as Meadie is on the bench, Rams will be weaker.
Kenny had a stormer against Bray, he's right footed and Hendo plays him left full, Y?. We all can see Carey is struggling - drop him, push Kenny to right full and get Meadie back in left full!.
As for taking captaincy off him - i agree. It did do wonders for John Meade(too much pressure), and look how consistent his performances are since this.
There are plenty of natural leaders/options out there - O'Brien and O'Halloran have the quality traits of rexperience, respect and leadership to captain materisl, along with either Murray or Gutsie.
The captaincy is a major issue in any team, you need a strong personality who can fulfill this role - the four obvious candidates being mentiond above.

...pcplod - ''couple more could do with warming the bench along side of him'' ... Who?

Redshanks
29/07/2008, 1:34 PM
Its a little closer than Droheda but as you mention it, Drogs would be regarded as part of the establishement big family when up against the likes of Cobh!

29/07/2008, 1:47 PM
Its a little closer than Droheda but as you mention it, Drogs would be regarded as part of the establishement big family when up against the likes of Cobh!But so would Cork or Derry. It's not a location thing, it's a matter of big clubs getting more decisions. That happens in every league.