View Full Version : Stephen O'Halloran
23/11/2008, 1:17 AM
He's played one cup game for them so far. But I worry that he can't seem to prove himself at Championship standard (last year with Southampton, this year with Swansea). Hopefully he'll establish himself in the first XI during this loan period, but if he doesn't I'd really worry about his future potential.At Southampton the manager that brought him in on loan got the sack a week later, so he was left in limbo
Correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought he got injured under a week into his loan at Southampton?
If that is indeed true, your opinion seems a bit rash.That was at Leeds, he was injured warming up for what would have been his first game, and only recently came back from that injury
irishfan86
24/11/2008, 4:37 AM
Cheers Tets.
07/12/2008, 1:50 PM
Bessone, the full back that's been keeping O'Halloran out of the first team, tore his hamtring yesterday, so O'Halloran might get a run out with the seniors now: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/s/swansea_city/7769938.stm
08/12/2008, 5:31 PM
Bessone, the full back that's been keeping O'Halloran out of the first team, tore his hamtring yesterday, so O'Halloran might get a run out with the seniors now: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/s/swansea_city/7769938.stm
ya word has it he starting tomorrow night, he had a slight injury last weekend so he was out of contention for a place, big night for him tomorrow, hopefully anyway
Paddy Garcia
08/12/2008, 6:33 PM
I'd hoped he would be challenging for a place in the Villa side by now - a little disappointing that he has struggled to get a game at Swansea until this injury.
Best of luck him - hope he makes a real run of it now.
08/12/2008, 11:08 PM
ya word has it he starting tomorrow night, he had a slight injury last weekend so he was out of contention for a place, big night for him tomorrow, hopefully anyway
yeah, report here: http://www.walesonline.co.uk/footballnation/football-news/2008/12/08/swansea-city-v-barnsley-latest-news-91466-22430578/
08/12/2008, 11:25 PM
would the game be on any stream or any website na??
08/12/2008, 11:34 PM
Not on sky sports anyway, they're only showing champions league games
10/12/2008, 12:46 PM
Made his debut last night for Swansea in the 2-2 draw with Barnsley. Played full game.
Allstar
13/12/2008, 5:00 PM
O halloran stretchered off in first half after two heavy tackles on his knee. Hopefully its not serious.
Diarmo
15/12/2008, 1:14 PM
He's getting a knee scan this week. Hope it's not too bad. I think it's looking kind of promising at LB for us though. Apart from Kilbane we've got Delaney (a good solid defender) and 4 young left backs all playing in The Championship or League 1 (Painter, Sheehan, O'Halloran and Ward). Hopefully they'll continue to develop and we'll have some real competition.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/s/swansea_city/7782759.stm
15/12/2008, 1:37 PM
6 weeks is the early diagnosis full scan today i think so thats great news in respect with what we thought it could have been. Fingers crossed, im gutted for him, he needs some luck in his carrer there not a nicer fella out there, hes having no luck.
15/12/2008, 1:40 PM
He's getting a knee scan this week. Hope it's not too bad. I think it's looking kind of promising at LB for us though. Apart from Kilbane we've got Delaney (a good solid defender) and 4 young left backs all playing in The Championship or League 1 (Painter, Sheehan, O'Halloran and Ward). Hopefully they'll continue to develop and we'll have some real competition.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/s/swansea_city/7782759.stm
Mark Kennedy anyone?
sláinte101
15/12/2008, 6:13 PM
out for da season....cruciate again!!!same knee!!!
the boy has the worst luck in the world....
15/12/2008, 7:35 PM
http://www.swanseacity.net/page/Latest/0,,10354~1489698,00.html :(
ofjames
15/12/2008, 9:55 PM
poor lad. this bad luck has definitely blown his chances of making the breakthrough at villa now, and may have put his whole career in jeopardy.
best of luck to him but i fear the worst for his career now
Colbert Report
15/12/2008, 11:46 PM
Let's not get too carried away here. The guy is only twenty years old! I thought he and Darren Potter were our two best players during the America tour in summer 2007. Obviously this isn't good news but his career is far from over. If he can come back next season, even with a smaller club in League 2, he'll have a chance to work his way back into international contention.
Terrible luck. I was really keeping an eye on his development, he looked the business and we're in desperate need of a first-choice left full back. Good luck to him in his recovery.
HammerNThongs
16/12/2008, 3:54 PM
Let's not get too carried away here. The guy is only twenty years old! I thought he and Darren Potter were our two best players during the America tour in summer 2007. Obviously this isn't good news but his career is far from over. If he can come back next season, even with a smaller club in League 2, he'll have a chance to work his way back into international contention.
Terrible luck. I was really keeping an eye on his development, he looked the business and we're in desperate need of a first-choice left full back. Good luck to him in his recovery.
As I'm a Villa fan as well, I can say this is fairly upsetting. This is his second cruciate blown out in 18 months I think it is. This will, effectively, be 3 years of non football for O Halloran at a crucial stage of his development. Sure, there are players who have made it back, but there are far more who have fallen by the way side.
I'm gutted because of what I saw when I watched our U-21s in action, He was consistently one of the best performers with only Garvan outshining him at any point
16/12/2008, 4:00 PM
Poor guy, really sad news.
16/12/2008, 4:12 PM
I could be wrong, but I think his contract with Villa is up in the summer as well :(
HammerNThongs
16/12/2008, 4:23 PM
Fairly sure that's right...here's hoping Marty can be somebit sympathetic! If there is any club who can, it's one that are sponsoring a charity!
Allstar
16/12/2008, 4:37 PM
He done his cruciate only back in march and was just back playing again.
No luck. What are ya supposed to do!!
DiscoPants
19/12/2008, 7:52 PM
His contract with Villa is up in the Summer. This is a terrible blow for the lad and all but ruins his chances of getting a renewal. That was just his third start for Swamsea, having done his cruciate in a warm-up with Leeds last March. I wish the lad all the best and hope he comes back from this. Steve comes from a great footballing family down in Cobh. His Dad played for Ramblers, as did his Uncle, and his brother is a reserve team player at the moment, while Davin O'Neill is also his cousin.
Here's hoping the lad comes back from a blow like this.
irishfan86
09/03/2010, 1:47 AM
Glad to hear bellavistaman, thanks for the update. From the little bits I saw of him before he got hurt he looked like a decent prospect. Hopefully his recovery goes well and he can give us a good option at left full.
09/03/2010, 7:58 AM
It would be great to see him make a go of his career. When he played for Ireland in the US he looked very accomplished and I thought he was a real contender. Hopefully we'll see him in a green jersey again.
09/03/2010, 9:49 AM
Great news and fingers crossed.
09/03/2010, 11:15 AM
what games was this BV? Just had a look on villa's site, and there'sno mention of him in the most recent reserve game VS wolves
Colbert Report
09/03/2010, 3:27 PM
Fair play to this lad, I've been following this thread for years. It is great to see him back in action. Does he have any chance of staying with Villa past this season?
Onefootednopace
09/03/2010, 3:36 PM
Just to let ye know Stephen came through his first 30 mins in a reserve game last week, felt fine, and is super fit again. Heres hoping the leg stays strong, and a bit of luck and we'l have him at left back again sometime for Ireland.
Good luck to him
Great to hear that news, looked a decent player before his injuries.
10/03/2010, 10:26 PM
Came off the bench for last 10 minutes in a 4-0 win over Birmingham tonight. Fair play to the lad.
bwagner
11/03/2010, 12:43 AM
is the keeper of Aston Villa Bevan irish?
11/03/2010, 3:07 PM
along with the return of Terry Dixon for the U21s, and James McCarthy's debut for the senior side, this is really the best news of the year so far
backstothewall
12/03/2010, 6:37 PM
here's hoping he can get some game time in the first team between now and the end of the season. Or even a loan move (Forest maybe, it would be great expereince for him there, and they need a left back since Shorey went to Fulham).
But more than anything else. Here's hoping for no more serious injuries
10/06/2010, 9:22 PM
Stephen played a handful of games for the reserves towards the end of last season, there's a short interview with him here on villa's website: http://www.avfc.co.uk/page/FootballNewsDetail/0,,10265~2041663,00.html
He went on to play the full game against Manchester United mentioned in the interview, which finished 3-3 and Villa eventually lost on penalties: http://www.avfc.co.uk/page/ReservesAcademyMatchDetail/0,,10265~2042175,00.html
That's excellent news, really do hope he gets a chance with Villa when the new season starts in August.
Sullivinho
10/06/2010, 10:11 PM
I remember being impressed by this lad when Stan led a merry troupe to the US. Absolutely hate hearing about players suffering knee injuries, especially potential heirs to Kilbane's throne!
Very pleased to hear he's tucking games under his belt again.
12/06/2010, 9:49 PM
The first thing I thought when I saw this thread was that he'd either been injured again or released - relieved on both counts! Hopefully he'll start to make a case next season.
Wexford Delboy
15/06/2010, 1:28 AM
has he got a new contract yet?read on one of the threads here his contract ran out this season?
15/06/2010, 9:20 AM
Watch this space. :cool:
Manblue
21/06/2010, 10:01 AM
been watching this space for about 2 years now, seems to be going in circles, the way you said that i thought hed be signing a new contract in the next couple of days or something.
23/06/2010, 9:49 AM
http://cobhedition.com/?p=4497
Here ye go. As I said news was coming.
23/06/2010, 9:54 AM
Cheers rambler14, it's good that he'll be getting football next season, and that Coventry were willing to sign him after a medical.
Just has to prove himself at Championship level now.
irishfan86
23/06/2010, 10:24 AM
Thanks for the update rambler. I think it's the perfect move for him. I was worried that he'd struggle to find a Premier/Championship club and maybe have to go to Scotland or League 1/2.
At least this way he's not in the wilderness, and at 22 could potentially have a really good go at it if his knee holds up.
backstothewall
20/07/2010, 5:53 PM
Terrific news. He was always going to struggle to break into the Villa team, with the likes of Warnock ahead of him. This can be a great move for him, and playing with Westwood hopefully means Trap will get the chance to cast an eye over him (and the other half dozen or so there).
Good manager at Coventry as well
theworm2345
06/01/2011, 3:41 AM
O'Halloran made his first senior appearance in two years a few weeks ago for Coventry as a substitute
http://www.coventrytelegraph.net/coventry-city-fc/coventry-city-fc-news/2010/12/31/stephen-o-halloran-desperate-to-make-up-for-lost-time-92746-27912792/
Managed to fly in under the radar but I figured some good news was in order what with Meyler.
Two cruciate injuries later, but only 23. IF he can get a injury free run to the end of the season, may well be one to watch out for. Certainly showed potential in the past
TrapAPony
08/01/2011, 3:51 PM
Played the full 90mins at left back in a 2-1 win over Crystal Palace in the Cup. Good to see.
theworm2345
08/01/2011, 8:23 PM
Played the full 90mins at left back in a 2-1 win over Crystal Palace in the Cup. Good to see.
He was responsible for giving away a penalty right after Palace had pulled their goal back, but Westwood bailed him out by saving it.
Boothroyd complimented him anyway:
""(Stephen) O'Halloran & Carl (Baker) were also outstanding today, from Stephen in particular, you can see the different dimension he gives us."
http://www.ccfc.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10269~2261558,00.html
Apparently O'Halloran is their first natural left back to play at that position this season.
Sullivinho
09/01/2011, 8:28 PM
Still only 23. I really hope his injury woes are behind him.
10/01/2011, 7:42 AM
Glad to hear he played well. I seen the goals and Palace’s goal was caused by a bad header by the lad. He is bound to be a bit rusty after such a long layoff.
10/01/2011, 7:42 PM
He will definitely be an option for us if he stays injury free. Nice competition for Cunningham at the worst.