View Full Version : Sligo Rovers Chairman

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Sniffer
25/07/2008, 2:58 PM
Wasn't summer football supposed to be an experiment, rather than a fixture?

placid casual
25/07/2008, 3:24 PM
Haha,
I couldn't give a toss about your shower of moaning farmers, If you read me original post you would have noticed that I felt embarrassed for the League not Shligo Rovers. The moaning out of you lot is unreal. You paid too much to players and have nothing to play for so your fans have deserted you. It's got nothing to do with housewives taking kids to the beach, or glamour GAA games against London. Do us all a favour, stop moaning and get on with sorting your club out.

A++.
the amount of she-eite that pervades this forum is always interspersed by a modicum of common sense.

If i bothered me hole to vote for a post of the month that would be the leading candidate

25/07/2008, 3:25 PM
Wasn't summer football supposed to be an experiment, rather than a fixture?

No, unlike previous efforts (10 team league, top 6/bottom 6) there was no set period on this "and we'll assess how things are then"

25/07/2008, 3:33 PM
Sligo, GAA stronghold? :confused: When was the last time they won an All-Ireland, seriously?? :confused:

Fivesilver
25/07/2008, 3:35 PM
Sligo, GAA stronghold? :confused: When was the last time they won an All-Ireland, seriously?? :confused:

You got that one spot-on, Cup Specialist.

srfc1928
25/07/2008, 6:47 PM
who ever said it was a Gaa stronghold ?:confused:

25/07/2008, 11:07 PM
Can any one explain to me why Sligo are losing money? Did they also lose money last season? What changed from a few months ago?

As far as I can tell attendances are up this season?

The last year Sligo were in the Premier division prior to summer football the crowds were in the hundreds & not thousands...

deecay
26/07/2008, 12:24 AM
your fans have deserted you
Can you explian this? Oh wait you cant because your talking crazy

forza rovers
26/07/2008, 8:38 AM
Can any one explain to me why Sligo are losing money? Did they also lose money last season? What changed from a few months ago?

The last year Sligo were in the Premier division prior to summer football the crowds were in the hundreds & not thousands...

:confused:we didn't pay the tax man and owed him 100k

Red Army
26/07/2008, 9:57 AM
It's funny to see the common thread of Cork fans going on about proper running of clubs. During the existence of Sligo Rovers, how many teams have disappeared in the city with the second-largest population in the country? Not to mention Cork losing one of the country's best soccer grounds, followed by the Bishopstown debacle. Only last season there was plenty of crying about taxes owed and the danger to the existence of the club in the post-fish & chips man era. And in recent days it's been suggested that Arkaga will take their ball and go home if Drury doesn't get his way.
Very good post:cool:

The problem with Toolan is he is too quick to point the finger and blame our problems on other things. Ok for clubs like Rovers most our support would prefer professional winter football. Our crowds aren't down up they haven't increased either. We're getting the average what every other club is getting in our league position. Ideally we would love 5k at our home games but the league is a long way of that so we have to just get on with it. The reason why we are facing financial difficulties is because we are trying to keep up with clubs like Bohs, Drog, and Pats who have loads of money behind them. Our club has no money men behind us we are ran by the supporters and this is where our problem lies.
I don't question Toolans commitment to our club he is a loyal Rovers supporter but I feel he has taken Rovers as far as he can as chairman. But he is still needed within the club with his passion for Rovers but not as chairman.
You can see from his interview he's not a business man he's just an ordinary Jo so like any of us but we need more business men involved in the running of our club and a different set up how it is ran now. Whilst not taken it away from a community based club (which is hard to balance) hopefully something will come from the EGM and will take Rovers forward for another 80 years

prince20
26/07/2008, 10:43 AM
Lads..I can tell you for fact that of the 22 Eircon league clubs presently playing there is 17 in favour of a return to winter soccer..I personally think that this is going to happen over the next few years as facilities are a lot better now than they were when we last played winter soccer.
On another note about Sligo I have a affinity for them due to friends playing for them over the years but my recollection of the crowds there was, like most clubs,hardcore following and then depending on results attendances would go up or down accordingly. I dont think this is a soccer problem however as people like to be associated with success in all sports. An example of this would be my local rugby club, crowds in excess of 3 thousand when winning, average crowd now about 500(I was one of the three thousand when it didnt clash with LOI!) League of Ireland soccer is and always will be my first love but I honestly believe it needs to change or its dead. There is too many clubs living beyond their means.:confused:

cheech
26/07/2008, 1:01 PM
There is indeed more to do in Summer months. But there's also a need for more to do - with longer nights, warmer weather and kids on holiday.

Parents want a range of things for their kids to do in the holidays - not just the usual cinema, swimming pool, park routine.

There's no reason why live football couldn't become part of families' Summer activity 'rota', and thereby provide a huge boost to league attendances.

I can tell you obviously don't have a wife or kids.

26/07/2008, 8:54 PM
I can tell you obviously don't have a wife or kids.

I have three wives and 17 children, infidel....:D

Are you saying families need less to do during the Summer...? :confused:

cheech
26/07/2008, 9:06 PM
I have three wives and 17 children, infidel....:D

Are you saying families need less to do during the Summer...? :confused:

How in the name of Jesus did you manage to take that out of my post?

27/07/2008, 1:12 AM
your fans have deserted you..

hmm.....kettle calling something/someone black or something along those lines. ;)

GuisaSaigon
27/07/2008, 6:13 PM
hmm.....kettle calling something/someone black or something along those lines. ;)

At least we're not blaming it on the housewives.:o

Rovers Maniac
27/07/2008, 6:17 PM
At least we're not blaming it on the housewives.:o

Thats terrible abuse, well you showed us :D

Patrick Dunne
27/07/2008, 7:03 PM
Don't blame it on the sunshine
Don't blame it on the moonlight
Don't blame it in the good times
Blame it on the housewives

27/07/2008, 7:45 PM
Don't blame it on the sunshine
Don't blame it on the moonlight
Don't blame it in the good times
Blame it on the housewivesGood man, did you manage to come up with all that yourself or did someone help you?

dublinred
28/07/2008, 8:45 AM

A combination of several reasons there is a shortfall in sponsorship money due to the credit crunch , went out of both cups early , I heard the budget numbers and they were reasonable but the revenue is slow coming in , as is the case with Galway , the 130k will be found and expect the budgets to be trimmed for next season and a return to a mixture of professional and partime players , there are clubs in a far worse position than ourselves and Galway , wages have to come down for the league to survive there are some ridulious amounts been paid at the moment that some players in the championship wouldn't be earning.

red_away
28/07/2008, 12:17 PM
There is a lot of "valuable insight" from supporters who should look at their own clubs financial stability before commenting on SRFC!

The EL/LOI littered with examples of this, Derry and Cork are the only teams who truly get supporters in numbers to games regularly but Derry were out of top flight football for other reasons and Cork has a history of letting these clubs fold, indeed there was an article in the cork vs rovers programme last season on how cork city and its supporters could learn a lesson from sligo in keeping football alive, How many teams did the mighty town of cork and their supporters let fold....3,4 maybe 5???

Dont get me started on Galway, dublin or limerick!

What toolan said may be right or wrong, but his opinion is a valid as anyones on this forum, so what if he sounds like a farmer, its the message that counts.

We will survive this and any other crisis - we may be small but we are proud of our team and arent embarrassed in any company in this league!!!!

One thing that irks me is the contant theme in the media and here that SRFC are the only club in serious threat of bankruptcy/folding......most EL clubs are in worse shape - we own our own ground and have enough land around it to provide huge potential for the club....if a true audit was done of LOI clubs i honestly think rovers would rank highly as the current method in use is clearly failing with regard to salary caps etc!

When the moneymen get tired of the EL or run out of money the map of EL will change rapidly again...ask shams or shelbourne supporters!

SRFC will remain, whilst others wont, we will, I hope all the other teams supporters on this forum are as lucky as us!

passerrby
28/07/2008, 5:15 PM
[QUOTE=prince20;989322]Lads..I can tell you for fact that of the 22 Eircon league clubs presently playing there is 17 in favour of a return to winter soccer..

are you sure of your figures i am not calling you a liar or anything but i cant see 17 clubs favouring a return to summer

28/07/2008, 11:20 PM
[QUOTE=prince20;989322]Lads..I can tell you for fact that of the 22 Eircon league clubs presently playing there is 17 in favour of a return to winter soccer..

are you sure of your figures i am not calling you a liar or anything but i cant see 17 clubs favouring a return to summer

Probably because it's always p iss'n in Monaghan, you probably have not noticed that we have summer soccer at the moment.:p

Guts&Glory
29/07/2008, 12:34 PM
There is a lot of "valuable insight" from supporters who should look at their own clubs financial stability before commenting on SRFC!

The EL/LOI littered with examples of this, Derry and Cork are the only teams who truly get supporters in numbers to games regularly but Derry were out of top flight football for other reasons and Cork has a history of letting these clubs fold, indeed there was an article in the cork vs rovers programme last season on how cork city and its supporters could learn a lesson from sligo in keeping football alive, How many teams did the mighty town of cork and their supporters let fold....3,4 maybe 5???

Dont get me started on Galway, dublin or limerick!

What toolan said may be right or wrong, but his opinion is a valid as anyones on this forum, so what if he sounds like a farmer, its the message that counts.

We will survive this and any other crisis - we may be small but we are proud of our team and arent embarrassed in any company in this league!!!!

One thing that irks me is the contant theme in the media and here that SRFC are the only club in serious threat of bankruptcy/folding......most EL clubs are in worse shape - we own our own ground and have enough land around it to provide huge potential for the club....if a true audit was done of LOI clubs i honestly think rovers would rank highly as the current method in use is clearly failing with regard to salary caps etc!

When the moneymen get tired of the EL or run out of money the map of EL will change rapidly again...ask shams or shelbourne supporters!

SRFC will remain, whilst others wont, we will, I hope all the other teams supporters on this forum are as lucky as us!

Good points well mad red away.

Can anyone recall Toolan saying what the reasoning was behind the point of SRFC not raising €130,000 by the end of August would mean SRFC going out of business ?

I cannot recall Toolan giving an explanation such as bank will foreclose on any loans, players would be entitled to leave due to non payment etc. just that we needed €130,000 by end of August.

I appreciate that the end of August is the close of the transfer window but the season lasts until middle of November after all.

Seems a bit strange to me especially as is mentioned elsewhere on fthe Rovers forum the bucket collection around the town is being held in September.

Also people are a bit bemused how Mctiernan (granted a part time player) and Rovers having others on trial whilst pleading poverty and saying all summer that they could not afford to bring anybody in.

Anyone shed any defintive light on the reasons ?

Rovers Maniac
29/07/2008, 12:45 PM
Good points well mad red away.

Can anyone recall Toolan saying what the reasoning was behind the point of SRFC not raising €130,000 by the end of August would mean SRFC going out of business ?

I cannot recall Toolan giving an explanation such as bank will foreclose on any loans, players would be entitled to leave due to non payment etc. just that we needed €130,000 by end of August.

I appreciate that the end of August is the close of the transfer window but the season lasts until middle of November after all.

Seems a bit strange to me especially as is mentioned elsewhere on fthe Rovers forum the bucket collection around the town is being held in September.

Also people are a bit bemused how Mctiernan (granted a part time player) and Rovers having others on trial whilst pleading poverty and saying all summer that they could not afford to bring anybody in.

Anyone shed any defintive light on the reasons ?

I think you're on to something here Guts&Glory i heard that all members of the MC today were seen today in and out of Mullaney travel shopping for sun screen buying beach beach balls and Toolan himself was seen with an inflatable crocodile.

Fivesilver
29/07/2008, 12:49 PM
Toolan himself was seen with an inflatable crocodile.

I have it from a reliable source that's our new striker.

29/07/2008, 1:30 PM
He's left training early today....he's croc-ked

29/07/2008, 1:39 PM
He's left training early today....he's croc-kedBack to work Rory...terrible;).

prince20
29/07/2008, 6:06 PM
Lads..I can tell you for fact that of the 22 Eircon league clubs presently playing there is 17 in favour of a return to winter soccer..

Yes absolutely sure..

Guts&Glory
30/07/2008, 1:21 PM
Wasnt implyiong any wrong doing by Toolan et al in any way.

Just curious who is putting the squeeze on for the mpney as we havent been told anything yet are being asked to help raise and contribute money to the €130,000 despite not knowing if it is to clear debt/loans, pay wages (but what about after August?)

Simple as this lads you ask someone to contribute to the yndicates/fundraisers, they ask you what its to pay for or will be used for and what answer do we have apart from "sure its for the club!!"

I will take the sarcastic comments and jokes as a no (nobody knows where the €130,000 figure came from)then.....

red arrow
30/07/2008, 6:47 PM
rovers have no home game until end of august (except cork city sunday that pays this weeks wages hopefully weekly wage approx now k15) 3 sat no game at home equals k45. they also have to pay revenue tax due from last year (remember we came into season with k180 loss k110 of this was for revenue of which second tranch is due now approx k40 that makes k85 so far. then club has to pay current years tax since beginning of season k40 so far. we are now not far off the k130. so in answer to the question what is the money for ? yes it is to keep sligo rovers in football. so get off your asses and start fundraising now and stop asking questions.

droverover
30/07/2008, 10:20 PM
At the end of the day there has always been a serious problem with Sligo Rovers. A football club should always budget on the side of caution and not depend on any major cup runs to balance the books. Sure they would be a bonus and money raised from cup runs could be put the use the following season.
Also the club should be a lot more transparent to all supporters. Attendances and gate receipts should be published regularly. Now that the tax man is on his way to be sorted there is no reason why this shouldnt be the case.
Looking at the discussion on GAA i have noticed a lot more townies supporting the gaelic footie team over the last 7 years. Since the trips to Croke Park I cant believe some of the fellows I see at the connaught championship games now. A lot of people can see the days craic you can have in the likes of Roscommon or Castlebar where the whole town is full of fans. There is no comparison to this in league of ireland from a purely **** up point of view. Cant remember the amount of gaa games where I hardly bothered leaving the pubs to go to the games and often enough left at half time.

Fivesilver
31/07/2008, 12:28 PM
Hopefully I can get in and out of this thread before it degenerates into a GAA v soccer/town v country pointless slagging match...

I don't doubt for a moment that people have massive days out at GAA matches. The whole point is that's exactly what they are, and all the bigger and more precious because they're so few and far between. I'm pretty sure you weren't whooping it up at National League games away to Carlow or the likes.
The GAA Championship by its nature involves one or two big days a year. The vast majority of "fans" you bump into in McHale Park or the Hyde haven't seen the county team in the interim. Rovers play week in week out, so of course it's more difficult to get the same sense of occasion. Neither does the GAA have to contend with barstoolers who have a ready-made excuse not to support their local soccer team.
It's not a case of one or the other being incontrivertibly superior - they're two completely different products, and the LoI's problems won't be solved by trying to be "more like the GAA".

Nah Nah Nah Nah
31/07/2008, 5:02 PM
Hopefully I can get in and out of this thread before it degenerates into a GAA v soccer/town v country pointless slagging match...

I don't doubt for a moment that people have massive days out at GAA matches. The whole point is that's exactly what they are, and all the bigger and more precious because they're so few and far between. I'm pretty sure you weren't whooping it up at National League games away to Carlow or the likes.
The GAA Championship by its nature involves one or two big days a year. The vast majority of "fans" you bump into in McHale Park or the Hyde haven't seen the county team in the interim. Rovers play week in week out, so of course it's more difficult to get the same sense of occasion. Neither does the GAA have to contend with barstoolers who have a ready-made excuse not to support their local soccer team.
It's not a case of one or the other being incontrivertibly superior - they're two completely different products, and the LoI's problems won't be solved by trying to be "more like the GAA".

Exactly. Look at the amount of whingin out of people if a county team has to play 4 weeks in a row in GAA

brianw82
01/08/2008, 10:26 AM
Toolin's crying about summer football has only started since we went full-time and started paying bigger wages.

I wonder why that is? (sarcasm implied)

Redzer
01/08/2008, 11:16 AM
Read the Champion this week and he's looking for SUMMER football.

Rovers Maniac
01/08/2008, 11:22 AM
Read the Champion this week and he's looking for SUMMER football.

I know it is not the best of summers but that kind of mistake is unbelievable :p

Guts&Glory
06/08/2008, 12:07 AM
rovers have no home game until end of august (except cork city sunday that pays this weeks wages hopefully weekly wage approx now k15) 3 sat no game at home equals k45.
This was known at the begining of thes season.

They also have to pay revenue tax due from last year (remember we came into season with k180 loss k110 of this was for revenue of which second tranch is due now approx k40 that makes k85 so far.
See above point.

Then club has to pay current years tax since beginning of season k40 so far.
Pay tax like every other legal entity, hardly a bombshell of a piece of news to the club!!

We are now not far off the k130. So in answer to the question what is the money for ? Yes it is to keep sligo rovers in football. So get off your asses and start fundraising now and stop asking questions.

in answer to your statement poor planning of known information and outgoings by the mgt. Would you let this crowd run your company based on your points????!!!!

Sure we will raise the eur130k needed and be in this poistion again in one or two years time.

sligo1
06/08/2008, 10:02 PM
In Sundays Match programme,Michael Toolan thought it was a great idea to lease out the carpark to the Corporation for a nominal sum for 5 years.
Does anybody know what the nominal sum is and how come the Club cant tar the area themselves and keep the revenue generated from the charges?

06/08/2008, 10:05 PM
Well I'd say we can't tar because of the cost involved...Seems like a good deal to me.

sligo1
06/08/2008, 10:11 PM
What would be the cost involved?

Lets look at the income side

100 cars @ 3 euro per day x 5 days x 52 weeks x 5 years = 390,000 euro.
(that's a lot of tar)

The Corporation have said the cost to them would be 123,000 euro

It doesn't sound like a good deal now!!

06/08/2008, 10:12 PM
for the short-term like...anyway, it's ours again after five years anyway...

sligo1
06/08/2008, 10:19 PM
I dont understand your logic- we are handing away approx 55,000 euro per year after the cost of doing it(based on the figures above) for the next 5 years

How is that good for us in the short term?

06/08/2008, 10:21 PM
It doesn't sound like a good deal now!!If we had the money to tar the place ourselves now then yeah, it's not a good deal but at the moment it benefits us. It also means the Showgrounds will look a lot more presentable than it is in it's current state.

sligo1
06/08/2008, 10:24 PM
Based on those figures, it should be very easy to finance it.

Even Sligo Rovers would be able to get finance for it

06/08/2008, 10:27 PM
Even Sligo Rovers would be able to get finance for itI'm sure the MC aren't that stupid that they wouldn't have looked into it, they've obviously decided this is a better option. Plus, at least with the corporation doing it, it'll actually get done. There has been too much talk of getting the place tarred and not enough action, if it benefits the corporation then they'll get it done quicker than the club would as it wouldn't be their highest priority at the moment.

06/08/2008, 10:27 PM
Based on those figures, it should be very easy to finance it.

Even Sligo Rovers would be able to get finance for it

Right so, you get the money, and i'll drive the steam roller myself.:rolleyes:

sligo1
06/08/2008, 10:32 PM
At least somebody has a sense of humour!!

What about the Delevopement Committee? Could they not get it organised seen as they are the Developement Committee!!

06/08/2008, 10:41 PM
Could they not get it organised seen as they are the Developement Committee!!They've done a great job so far alright.

sligo1
06/08/2008, 10:50 PM
Another with a sense of humour!!