View Full Version : v Waterford
Youths4Ever
18/07/2008, 8:35 AM
Simple question after two close games can we beat Waterford tonight?
Personally I think we can have played a bit better recently and a team starting to develop with same starting 11.
18/07/2008, 9:04 AM
As good a chance as ever tonight. The defence seems to be much more solid these days. I think we'll nick a 1-0 win.
Sunny Jim
18/07/2008, 9:08 AM
I didn't make it to the Fingal match, but by all accounts we played OK. However, I was at the match in Longford where we were by far the better team, created numerous chances and could have scored three or four. If we play like that tonight we'll get at least a point.
Splurge
18/07/2008, 6:38 PM
Just heading out the door now, confident of a good game, good performance from us and a good result. We should have taken pts ff them allready this season.
18/07/2008, 9:28 PM
Good result for you lads.
Was there a good crowd?
Splurge
18/07/2008, 10:14 PM
Was there a good crowd?
Probably just under a 1000, was a very similar game to the one in March and ye nearly snatched it again but a draw would have to be a fair result.
Was impressed with the ref for the first time, took no nonense and clamped down well on unfair jumping etc.
jeff24
18/07/2008, 11:11 PM
y wouldnt ye b imprssed with da ref he gave ye everything he was shocking
Splurge
18/07/2008, 11:15 PM
Ill agree we got the majority of the decisions but then again you lot did the majority of the fouling. Every 50:50 ball in the middle youse pushed for it, the physical side of our game would be our weakpoint and we're one of the more lightweight teams in it so most teams that come to us try and rough it up.
Youse wernt as dirty as last time though.
Youths4Ever
19/07/2008, 11:07 AM
Was there a good crowd?
an official attendance of 879 so not to bad plenty of Waterford fans around so good atmosphere
first time ever had that said about the Youths :eek:
but as pointed out ye carried out majority of fouls. your players seemed to think a push in the back when trying to win a header was allowed.
the fact your manager was heard having a friendly chat with the lines man at that side and clearly knew him away was a disgrace the lines man should have been on other side with biggest lines man in the world on the side with managers.
in fairness ref don't normally blow for it but he did last night for example ref last week did not think same offense a foul even with a arm wrapped around a players neck.
oldyouth
19/07/2008, 12:35 PM
Probably just under a 1000, was a very similar game to the one in March and ye nearly snatched it again but a draw would have to be a fair result.
Was impressed with the ref for the first time, took no nonense and clamped down well on unfair jumping etc.
I was directly behind the goal for the incident where Pa was hurt, and I would have given the penalty. I know it doesn't make it right, but we deserved a decision like that for the poor ones that have gone against us.
Splurge
19/07/2008, 3:15 PM
Btw where are the absentee's?
Paul Murphy, Hawkins, Marty. Delighted for Furlong to get a goal, looks like a very mature player for his age.
oldyouth
19/07/2008, 5:59 PM
Btw where are the absentee's?
Paul Murphy, Hawkins, Marty. Delighted for Furlong to get a goal, looks like a very mature player for his age.
Murph was there alright in the crowd with Stewy, who was showing him how to limp properly to get the sympathy vote from the crowd. Marty must be still hurt after that challange against UCD. No comment on Ducker
mrmurphster
20/07/2008, 12:10 AM
Murph was there alright in the crowd with Stewy, who was showing him how to limp properly to get the sympathy vote from the crowd. Marty must be still hurt after that challange against UCD. No comment on Ducker
P murphy has knee injury picked up in training.
From what I heard Ducker has quit.
Splurge
20/07/2008, 12:12 AM
P murphy has knee injury picked up in training.
From what I heard Ducker has quit.
I'd heard rumours of this before, but he was back the last few weeks?
Having a laugh there Splurge. :p
He disallowed a perfectly good goal, then showed the grossest inconsistency by playing on after Luke Fitz rode a blatant foul in the box only for an (in fairness) excellent tackle to nick the ball off him after the rather dubious advantage, then minutes later went the opposite way, pulling back play after Bermo was scythed down in the area for a previous foul on him on the edge of the box, and allowing no advantage???
And we won't mention the handball on the line he missed. He had a 'mare. If that game was on telly he could have planned a five week holiday as well.
Easy know you were impressed! :D
Draw was probably fair though, ye looked very good going forward for large chunks of the game.
Shame not to see Ducker there, always thought he was a lovely player.
And must say again, the set-up ye have down there is just fantastic. Pitch was absolutely immaculate as well. Rapidly becoming my favourite away ground. :)
Splurge
20/07/2008, 11:53 AM
I was a fair distance away from the over the line incident so i dont know, but it did from my poor view look over, linesman didnt give it i presume.
There was a case when he stopped our advantage at on estag aswell, he was good because he clamped down consistently on unfair jumping etc, which seeing as we were smaller than your lot was important for us.