View Full Version : B.O.R.S.T Fundraiser - 1
akearins
16/07/2008, 1:45 PM
The Bit O Red Supporters Trust will be holding a fundraising race night in Cahenys on Sunday August 3rd. We hope to raise enough to allow supporters be involved in one and hopefully 2 of the syndicates being organised by Vincent Nally.All moneys raised will be used to assist the club out of this financial crisis.To sponsor a race is €100 and to buy a horse & jockey is €20.
In the event of a Trut syndicate winning the prizes on offer ,anyone who sposnosrs a horse will be entered in a draw and we will draw a winner form horse sponsors
Final figures will be printed in local papers to let fans know exactly how much was raised and what it was spent on.
So if you know anyone who is unwilling to assist the club becasue it just seems to be one financial crisis after another and they may question where their money is going then hopefully this will provide them with a different avenue to assit their club.
Anyone interested can PM me or contact any of the lads in the Trust at game Saturday night.
We are also working on a longer term project where supporters can assist the club through backing a trust initiative that will help take some of the burden of some annual running costs.
I will give full details when we finanlise all the necessary arrangements.
akearins
16/07/2008, 5:40 PM
Lads what the Trust is trying, or will be soon, to do is to aim and get 1,000 fans from wherver they live in Ireland or the world to donate a minimum of €2 a week direct debit to a trust account.ALL money will be used to assist the club.Now this may be for paying a years travel expences, pre seaon expences whatever we can do to take a bill away from the club so it will free up resources for the club.
This is a very small amount to pay and does not excluyde any fans by asking for €100s of Euros.Works out at about 28cent a day.Be very surprised if we cannot achieve this.
If this target is reached the supporters will directly contribute €2000 a week,€8000 a month and a total of €96,000 a year.
Each contributor will become a TRUST member automatically.
This would almost cover the 200 extra fans we need to break even each week, so we were told,does not exclude anyone finacially who simply could not afford the 400 club or other big money schemes
Supporetrs would have total cotrol over their finances, they could even become shirt sponsors whatever they want to do.
And if any one is has any worries about the money, the Trusst accounts are audited every year and MUST pass ICOS regulations, cheques are co-signed by 2 signatures and we never pay Cash as it is not traceable.
I am working on the details so please when it starts up, if supporetrs are interested, try your best to suppport it
celticV3
16/07/2008, 5:54 PM
Lads what the Trust is trying, or will be soon, to do is to aim and get 1,000 fans from wherver they live in Ireland or the world to donate a minimum of €2 a week direct debit to a trust account.ALL money will be used to assist the club.Now this may be for paying a years travel expences, pre seaon expences whatever we can do to take a bill away from the club so it will free up resources for the club.
This is a very small amount to pay and does not excluyde any fans by asking for €100s of Euros.Works out at about 28cent a day.Be very surprised if we cannot achieve this.
If this target is reached the supporters will directly contribute €2000 a week,€8000 a month and a total of €96,000 a year.
This would almost cover the 200 extra fans we need to break even each week, so we were told,does not exclude anyone finacially who simply could not afford the 400 club or other big money schemes
Supporetrs would have total cotrol over their finances, they could even become shirt sponsors whatever they want to do.
And if any one is has any worries about the money, the Trusst accounts are audited every year and MUST pass ICOS regulations, cheques are co-signed by 2 signatures and we never pay Cash as it is not traceable.
I am working on the details so please when it starts up, if supporetrs are interested, try your best to suppport it
Brilliant idea, hopefully their will be 1000 people to sign up but im sure a few people may even be able to double up the €2 to €4 if that doesn't complicate things. great initiative and hopefully this gets going.
Rovers fan
16/07/2008, 6:11 PM
Yes,I think its a great idea.The simple ideas are often the best.It's definitely achieveable but would need to be advertised well.
Oh and btw it works out at 104000euro a year!
16/07/2008, 6:19 PM
good idea alan. i think membership of the club should use a similar model rather than a once off payment of 635. i'd be willing to pay 100/month to be a member and i'm sure we could get at least 100 more who would make that commitment then hopefully the club could put together a package to make people feel valued as a member(free season ticket, home jersey, discount on use of all-weather, etc.)
redtildead
16/07/2008, 7:24 PM
Brilliant idea, hopefully their will be 1000 people to sign up but im sure a few people may even be able to double up the €2 to €4 if that doesn't complicate things. great initiative and hopefully this gets going.
The plan I think is that people will donate between £2 and £5 per week, whatever they want. Its a simple idea and a brilliant one.
red arrow
16/07/2008, 7:51 PM
alan what syndicates is v . nally organising. i'm a bit confused because he is not involved in the organising of the e 1000 syndicate. can you explain to a stupid red arrow !
Paddyfield
16/07/2008, 10:18 PM
Brilliant idea. Other clubs take note.
Conroy
16/07/2008, 10:23 PM
DFC Trust Run the "Patron Scheme",
Its pretty much the same idea and contributes towards the players weekly wage, Gill himself has commented to the media that this scheme is extremly helpful towards the club.
Heres the Trust website if your intrested. http://dfctrust.com/
kkontour
17/07/2008, 10:44 AM
DFC Trust Run the "Patron Scheme",
Its pretty much the same idea and contributes towards the players weekly wage, Gill himself has commented to the media that this scheme is extremly helpful towards the club.
Heres the Trust website if your intrested. http://dfctrust.com/
Your scheme does'nt appear to generate enough money to keep the domain name registered:rolleyes:
Fivesilver
17/07/2008, 11:35 AM
Still, it could be helpful for removing rust stains around the Showgrounds. :D
redobit
17/07/2008, 12:21 PM
Fine idea, does this mean that there would be some type of voting or something to decide how the funds ars allocated.
Rovers Maniac
17/07/2008, 12:42 PM
Superb idea really is, and for €2 Euro a week it is nothing.
Nathan
17/07/2008, 1:36 PM
This is an excellent idea and I think that you could make it more attractive to the greater masses by incorporating an annual raffle, 1000 Rovers fans will have no problems contributing to this and there reward will be the feel good factor associated with helping our beloved.
However you can make it more attractive to my nanny and great aunt fanny by affording them the opportunity to win a prize, say €500, any hardcore fans could return it, additional contributors could keep it, either way it could increase your potential income by 50% minus €500!!
redtildead
17/07/2008, 2:32 PM
Fine idea, does this mean that there would be some type of voting or something to decide how the funds ars allocated.
I don't see the need for that, not that it would be a big issue or anything.
The funds would cover some club expenses, therefore freeing up money for elsewhere. Makes no difference what its put towards.
In regards to another post I believe there are raffles/different incentives being planned, but no firm details on anything.
deecay
17/07/2008, 2:36 PM
Because alot of older fans wouldnt be on this forum,the should be a table or something like that set up just inside the gate for this idea or the 130k syndicate idea
redobit
17/07/2008, 3:50 PM
I don't see the need for that, not that it would be a big issue or anything.
The funds would cover some club expenses, therefore freeing up money for elsewhere. Makes no difference what its put towards.
In regards to another post I believe there are raffles/different incentives being planned, but no firm details on anything.
i dont see a need for it either, it was just somtin i taught of when i read it first
17/07/2008, 4:04 PM
Brilliant and easily participatable idea from the ST , fair play
Rovers Maniac
17/07/2008, 4:17 PM
I agree with som eof the posters up there, the idea is so simple it is genius but i don't think we should take money away from the club either i.e. if they can get a shirt sponsor be it whatever or whoever then there would be no need to give money towards it should be there to cover expenses such as travel etc
17/07/2008, 4:29 PM
Should be a great night in Caheny's. Not sure exactly what time yet but with the game being at 3 and it being a bank holiday the next day then we're hoping people are in generous mood. Great response so far.
Fivesilver
17/07/2008, 4:33 PM
I agree with som eof the posters up there, the idea is so simple it is genius but i don't think we should take money away from the club either i.e. if they can get a shirt sponsor be it whatever or whoever then there would be no need to give money towards it should be there to cover expenses such as travel etc
I think that's a pretty fair point - this initiative would probably serve the club best if it is used to cover the kind of costs that are hard to cover through run-of-the-mill sponsorship.
akearins
17/07/2008, 4:43 PM
lads thanks for the ideas and keep them coming. all of these have already been thought about the supporter who has no internet access, getting teh supporters at games etc.. also we do hope to have an incentive for supporters to take part, sort of a something for nothing.Not being secretive but just want to finalise everything and have it 100% right before we begin.
Redzer
18/07/2008, 6:22 AM
The idea is very good and I hope it takes off. But just for the sake of a debate, can I bring this into the equation.
Instead of starting off something completely new, and having to explain the idea to 1000 people or more, and then convincing them to sign up. Could the €2 be not be directed to the lotto in some way. That is widely known throughout the county and beyond.
Then the people have a chance of winning a €200 voucher and an average of €5,000 in prize money EVERY WEEK.
There is already a system in place for online membership. Just a thought.
akearins
18/07/2008, 9:32 AM
This too has been discussed.What this new initiative will be is exactly that a "new initiative".Whats happening is supporters have been supporting the lotto and all other fundraisers but still the club is struggling.
Supporters as we have seen here are questioning the transparency of funds raised.One fan I spoke with, him and his wife arei season ticket holders,400 club members,yearly Lotto subscribers and back every fundraiser going.After the revelations of last week they have had enough, they donate thousands over time and cannot see where their monye is going.
This initative will allow fans control over what the funds are donated to in assisting the club and I believe this is what many fans want.
Everyone knows it take a huge financial income to run the club but a lot fans are getting ****ed off with as one fan said "throwing money into a black hole"
This new initative will hopefully give fans a new avenue to assist the club.
No more excuses.
As I said before when all details are finalised we will call a public meeting and allow fans know what will happen next, we will need to set up locations for fans to sign up accross the county and in locations in town as well.
Also we will introduce electronic money transfers when we get our websiet up and running.
LondonRover
18/07/2008, 10:34 AM
I think it's a grand idea and pretty straight forward too. Once ye get the elec transfer going I'll def throw in a few £ a week - and who knows, if the euro exchange rate goes to pot it'll be worth even more!
kkontour
18/07/2008, 10:39 AM
Even by just giving account details for the trust, a standing order could be setup very easily. You could use the persons name or trust membership number as a reference.
deecay
18/07/2008, 12:25 PM
The half time kick the ball through the hole contest for 2 free bmi baby return tickets should be beter advertised,its another attraction to get people to games
brianw82
18/07/2008, 4:01 PM
Also we will introduce electronic money transfers when we get our websiet up and running.
Good stuff. One thing Rovers are definitely behind the times with is all aspects of the web.
Take Leinster Rugby for example - any amount of ways you can buy your season ticket online, your jerseys/merch and regular newsletters once you're signed up. A few too many newsletters btw, but all very professional because, for one thing, they have paid professionals in charge of it.
The club needs to get its act together in this regard as well and do away with the 'cash in an envelope' policy of getting money.