View Full Version : MNS reaction to O'Flynn Tackle
Rovers Maniac
14/07/2008, 9:58 PM
Way over the top, deserved a booking yes, a poor tackle? Yes of course. But the only intent was to stop his man. There was no intent to cause damage to O'flynn by the Harps player. It was unfortunate incident as it was the way O'Flynn landed after but i am sorry Richardson was way over the top about it and lead the rest the same way and all because he knew one player and did not know the other lad. Lastly i would like to wish John O'flynn a speedy recovery from his injury.
Would echo that. I thought only having three panelists was good as it gave more time for in depth analysis and some of the highlights bits seemed longer too. A bit boring the way no one disagreed on anything for the whole night as well.
14/07/2008, 10:20 PM
But you admit the only intention was to stop the man? Didnt go to play the ball, went in high and with studs showing.
I dont think he was trying to break Flynnys ankle but he was trying to take him out to stop a 2 v 1. It was a dangerous tackle and a red card in my (obviously biased) opinion
Clifford
14/07/2008, 10:26 PM
Terrible tackle, should have seen red, but didn't go to break the guy's leg - unfortunate, but I think they were right to highlight it.
14/07/2008, 10:29 PM
A quick question: Is it his right or left ankle that's been broken?
It was a foul. A late tackle. Caught the player on the ankle and no attempt to get the ball. That's a yellow. A red would have been harsh.
Billy-Green
14/07/2008, 10:35 PM
I felt the player knew he was skinned but with his momentum tried to make contact with O'Flynn to bring him down, his studs were up but i think he didnt mean to cause serious injury.
Billy-Green
14/07/2008, 10:37 PM
I think it is his left but im only 50 % sure :D
14/07/2008, 10:37 PM
I dunno about this one, if the same thing happened and Flynnie didn't break anything then no one would have cast another thought, it would just be a free and no card, we've seen it happen that way loads of times.
Yes he was high, yes there were studs, yes he went to stop the player but i still dont think it was a nasty or intentional tackle. You could try the same thing again a million times and both would walk away from it without a scratch.
Its very poor timing for us and even worse for the player himself because he was nearly getting back to his old self, flashes of brilliance every so often and he'd have alot more if Mooney shared it about a bit more. The goal of the month comp that he won was more like the old Flynnie, hopefully he'll be back and we'll see more of it.
Billy-Green
14/07/2008, 10:41 PM
I dunno about this one, if the same thing happened and Flynnie didn't break anything then no one would have cast another thought, it would just be a free and no card, we've seen it happen that way loads of times.
Yep i think you may have hit the nail on the head there
Dave77
14/07/2008, 10:47 PM
totally agree with the panel, was high, studs showing and late, definite red irregardless of the player breaking ankle.
there is never a good time for an injury but this is terrible news for cork at this stage of the season.
srfc1928
14/07/2008, 10:51 PM
Would echo that. I thought only having three panelists was good as it gave more time for in depth analysis and some of the highlights bits seemed longer too. A bit boring the way no one disagreed on anything for the whole night as well.
They were all in total agreement about the Cork penalty, I thought it was a very harsh decision.
14/07/2008, 10:53 PM
They were all in total agreement about the Cork penalty, I thought it was a very harsh decision.
The Harps defender put his hand across Kearney to block him. That's a foul.
Rovers Maniac
14/07/2008, 10:58 PM
Agree about the penalty alright
srfc1928
14/07/2008, 11:12 PM
The Harps defender put his hand across Kearney to block him. That's a foul.
I've watched it a few times now and really dont think Funston blocked him. Kearney went down very easily.
skitz3
14/07/2008, 11:14 PM
So we need a brand new thread for this then?
Christ, things must be really quiet.
Way over the top, deserved a booking yes, a poor tackle? Yes of course. But the only intent was to stop his man.
No intention to break his leg but as you said yourself no intent either to play the ball. Straight red as ball was so far away.
sullanefc
15/07/2008, 1:47 AM
Although he did not mean to break Flynnie's leg, he had no intention of playing the ball. Just lunged to take JOF out of it.
A cynical, lazy & reckless tackle = a red card.
Edit: BTW I'd say it is his left ankle that was broken. The harps player went through his right leg and connected with his standing left ankle.
CharlesThompson
15/07/2008, 7:46 AM
Definate red IMO. High tackle, long after the ball went, ref had no choice.
bigmac
15/07/2008, 8:13 AM
Red - no attempt to play the ball - he may not have intended to break his ankle, but that's what can happen when you deliberately try to take the man out.
15/07/2008, 8:20 AM
Defintie red shame really, and hearing people say **** like hes always injured and sicknote at it again is just tripe.. I know nobody says it on here but those comments would be doing the rounds in Cobh by the bitter *******s. Sickening
Duggie
15/07/2008, 8:31 AM
the tackle was a disgrace - yeah ok we all accept he prob didnt mean to hurt him but this dosent excuse the fact he broke his ankle with a crazy tackle. should have got a straight red no question. just because he didnt mean it dosent make it ok.
15/07/2008, 9:07 AM
If you set out to deliberately foul someone (as he clearly did) and cause them serious injury it's not only a red card offence, it's potentially grounds for an assault case.
Rovers Maniac
15/07/2008, 9:16 AM
If you set out to deliberately foul someone (as he clearly did) and cause them serious injury it's not only a red card offence, it's potentially grounds for an assault case.
I think the vast majority of people can see that was not the case here !
15/07/2008, 9:25 AM
I wasn't implying that he intended to hurt him. He clearly just meant to trip him. But regardless, it was a deliberate act of physical violence resulting in serious injury to the victim. If you trip or push someone deliberately in a street fight and they fall and hurt themselves, you'll be up for assault.
Ambaiste!
15/07/2008, 9:31 AM
Red - no attempt to play the ball - he may not have intended to break his ankle, but that's what can happen when you deliberately try to take the man out.
Exactly. Professional foul. Red card. End of story.
WoodquayBoy
15/07/2008, 11:07 AM
ON the O'Flynn tackle, I thought it should have been a red card. Was slightly from behind, no attempt to play the ball and denied what could havce been a goal scoring opportunity. so it was a red for me.
Ceirtlis
15/07/2008, 11:25 AM
Was a lazy and reckless challenge, 9 times out of 10 it would not have led to serious injury but that is beside the point. When someone jumps in like that with no intention of playing the ball they can expect a red card if it leads to an injury. Damien Richardson should not have been asked about it though.
15/07/2008, 11:27 AM
Poorly timed, nowhere near the ball, dangerous.
Red Card.
Denis The Red
15/07/2008, 12:42 PM
We've seen guys getting sent off for pulling their shirt over their heads and people on here seem to think that tackle deserved no more than a yellow card?? A definate red and a healthy three match ban for good measure. A dreadful tackle.
And before anyone says that I'm one of those guys that think tackling should be stopped in football and turned into a non-contact sport, let me say that I was also appalled at Heary's sending off against Riga. What a great tackle and a stupid decision to red card him.
Referee from Norway too which we assume is a higher standard.
15/07/2008, 1:40 PM
It's his left ankle thats broken yet Rico seems to think that it's right ankle, all that happened his right ankle was his boot cameoff!..........not only that for someone who according to Rico broke his right ankle he seemed well able to hop on it!:D
Tir Oilean
15/07/2008, 11:10 PM
Red card. As O'Grady shouldve got for a tackle on McColloch no intention of playing the ball.
15/07/2008, 11:43 PM
Red card. As O'Grady shouldve got for a tackle on McColloch no intention of playing the ball.
It was a late challenge, no studs up, not dangerous like the O'Flynn incident. Yellow.
deecay
16/07/2008, 12:38 AM
I think you forgot to mention Keane trying to break Anto Murphy's leg and Lester constantly dangerously fouling Rommy and Danny Ventre geting forearmed and elbowed on the ground
jimhacker
16/07/2008, 7:52 AM
Exactly. Professional foul. Red card. End of story.
Would you dignify this clown's effort at a tackle with the word "professional"?
An absolutely disgraceful tackle, despicable by McCafferty, he should be ashamed of himself. The ref should also be taken aside if he thinks that just a yellow.
Harps also need to take a look at their event management as the ambulance couldn't leave the ground due to cars parked across the exit. :rolleyes:
16/07/2008, 11:47 AM
Lads, if Flynnie walked away for the tackle we have have given out a bit about the ref but none of us would have been surprised if there was no card or if Flynnie got a card for diving. The reffing standard in the league is brutal beyond belief and it shows it in this case exactly why. Everyone thinks he should have seen red straight away but it was never going to be the case.
finnpark
16/07/2008, 8:08 PM
It was a foul. A late tackle. Caught the player on the ankle and no attempt to get the ball. That's a yellow. A red would have been harsh.
It was the pitch that broke his ankle. It was just about a free. If you watch the footage again you will see his ankle crumbling in a divet. He was off balance and McCafferty caught him. Just bad luck really.
It was just about a free.
finnpark
16/07/2008, 8:22 PM
Why would it be anything more? He didn't lead with his studs?
And thats the only way to be more that' just about a foul'?
What about how high it was?
How late it was?
How he had no intention of going for the ball?
How it was a professional foul?
Finlay Harp
16/07/2008, 8:30 PM
How about you dry your eyes!
What? Are you no capable of actually discussing the tackle or something? Cos if not I think you're in the wrong thread
Finlay Harp
16/07/2008, 8:39 PM
Its old news at this stage. McCafferty went for the ball, caught O'Flynns left ankle and O'Flynn twisted his right ankle on the pitch resulting in a break. Feel sorry for him but thats football. Build a big bridge and get over it.
sullanefc
16/07/2008, 8:43 PM
McCafferty went for the ball,
:D You should do stand up.
finnpark
16/07/2008, 8:45 PM
He did yous a favour anyway. Big fat Beehan can score at least :D
sullanefc
16/07/2008, 8:49 PM
He did yous a favour anyway.
:rolleyes: Right.
finnpark
16/07/2008, 8:51 PM
:rolleyes: Right.
How many has he scored this season?
McCafferty went for the ball,
I think you'll find that anyone thats not a Harps fan will disagree.
Ffs its not like he doesnt have a history of it. Ask a Derry fan
. Build a big bridge and get over it.
Good man, original too.
He did yous a favour anyway. Big fat Beehan can score at least :D
This has to be a **** take?