View Full Version : v Sligo
eamo1
09/07/2008, 11:14 PM
So getting back to on field matters.We REALLY need a home win,and i have a feeling we might just nick this one,we HAVE to.There has to be an urgency about our play now and fair play to Jeff i think he knows it too.Its anyone's guess what team we will field though.
Rogers
McCulloch
Lester
Fitzgerald
Keane
Molloy
Russeller
J. Keane
O'Shea
Murphs
Glynny
I hope he starts Russell in the centre and Jonny Keane before Fenn who I dont rate and would have got rid of before Deego. We lack a bit of bite so Jeff will have to have them wound up bigtime.Geezer you will see there is only 4 maroon blooded lads on that team.
geezer
10/07/2008, 8:47 AM
thought lester,fitz and mccullough were gone gufct. Murphy and Glynn are from neighbouring mayo which is sound in my book (as good as galwegians).
we need a balance but i hope the next time we sign players from Dublin or afar that they have experience, and preferably through the spine of the team. e.g Goalie, centre back, midfield and a striker with the stats to prove it.
Pay the going rate for quality and give the young local lads a chance to learn from them.
aka blackmore,bonner, gardner,lambert,mcdonnell,mcgee
thank the lord god there not gone id say Jeff knew the players he wanted to keep and worked with Nick which we could afford to keep. Hopefully we will get a bit of luck on the injury side now because the squad is very tight especially at centre half and central midfield where we lack a tough tackling player with Deego gone and foley a long way off full fitness.
Terry-Lander
10/07/2008, 9:43 AM
Glad to see Murphs back. I asked on here, at the start of the season, if I was alone in thinking that we might live to regret seeing him go and there was a resounding 'yes'. I agree he didn't play very well under Spoofer but I reckon he will do well under Jeff. He also brings a bit of experience that we need right now. Hope he gets a great welcome. Welcome 'home' Murphs.
forza rovers
10/07/2008, 10:01 AM
if we played they way we did against derry well be taking all 3 points home.2-0 rovers.boco,almeida
GuisaSaigon
10/07/2008, 10:05 AM
I'd like to see Murphs play up front, we all know he prefers to play in midfield but his strike rate when playing up front was phenomenal. I hope Jeff can get the best out of him. Good luck Murphs.
eamo1
10/07/2008, 11:32 AM
T:are you saying Lester and Fitz arent going or they are just not gone yet??I didnt think they would still even be in Galway by tomorrow night nevermind playing,its great that they are though.I dont want this thread to get off topic,i only asked because we need them for games like tomorrow night.
Trainee
10/07/2008, 11:39 AM
T:are you saying Lester and Fitz arent going or they are just not gone yet??I didnt think they would still even be in Galway by tomorrow night nevermind playing,its great that they are though.I dont want this thread to get off topic,i only asked because we need them for games like tomorrow night.
As per press statement it looks they are staying till end of season as only players club are in talks about leaving are Stephen O'Flynn, Reggie Nooitmeer and Daryl Robson.
GuisaSaigon
10/07/2008, 1:11 PM
As per press statement it looks they are staying till end of season as only players club are in talks about leaving are Stephen O'Flynn, Reggie Nooitmeer and Daryl Robson.
The statement does say
Other adjustments to the squad may take place in the coming weeks but it has been necessary to reduce the playing budget.
So there may well be a few more players leaving. Thankfully it appears we are already under the wage cap level so it might be possible to bring in player on lower wages. AFAIK players still at the club will be available for selection tomorrow.
TBH I thought that yesterdays statement was the end of Players Going bar Reggi,Flynny & Daryll which would bring the total to eight since the 1st july. If there is anymore I feel it would remove a lot of the trust that was restored by yesterdays actions.
GuisaSaigon
10/07/2008, 2:58 PM
I would guess now that we are under the 65% any future departures would be up to Jeff.
Paddyfield
10/07/2008, 5:15 PM
if we played they way we did against derry well be taking all 3 points home.2-0 rovers.boco,almada
Indeed. Acording to today's Sligo Champion (which claims to be biggest selling paper in Sligo city *sniggers*), Cook says that Sligo will get 3 points in Terryland.
Mr Maroon
10/07/2008, 5:19 PM
if we played they way we did against derry well be taking all 3 points home.2-0 rovers.boco,almada
Is he a new signing? Has he taken Mauro Almeida's place in the team?
WoodquayBoy
10/07/2008, 7:09 PM
thought lester,fitz and mccullough were gone gufct.
No, it was just rumours posted on this forum, something people with such an affiliation to the club should have known better about.
Obviously no comment has been made by the poster about his cockup, one which had a lot of people worried. Really irresponsible, but sure he has the good of the club at his heart, so that's okay.
No, it was just rumours posted on this forum, something people with such an affiliation to the club should have known better about.
Obviously no comment has been made by the poster about his cockup, one which had a lot of people worried. Really irresponsible, but sure he has the good of the club at his heart, so that's okay.
If I kept my mouth shut and said nothing I couldnt live with my conscience.There was a hell of a lot more people worried about our future than post on here because of the veil of silence that descended around the club for the last couple of months. I see you havent pmed myself or Pa to offer to sell any tickets for the draw. The club have held up their hands said they were wrong and I have moved on obviously you havent.
There is still no solid guarentee that the player exodus has stopped but for our season to turn we need a settled team to have any chance of staying up.
Terry-Lander
10/07/2008, 8:43 PM
Easy now....I haven't sent a pm to anyone about selling tickets, I just got a book in Terryland. Let's all focus on tomorrow night, the future and what we can do individually to help. Not all actions of help need to be shouted from the rooftops. Now..................bring on the Slygo
eamo1
10/07/2008, 11:04 PM
I said when i asked the qs about those players that i didnt want this thread to go off topic too much but "shockingly" it did-give it a rest lads.
Jeff should post Cook's comments up on the dressing room door and tell the players to go shove them back at him.Actually the players have many other more important motivations for winning tomorrow night so im sticking with my 1-0 or 2-1 prediction for us.:)
10/07/2008, 11:23 PM
Indeed. Acording to today's Sligo Champion (which claims to be biggest selling paper in Sligo city *sniggers*), Cook says that Sligo will get 3 points in Terryland.Sligo Champion's out on Wednesday's, not Thursday's.
And what Cook said was that if we play like we did against Derry and take our chances then we'll win, can't argue with that really. He also said Galway are a match for any side, as ye proved against Cork. Don't think there's anything disrespectful about that but yeah eamo, stick it up on the dressing room wall, that'll get ye the 3 points alright.
Conroy
10/07/2008, 11:34 PM
Look's like Gylnn is staying on then?
Mr Maroon
11/07/2008, 12:43 AM
Look's like Gylnn is staying on then?
Yeah.
Sumac
11/07/2008, 12:37 PM
Excellent news at the end of a bad week
Fivesilver
11/07/2008, 12:59 PM
Sligo city *sniggers*)
We're big into our fantasy in Sligo - not so long ago, there were even a handful of people who believed Dundalk's place in the Premier had deservedly been given to a club with a bold vision for the future and a sound business plan. :rolleyes:
GuisaSaigon
11/07/2008, 1:16 PM
We're big into our fantasy in Sligo - not so long ago, there were even a handful of people who believed Dundalk's place in the Premier had deservedly been given to a club with a bold vision for the future and a sound business plan. :rolleyes:
What is it that people in glass houses shouldn't do?:confused:
11/07/2008, 1:26 PM
Well I know what they should do , Do the business on the pitch , as we have done.
Rovers Maniac
11/07/2008, 1:27 PM
Good stuff looking for an off on the forums between us :p
I think what Fivesilver is saying we never went around saying look at us how great are we, all clubs should be all like us. We have not tried to rail road or bully our players into taking pay cuts and forcing them out of the club. I am surprised you never pulled out the old chestnut thing just haven't been the same since 9/11.
GuisaSaigon
11/07/2008, 1:37 PM
Good stuff looking for an off on the forums between us :p
I think what Fivesilver is saying we never went around saying look at us how great are we, all clubs should be all like us.
They'd never buy it, all the spin in the world wouldn't help glam up Shligo!:p
We have not tried to rail road or bully our players into taking pay cuts and forcing them out of the club.
Tell that to Fatboy
I am surprised you never pulled out the old chestnut thing just haven't been the same since 9/11.
Not in Afghanistan they haven't.
Rovers Maniac
11/07/2008, 1:45 PM
They'd never buy it, all the spin in the world wouldn't help glam up Shligo!
Tell that to Fatboy
Not in Afghanistan they haven't.
As long as your happy being top of the league of Spin and Smoke and mirrors we will concentrate on the football :D;)
GuisaSaigon
11/07/2008, 1:52 PM
I'm always happy! We'll see how you concentration on football pays off tonight Sligwegian:p
Redzer
11/07/2008, 4:07 PM
I'm always happy! We'll see how you concentration on football pays off tonight Sligwegian:p
Looking at your sig "Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008"
Please note: The Connacht champions competition add scores that go over the crossbar also.:rolleyes:
WoodquayBoy
11/07/2008, 9:03 PM
If I kept my mouth shut and said nothing I couldnt live with my conscience.There was a hell of a lot more people worried about our future than post on here because of the veil of silence that descended around the club for the last couple of months. I see you havent pmed myself or Pa to offer to sell any tickets for the draw. The club have held up their hands said they were wrong and I have moved on obviously you havent.
There is still no solid guarentee that the player exodus has stopped but for our season to turn we need a settled team to have any chance of staying up.
My last offering on this. The club have apologised, you haven't for spinning a web of lies. And how do you know who I have or haven't pm'd? And is that the only way I can get my hands on a book of tickets to sell them?
As for tonight, we were really holding on and were lucky to get a point. Keane's tackle so unlike him, but was a red card. What is with all the diving by Sligo players? Cheats.
gilberto_eire
11/07/2008, 10:33 PM
:rolleyes:... come on, that's going a bit far in fairness!!.
It's ok for you to bash the board in every one of your posts but whenever me or anyone else has ever questioned the managment/players it's a differant story!!.
forza rovers
12/07/2008, 9:03 AM
My last offering on this. The club have apologised, you haven't for spinning a web of lies. And how do you know who I have or haven't pm'd? And is that the only way I can get my hands on a book of tickets to sell them?
As for tonight, we were really holding on and were lucky to get a point. Keane's tackle so unlike him, but was a red card. What is with all the diving by Sligo players? Cheats.what was with all the dirty tackles?
12/07/2008, 10:41 AM
As for tonight, we were really holding on and were lucky to get a point. Keane's tackle so unlike him, but was a red card. What is with all the diving by Sligo players? Cheats.
"Nootimer,McCulloch and Rodgers last games for the club 2nite,Nootimer in talks with cork,Rodgers is going to sporting fingal and McCulloch back 2 shelbourne,there's also a chance of Lester leaving next week as he also is in talks with an unnamed club,the only good news i hear is the club won't sell Jay O Shea,their has been offers from a couple of top dublin clubs."
This not my post its from gufcnet.As far as I know he is right about Reggi and Gary. The other ones would be crazy as after last night it was the first time this season that I felt we were doomed because of lack of cover or any options on the bench.
One thing I cant understand for the life of my is how we let any player go before Olly Fenn Deego was 10 times the player he was and surely Jason Molloy would be a better option out wide to let Russeler play in his natural position.
12/07/2008, 10:57 AM
wasnt deego let go because he had one of the larger wage packages?
12/07/2008, 11:02 AM
what was with all the dirty tackles?
glad you pointed that out, never seen sligo play that way before dirty tackles, late tackles, diving etc... I thought sligo played better football than that?
Not saying we are angels, but we are bottom of the league because off our inability to play anything other than hoofball and getting stuck in. And, with players like Wes, Regi, Deego, McCullough, Rodgers etc... all going its not going to improve anytime soon.
Patrick Dunne
12/07/2008, 11:46 AM
No sign of Daryl Robson or Stephen O'Flynn last night. Were they in the clubhouse area ?
gordongekko
12/07/2008, 11:47 AM
And, with players like Wes, Regi, Deego, McCullough, Rodgers etc... all going its not going to improve anytime soon.
Stay positive. We will have a few reinforcements coming in hopefully next week who should add a bit of badly missing quality to our squad.
gg
12/07/2008, 11:52 AM
No sign of Daryl Robson or Stephen O'Flynn last night. Were they in the clubhouse area ?
After the post match interviews on TG4 last night the camera followed jeff off the pitch. When at the entrance to the tunnel, jeff went over to Nick who was talking to Daryl (who wasnt a happy camper), didnt see Flynn at the match !!!!! but was spotted in "his local area" of Galway later in the night, or so I was told by the missus anyway!
12/07/2008, 11:56 AM
Stay positive. We will have a few reinforcements coming in hopefully next week who should add a bit of badly missing quality to our squad.
gg
Sorry Gordon, but I am being positive ! Dont think we've played good football since the early 90's, just saying we have to play with what we have got! Actually hoping to make the bray match next week, it will be my first away league match since my daughter was born march of 2005 !!!!
Patrick Dunne
12/07/2008, 11:57 AM
O'Flynn, the consumate professional, as always.
Robson was apparently irate when it was suggested to him that he tog out !
geezer
12/07/2008, 12:22 PM
was watching the match near regi was there for most of the game. I was very pleased with the 1st half, pride and passion left us with a 1 goal advantage at half time, murphs was well up for the game and it seemed to translate onto other utd players. 2nd half sligo showed they were a better team. Lester and Fitz would give you a heart attack, keanes tackle was rightly red carded he got a fair roasting all night but got little cover from o shea. Overall there is a definite improvement noticeable and a precious point , bray watchout
JC_GUFC
12/07/2008, 8:14 PM
One thing I cant understand for the life of my is how we let any player go before Olly Fenn Deego was 10 times the player he was and surely Jason Molloy would be a better option out wide to let Russeler play in his natural position.
Do you think anyone would take Fenn?! He's useless, he's got nothing about his game, he's not quick, he's not strong, he's not a great tackler, he's poor on the ball...
To be fair he seems committed but that's it.
I really wonder how he was signed in the first place...
forza rovers
12/07/2008, 8:15 PM
who was the big lad playing centre-back? i think he was no.6
JC_GUFC
12/07/2008, 8:16 PM
John Fitzgerald.
Could be John Lester you're on about though - "big" would be a good description of him!
geezer
12/07/2008, 8:27 PM
magilton, cousins big time friend at the tractor boys in norfolk certainly pulled the wool over his eyes with that harmless player fenn. i cant see how fitzy is any better than nigel keady and colin fortune was twice the player lester is.
we all dream of a team of nigel keadys.....
forza rovers
12/07/2008, 8:34 PM
John Fitzgerald.
Could be John Lester you're on about though - "big" would be a good description of him!a heavy lad
Mr Maroon
12/07/2008, 10:17 PM
a heavy lad
John "Hooftheball" Lester
13/07/2008, 12:13 PM
magilton, cousins big time friend at the tractor boys in norfolk certainly pulled the wool over his eyes with that harmless player fenn. i cant see how fitzy is any better than nigel keady and colin fortune was twice the player lester is.
Id say our esteemed chairman would be afraid to lose face ib=n his beloved Ipswich .
JC_GUFC
14/07/2008, 10:54 AM
Fitzy has been brutal this season too. He played 60+ games for Bury, it really doesn't say much for the standard of lower league English football.
To be fair he's decent in the air but he's got no pace at all, playing him and Lester alongside each other and defending a high line as we did against Sligo is really asking for trouble!