walshek
08/07/2008, 12:16 PM
any word on the street of D glynn moving from galway

Black and White
08/07/2008, 12:19 PM
John gill set 2 sign him up for us!!!

08/07/2008, 12:26 PM
this cant be true:mad: although nothing would surprise me http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/obrien-transfer-just-the-beginning-says-kenna-1429314.html

GuisaSaigon
08/07/2008, 12:26 PM
Have'nt heard anything but it wouldn't surprise me, the way the club have been behaving lately. I'd imagine a decent offer would be needed though. Proven goalscorers don't pop up everyday.

08/07/2008, 12:32 PM
Isn't there some meeting tonight to discuss player departures for ye or was I dreaming?

GuisaSaigon
08/07/2008, 12:35 PM
You must have been dreaming, The club are going to issue a statement tomorrow, what they plan to say is anyone's guess:mad:

SMorgan
08/07/2008, 12:35 PM
I also heard his name in relation to Dundalk. Whether it happens or not is another thing.

However, if he does go to Dundalk then the only benefiit Galway United will see from the move will be getting him off the wage bill. Dundalk FC don't pay transfer or signing on fees.

GuisaSaigon
08/07/2008, 12:58 PM
I can't see Glynn leaving without a fee.

Louth4sam
08/07/2008, 1:12 PM
Well if Galway are trying to avoid losing €250,000 they may have no chance but to release him with out a fee to save on his wages.
Tough time for Galway at the minute. Happened us before and we almost went extinct. Don't think its at that bad a stage for Galway yet thankfully. Hopefully you's can sort yourselves out.

DRDoc
08/07/2008, 1:15 PM
Tough time for Galway at the minute. Happened us before and we almost went extinct. Don't think its at that bad a stage for Galway yet thankfully. Hopefully you's can sort yourselves out.

Aye hopefully they can sell what they need to and be a strong part time club next year - shame to see a club that is run so well have such difficulty

DRDoc
08/07/2008, 1:16 PM
And yes Dundalk have enquired about Glynn, hope to hear back in the next few days on what it will take etc

walshek
08/07/2008, 1:51 PM
played with glynn when he was with claremorris for 4 season. the lad is a pure footballer and a great attitude for who ever he plays for. does not care if he is playing in the back of belmullet or playing in a cup final he will give 150%. cannot see him moving to dundalk. sligo mabey

Trainee
08/07/2008, 1:51 PM
And yes Dundalk have enquired about Glynn, hope to hear back in the next few days on what it will take etc

Good news Glynn going nowhere

Rodgers gone to fingal
McCulloch gone to shels
one other player gone

heard from someone talking to a player earlier

only problem who goes in goals on friday

walshek
08/07/2008, 2:04 PM
but will they be able to pay lads ???

Conroy
08/07/2008, 2:10 PM
Cant see Galway keeping him, But cant see Dundalk signing him either. Will most likely leave Galway and stay in the preimer.

08/07/2008, 7:10 PM
Rodgers gone to fingal

only problem who goes in goals on fridayIs Rodgers definitely gone already? That'll leave ye fecked for Friday so, with banana suspended, have ye anyone else who could possibly go in goal?

08/07/2008, 7:12 PM
Is Rodgers definitely gone already? That'll leave ye fecked for Friday so, with banana suspended, have ye anyone else who could possibly go in goal?

Me ! :D

Dont think rodgers will be going until after the weekend from what i was told ? no one really knows anything anymore sligoman :mad:

Mr Maroon
08/07/2008, 7:37 PM
have ye anyone else who could possibly go in goal?
The A team keeper, Geraghty.

08/07/2008, 8:19 PM
Is Gary Rogers definetley gone to Fingal???

Rumour has it in Cobh is that there on the look-out for a new goalkeeper to replace McCarthy. I wouldn't mind Gary Rogers being the replacement!

Mr Maroon
08/07/2008, 8:27 PM

Not confirmed.

SMorgan
08/07/2008, 9:01 PM
S Fingal have Steve Williams.

Why would they want Rodgers?

gordongekko
08/07/2008, 9:53 PM

Rumour has it in Cobh is that there on the look-out for a new goalkeeper to replace McCarthy. I wouldn't mind Gary Rogers being the replacement!

Your welcome to him

gg

08/07/2008, 10:09 PM
very bright lad now whose going to play in goals on Friday Wes?

Patrick Dunne
08/07/2008, 11:13 PM
Pointless a club of our size having two full-time professional 'keepers (another judgement call by The Spoofer).

Hopefully we can get one of them off the books - after Friday !

Mr Maroon
08/07/2008, 11:18 PM
tbh, I hope it's Rogers.

08/07/2008, 11:26 PM
yAs far as I know from every meeting I attended Tony targeted the players but the contract negotiations were carried out by our CEO although this isnt how it is being portrayed now. Every full time club has 2 if not 3 full time keepers PA even Sligo so trying to say Tony was stupid for this is a bit far fetched.

The man is gone almost 4 months now and in the intervening period GUST have had 2 public forums with club officials where there was never any warning over what was going to happen in the last 4 weeks yet there is no questioning of their actions.

Patrick Dunne
08/07/2008, 11:43 PM
I'm not going to discuss rumours regarding contract negotiations with players on a open forum.

My own opinion would have been that one top class 'keeper (better than Rouse/Rogers) with Alan Gough and a promising local as back up would have been a better option.

You are correct, gufct, GUST have held two open and advertised fora with club officials over the past two months, and another one in November 2007. I can never remember a similar amount of open meetings in my previous 15 year involvement with the club. Generally, there might be one every 2/3 years.

DRDoc
09/07/2008, 12:17 AM
Pointless a club of our size having two full-time professional 'keepers (another judgement call by The Spoofer).

So Cousins sought a full time back up keeper?

He was the manager, it was his job to get players in to the club

The board agreed to this - to have a go at TC for this is crazy stuff - have a go at the board for agreeing to it

Would you have preferred TC didnt try to better his squad?

GuisaSaigon
09/07/2008, 9:29 AM
Would you have preferred TC didnt try to better his squad?

Considering the fruits of his efforts to "better the squad", yes.

09/07/2008, 10:17 AM
saigon to try and deflect any criticism away from the current people in charge by blaming everything bar the great flood, The ex manager,the players,supporters,65% wage cap and the global credit crunch is wearing thin.

Everybody just wants the club to come out tell the truth and take some of the blame themselves and show us they have a plan to move on with some pride intact. If this happens we still have 2 weeks of the transfer window to work a minor miracle and lets all get behind the club and jeff, lets try and sell the 6000 tickets for the car draw,lets get all the players Sponsored , lets sell out the races dinner,lets fill the ground for leeds and lets get the match crowds back over 1,500 a game. If that happens not alone could we survive but we might have a club back again rather than just a brand.

The one thing im sorry about is im going away on my holidays on saturday for three weeks and cant get stuck in if things are sorted until i get back.

GuisaSaigon
09/07/2008, 10:56 AM
I'm not trying to deflect any criticism from the Board. I believe that they are solely responsible for the shambles at the moment and I hope they can give their egos a rest and accept responsibility instead of blaming it on everything from the players to the credit crunch. In hindsight I believe the decision to keep Cousins in charge after last season was a mistake, that is probably the only point on which my views would differ from yours.
If today's statement by the club suggests a a path forward, I hope we can all come together and work hard to ensure that the club has a future. If the club fails to recognise their mistakes and learn from them , then I would fear for the future of the club operating under the current regime.

09/07/2008, 11:06 AM
I agree wholeheartedly with all your comments which might shock a few people. Its the way everything has been handled since mid march and let fester for 4 months which has us all at loggerheads.

WoodquayBoy
09/07/2008, 8:51 PM
The one thing im sorry about is im going away on my holidays on saturday for three weeks and cant get stuck in if things are sorted until i get back.
Oh thank God for that, we'll get some peace and quiet for a while.

09/07/2008, 8:54 PM
I hope it wont be peace and quiet around here from now on. Its now time for all united suppoters to get their finger out .Loads of tickets to be sold and bums to get on seats.