View Full Version : Sheehan
CraftyToePoke
06/07/2008, 12:51 AM
where has he come from lads? what age is he, etc?
L37Ultra
06/07/2008, 12:58 AM
where has he come from lads? what age is he, etc?
He was with Limerick FC U-21s two years ago and as far as I know he got a bad injury. I heard on Friday he was in America for the past year. Not sure if that is true but at a guess he is 22/23.
CraftyToePoke
06/07/2008, 1:13 AM
thanks
and what kind of player is he? out and out striker? target man?
L37Ultra
06/07/2008, 1:20 AM
thanks
and what kind of player is he? out and out striker? target man?
I wouldn't classify him as an out and out striker but he likes to stay on the last defender and use his pace to beat his man. Extremely fast player. His two goals last night were excellent.
CraftyToePoke
06/07/2008, 1:24 AM
thanks L37
his goals are definately welcome! its even got me eyeing up the table for the possibility of a surge, unlikely i know.
L37Ultra
06/07/2008, 1:41 AM
thanks L37
his goals are definately welcome! its even got me eyeing up the table for the possibility of a surge, unlikely i know.
No problem :)
They sure are. There are more to come from him for sure. You never know. Since the new signings, we've scored 6 and kept 3 clean sheets. :eek:
waylanderj
07/07/2008, 8:40 PM
heard a rumor that he is only signed till end of season
is this true ?
if it is surely we should try get him on a longer deal?
Battery Rover
08/07/2008, 9:43 AM
I think he played with Kilcornan last season and is now a student in LIT
08/07/2008, 3:13 PM
I think he played with Kilcornan last season and is now a student in LIT
close, but played with limerick under 21s for three seasons and is in Mary I final year.
L37Ultra
08/07/2008, 3:46 PM
close, but played with limerick under 21s for three seasons and is in Mary I final year.
He also made 3 sub apperances at the start of last season with L37. I remember he came on against Athlone when we beat them 1-0 up there. He left the club after that along with Maloney, Glasheen etc.. Big improvement from last season.
LFC in Exile
09/07/2008, 12:39 PM
heard a rumor that he is only signed till end of season
is this true ?
if it is surely we should try get him on a longer deal?
Stall a ball. Hindsight is great - who would have thunk he'd get 4 goals in 2 games. And its best to review him at the end of the season than be stuck with a player that we don't want on a long term contract. The reality of eL football.
gaidin
09/07/2008, 1:10 PM
Stall a ball. Hindsight is great - who would have thunk he'd get 4 goals in 2 games. And its best to review him at the end of the season than be stuck with a player that we don't want on a long term contract. The reality of eL football.
Exactly.
If the guy doesnt score again for the rest of the season most people will be forgetting about him. Give him the rest of the season and then judge him. He is looking good at the moment and hopefully he can keep that up.
What if he does score a lot more and because he doesnt have a long contract with lim could he not sign with a diff club with ye getting no compensation?? did something like that happen with tierney? i might be wrong though,.
dutchie
10/07/2008, 2:05 AM
When was the last time we had a striker to score 3 goals in two games and be the best player on the pitch in the two games?Limerick have to try and sign him on a long term contract,we need good limerick players playing with limerick and not have another Desmond league player playing with Cork like Denis Behan'
see's it
10/07/2008, 11:53 AM
in fairness Behan is with cork years played minor with them its a different situation to sheehan
10/07/2008, 12:00 PM
Having watched him over the last few seasons at different levels, I believe now that the main thing he has going for him now as opposed to two seasons ago is his ability to finish. That was lacking in his game, and in fairness he seems to be a much more rounded player now.
LFC in Exile
11/07/2008, 3:49 PM
What if he does score a lot more and because he doesnt have a long contract with lim could he not sign with a diff club with ye getting no compensation?? did something like that happen with tierney? i might be wrong though,.
Thats a big what if.
Here's another one. What if he doesn't score again for the rest of the season?
It is a calculated risk, no doubt. But the club can't afford to take the chance. He could go to another club without compensation. But that is the risk you have to take when you live hand to mouth like First Division eL clubs.
As for Dutchie - you're judging him on two games. One of those against Kildare. I'm not saying he is not a good player - just hold on a small while before talking him up so much.
Fr. Joe
11/07/2008, 8:57 PM
2 goals again tonight from this lad, find of the season.
11/07/2008, 10:09 PM
We all dream of a team of Gary Sheehans.
Roy of the Rovers reads Gary Sheehan comics.
JohnD
12/07/2008, 12:03 PM
Another great result and the reaction of the players at the end of the match showed what it to them. Great Support again last night we sounded like the home team :D
4 Clean sheets now in a row - Well done Fitz for the hard work being done on the training ground with Davie
Well done everyone - Payers & supporters !!
see's it
12/07/2008, 3:27 PM
well done mike kerley and co
LFC in Exile
14/07/2008, 11:48 AM
Jaysus, why isn't this guy on a long-term contract! :) :)
Fair play - thats some impact.