View Full Version : Limerick Division 1B 2008/09
lionelhutz
02/09/2008, 9:38 PM
just reading a few reports there about coonagh and view game,i reckon coonagh will frighten the life out of every team in the league but imo their let down in a few areas.. Their keeper is poor,and are a bit too direct at times,i mean white and neary cleaned up wit d high balls all nite,when they played through them they created chances,just my opinion larry white now,im not taking a pop at ye,in general terms ye should have at least drawn tonight, fair view had a stand in keeper tonight too and ye never really tested him.
how are you getting on with the view mike?? is it a big change from previous years??
lifegoeson
02/09/2008, 9:40 PM
park 0-1 muroe
park doninated most the match created a host of chances missed them all. muroe scored with 2 min left good finish from there sub.
Pike B
02/09/2008, 9:50 PM
park 0-1 muroe
park doninated most the match created a host of chances missed them all. muroe scored with 2 min left good finish from there sub.
Unreal. Park in real crisis already. They'll need an unbelievable turn around to have any chance of promotion. Shock result this one. Fair play to Murroe.
Big Red
02/09/2008, 9:54 PM
Unreal. Park in real crisis already. They'll need an unbelievable turn around to have any chance of promotion. Shock result this one. Fair play to Murroe.
Is Dermot Finnan still manager of park?
maybe not after tonite:D:D:D
larrywhite
02/09/2008, 9:57 PM
Bloody hell ourselves and Park cant buy a goal at the moment.
Messi...that wasnt our regular keeper either but he did a good job for us. I wouldnt blame him for either goal. What let us down tonight was our finishing and not just the strikers. We had plenty of chances to score from play and set pieces and failed to take advantage.
Another tough one alright on Saturday but our general play is good enough. Just have to find our touch in front of goal.
Pike B
02/09/2008, 9:58 PM
Is Dermot Finnan still manager of park?
Ya he is. We played them on match day 1 and they had 20 players togged out, and were a very good footballing team. They've lost three in a row since. I'd love to know whats going wrong out there in the Banner...
The Kaiser
02/09/2008, 9:58 PM
park 0-1 muroe
Some result there for muroe, fair play to them,
I think the sooner the sunday morning matches start the better
then get a clear idea who is doing what.
Pike B
02/09/2008, 9:59 PM
Bloody hell ourselves and Park cant buy a goal at the moment.
Messi...that wasnt our regular keeper either but he did a good job for us. I wouldnt blame him for either goal. What let us down tonight was our finishing and not just the strikers. We had plenty of chances to score from play and set pieces and failed to take advantage.
Another tough one alright on Saturday but our general play is good enough. Just have to find our touch in front of goal.
Ahem Ahem Ahem... Looking for a goalscorer then? ;)
larrywhite
02/09/2008, 10:01 PM
Ahem Ahem Ahem... Looking for a goalscorer then? ;)
Only if you change your name on here to Coonagh A. :D
footyisclass
02/09/2008, 10:03 PM
this must be the closest league around from what I can see. Only boro b standing out at the moment, as for park, maybe they were starting to believe too much too soon. You would never know though, long way to go yet and the winter is a long period where some teams excel and others fall behind..................good to see most teams are similar, keeps the league interesting for the teams involved.
Pike B
02/09/2008, 10:06 PM
Only if you change your name on here to Coonagh A. :D
Couldn't do it. Pike in my veins Larr.. Just like The King has Coonagh in his!! ;)
Pike B
02/09/2008, 10:08 PM
this must be the closest league around from what I can see. Only boro b standing out at the moment, as for park, maybe they were starting to believe too much too soon. You would never know though, long way to go yet and the winter is a long period where some teams excel and others fall behind..................good to see most teams are similar, keeps the league interesting for the teams involved.
This is the Coca Cola Championship of Limerick. Not as high a standard as the Premiership with it's bloated egos and fancy dancers, or the 1A boys with maybe two or three in the title race, here we are all capable of beating each other and anyone could go up, or down. For pure drama, it has to be 1B!!
footyisclass
02/09/2008, 10:18 PM
This is the Coca Cola Championship of Limerick. Not as high a standard as the Premiership with it's bloated egos and fancy dancers, or the 1A boys with maybe two or three in the title race, here we are all capable of beating each other and anyone could go up, or down. For pure drama, it has to be 1B!!
For pure pride it looks to be 1b too!!! yea fair play to all the teams involved. good luck for the rest of the season.
KevB76
02/09/2008, 11:11 PM
From reading the 1A thread last season though they were doing fine until Xmas and then went into freefall after a few players left and they havent come back from what I read on here. All in takes is 2 or 3 vital players to leave to make a huge difference to a team.
Yeah losing 2 or 3 players makes a big difference, but in Bruff's case they lost the players in the summer(07), before the season kicked off (Pip Moloney and Deccy Hayes went to Croom, Dermot Broughton took up reffing :eek:). Also Paddy Moloney went to Holycross I think, but he's back now.
These guys were undoubtedly a big loss, but the core of that strong Bruff team is still there, and is well capable in this division ......provided they can all show up every match.
Bruff have some very good young players coming along to replace those who've left - the likes of Colin Madden at right back is turning into a top player after being dropped into the deep end last season. Also Bobby Rae at centre back impressed v Knockainey. And with Ed Hogan still there banging in the goals for fun every week, what more do you need to be a contender in 1B :ball:
Monster
03/09/2008, 9:07 AM
If Kevin Mc Carthy signs with Fairview i think they will go close in this league - he would make a massive difference
gaiscíoch
03/09/2008, 12:34 PM
Yeah losing 2 or 3 players makes a big difference, but in Bruff's case they lost the players in the summer(07), before the season kicked off (Pip Moloney and Deccy Hayes went to Croom, Dermot Broughton took up reffing :eek:). Also Paddy Moloney went to Holycross I think, but he's back now.
These guys were undoubtedly a big loss, but the core of that strong Bruff team is still there, and is well capable in this division ......provided they can all show up every match.
Bruff have some very good young players coming along to replace those who've left - the likes of Colin Madden at right back is turning into a top player after being dropped into the deep end last season. Also Bobby Rae at centre back impressed v Knockainey. And with Ed Hogan still there banging in the goals for fun every week, what more do you need to be a contender in 1B :ball:
Not one for the name dropping there are you????:o
gaiscíoch
03/09/2008, 12:38 PM
If Kevin Mc Carthy signs with Fairview i think they will go close in this league - he would make a massive difference
I would say Fairview could win this league judging by the starts both Coonagh and Park have had.
KevB76
03/09/2008, 12:41 PM
Not one for the name dropping there are you????:o
I thought you could only "name-drop" famous people :confused: :D
gaiscíoch
03/09/2008, 12:44 PM
I thought you could only "name-drop" famous people :confused: :D
Exactly so why are you telling us all about lads that 9/10 people on the site don't know?:)
KevB76
03/09/2008, 12:49 PM
Exactly so why are you telling us all about lads that 9/10 people on the site don't know?:)
For the benefit of the 1/10 people who do recognise them :p
lifegoeson
03/09/2008, 1:50 PM
I would say Fairview could win this league judging by the starts both Coonagh and Park have had.
park will come good hopefully sooner rather than later but they will
abbeyvale
03/09/2008, 1:59 PM
Working but getting off for game. Abbeyvale is supervisor on other shift so it's not down to him at all. Though he'd have you believe it was!! ;)
You'd be surprised kid.........
Final Frontier
03/09/2008, 2:47 PM
just reading a few reports there about coonagh and view game,i reckon coonagh will frighten the life out of every team in the league but imo their let down in a few areas.. Their keeper is poor,and are a bit too direct at times,i mean white and neary cleaned up wit d high balls all nite,when they played through them they created chances,just my opinion larry white now,im not taking a pop at ye,in general terms ye should have at least drawn tonight, fair view had a stand in keeper tonight too and ye never really tested him.
Messi are you serious that white and Neary are still playing...yes absolutely fab players but that was yrs ago...surely teams can see the way to score s sheer pace....from what I saw of coonagh las year they had buckets of that...Is that not the case...?
Raul Madrids report said it was a corner and a defenders mistake? where are they lacking or where are they strong mores the point...
Reckon that it will be an explosive game in Boro on Sunday then..
Poor start to all teams...surely another "Croom" is not on cards and everyone playing for second...?
For the benefit of the 1/10 people who do recognise them :p
touche KevB76, i am one of the 1/10! all famous characters out our way for sure. Paddy Moloney - what a legend! :eek: and makes a pleasant change from PikeB and others blathering on about lads we never heard of.
also been trying to work out who you are Kev but still have not solved that one, working on it though! :)
Pike B
03/09/2008, 3:08 PM
touche KevB76, i am one of the 1/10! all famous characters out our way for sure. Paddy Moloney - what a legend! :eek: and makes a pleasant change from PikeB and others blathering on about lads we never heard of.
also been trying to work out who you are Kev but still have not solved that one, working on it though! :)
Very good.:D I mention names every now and again alright, but most people in this division wouldn't be well known by everyone. It doesn't mean that some people don't recognise them chump.
Jock MIB
03/09/2008, 3:10 PM
ask his brother ( you know the one that took up refereein ) :D hint hint
Final Frontier
03/09/2008, 3:11 PM
nice one
larrywhite
03/09/2008, 3:33 PM
The blind one? ;)
the holycross game away to pike was cancelled due to a no-show from the ref - not sure what happened to him.
caught the end of the knock v bruff game, 3-3 - with bruff grabbing an equaliser in the last seconds. knock have been very under strength in last two games but have still come out with points and still fancy them to outlast all others come seasons end. bruff have also upped the ante from last season, and could be there or thereabouts also.
congrats to bruff striker edward hogan who scored a hat-trick of free kicks last night against ex limerick37 knock keeper - all rockets into the top corner - fantastic skill. must be some sort of record, anyone know?
also noticed that 10 of the 11 bruff players last night had come through the holycross nursery ;)
Very good.:D I mention names every now and again alright, but most people in this division wouldn't be well known by everyone. It doesn't mean that some people don't recognise them chump.
appreciate that and keep up the good work Pike B, this site would not be the same without you. anyway it gives us info on who we need to man-mark, etc, etc, the more names on the 1B page the better! :D
Jock MIB
03/09/2008, 3:55 PM
The blind one? ;)
that sentence could be used for your strike force so far this season :D sorry couldn't resist
Pike B
03/09/2008, 3:56 PM
appreciate that and keep up the good work Pike B, this site would not be the same without you. anyway it gives us info on who we need to man-mark, etc, etc, the more names on the 1B page the better! :D
Well as I keep saying, this isn't the most well known or highest quality division in town, but for drama and unpredictability it's tops.
Were your lads as peeved as our lads with the no show ref last night? We were at full strength bar our keeper, for first time this season. Very annoying.
Final Frontier
03/09/2008, 4:40 PM
Well as I keep saying, this isn't the most well known or highest quality division in town, but for drama and unpredictability it's tops.
Were your lads as peeved as our lads with the no show ref last night? We were at full strength bar our keeper, for first time this season. Very annoying.
test mail
Final Frontier
03/09/2008, 4:46 PM
Sorry bout the test email just now...tried posting about 2 hrs ago and it said administrator need to elease...no idea why....
anyway Messi just checking to see if White and Neary are still playing...they were top defenders years ago and surely pace up front would get them...When I aw Coonagh last year they had loads of pace so Im surprised...!!
Where are they lacking? or more importantly where are they strong...
Read a post there that said it was not down to their goalkeeper but a defensive mistake..? larry White posted the other day that defensw was "Rock Solid"...obviously not....?
Hope that its not season that Boro do a Croom on it and everyone scrambling for 2nd place...
Should be a good game Sun morn Coonagh V Boro...what times that on?
Pike B
03/09/2008, 5:05 PM
Sorry bout the test email just now...tried posting about 2 hrs ago and it said administrator need to elease...no idea why....
anyway Messi just checking to see if White and Neary are still playing...they were top defenders years ago and surely pace up front would get them...When I aw Coonagh last year they had loads of pace so Im surprised...!!
Where are they lacking? or more importantly where are they strong...
Read a post there that said it was not down to their goalkeeper but a defensive mistake..? larry White posted the other day that defensw was "Rock Solid"...obviously not....?
Hope that its not season that Boro do a Croom on it and everyone scrambling for 2nd place...
Should be a good game Sun morn Coonagh V Boro...what times that on?
Sat evening, 6.30. Boro Club.
KevB76
03/09/2008, 5:12 PM
Shhhhhhh !
A lot of thought went into my username to keep my identity secret ;) :D
see's it
03/09/2008, 7:42 PM
the holycross game away to pike was cancelled due to a no-show from the ref - not sure what happened to him.
caught the end of the knock v bruff game, 3-3 - with bruff grabbing an equaliser in the last seconds. knock have been very under strength in last two games but have still come out with points and still fancy them to outlast all others come seasons end. bruff have also upped the ante from last season, and could be there or thereabouts also.
congrats to bruff striker edward hogan who scored a hat-trick of free kicks last night against ex limerick37 knock keeper - all rockets into the top corner - fantastic skill. must be some sort of record, anyone know?
also noticed that 10 of the 11 bruff players last night had come through the holycross nursery ;)
who's the ex limerick keeper?
Doc Brown
03/09/2008, 8:28 PM
Final frontier jusy got to watch the coonagh match against the view last nite and when larry said they were good at the back he was not lying. As for the match Coonagh deserved three points hands down but goals win matches. It was not just down to thier strikers missing the two centre halves missed good chances also. And just one word on the ref was a disgrace at least two players should have got the line but instead of doing his job he wanted to be everyones friend. Boro looking good Coonagh could have their work cut out saturday. 1B best league in limerick better than a good soap for drama.
Pike B
03/09/2008, 8:31 PM
Final frontier jusy got to watch the coonagh match against the view last nite and when larry said they were good at the back he was not lying. As for the match Coonagh deserved three points hands down but goals win matches. It was not just down to thier strikers missing the two centre halves missed good chances also. And just one word on the ref was a disgrace at least two players should have got the line but instead of doing his job he wanted to be everyones friend. Boro looking good Coonagh could have their work cut out saturday. 1B best league in limerick better than a good soap for drama.
And congratulations on having the best name on foot.ie by the way.. How's Marty Mc Fly?
Pike B
03/09/2008, 8:51 PM
Ya the lads are still playing,neary is still top class,last nite the older fella's in the view team killed off the game thats wat i meant the high balls and corners were meat and drink to the likes of neary white and lipper,they'd deal wit that all day, I reckon coonagh will be up there end of season though,boro wil do well to keep it going,the league wil go to the wire,cant see it turnin into a one horse race, good league though it has to be said,could be the lowest points total ever to win a league!! No one here givin murrue credit for there start,fair play,another good result the other nite, park are too far behind already i think.
Do you know much about Murroe? Have they signed many new players?
KevB76
03/09/2008, 9:08 PM
Shane Barry, last seasons 1st choice keeper for the U21's.
mixed blessing, were missing a few, so on balance good for us
Shhhhhhh !
A lot of thought went into my username to keep my identity secret ;) :D
Gotcha Kev, be in touch;)
shane barry, was with 21s last season and a few games with A team earlier this year
kingofkillteely
03/09/2008, 11:41 PM
Couldn't agree more. Someone will be seriosly hurt with that clown in the middle. I used to enjoy the banter with him but not anymore. What the Fairview centre half did to our striker in the first half was assault and could of easily broken his leg. I know the LDMC are struggling to get refs, but to let any man and his dog ref is asking for trouble.
kingofkillteely
03/09/2008, 11:43 PM
that sentence could be used for your strike force so far this season :D sorry couldn't resist
My eyes are fine but i played right back in our last two games. Cue Sodslaw with a smart comment...................:D
Final Frontier
04/09/2008, 8:22 AM
Doc - Hard to see why they are not picking up points then ....?
Good at the back means they should not be conceeding goals tho , surely...? To be good overall you need to be scoring....
Unless they get act together they will miss out.....
Doc Brown
04/09/2008, 9:06 AM
Couldn't agree more. Someone will be seriosly hurt with that clown in the middle. I used to enjoy the banter with him but not anymore. What the Fairview centre half did to our striker in the first half was assault and could of easily broken his leg. I know the LDMC are struggling to get refs, but to let any man and his dog ref is asking for trouble.
But the man is gettin paid to ref a match he should do it properly. U cant expect him to see everything but that was rite in front of him
Doc Brown
04/09/2008, 9:10 AM
Doc - Hard to see why they are not picking up points then ....?
Good at the back means they should not be conceeding goals tho , surely...? To be good overall you need to be scoring....
Unless they get act together they will miss out.....
understand wat your saying i just feel if they can get going will do well but as you said they could very well miss out. If they dont pick up points saturday night boro will pull further ahead and i think thats it its all down to second place then. Fair play to boro though best start have seen in awhile.