View Full Version : Did Cork mistreat Drogheda?

25/08/2003, 1:27 PM
It's no good putting up a regular poll because the Cork City fans will hijack it so leaving out Corks and Drogs let's take a manual poll here.

Simple question. Did Cork mistreat Drogheda?

I'm starting with an emphatic YES (though I'm aware that the Dublin clubs have treated Cork shabbily in the past as Macy points out that's no excuse really).

So if you support anybody other than Cork or Drogheda leave your mark below!

Oh and James, I'll be watching you with some interest to see how you sabotage this one! :D

25/08/2003, 1:34 PM
Yes, I think they did.

25/08/2003, 1:37 PM
Yes they did - whatever about us moving kick off times to suit them, it was basically the same for both Cork and Drogs with shifting the kick off days.....

As I've said on the other thread, Cork were messed around by two Dublin teams (although I'd still think the Pats one is questionable) and have taken it out on two provincial teams...

A big Booooo for Pat "for the good of the league" Dolan....

Xlex
25/08/2003, 2:12 PM
I agree with ya SLK!!...

and have taken it out on two provincial teams...

but they're just a sh*t Dublin Subarb...

25/08/2003, 2:25 PM
Originally posted by Xlex
but there just a sh*t Dublin Subarb...
Just making up for saying they should be relegated on the Licensing thread - just keeping a balance.... :)

25/08/2003, 2:37 PM
If there was an agrrement, well then yes.

Pats play all their midweek games on mondays, so how could they mistreat Cork?

25/08/2003, 3:48 PM
Whatever about how they were treated by the capital, yes, City were a bit dodgy on that deal.

25/08/2003, 4:02 PM
Originally posted by Dodge
If there was an agrrement, well then yes.

EireBadBoy
25/08/2003, 5:54 PM
YES!! .....swayed by their decision to stop the Sunday Mid-day Kick Offs for Derry Games too. :rolleyes:

25/08/2003, 6:12 PM
what they did might not have been 100% sporting or fair, but I think it was jusitified, and anyway, drogs had plenty of notice.
So, Yes, but I think people are making too much of it.

By the way, why was no-one from Drogs complaining BEFORE the game, why was it only after they lost that they made an issue of it? City made an issue of the shels game being moved long before the game. Looks to me like drogs only problem was the result, and they're spitting the dummy out of the pram.

25/08/2003, 7:49 PM
Yes.

we've had these k.o. time agreements with Derry, Dundalk, Longford and Drogheda down through the years, i think we should have at least seen out this season in the spirit it was started, regardless of when the rule change was brought into effect.

26/08/2003, 12:40 AM
Yeah ... fair enough but have you seen the fixtures coming up, thanks be to god the rule change came into effect, not just for us but for all clubs, Oct. is one hell of a month. To be honest being tied down to set days and times is not a great help.
Shels having two games in hand is not an advantage with games packed in like this. It could serve more as a disadvantage more than anything else. I also think peeople are making too much of it aswell.

26/08/2003, 5:21 PM
How come this thread was not posted last Friday morning or Thursday or even earlier?
Did Drogs only realise the match was to be played on Friday night on Friday morning?
Did they have to grab whatever players they could and hop on the next bus to Cork?
Do Drogs only discover from day to day when they are to play?
Get a grip lads, all this b*ll*cksology just because McCue tries to create a "controversy" to hide his utter inability to do anything to about the hammering his side just underwent.

TommyT
26/08/2003, 8:09 PM
In fairness given the respective distances travelled each season cork are entitled to treat the Drogs moans as boolox

DruggyDrog
27/08/2003, 9:20 AM
This was a fairly intelligent thread until the inevitable ****** invasion.

For once and for all, nothing to do with the result, we were well beaten by a better side on the night. But that is not what this thread ia about, go back to the first post and then answer the question, forget about results, forget about Harry making a tool of himself, and just consider the question which is actually being asked.

joe
27/08/2003, 9:42 AM
without knowing the full facts, which i don't think anyone here does, no one can give an answer to the question. and, like i said elsewhere, from what i've heard, comments like:

Originally posted by DrogMan
Cork and Drogheda had an agreement to play all matches either in Untied Park and the X on saturday evenings.

Originally posted by BostonDrog
Cork had an agreement with Drogheda to play the games on Saturday.

are wide of the mark

DruggyDrog
27/08/2003, 10:46 AM
Joe, I wouldn't be too sure about that. I spoke with people from both clubs on the issue and they confirmed an agreement, however informal, had been made. I then attempted to get on touch with Cork again about why the agreement was discarded, and am still awaiting a response even though I got a read receipt from my email last tuesday.

27/08/2003, 12:52 PM
Originally posted by DruggyDrog
This was a fairly intelligent thread until the inevitable ****** invasion.

For once and for all, nothing to do with the result, we were well beaten by a better side on the night. But that is not what this thread ia about, go back to the first post and then answer the question, forget about results, forget about Harry making a tool of himself, and just consider the question which is actually being asked.
So it suddenly becomes not so "intelligent" when somebody does'nt agree with you..:rolleyes:
The answer to the question was, is and will continue to be, NO.
The title is laughable, (sorry SLK ;) ).
If an agreement was in place, the rule change by the FAI, as far as City are concerned, nullified that agreement. There is no mistreatment, sly tricks or anything else, just pathetic whinging from a bunch of fans with nothing else to do.
get over it, surely there is more to life in Drogheda?
or is there? ;)

27/08/2003, 12:58 PM
What do the rules of the FAI have to do with an agreement between clubs?

DruggyDrog
27/08/2003, 1:30 PM
Exactly, Dodge. But after all those people questioning whether there ever was an agreement, we now have people coming up with excuses on breaking the agreement!!

DruggyDrog
27/08/2003, 1:33 PM
Oh, I forgot to mention, Patsh, the degeneration of the thread has nothing to do with people disagreeing with me, more to do with spouting on about sour grapes, why was it not raised weeks ago, etc, etc, which was not the point of this thread.

27/08/2003, 2:12 PM
Originally posted by patsh
If an agreement was in place, the rule change by the FAI, as far as City are concerned, nullified that agreement. There is no mistreatment, sly tricks or anything else

Spot on Patsh, I think that's what most of us are trying to point out. However, our north Dublin friends don't seem to be able to get their heads around this. It seems pretty simple to me but, then again, I'm not from Louth.;)

DruggyDrog
27/08/2003, 3:13 PM
Jaysus, Colm, do you all have that sense of humour. We really are missing out.

And the Cork logic too, that must really be great. How a rule change by one body can nullify an agreement between two other bodies. And only a few hours ago you were all maintaining that there was no agreement at all!!!! No wonder us Louth people can't get our heads around it!

Anyway, all our opinions aren't going to change anything, so best of luck to all concerned for the rest of the season.

27/08/2003, 4:37 PM
If a speed limit goes up from 30 to 50 would you still drive at 30?

Why if a rule is changed would you still follow the old rule?

DruggyDrog
27/08/2003, 4:49 PM
I thought this particular issue was over. Ah well.

This has nothing to do with any rule change. This has to do with an agreement between 2 clubs. the rule change is just being trotted out as a possible excuse for breaking an agreement, although without this excuse they will claim there was no agreement.

27/08/2003, 5:04 PM
Originally posted by SÓCcfc
If a speed limit goes up from 30 to 50 would you still drive at 30?

Why if a rule is changed would you still follow the old rule?
If the speed limit was 50 and both parties agreed to drive with their lights on, if the limit was raised to 60 would you turn off the lights.

The league rule had ABSOLUTELY nothing to do with any agreement Cork and Drogheda had

27/08/2003, 5:06 PM
read what joe said and then re-read it..if necessary (and it might be for some of ye) re-read it again.

then stop posting non-sense here :D

27/08/2003, 5:12 PM
If fairness James I used the word IF in the first post and in the last i said any agreement they had. If there was no agreement, there can be no grievences. If there was, there are no excuses. Simple really

27/08/2003, 5:14 PM
thats wasnt at you dodge
twas for everyone

let it go kids

27/08/2003, 5:59 PM
But after all those people questioning whether there ever was an agreement, we now have people coming up with excuses on breaking the agreement!!
People have put forward ideas, the FAI ruling change amongst them, as possible reasons. Of course, you are dismissing them as excuses. And in return, best of luck, in the Cup especially, for the rest of the season too.

Originally posted by Dodge
What do the rules of the FAI have to do with an agreement between clubs?
Living up to his signature, as usual.

28/08/2003, 7:43 AM
Originally posted by James
let it go kids
Can't have Cork proved wrong can we, or Cork fans accepting their club were wrong, or even some debate about it.... That would be totally against the spirit of foot.ie....

28/08/2003, 8:37 AM
no macy its just boring at this stage
as joe said: nobody knows fully the facts so all this mudslinging type stuff isnt serving any point at all.

28/08/2003, 8:39 AM
Originally posted by patsh
originally posted by Dodge....

Living up to his signature, as usual.

What do you not understand about that post. Clubs have agreements, these agreements are NOT sanctioned by the FAI. The FAI rule change would not impact on the agreement. How hard is that to undertand?

28/08/2003, 5:24 PM
Dodge ask yourself one question, why was there an "agreement" in the first place?

Chicken and the egg

28/08/2003, 6:08 PM
Originally posted by Macy
Can't have Cork proved wrong can we, or Cork fans accepting their club were wrong, or even some debate about it.... That would be totally against the spirit of foot.ie....
would you ever **** off you idiot. all you do is wander on here agreeing with your buddies from pats and having a snide little pop off city fans or have a go off foot.ie. if we all bug you that much why don't you just ignore us, most of us would be only too delighted to return the favour I'd imagine- fool :rolleyes:

28/08/2003, 6:14 PM
Originally posted by Éanna
would you ever **** off you idiot. all you do is wander on here agreeing with your buddies from pats and having a snide little pop off city fans or have a go off foot.ie. if we all bug you that much why don't you just ignore us, most of us would be only too delighted to return the favour I'd imagine- fool :rolleyes:

hear hear.