View Full Version : Cobh Ramblers fans vs Sunderland fans

28/06/2008, 11:34 PM
I was initially approached on Wednesday at the fans meeting by a member of the Sunderland match commitee about the idea of a Cobh Ramblers fans 11 taking on a Sunderland fans 11 the weekend of the Sunderland game. Tonight we decided to give it a go and try to get a team together.

We are hoping for the game to take place in Ramblers the Sunday before the match. Sunderland have around 1250 fans travelling so surely 20 fans from Sunderland will be up for a game.

Nothing is arranged yet and and the Sunderland fans rep will be contacted in the next few days and hopefully they will agree to the game.

*Please note that game will be restricted to Cobh fans only!*

Anyone interested please post below and state your positions or you can pm me. We'll be hoping for a squad of 20.

don ramo
29/06/2008, 12:04 AM
you can count me out, sorry, i am not lying when i say im useless,:o

luka
29/06/2008, 12:09 AM

Like I said on the other forum R14 and not wanting to take away anything from you, its all in hand and am awaiting a reply from the Sunderland side.

29/06/2008, 12:09 AM

Waterboy it is so:D

don ramo
29/06/2008, 12:10 AM
Waterboy it is so:D

yaeh, ill drink as much as i can:D

29/06/2008, 12:11 AM
Like I said on the other forum R14 and not wanting to take away anything from you, its all in hand and am awaiting a reply from the Sunderland side.

Sure i'm only trying to get a team together.

Are you playing???..........It'd be nice for you to say your last game was against a Premiership club:D

luka
29/06/2008, 12:19 AM
See reply elsewhere.....I can't be bovvered to type it twice.

30/06/2008, 9:43 PM
Less than a month till kick-off lads anymore takers???? I'd be hoping to get a good number of players from here.

ramblers08
30/06/2008, 11:29 PM
ill play....im still a wee fella lik but u sed ur lookin for takers

30/06/2008, 11:40 PM
ill play....im still a wee fella lik but u sed ur lookin for takers

Wee in stature or wee in age??.............Were playing against big northeners here like I wouldn't want to see ya get crushed by their beer bellies!:D

ramblers08
01/07/2008, 10:32 PM
i can hack gettin crushed happens a lot lik......naaaa id say im still to young for it ill play if i can like

03/07/2008, 10:52 AM
Only 8 players have agreed to play so far.................Anymore or am I going to have to go on a Cobh wide recruitment campaign????

4th-div-are-we
03/07/2008, 11:18 AM
is it sunday 27th??

03/07/2008, 11:50 AM
Potentially. There is no date set..................yet.

4th-div-are-we
03/07/2008, 11:55 AM
whoops...im interested in going on a 4 week loan deal with canary islands fc.:ball::cool:
the loan begins on thursday the 24th of july so any time before that is fine:rolleyes:

L37Ultra
04/07/2008, 9:33 AM
If Cobh fans are interested in a warm-up game before your match with Sunderland fans, I could get a Limerick fans team together for a game if ye are interested.PM if interested.

04/07/2008, 9:57 AM
If Cobh fans are interested in a warm-up game before your match with Sunderland fans, I could get a Limerick fans team together for a game if ye are interested.PM if interested.

Good offer but unfortunately most of us have had a warm-up game to this only last week when we took on Cork City fans.

Rambler20
04/07/2008, 12:00 PM
Good offer but unfortunately most of us have had a warm-up game to this only last week when we took on Cork City fans.
maybe shouldnt be dissmissed outs hand could be a gud laugh

04/07/2008, 12:02 PM
maybe shouldnt be dissmissed outs hand could be a gud laugh

Ah but most of the lads aren't physically capable of playing 2 games in a month you see :D

4th-div-are-we
04/07/2008, 9:03 PM
Ah but most of the lads aren't physically capable of playing 2 games in a month you see :D

true,true....

luka
08/07/2008, 10:46 AM
Lads,
Read the below

http://www.safc.com/news/

10/07/2008, 11:15 AM
Game is set for:

Sunday 27th July 2008 @ 5pm

Cobh Ramblers fans vs Sunderland fans @ The Ramblers Arena

ramblers08
10/07/2008, 4:42 PM
who is on de team ???? would be handy if people knew lik

10/07/2008, 4:44 PM
Team will be revealed closer to the date. Players are still being recruited;)

13/07/2008, 12:00 PM
Recruiting Process is finished..............roll on the 27th!:)

ramblers08
13/07/2008, 2:41 PM
thats de job hw many

ramblers08
13/07/2008, 2:42 PM
thats the job............how many players did ya get ??

sorry bout de last comment there

luka
13/07/2008, 2:50 PM
Approx 23/23 in total and there is defo no more being added. We should have three Ramblers legends as well. We have about six that will only play 10 -20 mins dues to our fitness levels not being as they were so everyone will get a run out. I also suggest that you bring along a Ramblers top, if you have one, in case we are short. I'm not sure how many kits we will have.

13/07/2008, 3:45 PM
Approx 23/23 in total and there is defo no more being added. We should have three Ramblers legends as well. We have about six that will only play 10 -20 mins dues to our fitness levels not being as they were so everyone will get a run out. I also suggest that you bring along a Ramblers top, if you have one, in case we are short. I'm not sure how many kits we will have.

I counted 23 this morning on the squad list I have. As of last night we gained an assitant manager and a waterboy so we should be well prepared on the day!

Will I post it up luka or are we keeping it secret???

luka
13/07/2008, 4:15 PM
I counted 23 this morning on the squad list I have. As of last night we gained an assitant manager and a waterboy so we should be well prepared on the day!

Will I post it up luka or are we keeping it secret???

Nah. No good Manager gives anything away so far in advance of a game...........:p

I'll give you are ring tomorrow.

13/07/2008, 4:46 PM
I'll give you are ring tomorrow.

I can't wait:D:D

ramsfan
13/07/2008, 4:50 PM
usernames or real names?:p:D

13/07/2008, 5:44 PM
usernames or real names?:p:D

Real Names.
It was open to all ramblers supporters and infact we have more non-forum members than forum members.

ramsfan
13/07/2008, 6:37 PM
most forum users have repetitive strain syndrome from......

typing

22/07/2008, 3:17 PM
We made the BBC Website! (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/s/sunderland/7506122.stm)

and

The Sunderland Echo (http://www.sunderlandecho.com/safc/Warm--Irish-welcome-for.4294089.jp)..............nothing about it as of yet in our Echo of course!

This match is taking the world by storm:D:cool:

22/07/2008, 5:36 PM
I was on a Sunderland forum enquiring about their numbers for the match Sunday and this is what they told me!

Don't worry, you'll have some right eejits wanting to play.

Good laugh though!

22 eejits running around a pitch...........oh joy!:D

Look who they have playing in goals Sunday! Some fudgepacker from Mayfield apparently:D

Keeper 1 (http://www.safc.com/uploads/images/jul_08/safc_1216730547_4keane310.jpg)

Keeper 2 (http://www.safc.com/uploads/images/jul_08/safc_1216730480_2keane310.jpg)

23/07/2008, 9:19 PM
Full Ramblers kit will be provided on the day.

don ramo
23/07/2008, 10:40 PM
what do i get, better not be those gammy outfits we were talking about up in UCD :o

23/07/2008, 10:49 PM
We'll decide on the day:)

23/07/2008, 11:12 PM
Question for ye lads:

Will we take them to the comm or will we head down ourselves?

don ramo
24/07/2008, 1:57 AM
i dunno, out of towners always take the talent:eek::D,

luka
24/07/2008, 9:40 AM
Even though the full kit is available, I'd still encourage those of you with the Ramblers Home jersey to bring it with you please.

24/07/2008, 10:22 AM
and socks. Please bring socks!..............just in case. Shorts wouldn't go a miss either.

24/07/2008, 11:55 AM
Question for ye lads:

Will we take them to the comm or will we head down ourselves?

Im not going com wit you.:D

24/07/2008, 4:16 PM
All about hospitality like, do you want a return leg or what?

24/07/2008, 6:27 PM
All about hospitality like, do you want a return leg or what?

I repeat im not going near the com with YOU.:D:D:D

A hundred sunderland fans, no bother, ive work monday though.

24/07/2008, 9:23 PM
Ive heard, in a very humourous twist, you also have work monday r14??

Rumours have it your starting in the same place as me, oh christ.:D:D:D

24/07/2008, 10:16 PM

Rumours have it your starting in the same place as me, oh christ.:D

News to me!.............or is it????:confused::rolleyes:

luka
25/07/2008, 8:13 AM
Everyone should be there about 4.15 latest on Sunday.

don ramo
25/07/2008, 1:43 PM

Rumours have it your starting in the same place as me, oh christ.:D

14 and bella together at last, id better warn them ;):D