View Full Version : Live TV

chimpster
28/06/2008, 8:21 PM
I see that Setanta/TG4 have announced another six live matches to be screened over the next few weeks, and again no sign of Ramblers. That makes 15 matches (i.e. 30 teams) and not one spot for us so far!! What's going on? It's nothing to do with our league position, coz Galway are involved in two of the six games just announced. Grrrrrr... :mad:

28/06/2008, 8:34 PM
Galway are being shown live on a Galway based station.

28/06/2008, 9:41 PM
UCD and Rams are the only 2 teams who haven't been shown.

don ramo
28/06/2008, 9:57 PM
its a disgrace, what is it the FAI said each team should be shown 3 times, were nearly halfway and we havent been shown once, what a joke you can see the FAI still have a soft spot for galway,

28/06/2008, 11:09 PM
UCD and Rams are the only 2 teams who haven't been shown.Think about what you've just said, there's a very good reason for that.

don ramo
28/06/2008, 11:15 PM
Think about what you've just said, there's a very good reason for that.

not really galway are bottom and theyve been shown, blows any argument out the window, every team is promised 2-3 games, i read this earlier in the year when the contract for this season was signed, so there is no argument, FAI so far havent kept there promise,

28/06/2008, 11:18 PM
its a disgrace, what is it the FAI said each team should be shown 3 times, were nearly halfway and we havent been shown once, what a joke you can see the FAI still have a soft spot for galway,

FAI don't choose who is shown.

28/06/2008, 11:22 PM
not really galway are bottom and theyve been shown, blows any argument out the window, every team is promised 2-3 games, i read this earlier in the year when the contract for this season was signed, so there is no argument, FAI so far havent kept there promise,As Dodge has said, TG4 is a Galway based station so it's easy for them to show a Galway team.

don ramo
28/06/2008, 11:26 PM
absoulutely and totally irrelevent, every ground has a set-up to show live games, last year every team was shown twice at least, this isnt made up tripe this is the truth, i wont go complaining to much just yet, as i said its only half-way,

28/06/2008, 11:29 PM
absoulutely and totally irreleventNo, it's actually not.
every ground has a set-up to show live gamesThe Showgrounds won't have any live game this year, we were told to build a gantry if we want a home game on tv.

don ramo
28/06/2008, 11:32 PM
sorry you cant show games, we can but still dont have any shown, even away, its not just TG4 that show games, no reason all teams cant be shown twice, try and give me 4 reasons

28/06/2008, 11:46 PM
try and give me 4 reasons
Poor team,
Poor ground,
Poor crowd,
Poor league position.

Poor location would also be a factor, very easy for tv stations in Dublin to show Dublin teams. If Cork had a channel showing games, I'm sure ye'd be on regularly.

don ramo
28/06/2008, 11:53 PM
Poor team,
Poor ground,
Poor crowd,
Poor league position.

Poor location would also be a factor, very easy for tv stations in Dublin to show Dublin teams. If Cork had a channel showing games, I'm sure ye'd be on regularly.

wheras galway

siht team
poor ground
poor crowd
and unbeilevable siht position,

yet again the saddest reason comes into it geographic location,

it suppose to be the eircom league of ireland not the eircom league of dublin and surrounding area,

but who am i to argue, im just from a backwater sihthole no-ones heard of

29/06/2008, 12:13 AM
wheras galway

siht team
poor ground
poor crowd

it suppose to be the eircom league of ireland not the eircom league of dublin and surrounding areaFirstly, Galway's ground isn't poor.

Second, it may be a lame excuse but the fact is geographical location is a big part. Galway have a tv station in their county so it's simple for TG4 to send a camera to them. Every other station is based in Dublin so again, it's easy to send a camera to a Dublin ground. Like it or not, it's fact.

luka
29/06/2008, 12:14 AM
wheras galway

siht team
poor ground
poor crowd

it suppose to be the eircom league of ireland not the eircom league of dublin and surrounding area,

but who am i to argue, im just from a backwater sihthole no-ones heard of

There are plans for a TV Box and until them we prolly won't have a live game. Simple really eh!

don ramo
29/06/2008, 12:18 AM
Firstly, Galway's ground isn't poor.

Second, it may be a lame excuse but the fact is geographical location is a big part. Galway have a tv station in their county so it's simple for TG4 to send a camera to them. Every other station is based in Dublin so again, it's easy to send a camera to a Dublin ground. Like it or not, it's fact.

as i said its sad, and it is sad, that in this day and age geographic location matters, location location location :rolleyes:

29/06/2008, 12:32 AM
as i said its sad, and it is sad, that in this day and age geographic location matters, location location location :rolleyes:

Of course location matters, because money matters. And its more expensive to send a crew overnight to cobh than down the road. TG4 aren't exactly loaded.

The other main TV gang so far this year is Setanta. They only seem to show games betweeen the big teams e.g. Us v Pats, Us v Bohs, Rovers vs Derry etc.

Luka said above ye can't have TV at the moment at home so it just comes down to who ye happen to be playing. If ye were playing Galway it'd be ye. But they aren't going to pick a game based on the away team, especially when the away team is in the position ye are.

Maybe when RTE start showing a few more ye'l be shown, although given that they turned them down last season I can't see them bending over backwards to accomodate ye.

luka
29/06/2008, 12:45 AM
Of course location matters, because money matters. And its more expensive to send a crew overnight to cobh than down the road. TG4 aren't exactly loaded.

The other main TV gang so far this year is Setanta. They only seem to show games betweeen the big teams e.g. Us v Pats, Us v Bohs, Rovers vs Derry etc.

Luka said above ye can't have TV at the moment at home so it just comes down to who ye happen to be playing. If ye were playing Galway it'd be ye. But they aren't going to pick a game based on the away team, especially when the away team is in the position ye are.

Maybe when RTE start showing a few more ye'l be shown, although given that they turned them down last season I can't see them bending over backwards to accomodate ye.

Will you be making an appearence tomorrow?

29/06/2008, 1:55 AM
Will you be making an appearence tomorrow?

Havnt decided yet. We'l have a look at the weather and see. If Ive nothing better to do like :D

29/06/2008, 11:46 AM
There are plans for a TV Box and until them we prolly won't have a live game. Simple really eh!
Yet still some argue. Setanta don't show games as a favour to the league. They show games they think will be attractive to advertisers and viewers. As such they only show games involving the top 5/6 teams generally (or bigger clubs such as Rovers)

Likewise TG4 knows that them showing Galway will be more attractive to their audience than showing most other clubs.

But as Luka said, if you don't have the facilities, TV companies won't make the effort to see a team struggling at home

29/06/2008, 11:58 AM
Whats stopping the tv companies showing one of our away games???

UCD vs Ramblers at the Belfield Bowl on the 18th July would have been an ideal game to show on TG4. But instead they chose Bray vs Galway!!!:confused:

Pablo Escobar
29/06/2008, 1:58 PM
Whats stopping the tv companies showing one of our away games???

UCD vs Ramblers at the Belfield Bowl on the 18th July would have been an ideal game to show on TG4. But instead they chose Bray vs Galway!!!:confused:

Wind-up, surely!?

don ramo
29/06/2008, 2:00 PM
not really if your gonna show one, might aswell have a meaning

ramsfan
29/06/2008, 4:17 PM
i would embarassed for us to be on telly at mo , people would switch off after 10 mins if last 3 weeks are anything to go by

harps1954
30/06/2008, 11:16 AM
I've said this quite a few times before - I don't have any sympathy for Cobh not being on TV. Why? Because your club REFUSED to appear on TV on the last day of last season. RTE wanted to show Athlone v Cobh live on RTE, but Cobh REFUSED as they said the pressure of the TV cameras might put them off when they could win the First Division title.

You can't have it both way lads and lassies. When TV came knocking, you refused them. Now when they are staying away, you are complaining.

30/06/2008, 11:43 AM
I've said this quite a few times before - I don't have any sympathy for Cobh not being on TV. Why? Because your club REFUSED to appear on TV on the last day of last season. RTE wanted to show Athlone v Cobh live on RTE, but Cobh REFUSED as they said the pressure of the TV cameras might put them off when they could win the First Division title.

You can't have it both way lads and lassies. When TV came knocking, you refused them. Now when they are staying away, you are complaining.

good point but ye bottled it and we won the league then so how bad

luka
30/06/2008, 11:43 AM
They had every right to say no for that reason but they also have every right, as part of the Eircom League and the Premier League to have their fair share of TV. I was glad they chose not to show that game live as after all we did go up as Champions as opposed to runners up.

depor
30/06/2008, 3:28 PM
im glad they are staying away to be honest, with the performances of the last few weeks anyway. tv not there dosnt bother me in the slightest.

Redshanks
30/06/2008, 3:54 PM
Perhaps the TV cameras there now would be the very tonic to reignite them back to how we know they can play!

30/06/2008, 4:32 PM
On the TG4 showing Galway thing- the outside broadcast company they use is based in Waterford, so getting to Cobh is actually handier than Galway for them. Which makes their tendency to show GUFC even more pronounced!

ramsfan
30/06/2008, 4:32 PM
maybe but it could also heap more preesure on an already nervous team:ball:

ramsfan
30/06/2008, 4:34 PM
yeah but majority of tg4 viewers would be from gaeltacht areas me thinks, ie connemara etc so galway would prob have more of a draw for them IMO

01/07/2008, 1:45 PM
In that case you'd think they'd show Harps the odd time........

ramsfan
01/07/2008, 5:40 PM
you should be happy there not last time they did ye bottled it:)

01/07/2008, 5:43 PM
you should be happy there not last time they did ye bottled it:)

Zing!!!!:D

05/07/2008, 12:44 PM
Nobody seems to have remembered that our game against Sunderland is live on Setanta!

don ramo
05/07/2008, 4:54 PM
what did i buy a ticket for so:D:cool::ball: