View Full Version : Club in Tatters?
redobit
02/07/2008, 11:31 AM
I don't talk at all, I just type the ****e
Finally: somtin accurate
DonalE
02/07/2008, 7:41 PM
"Sometimes you can't see the wood from the trees"
I suppose whoever was the first to mutter those 'encourageing' words they too were frowned upon??
Love is a very strong word yet it has all but four letters.
When we really love someone or something it's very difficult to spot the blemishes.
Truth is also a very strong word and yet it's a word people have more tendency to shy away from. The truth always hurts. The only way to face the truth is head on. No matter what way you try to dress it up the truth will always be the truth.
On a sunny day somepeople use sunglasses. Just because they darken out the sun doesn't mean the sun has gone away. When the sun goes down the sunglasses will only make it darker. It's down to each individual to know when it's time to take off the sunglasses.
I've take mine off .... when will you take yours off?
When the seagulls follow the trawler it's because they think sardines will be thrown into the sea
DonalE
02/07/2008, 9:32 PM
Sometimes you step out of the shower when you should have had a bath.......
Is that you Adam Hughes?
02/07/2008, 9:41 PM
Is that you Adam Hughes?
took you a while to think of that one....:D
DonalE
02/07/2008, 9:49 PM
Was actually in the shower at the time believe it or not :D
02/07/2008, 11:14 PM
Was actually in the shower at the time believe it or not :D
I have to get a computer that works like that when your in the shower...
Rovers fan
02/07/2008, 11:45 PM
I have to get a computer that works like that when your in the shower...
I wonder what you would be doing with a computer in the shower?;)
RedRebel32
06/07/2008, 10:39 AM
People seem to constantly defend the MC to the last,though i do appreciate they have a tough job.normal fans are often lambasted for their criticism because they do not put themselves forward to help.Would it be possible for a few of us to set up a sort of sub-committee within the club??
Only1Rovers
06/07/2008, 11:54 AM
Would it be possible for a few of us to set up a sort of sub-committee within the club??
what would be the scope of a sub-committee?:confused:
06/07/2008, 12:00 PM
i heard ye are under a transfer embargo like ourselves sad times for the west.
RedRebel32
06/07/2008, 4:15 PM
what would be the scope of a sub-committee?:confused:
Well that can be developed at a meeting rovers1 it was a preliminary idea. Perhaps organising a group of the younger fans into say a sub-committee of ten.They learn about the running of the club which will stand the club in good stead for the future.
They will also ease the burden of work for the MC.The MC can allocate the projects for example player sponsership.they hand the sub-committee this project to develop for 2 months in teh lead up to the new season and when the 2 months have passed a few representatives meet each other and discuss progress aswell as a written report.that is just an example,whether it be other things like helping keith voluntarily or whatever it could be looked into.
officials often question whether us fans put our money where our mouth is and just mud-sling at the MC,well im sure many fans i know would be more than happy to step up to the plate.the club should be more organised and run properly.the sub-committe can also bridge the gap between MC and the average fan and fans can approach the committee with their thoughts.
i first stepped foot in the showgies at about the age of 5 for a pre-season friendly,and in all the time i've been there i can honestly say i have never had a convo with an MC member.is this not a community club?
perhaps the club should come out of the stone age organisationally speaking
Only1Rovers
07/07/2008, 5:03 PM
A meeting for all club members (shareholders) has been called for this Monday evening in the Southern Hotel at 8pm.
This meeting is to discuss the immediate and long term future of the club.
Rovers Maniac
07/07/2008, 5:20 PM
Does not sound good at all, is it open to season ticket holders.
Only1Rovers
07/07/2008, 5:44 PM
Does not sound good at all, is it open to season ticket holders.
Members only, if your names not on the door your, not coming in.
Rovers Maniac
07/07/2008, 5:57 PM
Deffo tonight? Nothing on the website.
Redzer
07/07/2008, 6:06 PM
A meeting for all club members (shareholders) has been called for this Monday evening in the Southern Hotel at 8pm.
This meeting is to discuss the immediate and long term future of the club.
I'm a shareholder and I haven't heard anything about a meeting this evening. :confused:
D Brannigan
07/07/2008, 6:09 PM
I'm a shareholder and I haven't heard anything about a meeting this evening. :confused:
Meeting is next Monday 14th July.
Knappagh Red
07/07/2008, 8:10 PM
Will it all be bad news Dermot?
oldrover
07/07/2008, 8:45 PM
Lets keep things in perspective.
Rovers have always struggled financially except for short periods where we experienced success on the field and even then the financial gains did not last for a variety of reasons.
we still have more fans coming in the gates than many clubs,consider the small gate at the last Pats game or the number of Shams supporters at the cup game. Relative to population our fan numbers are very good. The reality is that financial benefactors are keeping other clubs afloat.
Our team is/was not far off the mark this year, but for one or two self inflicted mistakes in the cup we would be looking forward to a big gate against Cork city in the next round
Sligo Rovers represents the only realistic hope Sligo has of achieving any success in the area of team sports.The club has along and proud tradition and has built a reputation for Sligo extending beyond the sports field as having a never say die attitude.
Now once again we need to apply the same attitude Johnny Chadda for so many years displayed. We must not let despair creep in or limit our ambition. At all costs we have to avoid falling back into the doldrums of the first division again. We all need to get behind the club and help in whatever way possible to drive the club on to success again. We need to get as much community/business backing as possible. We will not get this backing without a positive approach.
red arrow
07/07/2008, 9:14 PM
fair play to you old rover well said. what is ahead of us is a huge challenge to keep the club afloat. i would make a guess and say the club is about k300 in the red. we have a number of immediate problems. priority is cash flow to hold onto the players that we already have . in my opinion we have a very good squod as good as we have had in a long long time. we are in a catch 22 situation here big time. if we let go more players our squod is weakened substantially and more than likely we will have enough points to stay in the premier league but cooke is likely to leave at end of season because of loss of players. so come 2009 (if club does not fold in the meantime due to financial crisis) we will still be in the premier league but have no manager and few players. this would be a huge catastrophy. the only way we can stay afloat is to gather at least k100 immediately. i would suggest that the club
seek out 500 people who are willing to give 200 euro to gererate an immediate
k100 or 200 people who are willing to cough up e500 each. if the proper approach was made to the right people this is feasable. of course the right overtures would have to be made to the manager to keep him along with the players. i also think once and for all the whole matter of the trust be opened up so that the ground can gererate revenue flow for the club. this particular situation is a huge bee in peoples bonnet. i rest my case
Rovers fan
07/07/2008, 9:20 PM
How do you become a member and how much does it cost?
redtildead
07/07/2008, 9:26 PM
600 euro I think? Can be payed to any MC members
Rovers fan
07/07/2008, 9:34 PM
Ah crap,thought it was under 100:o
clubman
07/07/2008, 10:02 PM
fair play to you old rover well said. what is ahead of us is a huge challenge to keep the club afloat. i would make a guess and say the club is about k300 in the red. we have a number of immediate problems. priority is cash flow to hold onto the players that we already have . in my opinion we have a very good squod as good as we have had in a long long time. we are in a catch 22 situation here big time. if we let go more players our squod is weakened substantially and more than likely we will have enough points to stay in the premier league but cooke is likely to leave at end of season because of loss of players. so come 2009 (if club does not fold in the meantime due to financial crisis) we will still be in the premier league but have no manager and few players. this would be a huge catastrophy. the only way we can stay afloat is to gather at least k100 immediately. i would suggest that the club
seek out 500 people who are willing to give 200 euro to gererate an immediate
k100 or 200 people who are willing to cough up e500 each. if the proper approach was made to the right people this is feasable. of course the right overtures would have to be made to the manager to keep him along with the players. i also think once and for all the whole matter of the trust be opened up so that the ground can gererate revenue flow for the club. this particular situation is a huge bee in peoples bonnet. i rest my case
Getting 500/200 people to put x amount of money in is only a short term solution. 100K will just about cover the running costs for one month - what then? Go back to the same people and ask them to give again - I don't think so. Presently the club is run on a wing and a prayer. Get through this week and next week will look after itself. This has always been the way the club has operated. No matter what way one looks at the situation the only thing that's certain is that it's impossible to make a profit in football at this level. You say the club is about 300K in the red - that's not a huge amount of money and it certainly is manageable. So what can be done?
At the moment the operational costs are 50K every fortnight during which time we have one home game. The attendance against Derry by league of ireland standards was a good one yet it only generated something in the region of 16K which leaves us shy of 34K until our next home game. So now we know what we need to generate in the region of 40K off the pitch in order for the club to survive. We will not now nor never will be in a position to generate enough income through attendances alone to function so other avenues have to be sough out. Sponsorship is the biggest earner for every club and this is where the community, businesses and the likes have to be approached on a very professional basis. The way the club is structured doesn't allow for professionalism off the pitch. It's not feasiable for voluntary workers to carry the workload of professionals which is akin to comparing a professional club to part-timers. The part-timers can dishout the odd up-set but realistically the pros will shine through in the end.
The structure of the club has to be addressed. This is top priority. Sligo Rovers have a fantastic fan base with people in all types of professions. These people need to be tapped into for direction/advice on how the club should move forward. Voluntary committees/workers worked down through the years and people devoted their lives to the Rovers but times/people have changed.
Our club maybe 300K in the red but one thing we can be proud of and others are very envious of and it's this - we own our ground and if it was to be utilised to it's potential we'd realise we are sitting on a goldmine.
As I say we have the supporters of all professions it's way past the time that these people were approached collectively for their advice.
Only1Rovers
07/07/2008, 10:16 PM
Deffo tonight? Nothing on the website.
If it was tonight I would have said it's tonight!
D Brannigan
07/07/2008, 11:51 PM
How do you become a member and how much does it cost?
The cost is 635euro in one payment or you can pay by direct debt over 3years which costs a little bit more.You must have one third payed to attend an A.G.M. and have a vote.
D Brannigan
07/07/2008, 11:53 PM
Will it all be bad news Dermot?
Not if we can get a lot of people to do a little rather than a few doing a lot.
08/07/2008, 12:05 AM
If it was tonight I would have said it's tonight!Posting 'this Monday evening' at 6pm on a Monday implies tonight.
akearins
08/07/2008, 8:57 AM
A meeting of just shareholders to me is just wrong.I know more fans who go to every home and away game, are season ticket holders, 400 club members and lottery buyers but not shareholders so they are not entitled to atend but will be the same people who will be approached to provide financial assiatance. At every AGM 30-40 shareholders turn up and only a handful have anything to say.
At the last AGM it was suggested and agreed that a public meeting must be held, but no sign of it Now is the ideal time for this and get tell teh fans exactly the position we are in and what we can do to ride this out.
I mean its not 40 or so shareholders who keep the club afloat its the masses who now need to be feel included.
Id say open this meeting up to anyone who wants to come, make all feel welcome and part of the club, for this has been a grievence with supporters in the past.Just look at Hughie Blain who organised Poker classics and is constalntly tryiong to raise funds for the club, is someone like him not entitled to listen to what has to be said at this meeting and maybe sugegst some solutions or do we let loyal fans hear it second hand.
Id say open up to the public,set out a frameowrk for the meeting and limit speakers from the floor to a set and agreed time to allow everyone have their say.
If it really is a community club as we are told then open it up to the entire Sligo Rovers community
dublinred
08/07/2008, 9:27 AM
Is share money ringfenced for development work?
Rovers Maniac
08/07/2008, 9:34 AM
A meeting of just shareholders to me is just wrong.I know more fans who go to every home and away game, are season ticket holders, 400 club members and lottery buyers but not shareholders so they are not entitled to atend but will be the same people who will be approached to provide financial assiatance. At every AGM 30-40 shareholders turn up and only a handful have anything to say.
At the last AGM it was suggested and agreed that a public meeting must be held, but no sign of it Now is the ideal time for this and get tell teh fans exactly the position we are in and what we can do to ride this out.
I mean its not 40 or so shareholders who keep the club afloat its the masses who now need to be feel included.
Id say open this meeting up to anyone who wants to come, make all feel welcome and part of the club, for this has been a grievence with supporters in the past.Just look at Hughie Blain who organised Poker classics and is constalntly tryiong to raise funds for the club, is someone like him not entitled to listen to what has to be said at this meeting and maybe sugegst some solutions or do we let loyal fans hear it second hand.
Id say open up to the public,set out a frameowrk for the meeting and limit speakers from the floor to a set and agreed time to allow everyone have their say.
If it really is a community club as we are told then open it up to the entire Sligo Rovers community
Totally agree should be opened to these people.
sligo1
08/07/2008, 10:32 AM
Hi Alan,
Does the Trust not have 2 members on the committee and if so are they not able to report back to the Trust with up to date reports?
I thought the idea of Trust members on the committee would be a link between the people running the club and the ordinary supporter.
Out of curiousity,how is the Trust getting on?Have you anything lined up?
akearins
08/07/2008, 11:04 AM
True we do have members on the management committee and glad to say if we require anything to be asked at managemet level or any proposals they will bring them to the meetings.We do not recieve any top secret information or nothing that would not be printed in the local media.Also if they require any assiatance from the trust they will ask us.
As for Trust activities we are in the process of developing the new website, we have a fundraising race night planned for August and we scheduled a supporetrs BBQ for the Cork game in Harrys Rosses point, but now the game is switched to Sunday we will need to re-schedule this.We still put up posters around town for the Home games and organise the buses (Feo and David deserve credit for this).Also we have our own merchandise which we hope to advertise on the site when complete.
Also waiting on 2 new flags for matches to arrive.
We now meet every fortnight in the glasshouse 7-8 so anyone who would like to come along your more than welcome
dublinred
08/07/2008, 3:11 PM
Totally agree should be opened to these people.
Must be open to everyone if things are as bad as the rumours and we lose another 2 players this week.
Redzer
08/07/2008, 3:30 PM
Well it's not as if a election is going to take place. So there's no reason not to allow ordinary fans into the meeting.
Everything that happens will be in the public very soon after anyways. It seems from some of the previous posters that they know exactly whats happening, so the official secret act will not be breeched.
Let in anyone who is genuinely interested in the future of Sligo Rovers. Everyone has a part to play if we are to be successful.
akearins
08/07/2008, 3:45 PM
Let in anyone who is genuinely interested in the future of Sligo Rovers. Everyone has a part to play if we are to be successful
Spot on Redzer after all its the masses that will donate to any fundraisers so should be invitede to attend.You cant exclude the majority and then expect them to assit financially.
The club doesnt belong to just the shareholders it belongs to everyone
clubman
08/07/2008, 5:41 PM
Unfortunately with all the goodwill in the world at the end of the day this is just a meeting and that's all. Nothing will and can be decided regarding the running of the club or otherwise. If any motions were to be proposed on the night nothing can be discussed as there is no agenda other than fundraising. The statement from the club on the back page of the Weekender speaks volumes for the tone of this meeting. So if you are prepared to grab a lotto book and walk the streets of sligo then this meeting is where you can sign up. If you are interested in proposing suggestions or supporting any good suggestions on how they future of our club can be made secure then unfortunately this meeting won't or can't discuss this.
At the last AGM a member from the floor asked for an EGM be called and nothing has come of his request.
Redzer
08/07/2008, 7:13 PM
All so true, Clubman. So whats the reason for members only? Afraid they will hear a few alternatives suggestions?
So it's the same old faces again and again. And as for your friend who called the EGM, I guess half the meeting will be taken up listening to him go on and on.
As you say if we sell a few lotto books and ask the players to take a pay cut, sure we'll get by.
Knappagh Red
08/07/2008, 8:20 PM
People are talking on this thread as if membership is a closed shop, its the price of a pint a week for 3 years to be a member for life, people giving out about not being able to go to meetings should overcome their laziness and fill out a form and become a member. The membership was advertised in all the local papers for a month at the start of the season with a free season ticket for everyone who signed up, what more could the club do about it?
clubman
08/07/2008, 9:45 PM
All so true, Clubman. So whats the reason for members only? Afraid they will hear a few alternatives suggestions?
So it's the same old faces again and again. And as for your friend who called the EGM, I guess half the meeting will be taken up listening to him go on and on.
As you say if we sell a few lotto books and ask the players to take a pay cut, sure we'll get by.
As I've mentioned in other posts it's all about changing the structure of the club.
Why members only?
I suppose the only answer to that one is that's how the club operates presently.
That's the rules.
So the obvious answer is become a member - the price of a pint as one person stated.
But as someone else asked where does the money generated go? Into ground development.
So the members (the people that make the decisions on how the club is run) have paid their membership money into a fund to develop the grounds and no money goes directly to the club. Yet the people that keep the club going on a weekly basis (the ordinary supporter) can't gain access to the meeting that decides the future of the club.
Should the structures be changed?
sligo1
08/07/2008, 10:01 PM
Believe it or not the money should be sitting in an account in the Bank and only used to repay a member that wants to sell back his share or to a members family if the member dies.
I'm not sure if you can borrow against it though.
I wonder does that account exist and what would happen if every member wanted their shares redeemed at the one time!!
red arrow
09/07/2008, 9:19 PM
clubman i agree with everything you posted and its well said. my idea of 500 x200 (or 200 x 500) is just that a short term solution which would give the club a bit of breathing space to tackle the long term problems. you hit the nail on the head when you said that we should be proud that we own our ground but unfortunately we are not utilising it to the full i.e. to generate income for the club. its absolutely useless having so many acres of prime land lying idle all thes years. not for one minute am i suggesting selling the ground to raise funds but why cant we bring some business person or persons on board who have the club at heart and the community and do something (maybe a 2nd all weather pitch) to generate an income for the club but that they can also draw from that income. the club would give them the land to develope it and both parties would share the income off it. this is just one idea. properly run (and that includes properly running the the current all weather pitch which nobody seems to know what is being earned of it) and on a professional basis they would generate circa k3 conservatively per week.
what about a bowling alley again properly and professionally run (like the one in carrick on shannon). there are so many options but at the moment we all know the big stumbling block is THE TRUST. i use the word trust as a general statement but from what i hear not all the members are against developement on a wider scale so that the club can benefit financially from it without selling any of the ground. this is a very important part of the "restructuring" of the club. but there are many stumbling blocks and hurdles to surmount and this has being the cancer for a long time now. this is what needs to be sorted out. this is what the general public should be calling for and have a right to know. why all the cloak and dagger over the years. is it not time to shine a light on the murkey ongoings once and for all. then an d only then can the club move forward. i fear for our current situation greatly because we have agood team a good manager but now we need a miralce. i do believe and am led to believe that there are bodies out there who are willing to come on board and secure the future of sligo rovers but only if ther is total transparency. this will not happen this year as the first move on the chess board has to be made by the "trust" then when the way is made clear the good people will come.
09/07/2008, 9:26 PM
. there are so many options but at the moment we all know the big stumbling block is THE TRUST. i use the word trust as a general statement but from what i hear not all the members are against developement on a wider scale so that the club can benefit financially from it without selling any of the ground. this is a very important part of the "restructuring" of the club.
. this will not happen this year as the first move on the chess board has to be made by the "trust" then when the way is made clear the good people will come.
What ****ing Tosh. The trust have done nothing but good work since it was established and yet you attack them. Idiot.
Rovers fan
09/07/2008, 9:32 PM
What ****ing Tosh. The trust have done nothing but good work since it was established and yet you attack them. Idiot.
Is he not on about the trust who own the ground? I could be wrong:confused:.
09/07/2008, 9:35 PM
Is he not on about the trust who own the ground? I could be wrong:confused:.
Well then he should have said the Trustees.
srfc1928
09/07/2008, 9:36 PM
clubman i agree with everything you posted and its well said. my idea of 500 x200 (or 200 x 500) is just that a short term solution which would give the club a bit of breathing space to tackle the long term problems. you hit the nail on the head when you said that we should be proud that we own our ground but unfortunately we are not utilising it to the full i.e. to generate income for the club. its absolutely useless having so many acres of prime land lying idle all thes years. not for one minute am i suggesting selling the ground to raise funds but why cant we bring some business person or persons on board who have the club at heart and the community and do something (maybe a 2nd all weather pitch) to generate an income for the club but that they can also draw from that income. the club would give them the land to develope it and both parties would share the income off it. this is just one idea. properly run (and that includes properly running the the current all weather pitch which nobody seems to know what is being earned of it) and on a professional basis they would generate circa k3 conservatively per week.
what about a bowling alley again properly and professionally run (like the one in carrick on shannon). there are so many options but at the moment we all know the big stumbling block is THE TRUST. i use the word trust as a general statement but from what i hear not all the members are against developement on a wider scale so that the club can benefit financially from it without selling any of the ground. this is a very important part of the "restructuring" of the club. but there are many stumbling blocks and hurdles to surmount and this has being the cancer for a long time now. this is what needs to be sorted out. this is what the general public should be calling for and have a right to know. why all the cloak and dagger over the years. is it not time to shine a light on the murkey ongoings once and for all. then an d only then can the club move forward. i fear for our current situation greatly because we have agood team a good manager but now we need a miralce. i do believe and am led to believe that there are bodies out there who are willing to come on board and secure the future of sligo rovers but only if ther is total transparency. this will not happen this year as the first move on the chess board has to be made by the "trust" then when the way is made clear the good people will come.
Great post Red Arrow, its crazy that the club is sitting on acres of land a stones throw from the town centre. Sligo is lacking in so many recreational facitities that this land could facilitate. Arena 7 in Letterkenny is a classic example of what could be achieved on a small area of land i.e bowling, bar , restaraunt, arcade, play area etc. all this was made by converting an old potatoe chip factory ! Im not saying sell the land but it should be better utilised
clubman
09/07/2008, 9:47 PM
I've no doubt red arrow that you're a true Rover. Yet when I read your post there are many similarities of posts on Rovers boards down through the years. The most important issue on all levels is the club - SRFC. No matter where the topic of Rovers raises it's head everyone has an opinion. Eventually the finger pointing starts and eventually it will rest on the shoulders of one man. Unfortunately it's not as clear cut as it might seem. Rovers and contraversy seem to go hand in hand, you can't have one without the other. There's a businessman in Sligo Town, very well respected both in business and in football, who when asked on how the situation in the Showgrounds can be resolved once and for all he will give his opinion. It's a very detailed opinion and I've heard him express it time and time again. Basically what he suggests is the the club should start from scratch. Drastic measures are required here and it will take a huge decision along the way for someone to be brave enough to stand up and lead the way. In order for the club to start from scratch it will first have to hit rock bottom. Looking and listening what is happening to our club one can only assume that the time has come. In just a matter of weeks as a football club we will be down to the bear bones - playerwise. There will be absolutely nothing to work on going into next season and if the monster is a man of his word he'll have walked. 2009 looks like when SRFC will have hit rock bottom if all the signs are true. Then it will be time for a new beginning or just fade away.
Like you red arrow I too have heard the stories regarding the business people waiting in the wings. Like you, my love for Rovers enables me to live in the hope that it is true.
09/07/2008, 10:08 PM
:rolleyes:, clearly he is talking about the ground "owners"
deecay
09/07/2008, 10:15 PM
If only they built the astro beside the railway track
Rovers Maniac
09/07/2008, 10:23 PM
I've no doubt red arrow that you're a true Rover. Yet when I read your post there are many similarities of posts on Rovers boards down through the years. The most important issue on all levels is the club - SRFC. No matter where the topic of Rovers raises it's head everyone has an opinion. Eventually the finger pointing starts and eventually it will rest on the shoulders of one man. Unfortunately it's not as clear cut as it might seem. Rovers and contraversy seem to go hand in hand, you can't have one without the other. There's a businessman in Sligo Town, very well respected both in business and in football, who when asked on how the situation in the Showgrounds can be resolved once and for all he will give his opinion. It's a very detailed opinion and I've heard him express it time and time again. Basically what he suggests is the the club should start from scratch. Drastic measures are required here and it will take a huge decision along the way for someone to be brave enough to stand up and lead the way. In order for the club to start from scratch it will first have to hit rock bottom. Looking and listening what is happening to our club one can only assume that the time has come. In just a matter of weeks as a football club we will be down to the bear bones - playerwise. There will be absolutely nothing to work on going into next season and if the monster is a man of his word he'll have walked. 2009 looks like when SRFC will have hit rock bottom if all the signs are true. Then it will be time for a new beginning or just fade away.
Like you red arrow I too have heard the stories regarding the business people waiting in the wings. Like you, my love for Rovers enables me to live in the hope that it is true.
Thank god you are EX MC (well i hope you are), what an opinion want the club to fold after 80 bloody years you want our club to fold? We have something clubs would give their right hand for and that is a sense of pride and tradition. People have bloody worked themselves to the bone over 80 years, look at Cork how many clubs have they gone through? And you want to throw all that away some clubman you are.