View Full Version : North Wales police "anti-Irish Racism" Ahead of Bohs Rhyl Clash

Pages : 1 [2] 3

30/06/2008, 12:52 PM
Who were the Wrexham scum fighting though? They hardly started brawling amongst themselves after travelling the distance?

Ya sorry clarified it there a bit. Don't think Bohs can do much about a bunch of idiots hopping on the ferry an going looking for a brawl. It's sad, and if it happened at the game Bohs would have to take some of the blame, it's hard to blame them in this case though.

30/06/2008, 12:52 PM
I know they are not the best source but here is the story from 11aside http://www.eleven-a-side.com/intoeurope/news.asp?n=32965 .

30/06/2008, 1:02 PM
Ya sorry clarified it there a bit. Don't think Bohs can do much about a bunch of idiots hopping on the ferry an going looking for a brawl. It's sad, and if it happened at the game Bohs would have to take some of the blame, it's hard to blame them in this case though.

I wouldn't blame the club for the behaviour of some of their idiots at all, but I still think it discounts a lot of the outrage at the Welsh police's pre-emptive tactics in trying to curb incidents like this

30/06/2008, 1:06 PM
I wouldn't blame the club for the behaviour of some of their idiots at all, but I still think it discounts a lot of the outrage at the Welsh police's pre-emptive tactics in trying to curb incidents like this

True enough. I suppose if they heard whispers of a group travelling from Wrexham specifically looking for trouble and the possibility of some scum travelling with Bohs they couldn't afford to take any chances.

30/06/2008, 1:13 PM
I wouldn't blame the club for the behaviour of some of their idiots at all, but I still think it discounts a lot of the outrage at the Welsh police's pre-emptive tactics in trying to curb incidents like thisIt also casts a shadow on some of the assertions above that seek to minimize Bohs hooligan problem.

Presumably, assuming the guards know who they are, these people couldn't have been denied permission to leave the country due to the Common Travel Area between Ireland and UK?

I've said it before but I think Bohs would get a lot more sympathy if they acknowledged the problem, said they had taken all the steps they could to ban the people from Dalymount and inform other clubs of the identity of those who are banned (see previous thread on the lad who sought the judicial review).

Arranging to meet up with hoolies from another club because you can't find anyone from the club you're playing to fight with isn't reflective of a small problem IMHO.

30/06/2008, 3:13 PM
It also casts a shadow on some of the assertions above that seek to minimize Bohs hooligan problem.

Presumably, assuming the guards know who they are, these people couldn't have been denied permission to leave the country due to the Common Travel Area between Ireland and UK?

I've said it before but I think Bohs would get a lot more sympathy if they acknowledged the problem, said they had taken all the steps they could to ban the people from Dalymount and inform other clubs of the identity of those who are banned (see previous thread on the lad who sought the judicial review).

Arranging to meet up with hoolies from another club because you can't find anyone from the club you're playing to fight with isn't reflective of a small problem IMHO.

OneRedArmy ffs they travelled WITHOUT tickets - in other words the club did not sell them tickets. You say Bohs wont acknowledge its problem - the club and fans are on record acknowledging the problem and outlining the efforts to eradicate it. How can you ignore that?

The club has sent security officials on away trips to weed out the troublemakers trying to get in to away grounds. Do some research and you will find all these things documented. It appears the club refused to sell known troublemakers tickets for the game and passed the info on to the police. What more can be done in all fairness??? These idiots still hopped on a ferry looking for trouble... pathetic i know but hardly fair to tar us all with the same brush as seems to be the underlying tone, inference and intent of the louder posters on this messageboard.

The fans admit there is a problem, a small one in terms of numbers. Apart from vigilantism (which i personally would be all for if it wasnt for the fact that it would just be used as another stick with which to beat the league) what can the fans do?

barney
30/06/2008, 3:46 PM
OneRedArmy ffs they travelled WITHOUT tickets - in other words the club did not sell them tickets. You say Bohs wont acknowledge its problem - the club and fans are on record acknowledging the problem and outlining the efforts to eradicate it. How can you ignore that?

The club has sent security officials on away trips to weed out the troublemakers trying to get in to away grounds. Do some research and you will find all these things documented. It appears the club refused to sell known troublemakers tickets for the game and passed the info on to the police. What more can be done in all fairness??? These idiots still hopped on a ferry looking for trouble... pathetic i know but hardly fair to tar us all with the same brush as seems to be the underlying tone, inference and intent of the louder posters on this messageboard.

The fans admit there is a problem, a small one in terms of numbers. Apart from vigilantism (which i personally would be all for if it wasnt for the fact that it would just be used as another stick with which to beat the league) what can the fans do?

Fair enough but it's hard to condemn the Welsh police like was done earlier in this thread.

Whether you want to acknowledge these idiots or not as Bohs fans is beside the point. They have alligned themselves with your club. Wherever your club goes, these people follow and cause trouble and so wherever your club goes you are going to meet with this sort of problem. All the PC speak in the world isn't going to change this.

Had the police left the pubs open, this could have been much worse because of the type of people who have latched onto Bohs. That's the reality so they made the right choice.

CuanaD
30/06/2008, 3:49 PM
Did you not read the thread?
here's a link to post 38, which I think answers your question

http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=970917&postcount=38

30/06/2008, 4:06 PM
Did you not read the thread?
here's a link to post 38, which I think answers your question

http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=970917&postcount=38I read the thread.

I read the Bohs fans accusing the police about being heavy handed and generally minimising their hoolie problem.

CuanaD
30/06/2008, 4:18 PM
I read the thread.

I read the Bohs fans accusing the police about being heavy handed and generally minimising their hoolie problem.
But your point was:

I've said it before but I think Bohs would get a lot more sympathy if they acknowledged the problem, said they had taken all the steps they could to ban the people from Dalymount and inform other clubs of the identity of those who are banned
Is that not exactly what Bohs are saying here:
http://www.bohemians.ie/index.php/club-news/hooligan-bans.htm

I'm not a Bohs fan & not trying to get into an argument with you, I'm just saying that I think the Bohs statement does at least what you called for and they should be commended for that.

cheech
30/06/2008, 5:52 PM
Bohs have a hooligan problem. And this goes to prove it. End of.

An aeriel photo of Rhyl (http://www.ushmm.org/lcmedia/photo/lc/image/alpha/steidl21.jpg) after today's game.

Have you EVER posted anything worthwhile?

30/06/2008, 6:11 PM
Have you EVER posted anything worthwhile?Yes, have you ever heard of sarcasm?

30/06/2008, 6:17 PM
Cheech, from posts here and newspaper stories over the past year or two i can deduce that

Bohs have a hooligan problem
Rovers have a hooligan problem
Pats have a hooligan problem
Drogs have a hooligan problem
Cork have a hooligan problem
Shels have a hooligan problem
Dundalk have a hooligan problem

whats your point.? Especially when Bohemians have acknowledged the problem and outlined what they are doing to eradicate it.

Whether you like it or not the league is in the **** together. Why do you, Dodge and others use this stuff as some sort of game of oneupmanship?

30/06/2008, 6:57 PM
Cheech, from posts here and newspaper stories over the past year or two i can deduce that

whats your point.? Especially when Bohemians have acknowledged the problem and outlined what they are doing to eradicate it.

Whether you like it or not the league is in the **** together. Why do you, Dodge and others use this stuff as some sort of game of oneupmanship?Ridiculous.

Travelling to a foreign country for a pre-arranged mill takes it up a few notches. Trying to compare to isolated incidents at other clubs is exactly the kind of thing that my posts above refer to.

30/06/2008, 7:03 PM
I shall look forward with relish to reading the newspaper reports of Derry City hoolies disgracing their club in European Competition this season

ah wait...

30/06/2008, 7:29 PM
Ridiculous.

Travelling to a foreign country for a pre-arranged mill takes it up a few notches. Trying to compare to isolated incidents at other clubs is exactly the kind of thing that my posts above refer to.

Hey hold on a minute, surely hooliganism is hooliganism regardless of the country it is committed in, regardless of the amount taking part, regardless of the number of arrests?? You cant make up the rules as you go to suit your own argument. Any problem is a problem.

Id also like to point out the final paragraph of the BBC report (ive pasted it below for ease of reference) and also reiterate that the 6 fans arrested were refused tickets by the club.

"A spokesman for the Football Association of Ireland confirmed that its chief security officer was in Rhyl for the game and said none of the Bohemians' 520 supporters were involved in any incidents. "

30/06/2008, 7:50 PM
Whether you like it or not the league is in the **** together. Why do you, Dodge and others use this stuff as some sort of game of oneupmanship?

I don't. I try and rubbish posts that attempt to make an anti Bohs fans thing into something more sinister, say, for example, like it being "anti Irish rascist"

In other newws, genuinely feel for Bohs fans who booked trips to Riga.

sonofstan
30/06/2008, 8:18 PM
I

I've said it before but I think Bohs would get a lot more sympathy if they acknowledged the problem, said they had taken all the steps they could to ban the people from Dalymount and inform other clubs of the identity of those who are banned

We've done all of that.

Do you honestly think that Bohs as a club and the majority of Bohs fans are sneaking regarders in this respect? I'd be interested in your suggestions as to how BFC are supposed to stop youngsters -claiming to be Bohs fans - on Dorset St. stoning buses from Tolka on a night when we're playing in Galway, or how we're supposed to stop lads without tickets from taking the ferry to Holyhead.

30/06/2008, 9:06 PM
We've done all of that.

Do you honestly think that Bohs as a club and the majority of Bohs fans are sneaking regarders in this respect? I'd be interested in your suggestions as to how BFC are supposed to stop youngsters -claiming to be Bohs fans - on Dorset St. stoning buses from Tolka on a night when we're playing in Galway, or how we're supposed to stop lads without tickets from taking the ferry to Holyhead.

Public Hangings?
Exiled to the Siberian Gulags?
Transportation to Australia by Packet Steamer?

01/07/2008, 8:27 AM
As these things go, the cops get to blacken Bohs fans' names with risibly OTT preparations, then loftily absolve them when the dreaded riot doesn't materialise.
Police praise fans (http://www.welsh-premier.com/news.php?ID=6844)
Served its purpose though: they get to justify their existence, and Dodge and all the other hooligan story vultures can lap it up. The loser, of course, is football.

Louth4sam
01/07/2008, 8:36 AM

Wouldnt agree with that at all, from that list all have had problems with young lads acting the ****** or schooligans. Rovers and Bohs are the only ones with adult hooligans. I know we have a lot of idiots following our club but i couldnt imagine them organising a fight in a foreign country. (just waiting for a wise crack about the only way we'd be in a foreign country is on holidays :))

01/07/2008, 9:20 AM
We've done all of that.

Public Hangings?
Exiled to the Siberian Gulags?
Transportation to Australia by Packet Steamer?
I vote for nuking the city centre from orbit. It's the only way to be sure.

01/07/2008, 9:29 AM
I shall look forward with relish to reading the newspaper reports of Derry City hoolies disgracing their club in European Competition this season

ah wait...Excellent post. When all else fails, get your mickey out and wave it around.....

We managed 3 rounds without an arrest two years ago, with a total away support of over 7,000 fans.

01/07/2008, 9:33 AM
well good for you

here - have a piece of cake

Flexy
01/07/2008, 9:44 AM
well good for you

here - have a piece of cake

When was the last time bohs won anything, like shels youve got to buy success,

01/07/2008, 9:52 AM
well good for you

here - have a piece of cakeNo thanks, there's a chance the poisoned dwarf may have touched it.

01/07/2008, 1:34 PM
Just a question.............I was seriously thinking of going to see Bohs in Rhyl even though im not a Bohs fan but would like to get behind Eircom League teams abroad, and I lived in wales etc, but in the end i had other commitments so had to cancel. Would i have been prevented from getting off the train and wandering into Rhyl town centre?

01/07/2008, 2:03 PM
Just a question.............I was seriously thinking of going to see Bohs in Rhyl even though im not a Bohs fan but would like to get behind Eircom League teams abroad, and I lived in wales etc, but in the end i had other commitments so had to cancel. Would i have been prevented from getting off the train and wandering into Rhyl town centre?

If you were wearing colours then yes you would have been, if you weren't then I'd assume no

01/07/2008, 2:23 PM
Would i have been prevented from getting off the train and wandering into Rhyl town centre?

If you were wearing colours then yes you would have been, if you weren't then I'd assume no
as long as you hid your knife, gun, brass knuckles, and bohs shirt.

NavanBohs
01/07/2008, 3:38 PM

I wouldnt comment on something you dont know about :rolleyes: 2 out of 3 of our group were wearing jerseys and walked 15 minutes through the town centre to our hotel from the train station at about 1pm, and all other fans on the same train did too, and not a word was said to us, apart from a couple of friendly comments from locals...

01/07/2008, 4:03 PM
I wouldnt comment on something you dont know about :rolleyes: 2 out of 3 of our group were wearing jerseys and walked 15 minutes through the town centre to our hotel from the train station at about 1pm, and all other fans on the same train did too, and not a word was said to us, apart from a couple of friendly comments from locals...

Grand, that just proves that this Bohs Anti-Irish thing was an even more over the top reaction than it looked originally. Cheers for that info

NavanBohs
01/07/2008, 4:07 PM
Also...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HgbFfvGykfU&e

0:08 - "Wrexham supporters and a gang of local troublemakers" according to this.

edit: Incese you'd completely ignored posts by Bohs fans on this, as the first page states, the "no Irish" thing originated from Rhyl fans on a Rhyl message board.

bohs til i die
01/07/2008, 4:09 PM
It also casts a shadow on some of the assertions above that seek to minimize Bohs hooligan problem.

I wasnt in Rhyl but have spoken to several Bohs fans who were and they informed me that Denis Maher, a Bohs director stood outside the ground and pointed out who was banned from Dalymount in the hope they'd be refused admission to the ground but the cops ignored him.

What more can be done if away club/security dont want to know?

All Denis Maher got for his troubles was threats from the people who he pointed out to the cops are troublemakers.

01/07/2008, 4:14 PM
Rovers and Bohs are the only ones with adult hooligans. I know we have a lot of idiots following our club but i couldnt imagine them organising a fight in a foreign country.

Grrr etc.

01/07/2008, 4:53 PM
Also...

0:08 - "Wrexham supporters and a gang of local troublemakers" according to this.

edit: Incese you'd completely ignored posts by Bohs fans on this, as the first page states, the "no Irish" thing originated from Rhyl fans on a Rhyl message board.

And was pushed by Bohs fans on this board. I certainly didn't pick up on a Rhyl message board and would have happily gone through life never knowing about this 'no Irish' nonsense if it hadn't been posted here for us to read

01/07/2008, 10:37 PM
Dodge? Did you see that video? Any comment?

cheech
01/07/2008, 11:06 PM
Also...

That bloke is one of the worst presenters/news readers I've ever heard.

By the way, who was the Wrexham and local troublemakers fighting with?

Was there was BSC fighting in the town centre?

You boys are tough work. I think most people agree that the utmost majority of Bohs fans are good football supporters. But there is an element of scum that also follow you.

Don't get offended when people mention it. I can understand why it would be embarrasing though. I'd be devestated if those neanderthals claimed to follow my club.

cheech
01/07/2008, 11:10 PM
Yes, have you ever heard of sarcasm?

Is that what that was supposed to be?

Looks to me like you have the web version of liking your own voice......

01/07/2008, 11:15 PM
By the way, who was the Wrexham and local troublemakers fighting with?
I suggest that each other seems as good a fit as any, unless the information as provided is being interpreted by someone with an agenda.

Was there was BSC fighting in the town centre?
Couldn't say. If you see any evidence of that anywhere amidst the feverish rantings on the red and black hooligan peril here, or anywhere else, would you be so kind as to point it out?
Best thing one can say about this thread is that mud sticks, regardless of the facts.

CuanaD
02/07/2008, 7:04 AM
If you see any evidence of that anywhere amidst the feverish rantings on the red and black hooligan peril here, or anywhere else, would you be so kind as to point it out?

"6 were Irish":
http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=972594&postcount=50

You are totally right about the 'Mud Sticks' thing tho.

This is all really stemming from the scuffles around Dorset St AREA recently after matches. I know some of the people involved (inlaws are from there) - a bunch of teenage louts (not 'big enough' to call scumbags tbh) who think they enjoy having a fight on a Friday night. They have no real affiliation with Bohs. Those they fight also know what they are doing - they come into the area for that purpose too.

As for the mindless damage they do (like stoning the bus) - that just shows how pathetic their lives are.

I do know that one of them used to play for the Bohs underage set up a few years ago (may still do), but in general they have no real link with the club (eg: he is a Man U 'supporter')

02/07/2008, 8:31 AM
"6 were Irish":
http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=972594&postcount=50
And where did he 'apparently' get that from?
As for Dorset St, I was led to believe that this thread concerned industrial-strength 'adult' hooligans.
The half-truths and the 'apparentlys' switch according to the identity of the accuser, yet the slur remains.

02/07/2008, 8:59 AM
I wasnt in Rhyl but have spoken to several Bohs fans who were and they informed me that Denis Maher, a Bohs director stood outside the ground and pointed out who was banned from Dalymount in the hope they'd be refused admission to the ground but the cops ignored him.

What more can be done if away club/security dont want to know?

All Denis Maher got for his troubles was threats from the people who he pointed out to the cops are troublemakers.Fair enough. Not much more the club can do.

02/07/2008, 9:23 AM
Fair enough. Not much more the club can do.

There isn't in fairness and I don't think the main criticism on this thread has been directed at Bohs as a club. There's a lot more the fans can do than try and stir up a bit of anger among us towards authorities just doing their job though

CuanaD
02/07/2008, 10:35 AM
And where did he 'apparently' get that from?No idea

As for Dorset St, I was led to believe that this thread concerned industrial-strength 'adult' hooligans.Again, I don't know, but I'll find out if any of those 'younger louts' traveled. Either way, the younger louts are contributing to the perception of Bohs, as they are getting media exposure, while the locals (including their own families of course) complain about the 'rioting'
- NB: its never been rioting, never more than minor skirmishes with minor property damage such as car mirrors & odd stones through windows - a VERY SMALL NUMBER of innocent bystanders have got a kicking, but thankfully no one has been seriously injured AFAIK.

The half-truths and the 'apparentlys' switch according to the identity of the accuser, yet the slur remains.Yes, true and I know I'm adding to it without meaning to.

Its like sh1t on a shoe, they have attached themselves to the club & its always difficult to scrape the buggers off.

02/07/2008, 11:01 AM
...- NB: its never been rioting, never more than minor skirmishes with minor property damage such as car mirrors & odd stones through windows - a VERY SMALL NUMBER of innocent bystanders have got a kicking, but thankfully no one has been seriously injured AFAIK...
I thought one of the bus stonings had resulted in a serious eye injury for an innocent bystander? Perhaps I'm confusing some other incident.

02/07/2008, 11:36 AM
- NB: its never been rioting, never more than minor skirmishes with minor property damage such as car mirrors & odd stones through windows - a VERY SMALL NUMBER of innocent bystanders have got a kicking, but thankfully no one has been seriously injured AFAIK.

Didn't some Shels teenager lose an eye after getting jumped by the BSC? Could be wrong about it being the BSC but it was schooligans associated with one of the Dublin clubs

02/07/2008, 11:38 AM
Didn't some Shels teenager lose an eye after getting jumped by the BSC? Could be wrong about it being the BSC but it was schooligans associated with one of the Dublin clubs

That turned out to be unsubstantiated rumour AFAIK

and just a note the BSC are not Schooligans they are a small group of fully grown Ignoramuses. The BSS are the little scroats that have caused most of the trouble/skirmishes in the last couple of years

02/07/2008, 3:49 PM
Welsh police criticised (http://www.bohemians.ie/index.php/bohs-in-the-news/rhylpol1.htm)

02/07/2008, 4:32 PM
Welsh police criticised (http://www.bohemians.ie/index.php/bohs-in-the-news/rhylpol1.htm)

thanks for the link BD - it would appear that no Bohs fans were involved and that this was down solely to Wrexham and Rhyl gangs.

It seems that Denis offered security info to away clubs (AGAIN) and it was ignored.

Yeah, Bohs are doing nothing to solve this hooligan "crisis". People on here need to cop the f*ck on and apologise for cheap point scoring over NOTHING.

How can posters b*tch over negative reporting on the league or scant league coverage when all they want to do is bring the reputation down further themselves on this messageboard through fabrication and rumour. The small mindedness of a few of the fans here disgusts me.

CuanaD
02/07/2008, 5:31 PM
So, there were NO BOHS supporters involved at all!

That's great to hear & we should be telling anyone who will listen

"600 went to Rhyl, started NO trouble, enjoyed the hospitality of the Rhyl fans & the great result, & came home happy & looking forward to the next round(s)" (Ignoring the police attitude because it is now fairly obvious that they were on alert for no good reason) this now sounds like a GOOD NEWS story for the league :ball: