View Full Version : Derek O Brien

Pages : 1 [2] 3

gilberto_eire
04/07/2008, 9:43 PM
Sad day for United. Looks extremely bleek with all these players havin to go. At least the remaining members of the squad did us proud in Turners Cross tonight

Did us proud?, they threw away a 2 goal lead.... if keeping defeats to respectable scores is our biggest cheer this season then i'm seriously depressed!!:(

DRDoc
04/07/2008, 10:09 PM
Forced out against his wishes, he is on his way to Pat's.

The club may well have wanted him to go, and let him know this - but he wasnt forced - he could have simply stayed, despite what the club wanted

gordongekko
04/07/2008, 11:13 PM
Did us proud?, they threw away a 2 goal lead.... if keeping defeats to respectable scores is our biggest cheer this season then i'm seriously depressed!!:(

Thats a bit harsh. Cork are on a roll they have now won 6 on the trot and beat cobh 5-0 recently. According to the Eoin Hand there is a video showing Rouse getting to the ball and that it was no peno but when you are at the bottom these things always go against you.

gg

gilberto_eire
04/07/2008, 11:59 PM
Thats a bit harsh. Cork are on a roll they have now won 6 on the trot and beat cobh 5-0 recently. According to the Eoin Hand there is a video showing Rouse getting to the ball and that it was no peno but when you are at the bottom these things always go against you.

gg

They were all over us anyway the 3rd goal was coming either way, not as if it was the last 5mins when it happened either!. You could tell when they got it back to 2-1 we'd crumble!

How's it harsh?, we were winning a game 2-0 and lost, a poster said ''they made us proud'' and i said you can't call that pride, they threw away a game that was there for the taking, countless times this season the majority of these players have shown they have no winning mentality and can't cut it at the top level, our only leader on the pitch has now left the club, did you ever see another player showing any heart on the pitch like DOB?, i've rarely heard any of them open there mouths tbh.

I think tonight proved this squad is'nt good enough to cut it at the top level, from this point i'd start re-building, call it admitting defeat but the main reason i'd say that is because not alone can we not improve the squad we're losing our better players.

I'd sit the players down and see who wants to stay IF we do go down, if they don't want to stay get rid of them(if there on good wages) start giving the A team players some experience,there going to the main core of the squad if we do go down so it's best to get them as ready as possible to step up to the plate, you can call them ''rookies'' but did anyone see any of the young lads have a bad game thus far when introduced?
Sinnott,Connelly,Keane,McBrien,Molloy...all have looked decent when introduced and we're talking there debuts(or one/two games extra) here.

In virtually half a season we have picked up 7 points, it's that more too safety, do we keep the same players that picked up those points, pay them until the end of the season good wages, probably still go down and then take a few years to get back on our feet or do we clear most of the current squad out and blood next years players now while also reducing expenditure which could provide a quick return up(also introducing more Galway players could improve attendences a bit with family,friends etc..)......?

The only thing that would make me more inclined to keep the current squad is the League Cup, a Setanta Cup place next season should provide enough revenue to win the 1st Division, i suppose you'd have to look at the wages and projected revenue to determine that

Right now i'm going for the latter, let's take off our GUFC glasses and look at the picture as a neutral, what's to show we can make it out of this??. I think a quick return is now the main focus until something magical happens on the pitch, i'd rather we went down like Rovers or (to a lesser extent) Waterford this year then Longford or Shelbourne and have to re-build from scratch

GalwayTillIDye
05/07/2008, 12:26 AM
Latest story doing the rounds is that the club are trying to bully Derek into going to Pats because they need the money - €25,000. The same amount of money they would raise by getting an extra 1,250 fans to attend Terryland between now and the end of the season:eek:. I smell a sack the board campaign a'coming......

Nothing to do with the Board really, yes they made a big mistake with that bluffer Cousins. But then on the budget who else was available that could they have got in. They've done a lot more right than wrong. Perhaps going full time Pro was a step too far too soon financially though. BUt look at the fecking Gates if you want to kow what's really wrong, they sacked Cousins and the supporters should be getting behind the club now especially as there's a real lack of confidence at the minute.

The problem with GUFC & Connacht Rugby is the fickleness of sports fans in the city and county, they're fecking dreadful. If by some miracle Utd get to the League Cup Final there'll be 3-4K travelling there no bother. Same as Connacht when they got to the Euro Challenge Cup Semi's against Quins and Sale, both 6-7K through the gate, for the league they were getting about 1500 in the ground on average. Connacht Football Final will be full as well, and they couldn't get 12,000 through the gate for the Leitrim game.

I don't know what it is about my native city, but it's fecking embarassing. As embarassing as all the plebs who fly out every weekend to follow their English League sides. Bloody shame on them....

05/07/2008, 12:41 AM
They were all over us anyway the 3rd goal was coming either way, not as if it was the last 5mins when it happened either!. You could tell when they got it back to 2-1 we'd crumble!

How's it harsh?, we were winning a game 2-0 and lost, a poster said ''they made us proud'' and i said you can't call that pride, they threw away a game that was there for the taking, countless times this season the majority of these players have shown they have no winning mentality and can't cut it at the top level, our only leader on the pitch has now left the club, did you ever see another player showing any heart on the pitch like DOB?, i've rarely heard any of them open there mouths tbh.

I think tonight proved this squad is'nt good enough to cut it at the top level, from this point i'd start re-building, call it admitting defeat but the main reason i'd say that is because not alone can we not improve the squad we're losing our better players.

I'd sit the players down and see who wants to stay IF we do go down, if they don't want to stay get rid of them(if there on good wages) start giving the A team players some experience,there going to the main core of the squad if we do go down so it's best to get them as ready as possible to step up to the plate, you can call them ''rookies'' but did anyone see any of the young lads have a bad game thus far when introduced?
Sinnott,Connelly,Keane,McBrien,Molloy...all have looked decent when introduced and we're talking there debuts(or one/two games extra) here.

In virtually half a season we have picked up 7 points, it's that more too safety, do we keep the same players that picked up those points, pay them until the end of the season good wages, probably still go down and then take a few years to get back on our feet or do we clear most of the current squad out and blood next years players now while also reducing expenditure which could provide a quick return up(also introducing more Galway players could improve attendences a bit with family,friends etc..)......?

The only thing that would make me more inclined to keep the current squad is the League Cup, a Setanta Cup place next season should provide enough revenue to win the 1st Division, i suppose you'd have to look at the wages and projected revenue to determine that

Right now i'm going for the latter, let's take off our GUFC glasses and look at the picture as a neutral, what's to show we can make it out of this??. I think a quick return is now the main focus until something magical happens on the pitch, i'd rather we went down like Rovers or (to a lesser extent) Waterford this year then Longford or Shelbourne and have to re-build from scratch

That is the greatest load of horse manure ive ever read. You werent at the game so how do you know how the team played. For them to turn up and play after whats happened in the last few days was a minor miracle. There is lot of people hiding who should be ashamed of their part in the clubs behaviour over the last 4/5 weeks and should shoulder the blame for where we are now.

gilberto_eire
05/07/2008, 1:58 AM
That is the greatest load of horse manure ive ever read. You werent at the game so how do you know how the team played. For them to turn up and play after whats happened in the last few days was a minor miracle. There is lot of people hiding who should be ashamed of their part in the clubs behaviour over the last 4/5 weeks and should shoulder the blame for where we are now.

What are you on about ''for what has happened in the past few days'' players are leaving, it's not as if there playing after the death of a fellow player(thank god):rolleyes:

If you think we're getting out of this now with the better players of this bad squad going you have some faith because if i had to put money on a bet right now it would be we're gone, 1 win in half a season is'nt going to be anything else, i think we should be making steps to ensure IF we do go down we are in a position financially go come straight back up!

gordongekko
05/07/2008, 9:13 AM
i think we should be making steps to ensure IF we do go down we are in a position financially go come straight back up!

The club already have announced that they will be semi pro next year and that the budget will be 500000 less than this year so they are already preparing financially for next year but why just throw in the towel this year there is still a lot to play for?.

gg

WoodquayBoy
05/07/2008, 11:17 AM
The club already have announced that they will be semi pro next year and that the budget will be 500000 less than this year so they are already preparing financially for next year but why just throw in the towel this year there is still a lot to play for?.

gg
IMO, they are FINALLY being realistic with such an announcement. First we were aiming for top 4 this yesr, then top 6, then survival, have to question some of the people running our beloved club.
We have to get behind the team for Friday night, maybe promote the game as a jersey day and get people to bring a friend. Do we still have a Club PROMOTIONS Officer? Well why isn't he/she out promoting, I have heard little from him/her this year

GuisaSaigon
05/07/2008, 12:02 PM
The club may well have wanted him to go, and let him know this - but he wasnt forced - he could have simply stayed, despite what the club wanted

Yeah he could have stayed, but with the club saying they wouldn't pay him. He didin't have much choice. In the end he did what was right for his young family.
The club have messed up and accepted relegation without a fight. As CEO, Leeson has to accept responsibility. He went against the wishes of supporters on a long list of issues and cut out the heart of the club.
The club have stumbled from one PR disaster to another, many of these disasters would have been avoided but for the arrogance of the club. It's time they started listening to supporters again.:mad:

05/07/2008, 12:57 PM

gg

We dont usually agree but the club is simply rolling over because Nick doesn't give a continental about anyone elses opinion. His arrogance is destroying the club while his 2 henchmen hang on to his coatails and blindly go along.The time is now to bury the pda's and filofaxes and roll up the sleeves open their ears and work.We have a full time administration that is totally underused and given no direction. We could raise more money meeting in the changing room in the bentley than they are doing now.

The time for everyone to pull together is now but as long as the supporters and volunteers are treated with contempt by those in charge the chance of this happening grows less and less. Very sad days I was heartbroken last night for the fans and players who showed more pride and passion in our club than the people making the decisions that are tearing it apart.

05/07/2008, 4:01 PM
feel very sorry for deego last nite.. last season we also went two nil up in turners x against cork and guess wot the score was 3-2 to them.. and who played in that game deego.. it must have brought bad memories for him.. is deego definitely leavin ye in the transfer window???

Mr Maroon
05/07/2008, 6:34 PM
is deego definitely leavin ye in the transfer window???
It's not confirmed.

WoodquayBoy
05/07/2008, 6:55 PM
is deego definitely leavin ye in the transfer window???
Nothing is confirmed. Maybe others here know more than me, but for me a lot of people are relying on hearsay, tabloids and other internet fora. |If that is not the case, front up and say where the news is coming from

05/07/2008, 7:34 PM
not relying on any of the three just trusting people who have a love of the club and are really worried about the future. The club should have come out publicly and stated what is happening rather than leaving a vacum that is be being filled by rumours.

The total lack of respect for genuine supporters shown by the club is crazy but what did we expect.

05/07/2008, 8:06 PM
the story is, the club will listen to all offers for all of the players. Simple really :(

WoodquayBoy
05/07/2008, 8:25 PM
the story is, the club will listen to all offers for all of the players. Simple really :(
Yes, but doesn't mean anyone is gone. And it is ironic gufct having a go at the club for allowing rumours to fester, when he is one of the main ones here saying so-and-so is gone here, so-and-so is going there. Do you not see that gufct? I have a major gra for United, but I'm not going to start posting rumours about departures because someone else who loves the club told me he/she heard from someone who overheard someone say something to someone. That is just giving legs to rumours

05/07/2008, 8:37 PM
up in terryland this evening and I have to say everyone looked far more relaxed than they have over the past month or so, hopefully the negativity is starting to subside.

P.S. the A team won 1-0

geezer
05/07/2008, 9:56 PM
any chance a delegation of supporters can ask the current father,son and holy ghost on friday night to hold on to russler,glynn,keane and wes and maybe get alan murphs back to help bring his experiences at this level to help the younger players

05/07/2008, 10:05 PM
Yes, but doesn't mean anyone is gone. And it is ironic gufct having a go at the club for allowing rumours to fester, when he is one of the main ones here saying so-and-so is gone here, so-and-so is going there. Do you not see that gufct? I have a major gra for United, but I'm not going to start posting rumours about departures because someone else who loves the club told me he/she heard from someone who overheard someone say something to someone. That is just giving legs to rumours

its not rumours but ill let you away in your own little insulated world but dont come on preaching here when they are all gone.

geezer
05/07/2008, 10:10 PM
you can be sure that any utd player not from galway is making calls to see whats available elsewhere this weekend and you couldnt blame them. In fact as footballers i never rated well over 90% of agent cousins sons signings but to be fair have admired the way they have dealt with this crisis by swallowing tough medicine and getting on the bus to cork. In a strange way friday nights televised game might supply the window for them to showcase themselves and beating sligo would be a major boost for everyone

galwaygirl
05/07/2008, 10:56 PM

Yes he cud have stayed despite what the club wanted, but it was his love for the club that made him make the decision. In his own words yest to me "The Club needs the money and it's not often u get to pay a club back"

I wish him well and hope to see him back in Terryland in a maroon shirt someday

Mr Maroon
05/07/2008, 11:21 PM
I wish him well and hope to see him back in Terryland in a maroon shirt someday
Here here

DRDoc
06/07/2008, 1:59 AM
Yes he cud have stayed despite what the club wanted, but it was his love for the club that made him make the decision. In his own words yest to me "The Club needs the money and it's not often u get to pay a club back"

Im not saying he isnt a sound, decent guy - but at the end of the day if he didnt want to leave, if he didnt want to go to pats, if he didnt want to better himself at a big club - then he would have stayed

Yes he may be paying the club back, but if it didnt suit him, and he wanted to stay for whatever reasons, then its my opinion that he would have and could have stayed

06/07/2008, 8:23 AM
Im not saying he isnt a sound, decent guy - but at the end of the day if he didnt want to leave, if he didnt want to go to pats, if he didnt want to better himself at a big club - then he would have stayed

Yes he may be paying the club back, but if it didnt suit him, and he wanted to stay for whatever reasons, then its my opinion that he would have and could have stayed

If you knew the true pressure Derek was put under and what was going on at the club you would understand that Derek had to go to secure his family's future.

The club have that much respect for Derek they havent even posted the news on the website yet and thats not down to the people who look after it its down to one person.

Shiba
06/07/2008, 8:43 AM
Rumours that we're bidding for him.

Rate him highly from what Ive seen but just looking for some info.

Can he play on the right wing? Do ye think he'd do a job for us?

The can play football but there is no way he is a top 6 club player.We had a few years back he just plays in flash's.If he is the type player Mattehews is going to bring in ye are going bacckwards. That is my opinion anyway.

06/07/2008, 8:58 AM
typical sligwegian 3 days behind the news he signed for Pats Friday.

GuisaSaigon
06/07/2008, 11:21 AM
The can play football but there is no way he is a top 6 club player.We had a few years back he just plays in flash's.If he is the type player Mattehews is going to bring in ye are going bacckwards. That is my opinion anyway.

Have a look at this, Sligwegian. http://www.tolearnenglish.com/

Shiba
06/07/2008, 8:22 PM
Apologies for the grammer I know how well educated ye Galway fellas are! But It doesn't change my opinion on O'Brien.Just after watching Pats V Harps and there is no way he could fit into that team.Must be gone as ballboy. I am also sorry I am 3 days late but I was away on course for my job so did'nt see any news but I suppose I should have read the whole Thread before commenting. Again my Apologies but there will be no apologies Friday Night. ;)

What time is game at?

gilberto_eire
06/07/2008, 8:28 PM
Apologies for the grammer I know how well educated ye Galway fellas are! But It doesn't change my opinion on O'Brien.Just after watching Pats V Harps and there is no way he could fit into that team.Must be gone as ballboy. I am also sorry I am 3 days late but I was away on course for my job so did'nt see any news but I suppose I should have read the whole Thread before commenting. Again my Apologies but there will be no apologies Friday Night. ;)

What time is game at?

Must have been away for a few years so, because AFAIK only Rovers K/O at 8pm with all the other teams K/O at 7.45 :p

06/07/2008, 8:34 PM
It may surprise you but players dont peak at sligo! Derek has improved hand over hand since his desperate days playing for the sligs. You dont rate a player who derry, pats and cork were chasing? A player who got on the EL team of the year last year?

If your going to play poorly friday night, your right, theres no need to apologise.

Kick off is at 7.45.

Tir Oilean
06/07/2008, 8:47 PM

OK so I wasnt at the match but I listened to the commentary near the end on gbfm and both mike raftery and derek rodgers both said they battled well and IMO a team with so much disruption going on around it (nevermind lying at the bottom of the league) did very well to take on a team that is at the top end of the league and on a roll

WoodquayBoy
06/07/2008, 8:52 PM
its not rumours but ill let you away in your own little insulated world but dont come on preaching here when they are all gone.
I just wish you would stop your own brand of preaching, it is getting a little boring at this stage. Fine, you don't like the CEO and some members of the board. We get it. Were you on the disbanded management committee, because you sure come across as bitter.
I am not preaching, I am just saying time to stop stoking the rumour fires. You still haven't come out and said where you are getting the info that everyone is leaving, and where they are going to.
Lets all focus our energies on Friday night, promoting the game, trying to bring someone along with us, and stop bit.ching at each other.

WoodquayBoy
06/07/2008, 8:55 PM
The club have that much respect for Derek they havent even posted the news on the website yet and thats not down to the people who look after it its down to one person.
So who is at fault up in Dublin for not posting the news on the Pats website that he has signed for them?

06/07/2008, 9:35 PM
I just wish you would stop your own brand of preaching, it is getting a little boring at this stage. Fine, you don't like the CEO and some members of the board. We get it. Were you on the disbanded management committee, because you sure come across as bitter.
I am not preaching, I am just saying time to stop stoking the rumour fires. You still haven't come out and said where you are getting the info that everyone is leaving, and where they are going to.
Lets all focus our energies on Friday night, promoting the game, trying to bring someone along with us, and stop bit.ching at each other.

All right here we go as of yesterday Lester & Fitzgerald to Harps, Reggi to Drogheda, Deego to Rovers & Wes to Sporting Fingal. That might be the end of it but i wouldnt hold my breath. Jeff is meeting Nick and John Fallon tomorrow and there is a press conference scheduled for Wednesday when the white flag will be officialy unfurled.

The sad thing is we still have a chance to stay up Jeff and the players are battling hard against all the odds but you can only kick something so many times before it dies. Im not bitter im heartbroken that something i have worked for over 20 years to keep alive is being allowed die without a fight.

WoodquayBoy
06/07/2008, 10:04 PM
If those RUMOURS are true then yes, the white flag has been raised. I, like you, am disgusted with what is happening at my beloved club, and really, you have to ask who is running the show with regards to players, the manager (as it shouild be) or the CEO (as it probably is). But they are still rumours, and you haven't given a source, so (maybe stupidly) I'll wait until official word before I believe it.
If the players desert the sinking ship, then the ship will go down. Crazy to let them go, we are in the semi-finals of one cup competition, waiting to find out opponents in last 16 of the other (draw on Monday) and with Harps getting a pasting tonight, still 'only' 7 points off safety.
So who is going to shout 'STOP', and how will we be heard?

geezer
06/07/2008, 10:04 PM
closure? Gufct that post of yours really worries me it suggests that the club could be wound up but talking to others in the know the info they are getting is that the purge stops after the players mostly brought in by cousins are gone. Fitzy and lester shouldve been sent a long long time ago. I have heard infact the management committee is being re-instated this week.

Flano
06/07/2008, 10:06 PM
All right here we go as of yesterday Lester & Fitzgerald to Harps, Reggi to Drogheda, Deego to Rovers & Wes to Sporting Fingal. That might be the end of it but i wouldnt hold my breath. Jeff is meeting Nick and John Fallon tomorrow and there is a press conference scheduled for Wednesday when the white flag will be officialy unfurled.

The sad thing is we still have a chance to stay up Jeff and the players are battling hard against all the odds but you can only kick something so many times before it dies. Im not bitter im heartbroken that something i have worked for over 20 years to keep alive is being allowed die without a fight.

If what gufct says is true it can't get much worse - the whole club has been destroyed. Now there may be valid business reasons for the decisions the CEO and/or Board are taking but the least we deserve is to be told what's going on and the "real" reasons why.

Does anyone have the Mayor Padraic Conneely's number - maybe he can ask the straight questions and try get some straight answers. He's a supporter like the rest of us....and he won't take some of the bullsh*t that's been doing the rounds.

06/07/2008, 10:12 PM
dont know geezer do you expect anyone to know the way things are happening at the moment.Give me a call if you want ill tell you as much as I know. The management commitee might be reinstated but its no good if the club is being run as it is now. There has to be total transparency and accountabillity before any commitee is reinstated.

geezer
06/07/2008, 10:12 PM
he rarely misses a game to be fair to him, the roundabouts, the boat near lough atalia and sean mulvoy road are brimming with flowers in fact the city looks fab since he took his mayoral chain.

we need answers at least keep the life support on and give the supporters a chance to keep it alive. As i said before its one thing losing the queen her bank but i pray to god utd doesnt go the same way its one of the most important reasons i get up in the mornings

06/07/2008, 10:36 PM
Thats why i wake up to and have done every day ive been following them and im damned if ill give up for anyone. Jimmy Kelly will be turning in his grave.

eamo1
06/07/2008, 10:36 PM
Surely on Wednesday its not "IT" is it??Its so frustrating because as someone said we ARE only 7 points behind and im still convinced we can stay up,but with all those going its near impossible now.
I see Nick once a week where i work and plan to give him a piece of my dam mind next time i see him.Actually come to think of it he hasnt been around the last 2 weeks.

DRDoc
06/07/2008, 11:49 PM
If you knew the true pressure Derek was put under and what was going on at the club you would understand that Derek had to go to secure his family's future.

These two paragraphs seem contradictory

Surely if the club had so much respect for him they would not have "forced" him out of the club and put him under so much pressure?

At the end of the day he chose to leave the club, whatever the reasons he had, he didnt have to go anywhere

Mr Maroon
06/07/2008, 11:55 PM
Surely if the club had so much respect for him they would not have "forced" him out of the club and put him under so much pressure?

He was being sarcastic.

The club have that much respect for Derek they havent even posted the news on the website yet

Patrick Dunne
07/07/2008, 12:27 AM
Don't believe all what you read here, some of it is true, a lot of it is rubbish.

If any poster here has an issue with someone involved with the club, they should contact the individual directly. The phone number of the office is (091) 767336.

07/07/2008, 8:50 AM

But what alternative do the GUFC board currently have? They have to shed players as the club are on course for very large loss for the season, possibly one that could see GUFC fold. What's the alternative to offloading players to balance the books?

GuisaSaigon
07/07/2008, 9:32 AM
What's the alternative to offloading players to balance the books?
Heres a few, I'm sure others can add some more.
1.Tell the fans the truth about the current situation.
Last I heard from the club was that we weren't in major financial trouble. The main problem was getting below the wage cap, which the wage cut was supposed to solve. This was obviously a lie. If we were told the truth instead of the usual spin, the city and county might rally behind the club.
2. Promote the games.
Promotion of games has been non existent. Mistakes were made in the pricing of tickets at the start of the season, goodwill should be shown to the thousands of fans deterred from attending games by the price increases.
3. Representation for supporters at club level
GUST should be recognised by the club and given meaningful representation on the Board.
4. Give the players a chance
It seems like every couple of days the club drops another bombshell, usually right before games or after positive results. We have not been able to build any momentum because of this.
5. Fight to avoid relegation.
With our best players being offloaded we have no chance of avoiding relegation. Rebuilding the club would be a lot easier in The Premier Division. United fans need no reminder about how hard it can be to get out of the First Division without a good DVD.
6. Cut out unneeded extra expenses
How many more "Jimmy Norman" type payments are going on. Could cheaper training facilities be found, cheaper away game transport? A cheaper brand of apres-match Pizza?
7. Concentrate on increasing revenue streams.
Sell some player sponsors ffs
8. Get the Mayor to sort it out
An "At the Scene of the Crime" photo in The Advertiser featuring our new Mayor couldn't do any harm:rolleyes:

07/07/2008, 10:13 AM
In fairness most of those, while good in themselves, will do little if anything to stave of a major financial problem.

Perhaps the reason for my bemusement at so much of the discussion about what's going on at GUFC is that I have always presumed that this was a very major financial crisis- I think I read in one of the local papers that a loss of a quarter of a million appeared likley. The club seems to be sending very mixed messages, so what the actual situation is needs to be made clear- i.e. 'If we don't cut the squad we are likely to lose €x'.

07/07/2008, 11:47 AM
The chances of being told the truth Aidan are 2 Slim and f all. Its the total disregard for everyone involved in the club by the CEO and his henchmen who have gotten us in this mess but its going to take everyone working together to get us out of it.

People have to come clean with the fans and lets move on.

KBurke
07/07/2008, 2:55 PM
Heres a few, I'm sure others can add some more.
1.Tell the fans the truth about the current situation.
Last I heard from the club was that we weren't in major financial trouble. The main problem was getting below the wage cap, which the wage cut was supposed to solve. This was obviously a lie. If we were told the truth instead of the usual spin, the city and county might rally behind the club.
2. Promote the games.
Promotion of games has been non existent. Mistakes were made in the pricing of tickets at the start of the season, goodwill should be shown to the thousands of fans deterred from attending games by the price increases.
3. Representation for supporters at club level
GUST should be recognised by the club and given meaningful representation on the Board.
4. Give the players a chance
It seems like every couple of days the club drops another bombshell, usually right before games or after positive results. We have not been able to build any momentum because of this.
5. Fight to avoid relegation.
With our best players being offloaded we have no chance of avoiding relegation. Rebuilding the club would be a lot easier in The Premier Division. United fans need no reminder about how hard it can be to get out of the First Division without a good DVD.
6. Cut out unneeded extra expenses
How many more "Jimmy Norman" type payments are going on. Could cheaper training facilities be found, cheaper away game transport? A cheaper brand of apres-match Pizza?
7. Concentrate on increasing revenue streams.
Sell some player sponsors ffs
8. Get the Mayor to sort it out
An "At the Scene of the Crime" photo in The Advertiser featuring our new Mayor couldn't do any harm:rolleyes:

there ya go http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/events/mayor-calls-for-united-support.html