View Full Version : Pro Cycling (inc Tour de France) 2008

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

21/06/2008, 6:51 PM
After 20 years we could have another superstar on our hands.

21 year old Daniel martin has raced to the top of the GC in the Route de Sud ahead of world class performers.

He's Stephen Roche's nephew.

Phil Deignan is currently riding the Tour de Suisse and has been active with a few good stage placings. Himself and Nicholas Roche have been selected for the Olympic road race

22/06/2008, 10:17 AM
BTW none of our cyclists will bbe in this years Tour de France. Roche wa bing prepared for it but had a slightinjury before the Tour de Suisse, so got replaced. Deignan rode the Giro d'Italia and Slipstream are giving Martin a rest.

25/06/2008, 10:51 AM
After 20 years we could have another superstar on our hands.

21 year old Daniel martin has raced to the top of the GC in the Route de Sud ahead of world class performers.

He's Stephen Roche's nephew.

Phil Deignan is currently riding the Tour de Suisse and has been active with a few good stage placings. Himself and Nicholas Roche have been selected for the Olympic road race

Only just heard about Dan Martin winning the Route de Sud, as I was back in Ireland for the week, and heard nothing on the Irish media:rolleyes:

Some geezer from British Cycling was rhapsodising about him and was saying how he is a potential tour winner that they fear they let slip through their fingers because their focus at the time was so fixed on Track. Pity he isn't going to the Olympics, though he'll possibly be better served going to the worlds with Deignan instead - have they picked the team to go to the worlds yet?

25/06/2008, 5:18 PM
Not yet. Not until end of season so it;ll be based on rankings.

29/06/2008, 9:10 PM
Martin would the Irish road race championship this morning so iwll wear the natioal jersey for the rest of the season (and until this time next year)

03/07/2008, 8:10 AM
Will he wear it though - previous continental pro's haven't bothered....

See Rasmussen was banned for 2 years (from July last year), but won compensation from Rabobank over his dismissal.

Billsthoughts
03/07/2008, 9:07 AM
Anyone know who to look out for in the tour?

03/07/2008, 10:05 AM
Cadel Evans is the favourite (arguably beaten by others not willing to help him chase last year).

Valverde is coming off a win in the Dauphine, and Spanish national championship.

Menchov is always mentioned (but then always cracks one day). Sastre (and maybe one of the Schlek bros) from CSC and they're still talking about Cunego being a possible too.

Could be very open, as no team really looks capable of controlling the race. Could be a big mig style borefest win for Evans.

Aberdonian Stu
03/07/2008, 10:09 AM
When does it start?

EDIT: Ah I see it starts in Brest on Saturday.

Billsthoughts
03/07/2008, 1:25 PM
basque lad in work says Valverde is a great cyclist but never does it in tour. and he said two dutch lads on rabobank team are brilliant. altho one of them was dekker and I think he isnt in team. he said the two swiss brothers are supposed to be great the younger one being the better rider.
looking forward to my first sky plus tour.:D

03/07/2008, 2:08 PM
ITV4, highlights 7pm-8pm every night, live coverage on the Saturday and Sundays. The Gary Imlach - Phil Liggett - Paul Sherwen dream team...

Preview show this Friday actually I think

Real ale Madrid
03/07/2008, 4:47 PM
Fancy Juan Mauricio Soler myself e/w at a big price - 11th last year in his first tour and won the KOM. 40/1 with PP's i think.

03/07/2008, 5:39 PM
The Gary Imlach - Phil Liggett - Paul Sherwen dream team...

Probably the only presenting team wehre I wouldn't have aproblem with anyone, and actually like all 3.

Excelennt preview on Cycling News (http://www.cyclingnews.com/road/2008/tour08/)

According to his team website (http://www.slipstreamsports.com/2008/06/29/dan-martin-wins-irish-road-race-championships), Dan Martin will be wearing the jersey macy. This team is a good step up form the usual continental teams Irish cyclists have been on. In fairness the likes of Roche and Scanlon have worn it in the pro tour the last couple of years. (Roche in time trials)

04/07/2008, 8:23 AM
Great news about Martin. First I had even heard of him was in a recent cycling mag (ProCycling?) where they did a feature along the lines of "a week in the life of the Slipstream team" and they had a photo of Millar and Martin having a coffee after a long training ride.

I see Garmin has been added as a sponsor to the team so Martin is in a financially very strong team. I like them because I ride the same brand bike they use - Felt - though mine isn't a patch on the full carbon and top specced team bikes.

I've no idea who to back. I read that Valverde is now to be taken seriously as a time triallist as evidenced by his Dauphine win, suggesting he'll be far more competitive than in previous years. I can't take Evans seriously - I always see him as a nearly man - but is there anyone capable of punishing him this year? Which is the classic with the tough hill finish, Flesch Wallone? Evans was beaten by Andy Schleck I think.

Maybe this is Schleck's chance to prove his talent?

Can't wait. I love the ITV coverage and it's the only sport that Mrs. Stuttgart watches regularly on TV with me so there's no trading 60 mins football for Grey's Anatomy or whatever!

A mate in work is riding La Marmotte tomorrow. Respect.

04/07/2008, 8:27 AM
basque lad in work says Valverde is a great cyclist but never does it in tour. and he said two dutch lads on rabobank team are brilliant. altho one of them was dekker and I think he isnt in team. he said the two swiss brothers are supposed to be great the younger one being the better rider.

Gesink and Dekker are the quality Rabobank youth, but neither are in it, which is probably a good thing as there are no decent climbs for about 8 days, and the pace of the tour could kill them before they have a chance to shine.

Valverde looks like a good bet this year - the other big names are not in it, and he will certainly fancy his chances without them. Cunego has based his training for the year around the tour, so he's not to be discounted yet, especially if he goes well in the Pyrenees. Looks like Evans will be in the top five at least, hopefully not at the top, though he has actually won races for a change this year. I somehow think that internal battling in CSC could scupper Sastre's chances, but I'd love to see him do well.

In the mountains, keep an eye out for young Roman Kreutziger, the Czech, who has had a good season so far, and with some luck, the polka dots will be between himself and Soler.

Billsthoughts
06/07/2008, 7:23 PM
for some reason ya cant sky plus itv 4. damn. tg4 coverage is woeful. sounds like they are commentating from a cardboard box in a field on skellig island. eurosport ok but again commentry a bit dull.

07/07/2008, 11:46 AM
Not sure if there was a thread for this year's race so feck it may as well start it. Only tend to follow Le Tour and it involves for me a bit of a catch up from last year. First of all, how come the Tour isnt starting in another country as in previous years. And also on the Contador issue, why would he sign for a team (Astana) that's on dodgy ground after last year?

07/07/2008, 11:47 AM
Sorry can someone move this into the Pro Cycling thread? Just found discussion on le Tour there... ta!

07/07/2008, 2:18 PM
Obviously not at home to test it, but last night I'm sure they said that ITV will have live coverage everyday via the red button.

07/07/2008, 2:27 PM
Damnit - was back in Ireland the weekend, and didn't realise that it was on TG4.

07/07/2008, 2:53 PM
First of all, how come the Tour isnt starting in another country as in previous years.
It doesn't always, in in my memory I'd say more prologues have been in France than outside.

And also on the Contador issue, why would he sign for a team (Astana) that's on dodgy ground after last year?
In a word Bryneel. It's practically a Discovery takeover of Astana rather than the other way round.

monutdfc
07/07/2008, 2:58 PM
It alternates - every other year it starts in France, the next year it starts outside of France. Though I heard on the radio (cant remember what programme, so mightn't be 100% reliable) that it is hard to get countries to host the start now because of all the bad publicity, so that might have changed.

monutdfc
07/07/2008, 2:59 PM
ps I think it's worth a stand alone TdF thread separate to the Pro Cycling one, but that's the mods' call.

07/07/2008, 5:35 PM
I've merged them and retitled it. Not much for the thread outside of the Tour but might as well keep any Irish or other cycling news together

Its not a straigh 50/50 of starts inside France and outside. In fact its rarely outside France. They'll normally have at least 2 stage endings outside of France though (Spain, Italy, Belgiume etc) and AFAIK there are none this year

On the contador issue, as Macy pinted out this Astana team is totally different to last years with only the spnosor remaining. Lance Armstrong said that they were kept out because of the French "distrust" of him and Bruyneel

08/07/2008, 1:10 AM
IS dan Martin the future face of le tour (http://www.slipstreamsports.com/2008/07/04/the-future-face-of-le-tour)?

08/07/2008, 8:34 AM
It alternates - every other year it starts in France, the next year it starts outside of France.

Its not a straigh 50/50 of starts inside France and outside. In fact its rarely outside France. They'll normally have at least 2 stage endings outside of France though (Spain, Italy, Belgiume etc) and AFAIK there are none this year

It starts next year in Monaco, which is or isn't in France depending on your view. More often than not it is in France, and visits another country on the way (normally Spain, Italy or Belgium). I think when Roche won it in 1987 it started in Berlin, then was flown to France or Belgium. The ones starting outside France tend to get much media coverage, owing to the novelty. Apparently, there are moves in Japan to try and bring the Tour there, so much so that Preudhomme went out there. That would be a small degree of madness though, in my opinion, and will be unlikely prior to teleportation being widely available...

This year, one of the Alpine Stages ends at Prato Nevoso, and the next begins in Cuneo (after a rest day), both in Italy.

08/07/2008, 9:51 AM
I think someone here said before that Newstalk only interview Paul Kimmage to talk about drugs. They had an interview with him last night & I was prepared to time how long it would take to get to the subject but they beat me to it by raising in opening question. :rolleyes:

08/07/2008, 10:05 AM
I think someone here said before that Newstalk only interview Paul Kimmage to talk about drugs. They had an interview with him last night & I was prepared to time how long it would take to get to the subject but they beat me to it by raising in opening question. :rolleyes:
They're a joke when it comes to cycling. Plenty of unbitter, but releastic, guys they could interview but the rely on Kimmage and Walsh for the cycling...

08/07/2008, 1:26 PM
They're a joke when it comes to cycling. Plenty of unbitter, but releastic, guys they could interview but the rely on Kimmage and Walsh for the cycling...

You never hear that kind of questioning about football, rugby or swimming, despite cases in all of them. I think that, particularly with regards to football and rugby, a veil is drawn that may not be lifted. Cycling has at least attempted to tackle these things lately

It never gets raised as regards show jumping or horse racing either...

08/07/2008, 1:29 PM
You never hear that kind of questioning about football, rugby or swimming, despite cases in all of them. I think that, particularly with regards to football and rugby, a veil is drawn that may not be lifted. Cycling has at least attempted to tackle these things lately

It never gets raised as regards show jumping or horse racing either...
Off the ball basically get correspondents that confirm their own prejudices - there is no balance.

Billsthoughts
09/07/2008, 11:41 PM
what does anyone make of Cavendish? Ive seen a couple of interviews with him since the start of the tour bordering on the surreal. fair play to him on stage win anyways...real business starts tomorrow.

10/07/2008, 10:10 AM
what does anyone make of Cavendish? Ive seen a couple of interviews with him since the start of the tour bordering on the surreal. fair play to him on stage win anyways...real business starts tomorrow.

He's a good cyclist, and one of the better sprinters going, especially at the age of 23. However, I do not agree with the British Media that he is already the best in the world, though he potentially could become one. He clearly still has a good bit to learn, talented though he is, and he'd have to give up the track to become the best seeing as how racing has become so focussed these days - British Cycling won't allow that until they have a better track cyclist in the discipline (Madison) he can win golds in at the Olympics and Worlds, to be able to keep up with Wiggins (still the finest current British male cyclist in any discipline in my opinion).

Unfortunately, a combination of adulation from the British Media, and perhaps a little too much success too young has led to the development of an ego in the boy that would need to be eliminated. That silliness with Cipolini in the Tour of California was the action of a young pup. The likes of Kelly and Zabel, for all their misdemeanors, did not have this ego problem, and Freire strikes me as similarly level headed. The World and Olympic Champion Bettini, for all the silliness with the cycling shoes he designed, is similarly a very respectful type. It should be noted though that both Bettini and Zabel have regarded Cavendish with respect.

Anyway, we'll have a break from the Sprinters, as the real Tour kicks off today!

monutdfc
10/07/2008, 10:13 AM
Seán Kelly certainly praised him very highly on Eurosport yesterday

10/07/2008, 11:07 AM
I thought he comes across as alright. Everyone seems to agree he's the fastest, including himself, but the interview I saw he was very realistic. He was saying all the right things about it being about more than the last 200 metres, that it's too soon for him to think about the green jersey as he hasn't the stamina, that it's the team as much as him. Confident in his own ability is what I would call it.

Kelly was always my favourite, but he was never really just an out and out sprinter. I don't think there is such a thing as the best cyclist in the world, as too many different skills within the peleton. (Although having said all that, Kelly wasn't far off it in his day, time in PDM or not).

10/07/2008, 11:39 AM
I thought he comes across as alright. Everyone seems to agree he's the fastest, including himself, but the interview I saw he was very realistic. He was saying all the right things about it being about more than the last 200 metres, that it's too soon for him to think about the green jersey as he hasn't the stamina, that it's the team as much as him. Confident in his own ability is what I would call it.

Kelly was always my favourite, but he was never really just an out and out sprinter. I don't think there is such a thing as the best cyclist in the world, as too many different skills within the peleton. (Although having said all that, Kelly wasn't far off it in his day, time in PDM or not).

Still haven't seen the interview - what was it on? Eurosport?

10/07/2008, 12:40 PM
Still haven't seen the interview - what was it on? Eurosport?
Haven't seen the Eurosport one, the one I saw was on ITV in their preview show.

10/07/2008, 9:08 PM

Dunno if newstalk release all their stuff on podcast but Kellyw as interviewed the other night on off the ball. Obviously went down the drugs angle but Kelly answered every question as he's heard them all 1,000 times.

Anyway one of the points Kelly made was that cycling had changed since his days. Kelly could sprint, climb, do the big tours, do the classics and "time trial when I had to". He made the point now that its all very specialised. He didn't mention him by name but obviously Armstrong's complete focus on the Tour is the most obvious example. Even Bettini mentioned above is basically a classics rider (and a sensational one at that) rather than a sprinter.

On Cavendish, he looks the real deal to me. Of the likely green jersey winners this year, none are really, really quick in the finish. Obviously he needs to learn the tactics of sprinting a bit more but that will come.

Shaping up to be a cracking tour. Really wide open and, funnily enough, it could be one by a decent all rounder rather than the archetypal "grand tour" type. It'd be great to see someone like Kim Kirchen win yellow and green. Still, loads of big hills to come

Billsthoughts
11/07/2008, 8:33 AM
Shaping up to be a cracking tour. Really wide open and, funnily enough, it could be one by a decent all rounder rather than the archetypal "grand tour" type. It'd be great to see someone like Kim Kirchen win yellow and green. Still, loads of big hills to come

Yeah its looking like a great one.
All the big names involved yesterday but we've seen before people haveing good days followed by a shocker in the mountains.

11/07/2008, 8:41 AM
lol at www.cyclingnews.com...

On the whole, though, the atmosphere in the press room has been worlds away from the cynical, rabid, Robespierrian fervor of last year. Soon we'll be logging on to Youtube, wistfully reliving those press conferences where Michael Rasmussen looked one nasty question away from bursting into tears. We'll be pining for Alex Vinokourov and his blood transfusions. But for now we're just fine. Even Paul Kimmage seems to be enjoying himself

11/07/2008, 11:02 PM
Looks like I, and cyclingnews, spoke too soon. Beltran the first positive of the tour, for epo after the first stage. The other positive about the case, is that at 37, he's definitely old school.

14/07/2008, 3:33 PM
Great stage today by the looks of the updates, if anyone was thinking of giving the highlights a miss!

14/07/2008, 5:12 PM
Great stage today by the looks of the updates, if anyone was thinking of giving the highlights a miss!

Was watching on Eurosport via JustinTV to the bottom of the Hautacamp, and had to go to a meeting - just read the updates on getting in - sounded as good as the third or fourth last Giro stage this year - the really great one. Anyone any clue where I might be able to watch the highlights online tomorrow morning while pretending to be working?

14/07/2008, 7:48 PM
BTW for those who can access it, TG4 stream it live

15/07/2008, 8:05 AM
Anyone any clue where I might be able to watch the highlights online tomorrow morning while pretending to be working?
It's blocked in work, but cyclingnews.com are advertising highlights - no idea whether it's any good. Try ITV as well. No broadband at home, and everything's locked down in work...

Billsthoughts
15/07/2008, 9:56 PM
yesterdays stage nearly got me fired...as i spent most of afternoon hitting the canteen with the flat screen for ever more spurious reasons...great stage tho.

15/07/2008, 10:12 PM
yesterdays stage nearly got me fired...as i spent most of afternoon hitting the canteen with the flat screen for ever more spurious reasons...great stage tho.

****!!!! Forgot we had a tv in the canteen...

TheBoss
15/07/2008, 11:03 PM
New Station: Eurosport HD - Ch 412 on Sky: Should be great to watch it in HD.

From my observations and maybe you lot too, I think Ricco looks quite comfortable when he was with Menchov, Evans, Sastre etc. Also with Peipoli and Cobo looking strong on Monday and previous stage, Saunier Duval look to best team in the mountains and I think that help Ricco to gain some time before the dreaded 2 time trials.

16/07/2008, 12:31 AM
From my observations and maybe you lot too, I think Ricco looks quite comfortable when he was with Menchov, Evans, Sastre etc. Also with Peipoli and Cobo looking strong on Monday and previous stage, Saunier Duval look to best team in the mountains and I think that help Ricco to gain some time before the dreaded 2 time trials.

Ricco was ridiculously comfortable in the Pyranees but he has stated he "knows" he can't win the tour this year. He said on Monday that he would do everything for Piepoli to win that day, and sure enough...

However in the short time trial he lost 3 minutes so who knows what he'll lose on the longer TT

Billsthoughts
16/07/2008, 10:49 AM
another positive doping test today...Moisés Dueñas (I think.)

16/07/2008, 11:56 AM
another positive doping test today...Moisés Dueñas (I think.)

Young guy this time, only 27. He's also Spanish, so the toungues will wag, especially seeing as how Operacion Puerto was handled by Spanish authorities.

One guy on another site (can't remember which one) suggests that its a little suss that there haven't been a few more caught, and implied a cover up.

Meanwhile, apparently an Irish guy, David McCann, is second in the Tour of Qinghai Lake. Anyone here heard of him before?