View Full Version : eircom League in Europe - 2008

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

swinfordfc
18/06/2008, 11:29 AM
Lads,

with Bohs starting out in the intertobob cup on saturday - how are we fix in the co-efficient and does points being handed out with this game on saturday?

18/06/2008, 11:35 AM
There are no points for InterToto games. If Bohs were to 'win' the InterToto, their subsequent UEFA Cup games would be elligible for points.

There's a thread in here somewhere about seedings that has co-efficient information.

swinfordfc
18/06/2008, 12:31 PM
There are no points for InterToto games. If Bohs were to 'win' the InterToto, their subsequent UEFA Cup games would be elligible for points.

There's a thread in here somewhere about seedings that has co-efficient information.

Can you bring that page up here Schumi please!

LeixlipRed
18/06/2008, 1:29 PM
Use the search function.

swinfordfc
18/06/2008, 3:14 PM
Ok we are ranked 35th placed country out of 53 - and we lose 0.333 from 5 years ago - surely we can get more than that this year - maybe a full 1.0 point? :eek:

kevincronin2000
18/06/2008, 5:49 PM
It will be difficult this year with city and pats both unseeded they could face some tricky ties like man city or brondby. It could be up to Drogs to add to the co-efficent

18/06/2008, 8:34 PM
It will be difficult this year with city and pats both unseeded they could face some tricky ties like man city or brondby. It could be up to Drogs to add to the co-efficent
On the other hand could get a team seeded just above them which they could beat. Lots of teams there are beatable, it's all down to the draw. Number of beatable teams in the next round too.

Drogs should make it into second round, looks very tough after that.

bigmac
19/06/2008, 8:19 AM
Here (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=90375) is the thread - probably best to keep it all in there.

swinfordfc
24/06/2008, 10:05 AM
So with Bohs into the second round (surely) what are their chances against the Iceland team? whatever they call :D

pateen
24/06/2008, 10:34 AM
A general discussion thread about EL teams in Europe.

The UEFA cup and Champions league draw takes place on the 01 July which more than likely means a trip for Cork City, Drogheda and St Pats to eastern or southern Europe.
Obviously hoping for a good draw for Cork City but for the other teams too. English opposition in the third round UEFA cup would be great for an EL team, providing they get to the third round.
German or English draws would also be huge money spinners in terms of TV rights.

A trip to Luxembourg, Malta, Faros, Wales, or the Balkans would be fine logistically. It’s the nightmare journeys for the team and fans to places like Georgia, Azerbaijan, and Kazakhstan.

Congrats too, to Bohs. 5 – 1 on Saturday night. Let’s hope ye can do the same this weekend and carry that momentum into the next round.

24/06/2008, 10:36 AM
So with Bohs into the second round (surely) what are their chances against the Iceland team? whatever they call :D

Fylkir. They should win their tie now as they have two away goals. Bohs have a good chance of beating them especially as Bohs are playing away first.

If they get to the third round they'll play either Elfsborg of Sweden or Hibs. I think Elfsborg could surprise Hibs and their extra match fitness could prove decisive in that tie.

Elfsborg are useful enough but their results in the last year and half have been up and down. Linfield tested them last year in the Champions League qualifiers. If I remember correctly Linfield nearly got a late away goal that would have sent them through to the next round.

All in all, I think Bohs have a reasonable chance of getting into the UEFA Cup proper.

Duggie
24/06/2008, 10:37 AM

should beat the eskimoes. cant be losing to icelandic teams these days.

Duggie
24/06/2008, 10:48 AM
cork city are best suited to european football i think. hope bohs beat rhyl again to compound the result. looking forward to the draws.

HolylandsMan
24/06/2008, 10:51 AM
The UEFA cup and Champions league draw takes place on the 01 July which more than likely means a trip for Cork City, Drogheda and St Pats to eastern or southern Europe.

Is the UEFA Cup not drawn on a regional basis in the early rounds?

24/06/2008, 10:58 AM
Is the UEFA Cup not drawn on a regional basis in the early rounds?

It is.

Duggie
24/06/2008, 11:04 AM
when you look back to what shels achieved a few years ago - might be a while before we get that close again.

Ambaiste!
24/06/2008, 11:05 AM
It is.

Correct - City and Pats are likely to be facing Baltic or Scandinavian teams in the first round. Not too sure about Drogheda but I'd imagine they face a similar situation.

24/06/2008, 11:07 AM
Correct - City and Pats are likely to be facing Baltic or Scandinavian teams in the first round. Not too sure about Drogheda but I'd imagine they face a similar situation.

Drogheda could be anywhere in Europe - the CL is an open draw from the start.

Danny
24/06/2008, 11:11 AM
this is who pats/cork can play

Seeded teams coef.
Manchester City Eng 30.996
FC København Den 23.748
Brøndby IF Den 18.748
Viking Stavanger Nor 12.400
FC Midtjylland Den 6.748
FC Nordsjælland Den 6.748
Djurgårdens IF Swe 6.518
Kalmar FF Swe 4.518
Haka Valkeakoski Fin 3.176
Honka Espoo Fin 3.176
FH Hafnarfjardar Isl 2.980
Metalurgs Liepaja Lat 2.915
JFK Olimps Riga Lat 2.915
Suduva Marijampole Lit 2.640

24/06/2008, 11:13 AM
JC had a post here (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=960473&postcount=43) with all the possible teams that can be drawn.

24/06/2008, 11:13 AM

Seeded teams coef.
FC København Den 23.748
Brøndby IF Den 18.748
FC Midtjylland Den 6.748
Djurgårdens IF Swe 6.518
Kalmar FF Swe 4.518
Honka Espoo Fin 3.176

Finland, Iceland, Latvia and Lithuania should be beatable. Sweden wouldn't be too bad either.

Duggie
24/06/2008, 11:16 AM
iceland would be best id say, then finland

LeixlipRed
24/06/2008, 11:45 AM
should beat the eskimoes. cant be losing to icelandic teams these days.

Collective shuddering among the "eskimo" population of Iceland there.

CuanaD
24/06/2008, 11:49 AM
JC had a post here (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=960473&postcount=43) with all the possible teams that can be drawn.
That really shows the difference between being seeded & unseeded - Drogs look like they should pick up a win & draw at least against most of those 1st round teams
where as Pats & Cork could both do well to get a draw each if they came up against ManCity/Brondby/Copenhagen & will have to hope to both get Finland/Iceland/Lat/Lit to have realistic hopes of progression (IMO)

Fingers crossed for the draw:ball:

CuanaD
24/06/2008, 11:53 AM
BTW, should this thread be 'stickied' ?
- we can use it to discuss all eLoI involvement in Europe for the duration of (our involvement)

Duggie
24/06/2008, 12:26 PM
Collective shuddering among the "eskimo" population of Iceland there.

i do love bjork if that helps ? always did

pateen
24/06/2008, 2:49 PM

Seeded teams coef.
FC København Den 23.748
Brøndby IF Den 18.748
FC Midtjylland Den 6.748
Djurgårdens IF Swe 6.518
Kalmar FF Swe 4.518
Honka Espoo Fin 3.176

Ah didnt get this much info. Think it would be nice to avoid Eng/Den/Swe in the first round at least. Man City/portsmouth, Villa (via intertoto) etc would be class to get in the 2nd or last round

Celdrog
24/06/2008, 6:08 PM
Can't see any loi team achieving what Shaels did a few years back. I doubt city will get further than the second roundNor Drogs

Candystripe
24/06/2008, 7:44 PM
when you look back to what shels achieved a few years ago - might be a while before we get that close again.

Ummmmmmmm. IFKGoteborg 0 Derry City 1

Derry City 1 IFK Goteborg 0

Gretna 1 Derry City 5

Derry City2 Gretna 2

Derry City 0 PSG 0

psg 2 Derry City 0

24/06/2008, 7:56 PM
Who I want City to get. Balancing travel with chances of progression.

Travel: Ideal
Progression: Very little chance

FC København Den 23.748
Travel: Ok
Progression: Unlikely

Brøndby IF Den 18.748
Progression: Unlikely

Progression: Tough

FC Midtjylland Den 6.748

Djurgårdens IF Swe 6.518
Travel: No thanks, Sick of Sweden
Progression: Tough-no element of surprise

Kalmar FF Swe 4.518
Travel: No thanks

Travel:Ok
Progression: Good

Honka Espoo Fin 3.176
Progression: Good

Travel: Disaster
Progression: V. Good

Travel:Yes please

Ranking:
1) Riga
2) Metalurgs
3/4)Finland(either team)
5)Iceland :(
6) Norway
7)Kalmar
8) Djurgarden
9/10) Nordsjælland/FC Midtjylland
11) Man City
12/13) Copenhagen/Brondby

24/06/2008, 8:10 PM
cork city are best suited to european football i think.

Not anymore I don't think.
I could see City losing any of their possible first ties. Even the Lithuanians would probably play a better possession game than us.
Pats and Drogs I reckon should do well while Bohs have a pretty easy path.

24/06/2008, 8:22 PM
Its the first season I've been very nervous before Europe. Wouldn't guarantee we'd beat anyone and a few of those teams could hammer us.

pateen
25/06/2008, 10:39 AM
Does anyone have the league schedule of these countries.
Winter league teams would be easier to challange than summer teams for obvious reasons.
As far as I remember Finland play a summer season?

CuanaD
25/06/2008, 10:42 AM
Ummmmmmmm. IFKGoteborg 0 Derry City 1

Derry City 1 IFK Goteborg 0

Gretna 1 Derry City 5

Derry City2 Gretna 2

Derry City 0 PSG 0

psg 2 Derry City 0
Thats just what I was thinking!

We've now had 4 years in a row of decent results in Europe (I know last year was the worst of the 4, but that was expected after the implosion of Shels), our rankings have consistently improved, but some people still haven't noticed:rolleyes:

Sure, when one of our teams does make that breakthrough into the group stages I'm sure it will be not enough for many begrudgers - if it is the UEFA groups they will belittle the competition, if it's the CL they will jump on ANY bad result to say that we shouldn't be there.
Whatever! (as my kids say)

25/06/2008, 10:50 AM
Thats just what I was thinking!

We've now had 4 years in a row of decent results in Europe (I know last year was the worst of the 4, but that was expected after the implosion of Shels), our rankings have consistently improved, but some people still haven't noticed:rolleyes:

Sure, when one of our teams does make that breakthrough into the group stages I'm sure it will be not enough for many begrudgers - if it is the UEFA groups they will belittle the competition, if it's the CL they will jump on ANY bad result to say that we shouldn't be there.
Whatever! (as my kids say)

The main problem has been that the best results havnt been against teams they know.

Take the examples of when we have gotten well known teams.

Derry managed to take their season ticket holders to 1600ish because of PSG, Shels got 25k agaisnt deportivo and we sold out the red-star game in 6 hours.

Are they coming back after the one game? No. But if you made the group stages and had 3 games at home against recognisable teams maybe you'd have a better shot. If they got into the habit of going to games regularly even for a few weeks they might come back rather than it just being a once off

TheBoss
25/06/2008, 1:48 PM
Does anyone have the league schedule of these countries.
Winter league teams would be easier to challange than summer teams for obvious reasons.
As far as I remember Finland play a summer season?

Only Danish teams and Man City play Winter Football in the list you can play.

bigmac
25/06/2008, 2:51 PM
Bohs have a pretty easy path.

I agree - from the coefficient point of view though, it could be a disaster if they were to make it to the UEFA Cup proper - the sum of our coefficient points would then be divided by 4 instead of by 3. Given that the Intertoto Cup teams go into the 2nd qualifying round, it'd mean that our points could well take a big hit.
However, Bohs beating Hibs in the final round of the competition would arguably do more for the public perception of the league than all the EL teams winning their first round ties.

28/06/2008, 3:31 PM
Who do Bohs play in the next round of the Intertoto?

niallsparky
28/06/2008, 3:39 PM
Either Flykir of Iceland or Riga of Latvia. Probably Flykir because they won 2-1 away in the 1st leg. Bohs won 4-2 away today.

28/06/2008, 3:45 PM
Either Flykir of Iceland or Riga of Latvia. Probably Flykir because they won 2-1 away in the 1st leg. Bohs won 4-2 away today.

You should get past an Icelandic team. Is it Hibs or some Swedish team after that then?

HarpoJoyce
28/06/2008, 7:07 PM
You should get past an Icelandic team. Is it Hibs or some Swedish team after that then?

Holidaysong, I realise you were highlighting the 'Should' yourself but then you quickly breezed on to the next round opponents. But I would like to ask you when was the last time an LoI side beat an Icelandic League side in a UEFA game over 90 minutes, I can think of two drawn legs and a double defeat.

This 'The League Expects' attitude from some LoI supporters is getting tiresome 'cos the side in Europe will never win, there will always be one more thing they could have done to prevent defeat. Perhaps not yourself HS, but in the past this has lead to abuse of fans.

TheBoss
28/06/2008, 9:03 PM
Record v Iceland:

OVERALL: Pld:10, W:4, D:2, L:4, F:16, A:11
HOME: Pld:5, W:2, D:1, L:2, F:8, A:4
AWAY: Pld:5, W:2, D:1, L:2, F:8, A:7

28/06/2008, 9:43 PM
Holidaysong, I realise you were highlighting the 'Should' yourself but then you quickly breezed on to the next round opponents. But I would like to ask you when was the last time an LoI side beat an Icelandic League side in a UEFA game over 90 minutes, I can think of two drawn legs and a double defeat.

This 'The League Expects' attitude from some LoI supporters is getting tiresome 'cos the side in Europe will never win, there will always be one more thing they could have done to prevent defeat. Perhaps not yourself HS, but in the past this has lead to abuse of fans.

I know it wasnt Uefa but we beat Valur quite easily last year(played shocking in the second leg but it was over really).

They went on to win the league that season ahead of the crowd Bohs will be playing.

They were shocking. Id be very surprised if Bohs lost tbh.

higgins
29/06/2008, 2:39 PM
I fancy Riga to get a good result today.

29/06/2008, 6:02 PM
I fancy Riga to get a good result today.

how did that match finish does anyone know???

29/06/2008, 6:34 PM
how did that match finish does anyone know???

Riga won 2-0

Colbert Report
29/06/2008, 6:50 PM
Sorry if this is in the wrong thread. I don't follow the Eircom League at all.

My question is, who qualified from Ireland for the Champions League? What stage of the qualifiers do they go in at? Who, when and where do they play their first two matches?

Thanks very much, and please excuse my ignorance. I live in North America.

Stato
29/06/2008, 7:29 PM
Drogheda United qualified as league champions, they'll enter the draw as a seeded team in the first qualifying round and they'll play their home match at Dalymount Park, home of Bohemian FC, as their own ground doesn't have a UEFA Licence. The location of the away match depends on who they get in the draw on Tuesday morning.

Colbert Report
29/06/2008, 7:44 PM
Thanks very much. When will the games be played? Last week of July like?

Stato
29/06/2008, 9:15 PM
First qualifying round, first leg matches are scheduled for 15th and 16th July, second leg a week later.