View Full Version : 21 Years Ago Today - Where Were You?
Manc Irish Wolf
12/06/2008, 3:02 PM
Ten years of age, kitted in my green shirt, crowded round a screen with all my family at my Grandad's in Coventry. I remember my old lady terrified that the deafening roar which followed Houghton's Goal would have us lynched by the neighbours. Although my Grandad, a proud Mayoman and fervent Irishman, had never looked prouder at our reaction to the goal against the country of our bith.
Blood was spilt on the streets & playgrounds in the weeks after, having hearlded our victory so much in the face of my fellow english neighbours. It toughened the soul and there was no going back.
That match was the start of something beautiful.
12/06/2008, 3:03 PM
I was 15 and was out in the shed weltering my drumkit -probably to a Sex Pistols or Deep Purple tape -when my bro stuck his head out the door and told me to shut the fcuk up 'the match has started.
I extracted myself from behind the kit, the shower rails and old curtains contraption that acted as volume dampeners that surrounded it, the wall of tacked up carpets that lay beyond and finally the shed itself and arrived into the TV room just as the cross came in. Cue mayhem.
macdermesser
12/06/2008, 3:21 PM
okqR2zEIJHY
radio commentary captures the moment ... and the roar at the end.
funny how a lot of people ran out of the house that day after the goal or after the final whistle .. I did the same. had to be let all out!
Éire Óg
12/06/2008, 3:27 PM
10min highlights... Enjoy!
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/euro_2008/7429395.stm
In the Archway Tavern North London, chaos and believe it or not a lock in was required as pubs used to close on Sundays during the day back then,
Bloody hell, thats where I was too !!!!! Was over visiting my 2 brothers and sister with my mam and dad, so the brothers brought Dad and I down there to watch the match as it was their local at the time (the only place that would cash the cheques for them). mad. I was only 11 at the time but still got drunk !!! :D
Drumcondra 69er
12/06/2008, 3:49 PM
An uncle of mine wrote a play about the Euro 88 experience tying it in with the whole emigration thing that was on-going in Ireland in the 80's. It was called 'In High Germany', if there's ever a production of it on anywhere neor you I'd recommend it, It's excellent. It was on the box years ago, think I have it on tape somewhere at home....
http://irishplayography.com/search/play.asp?play_id=278
He used to be on the arts council in the 80's and arrange readings and the like in cities when we were playing away so he could arrange a grant for himself to get to the matches on government money, nice touch! ;)
12/06/2008, 6:32 PM
I would have guessed that to be honest. /
prince20
12/06/2008, 6:47 PM
Did anyone ever hear of the "Singer" Brendan Shine.He had a pub in Athlone and thats where we were.Though only 17 years of age we could get served alcohol and this was one of the first(if not the first time) I got intoxicated so any time im now hungover I think back to Ray Houghtons goal and blame him for my drinking habits!!!!!!!!!!!!(I told him this story when I met him in later life and it raised a laugh)
On a different note I read in The Daily Tar today that the goal was scored at 306pm,my memory tells me it was 236pm...can anybody please confirm?cheers
kingdomkerry
12/06/2008, 6:51 PM
5 and no recolliction whatsoever :( I can remember Italy 2 years later like it was yesterday. Guess it cant get any better beating England in the first ever game in a major tournament.
graham_d
12/06/2008, 8:01 PM
10min highlights... Enjoy!
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/euro_2008/7429395.stm
Anyone able to download this? I can only stream it - I suppose it's only available during the Euros...
SuperDub
12/06/2008, 8:20 PM
I watched it with my dad. I was in the middle of the leaving cert and remember the two of us dancing around the house when houghton scored
Noelys Guitar
12/06/2008, 9:01 PM
Right behind the goal. Just along from the guy with the drum (believe he was from Bray). Just a fantastic day. Never to be forgotten. In Dublin's fair city never sounded so good.
The Legend
12/06/2008, 9:03 PM
at 12 yrs old, i got in trouble after running out of the room and screaming a 3 minute barage of something along the lines "take that u fing mother fing beeeeepp"
High up behind the goal which Ray scored in. A fantastic day. I found a tape of the game recently amongst my late dad's stuff. Was planning to watch it today again - the Euros aren't the same without the tans getting beaten - but the car broke down and had to hang around for the AA. :mad: I'll watch it again tomorrow.
12/06/2008, 10:03 PM
Ten years of age, kitted in my green shirt, crowded round a screen with all my family at my Grandad's in Coventry.
Sounds kinda familiar. My body was in Watford but the rest of me was in heaven! And the [English] neighbours' insults all just waaashed over me afterwards...
:D PP
stojkovic
12/06/2008, 10:04 PM
The reaction of the Germans afterwards was fantastic too. We were cold shouldered before the game but had little old ladies shaking our hands afterwards, "Thank you thank you so much for beating England".
Yeah I was behind the goal to the left (where Houghton ran to when he scored).
The Germans treated us like lepers (English) from Friday to the Sunday before the game. After the game they lined the streets and cheered as coach loads of Irish fans drove by.
Another memory I have was in Hanover before we played USSR and about 1000 fans crammed into the only bar that had a tv to watch Holland-England. The bar was designed to seat about 100. The only barmaid couldnt cope and closed the bar. Everyone got trays of cans for like 20c a can and drank them in the pub watching van Basten. The Germans walking by were astounded but also amused.
PS Someone mentioned Hoddle. I couldnt believe that Robson picked Webb, Waddle and Sansom instead of Hoddle, Trevor Steven and Pearce. Honestly I KNEW we would win.
theworm2345
12/06/2008, 10:40 PM
http://www.shareonall.com/Euro_1988_Grp_B_-_England_v_Ireland_-_Chinese_Comm_-_12_Jun_1988_rwbv_rar.htm
Full Match, RMVB form for those of us who weren't yet born when it happened
credit to original uploader
Greenforever
12/06/2008, 11:01 PM
Wishing Well blackrock, the wife was babysitting our eldest, other one not born till following year, what a night fell out of some club very late wearing a tshirt 1-0 Houghton, on one side and We beat the brits on the other! Paid a £5 for it, in those days a fortune but it was worth it:D
billybunter
13/06/2008, 12:16 AM
up behind the goal as well. Will never forget it. Had the pleasure of inter-railing (route took us from Dover to Ostend where we were part of about 150 paddies, and there must have been about 600 english. they were hateful, nasty bas**rds, and that made the win all the more sweet. Greatest day of my life. I will never forget the sight of the ball sailing over Shilton - seemed to hang in the air, and then the net just gave that beautiful ripple. ****n magic. Will we ever have it again?
theworm2345
13/06/2008, 2:04 AM
Tommy Smyth talked about the goal today on the ESPN broadcast, but did not mention that today was the anniversary (at least not in this part, I missed most the rest of it). I've emailed him to see if he knew.
http://www.shareonall.com/Tommy_Smyth_on_Razor_bofk_avi.htm
Also don't forget yesterday was the day Sheedy scored against them in 1990
Anyone able to download this? I can only stream it - I suppose it's only available during the Euros...
Fred54 posted them on my request
http://www.shareonall.com/Euro88.England.V.Republic.Ireland.12.07.88.MotD.hi ghlights.f54_bwhw_avi.htm
EastTerracer
13/06/2008, 2:47 AM
It was the day before my leaving cert Irish exam. I remember the day that Gary Mackay scored against Bulgaria I begged my father to allow me to defer the exams so I could go to Germany - he wouldn't let me. My older brother (RIP) went though and I will never forget the feeling when we won that game. When the Irish exam came along the next day I think I wrote an essay about the match despite the fact that it had no relevance to the question.
For all of us on this forum who had been going to games for years (since 1977 in my case) this was a moment that we had all dreamed of but couldn't quite believe when it happened. It's one of the defining moments in my life (sad but true) alongside the penalties in Genoa and Trigger's goal against Holland.
13/06/2008, 6:52 AM
It's one of the defining moments in my life (sad but true) alongside the penalties in Genoa and Trigger's goal against Holland.
(1) Gary Mackay's goal - I will never equal the excitement of that result. 30+ years of waiting, hoping, disappointment, despair (2) Ray Houghton's goal against England. (3) Alan McLoughlin's goal against Norn Iron. (4) Jason McAteer's goal against Holland. (5) Robbie's goal against Germany. (6) Ray's goal against the Italians in USA.
13/06/2008, 7:33 AM
Did anyone ever hear of the "Singer" Brendan Shine.He had a pub in Athlone and thats where we were.Though only 17 years of age we could get served alcohol and this was one of the first(if not the first time) I got intoxicated so any time im now hungover I think back to Ray Houghtons goal and blame him for my drinking habits!!!!!!!!!!!!(I told him this story when I met him in later life and it raised a laugh)
On a different note I read in The Daily Tar today that the goal was scored at 306pm,my memory tells me it was 236pm...can anybody please confirm?cheers
Your memory is 100% correct 2.36pm Irish time 3.36pm local time.
smasher
13/06/2008, 8:27 AM
Cant believe the response, great to relive the memories . I was living in London at the time (1988) and went down to The Swan, Stockwell the night Gary McKay scored to put us through but came home to Carrick for finals, especially the England game . What a holiday , loads of beer etc.
Ronnie
13/06/2008, 10:03 AM
At home in Longford, hitched back to Dublin aftre game and took about 10 seconds to get a lift. The following day down in the newsagents people buying 6 and 7 papers - I don't think there were any Irish tabloids so everyone wanted to read the main three English ones to see what they were saying. Also, pubs in Ireland closed back then for holy hour but every place was jammed and cops turned a blind eye. Going to work that Monday was a great feeling, the positive vibe around the place was amazing. Also know of an old man hard core GAA, anti english, anti soccer and his one and only game of soccer he ever watched was that game!
Battery Rover
13/06/2008, 10:13 AM
I was lucky enough to be in the Neckarstadion Stuttgart behind the goal.
I remember the trip from where we were staying in Heidelburg to Stuttgart and the seas of green flags waving from cars as we travelled along the motorway.
After the goal all I can remember is praying that we would hold out for the win. On the way back to the hotel I recall people on the side of roads waving irish flags and applauding all the irish fans as they passed in cars and buses
I dont recall having to pay for a beer for a week after with everyone coming up shaking hands and giving you beer and the difference at the match against Russia where the police were all in normal uniform shaking peoples hands welcoming the Irish to the game.
One of my greatest ever sporting memorys along with Athlone vs Milan and us winning the league for the first time. It is the though one that still brings tears to my eyes when I think about it
13/06/2008, 11:21 AM
Also know of an old man hard core GAA, anti english, anti soccer and his one and only game of soccer he ever watched was that game!
what did he make of that results then?! :D I remember later in life hearing robson say he didnt realise how much it meant to ireland, country and team, to beat England.
just a few things to note from teh BBC clip:
Houghtons image in my mind is always the same ( a bit like quinns ) getting into positions, good ones at that, and then fecking up. I never thought much of him as a player from my memory of him from 92 onwards.
Secondly, it looks like gspain, billybunter and the rest started off the mexican wave at ireland matches.
Thirdly, the atmosphere does not sound that good in fairness, so people saying old matches had great atmospheres sounds somewhat misleading. People can have blurred images imprinted in their minds from history....just a thought, though this could be down to tension, nerves etc.
Drumcondra 69er
13/06/2008, 12:07 PM
Thirdly, the atmosphere does not sound that good in fairness, so people saying old matches had great atmospheres sounds somewhat misleading. People can have blurred images imprinted in their minds from history....just a thought, though this could be down to tension, nerves etc.
More then likely. There's no doubt that the atmospehere was better back in the day for home games but generally the atmosphere is still great for away games and brilliant at major championships.....
There's no comparison between the old atnosphere at Lansdowne when the terraces were open for the likes of the WC 90 and Euro 92 qualifiers and the atmosphere for recent campaigns (including 02) in Lansdowne or Croker.
Funilly enough the atmosphere in the home Euro 88 qualifiers was fairly subdued because the games were pretty crap (2 nil alls and a scrappy win against Luxembourg) bar the Bulgaria match. I remember there being loads of space on the terraces compared to the following campaign, even at the Bulgaria game the stadium was half empty as people had given uip on qualification at that stage.
13/06/2008, 12:24 PM
More then likely. There's no doubt that the atmospehere was better back in the day for home games but generally the atmosphere is still great for away games and brilliant at major championships.....
There's no comparison between the old atnosphere at Lansdowne when the terraces were open for the likes of the WC 90 and Euro 92 qualifiers and the atmosphere for recent campaigns (including 02) in Lansdowne or Croker.
Funilly enough the atmosphere in the home Euro 88 qualifiers was fairly subdued because the games were pretty crap (2 nil alls and a scrappy win against Luxembourg) bar the Bulgaria match. I remember there being loads of space on the terraces compared to the following campaign, even at the Bulgaria game the stadium was half empty as people had given uip on qualification at that stage.
Ya fair enough, but even for that match people said atmosphere etc was unreal, judging by the 10 mins on BBC the majority of the time the crowd was quiet.
fergalr
13/06/2008, 12:36 PM
Behind the goal but in with the neutrals - Irish section was to our left (being part of the "diaspora" at the time we boiught our tickets in Germany).
Agree with Gary that this was the best day bar none. I was with my brother and two mates - we make a point of keeping in touch each June 12th and this is the email I sent to them yesterday:
June 12th 1988, Stuttgart, West Germany.
A lot of water under the bridge since then. Chelsea had just been relegated, West Germany was still West Germany and another country that no longer exists were about to go all the way to the final of Euro 88. Taoiseach Charlie Haughey watched it in the big gaff he then owned. At the game itself were Brian Lenihan (with original kidneys) and Bertie Ahern (happily married). FAI Security man was Joe Delaney (the Da) – no problems with the tickets then. Then it was emigration nowadays it is (or was) the Celtic Tiger. Then it was Gibraltar and Michael Stone with guns and grenades – nowadays it’s the Peace Process and Michael Stone with a grenade (but this time it was “performance art”).
Looking at some old press clippings – two things at random. The mayor of Stuttgart was Manfred Rommel (son of you know who). Back home many watched the game in shuttered pubs – Kick-off was 2:30 on a Sunday – slap bang in the middle of holy hour (but of course the Gardai “generally turned a blind eye”).
And our day? Don’t remember the coach trip there. I do remember the car park and going into the stadium and being in the neutral section with the Irish section to our left. I remember the heat. I think I remember the goal and the celebrations (we must have had a great view of it). I remember counting down (and shouting out) the minutes on the big clock. I remember chance after chance in front of us in the second half. I remember the added time and the last corner - by then even the Germans were rattling the fence screaming for the final whistle. I have no recollection of the final whistle or what we did then. I do recall us being on the coach again – the English in silence, us in silence (we were drained) and the Scots singing. I recall we ended up that night in a quiet pub (I guess it must have been in Darmstad) letting the enormity of what we had witnessed slowly sink in……
800 years of hurt. Rayser put the ball in the English net. Stuttgart 88 was our equivalent of the GPO 1916. It was 20 years ago today. And we were there.
Hibernian
13/06/2008, 12:53 PM
Behind the goal but in with the neutrals - Irish section was to our left (being part of the "diaspora" at the time we boiught our tickets in Germany).
Agree with Gary that this was the best day bar none. I was with my brother and two mates - we make a point of keeping in touch each June 12th and this is the email I sent to them yesterday:
June 12th 1988, Stuttgart, West Germany.
A lot of water under the bridge since then. Chelsea had just been relegated, West Germany was still West Germany and another country that no longer exists were about to go all the way to the final of Euro 88. Taoiseach Charlie Haughey watched it in the big gaff he then owned. At the game itself were Brian Lenihan (with original kidneys) and Bertie Ahern (happily married). FAI Security man was Joe Delaney (the Da) – no problems with the tickets then. Then it was emigration nowadays it is (or was) the Celtic Tiger. Then it was Gibraltar and Michael Stone with guns and grenades – nowadays it’s the Peace Process and Michael Stone with a grenade (but this time it was “performance art”).
Looking at some old press clippings – two things at random. The mayor of Stuttgart was Manfred Rommel (son of you know who). Back home many watched the game in shuttered pubs – Kick-off was 2:30 on a Sunday – slap bang in the middle of holy hour (but of course the Gardai “generally turned a blind eye”).
And our day? Don’t remember the coach trip there. I do remember the car park and going into the stadium and being in the neutral section with the Irish section to our left. I remember the heat. I think I remember the goal and the celebrations (we must have had a great view of it). I remember counting down (and shouting out) the minutes on the big clock. I remember chance after chance in front of us in the second half. I remember the added time and the last corner - by then even the Germans were rattling the fence screaming for the final whistle. I have no recollection of the final whistle or what we did then. I do recall us being on the coach again – the English in silence, us in silence (we were drained) and the Scots singing. I recall we ended up that night in a quiet pub (I guess it must have been in Darmstad) letting the enormity of what we had witnessed slowly sink in……
800 years of hurt. Rayser put the ball in the English net. Stuttgart 88 was our equivalent of the GPO 1916. It was 20 years ago today. And we were there.
Excellent
Tipp Townie
13/06/2008, 1:09 PM
even at 8 years old I knew to make the most of it.. kids can get away with horrendously gleeful gloating!!!
Totally! I was 8 too, watching it at home on the tv with my (english) father. I was (and remain) a football nut and was 100% behind Ireland. Fair play to me Da', he let me get on with it and allowed me to go mental when we scored.
I was even worse when Sheedy scored two years later, some seriously in-your-face celebrating, but again he just kept calm and let me get on with it. Fair play.
macdermesser
13/06/2008, 1:42 PM
Tommy Smyth talked about the goal today on the ESPN broadcast, but did not mention that today was the anniversary (at least not in this part, I missed most the rest of it). I've emailed him to see if he knew.
http://www.shareonall.com/Tommy_Smyth_on_Razor_bofk_avi.htm
Also don't forget yesterday was the day Sheedy scored against them in 1990
Fred54 posted them on my request
http://www.shareonall.com/Euro88.England.V.Republic.Ireland.12.07.88.MotD.hi ghlights.f54_bwhw_avi.htm
Thanks a lot worm and please thank Fred54 who is a legend with the MOTD highlights for games
13/06/2008, 1:43 PM
was at the bulgaria match myself and there cant have been more than 20,000 at it. within a few years i had to camp out on the pavement for 14 hours in a vain attempt to get england ’91 tickets
13/06/2008, 1:44 PM
it will take something special to have an experience like 88 or usa 94 again. would it really mean as much these days?
13/06/2008, 2:05 PM
it will take something special to have an experience like 88 or usa 94 again. would it really mean as much these days?
id say yes. was at wc 2002 in japan/korea and it was the best three weeks ever
13/06/2008, 2:08 PM
Secondly, it looks like gspain, billybunter and the rest started off the mexican wave at ireland matches.
Definitely not taking the blame for the Mexican Wave. :mad: Half the fans in Hannover missed ronnie's goal becaus eof it. Thankfully I didn't.
The atmosphere was great. Really Really tense and nervous but still electric.
I wasn't at home for any of the games. i would have loved to have been at home afterwards but wouldn't have missed the game sfor anything. However my impression was that Euro88 was not as big at home as Italia90. It still was huge but life still went on - eg buses ran etc. for Italia90 everything stopped. An americna colleague in Galway forgot about the Romanian game and was working late, left and drove across Galway without seeing anything. He genuinely believed a Nuclear holocaust had happened and was trying to rush home to his wife and daughter. The roads, streets atc were totally empty. The whole country was watching. No other sporting event can or has come close.
Stuttgart for me still tops Genoa but the world cup really took over.
Italy also launched the corporate fan. In Germany it was the football people of Ireland. By Italy out in the islands it was much the same but then for the Italy match the corporate types came out in droves on daytrips (I appreciate football fans did too and I know some of the daytrippers). I was sitting in front of Ossie Kilkenny and some of his mates in brand new Ireland rugby shirts.
One other story I was just reminded of concerns a colleague in Galway at the time who had to attend an important meeting in Holland on June 13th 1988. He generously offered to save the company money by flying on the saturday (saturday night stay was big in those days for flights) and of course got the train to Stuttgart. Unfortunately afte rthe game he missed his train back to holland and when he sobered up on the Tuesday (in Stuttgart) he just made his flight home. He still managed to keep his job.
prince20
13/06/2008, 8:52 PM
Cheers,its not like The Daily TAR to get their facts wrong or is it???????????:)
billybunter
13/06/2008, 10:11 PM
I cant take credit for that, but if memory serves me correctly, we used to have a right good bunch on the south terrace for those qualifiers (I started going in 1986 to Ireland home games) and the majority were happy to partake in the wave - it became somewhat of a ritual. When it then got round to certain sections of the South stand, it would meet with a lack of participation...to which we used to tease those fukers about charging their seats on "access/ Visa" - they were the enemy back in the day - the corporate goonies that would'nt join in this ritual!!!!. My oh my - how things have changed!!!!!
Noelys Guitar
13/06/2008, 11:07 PM
Definitely not taking the blame for the Mexican Wave. :mad: Half the fans in Hannover missed ronnie's goal becaus eof it. Thankfully I didn't.
The atmosphere was great. Really Really tense and nervous but still electric.
I wasn't at home for any of the games. i would have loved to have been at home afterwards but wouldn't have missed the game sfor anything. However my impression was that Euro88 was not as big at home as Italia90. It still was huge but life still went on - eg buses ran etc. for Italia90 everything stopped. An americna colleague in Galway forgot about the Romanian game and was working late, left and drove across Galway without seeing anything. He genuinely believed a Nuclear holocaust had happened and was trying to rush home to his wife and daughter. The roads, streets atc were totally empty. The whole country was watching. No other sporting event can or has come close.
Stuttgart for me still tops Genoa but the world cup really took over.
Italy also launched the corporate fan. In Germany it was the football people of Ireland. By Italy out in the islands it was much the same but then for the Italy match the corporate types came out in droves on daytrips (I appreciate football fans did too and I know some of the daytrippers). I was sitting in front of Ossie Kilkenny and some of his mates in brand new Ireland rugby shirts.
One other story I was just reminded of concerns a colleague in Galway at the time who had to attend an important meeting in Holland on June 13th 1988. He generously offered to save the company money by flying on the saturday (saturday night stay was big in those days for flights) and of course got the train to Stuttgart. Unfortunately afte rthe game he missed his train back to holland and when he sobered up on the Tuesday (in Stuttgart) he just made his flight home. He still managed to keep his job.
I knew things were starting to go downhill after 88 when I saw that prat Chris DeBurgh on the running track after the Italy 1990 game waving at the fans. He admitted later he was'nt really a sports fan.
FarBeag
14/06/2008, 9:38 AM
I had just completed my Leaving cert and was in Dublin with my Dad in a pub called the Horse and Jockey in Inchicore.I was a real GAA supporter at the time and was in training with the Galway minor hurling team but seeing that Galway reached so many semi finals/finals in both the football and hurling and never seemed to win anything I switched my alliance to supporting the enemy. My Dad did not know I had broken my pledge at the time but sorta found out when my fifteen year old brother and myself both got sick on top of my next door neighbour on the way home.
14/06/2008, 9:47 AM
I was over the moon because the girl across the road said she'd go out with me. I was twelve you see. As a result I missed the whole game.
stiofain
14/06/2008, 12:01 PM
I was over the moon because the girl across the road said she'd go out with me. I was twelve you see. As a result I missed the whole game.
Sweet Jaysus, i hope to God you've learnt the error of your ways!
I've no recollection of the game at all, was only a couple of days past my 3rd birthday. Doubt my father would even have watched it, no interest in football :(
Drumcondra 69er
14/06/2008, 1:52 PM
id say yes. was at wc 2002 in japan/korea and it was the best three weeks ever
100% agree. Japan / Korea 02 was streets ahead of USA 94 for the craic. Don't get me wrong, the states was a great experience as well but the locals didn't give a toss about what was going on. Whereas in Japan and Korea the locals were mad for it, the welcome we got in Japan is something I'll never forget, they were genuinely grateful that we'd travelled so far to visit their country, one of the best months of my life.....
14/06/2008, 4:00 PM
100% agree. Japan / Korea 02 was streets ahead of USA 94 for the craic. Don't get me wrong, the states was a great experience as well but the locals didn't give a toss about what was going on. Whereas in Japan and Korea the locals were mad for it, the welcome we got in Japan is something I'll never forget, they were genuinely grateful that we'd travelled so far to visit their country, one of the best months of my life.....
Agree with that. The U.S. organsied the World Cup very well and everything ran like clockwock but nobody knew it was on there and nobody really cared. The Gay Olympics was on in New York the weekend of the Italy game and it was bigger news. Great country to visit but not for football.
I enjoyed Italy the most. It was chaotic unlike Korea/Japan and the U.S. but every single man woman and child in Italy eat slept and drank football for the month.
I really enjoyed Japan (and Korea) and the locals were really into football. It was also run very well in Japan at least.
Paddy Garcia
14/06/2008, 5:03 PM
The Gay Olympics was on in New York the weekend of the Italy game and it was bigger news.
I don't think that's right, it's the same every weekend in central park. ;)
I really enjoyed Japan (and Korea) and the locals were really into football. It was also run very well in Japan at least.
Well we should have got them to organise our training then.
I was in a university common room in London with a bunch of English lads and a few other foreigners (all seemed to be lined up with England). I was the only person supporting Ireland in the room.
Some were ****ed at the end but some were surprisingly gracious (more than I'd have been tbh).
stojkovic
15/06/2008, 3:27 PM
The Gay Olympics was on in New York the weekend of the Italy game and it was bigger news.
On the flight over from London to JFK, Me and my very homophobic friend sat beside this gay chap. He went into gory details about the male g-spot and how he'd shag my mate over Cindy Crawford. I thought I was gonna die from the six hours of laughter.
15/06/2008, 5:30 PM
On the flight over from London to JFK, Me and my very homophobic friend sat beside this gay chap. He went into gory details about the male g-spot and how he'd shag my mate over Cindy Crawford. I thought I was gonna die from the six hours of laughter.
On the flight down to Florida the day after the game my mate Jim dressed in Ireland shirt, tricolour shorts. We were split up all over the plane. He was chatting to this woman on the way to visit her daughter in Florida. He announced "I was just in New York competing in the Gay olympics" The woman replied in all seriousness "I had figured that out all right". He still gets ribbed over it. :D
I think the Italy game result merited an inch on the corner of page 7 of the Sports section of the New York paper that morning. The Gay Olympics had a pages of coverage.
Drumcondra 69er
16/06/2008, 12:21 PM
On the flight down to Florida the day after the game my mate Jim dressed in Ireland shirt, tricolour shorts. We were split up all over the plane. He was chatting to this woman on the way to visit her daughter in Florida. He announced "I was just in New York competing in the Gay olympics" The woman replied in all seriousness "I had figured that out all right". He still gets ribbed over it. :D
I think the Italy game result merited an inch on the corner of page 7 of the Sports section of the New York paper that morning. The Gay Olympics had a pages of coverage.
I was too busy following the OJ Simpson story to even notice the Gay Olympics was on to be honest! :D
20/06/2008, 3:45 PM
Tonight me some friends will watch the Turkey vs Croatia game at home and then take out the videos and reminisce about 1988 over copious amounts of beer and wine. Wife is gone to Belfast :D