View Full Version : I find the RTE Euro 2008 coverage horrible.

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

23/06/2008, 8:58 AM
Owlsfan, have you watched any of the pundits on the other channels?

23/06/2008, 9:21 AM
What is with RTE & the pop up reminders of next game. Do they really have to remind viewers 2-3 times a half when the next game is on? They will remind everyone at half time & full time so it is not as if lack of information. RTE must think viewers only watch 10 minutes of each game.

I think co-commentators fall into two categories - those that describe the obvious (what we are watching in the replay) & those that try to offer some sort of insight. Ray Houghton is definitely the worst of the former - if defender closes down forward he is criticised for being too tight & if it gives him space also criticised.

old git
23/06/2008, 9:34 AM
In fairness, Scolari pointed out the height difference before the game and did nothing about it. CRonaldo is 6'1" and good in the air and what was he doing for the two goals - nothing, lost his man twice.

lets all blame ronaldo for everything.. klose scored first header when i played the center half marked centre forward for all set pieces !!
second goal ballack marked by ferrier who he clearly pushed so how in the fluck is ronaldo to blame here :eek::eek:

23/06/2008, 10:03 AM
Owlsfan, have you watched any of the pundits on the other channels?

Yep, I watched Hansen, Shearer and O'Neill on BBC as well. They had a different view of the first half along with Lawrensen who was co-commentating. They thought it was an utter bore and while I wouldn't have gone that far, a far bit of what they said was correct. However, no personal attacks on managers or players - at least not since Ian Wright was a panelist (their version of Dunphy) and they decided they didn't want a buffoon as a panelist and got rid of him - RTE decided otherwise.

It is obviously immaterial to me what they say about foreign players etc - I just will never forgive THEM (O'H, Giles and Dunphy) for the incessant and PERSONAL attack on Charlton and McCarthy. Having waited 34 years to qualify for a tournament, I then found our national TV station used a forum to vent personal abuse against the two managers that got us to 4 tournaments. There was no dissenting voice. For me it put a cloud over those achievements. For instance, in the documentary THE CHARLTON YEARS, half of it is given up to interviews with Dunphy. FFS!!

23/06/2008, 10:27 AM
wasn't one of those "clowns" Daniel Güiza, the leading scorer in La Liga last year and in whom Barce and Arsenal are interested.

Yeas but you see he doesn't play in England or at Real or Barca and therefor he is a clown... and even if he did play for Barca then he would still be called a clown if the panel wanted to justify an arguement.

23/06/2008, 10:44 AM
I loved Alan Shearer's comment about how he'd understand the Italian's negative tactics if they were a limited side like Turkey. Cheeky ****. Another Semi Final appearance along with their semi final spot at WC2002 - not bad for a side with limited capabilities. MON and Desailly are the two bright spots from a BBC perspective. Motson and Lawro need putting down. Seriously.

23/06/2008, 11:45 AM
Motson and Lawro need putting down. Seriously.

Motson is irritating "heh heh" ok but I like Lawro.

There was an interesting programme on the Beeb the other night about their commentators. They have had some brilliant ones ok (excluding Motson who featured heavily), particularly in cricket but you couldn't beat Murray Walker for the passion he brought to his commentating in F1. My wife was upset that they didn't mention David Vine whom she used fancy I think as he did skiing and other such exciting sports she'd watch:rolleyes:

Aldini98
23/06/2008, 2:38 PM
What really gets to me is that the f-ing panel STILL think that Italy beat Germany on pens in the World cup semi final 2 years ago !

23/06/2008, 4:55 PM
I have watched the games with Itv and Bbc commentary, and switched over to Rte for pre match and half and full time analysis. Anyone else done it that way lads. It's worked for me. Can't stand commentary on Rte or pundetry on English channels. So it's a happy medium for me.

ha ha i do exactly the same, unless its Jim beglin on ITV
I love listening to david Pleat on UTV, a great talent spotter, and lawro isnt bad

But the fun and games that the RTE panel get upto is always a good laugh, but MOn is great on BBc, maybe RTE could poach him?

I notice too that a few pubs are starting to do this too

23/06/2008, 9:03 PM
Martin O'Neill has done a tournament with RTE. Can't remember which one it was but definitely remember him being there. Giles was there too, but I'm not sure Dunphy was. Probably during one of his periodic sulks with RTE.

gilberto_eire
23/06/2008, 9:09 PM
I was watching a game there towards the start when on came the ''Football News'' bit, it went through various stories showing the players in question scoring goals and the likes while the news piece about them was read over.

On they came to the piece about Dunne linked with Spurs and whille they mentioned this they showed archive footage from a game against Sunderland last year , in the two pieces of footage shown Dunne miskicks and ball and puts it out for a corner(i think?) and headers a woeful ball out for a throw, why is it when they got to the Irish man they showed him in the worst possible way, i did'nt see them showing clips of the other players missing tap in's and giving possession away.

Anyone else notice that?

stojkovic
23/06/2008, 9:43 PM
lets all blame ronaldo for everything.. klose scored first header when i played the center half marked centre forward for all set pieces !!
second goal ballack marked by ferrier who he clearly pushed so how in the fluck is ronaldo to blame here :eek::eek:

Im not blaming CRonaldo, Im questioning the manager.

Not always, sometimes the centre half marks the centre half, depends on the players height, heading ability etc. Like putting fullbacks on the posts, its not always fullbacks its usually the two smallest players - which in most cases happens to be fullbacks.

Mr Maroon
23/06/2008, 10:50 PM
one of the worst thing about RTE's coverage IMO is Darragh Moloney. He really annoys me!!

24/06/2008, 6:54 AM
one of the worst thing about RTE's coverage IMO is Darragh Moloney. He really annoys me!!

Especially if you were a Wexford GAA fan who hadn't heard the result of the game, the highlights of which were following the Euro 2008 coverage. He announces the result near the end of the commentary.

The worst commentator is George H who when a team scores, even if it's in the first minute, thinks "game over".

old git
24/06/2008, 10:14 AM
Im not blaming CRonaldo, Im questioning the manager.

Not always, sometimes the centre half marks the centre half, depends on the players height, heading ability etc. Like putting fullbacks on the posts, its not always fullbacks its usually the two smallest players - which in most cases happens to be fullbacks.

not blaming ronaldo :confused: CRonaldo is 6'1" and good in the air and what was he doing for the two goals - nothing, lost his man twice.
looks like you blaming the man big time .. would agree with manager to blame must have know germany strong in the air and should have organised the defence better then again if nobody loses player or makes mistake most games would finish 0-0 :ball:

lionelhutz
24/06/2008, 11:09 AM
Pubs eh... Excellent. I knew it was the way to go. And yes, Martin O Neill in with the Rte boyos would be outstanding television. Him and Dunphy would really disagree on a lot in my opinion. That would be sweet..

O'Neill would completely outwit Dunphy with his knowledge of the game and show him up for the clown that he is. I'd love to see it

25/06/2008, 8:36 PM
This evenings coverage is wrecking me head.

The pictures are delayed, sound isn't.

For the Turkish second goal, the ball was still going across the box and George H was shouting for the goal. Deeply annoying even though it isn't their fault.

25/06/2008, 8:40 PM
The pictures are delayed, sound isn't.

BBC is the same.

25/06/2008, 8:41 PM
BBC is the same.

Same all over Europe apparently.

Closed Account 2
25/06/2008, 8:44 PM
It's a joke that a match played in a country which is pretty much the richest in Europe and one that has a vastly inflated sense of self importance can experience such a monumental cóckup in terms of TV pictures. Perhaps the Swiss should stick to making chocolate and clocks.

25/06/2008, 8:47 PM
Dunphy is embarassing himself. He's a stubborn, prejudiced idiot.

jmurphyc
25/06/2008, 8:48 PM
Hilarious stuff tonight. It'd be funny if Germany won it just to see Dunphy get egg on his face. A team in the European final rubbish. :rolleyes:

gilberto_eire
25/06/2008, 8:48 PM
It's a joke that a match played in a country which is pretty much the richest in Europe and one that has a vastly inflated sense of self importance can experience such a monumental cóckup in terms of TV pictures. Perhaps the Swiss should stick to making chocolate and clocks.

Chocolate and Clocks got in over pocket knives?.... :eek:

25/06/2008, 8:52 PM
Hilarious stuff tonight. It'd be funny if Germany won it just to see Dunphy get egg on his face. A team in the European final rubbish. :rolleyes:

Brilliant row between Dunphy and the others. :D

stojkovic
25/06/2008, 9:00 PM
For you amigo:
Like the fella says, in Italy for 30 years under the Borgias they had warfare, terror, murder, and bloodshed, but they produced Michelangelo, Leonardo da Vinci, and the Renaissance. In Switzerland they had brotherly love - they had 500 years of democracy and peace, and what did that produce? The cuckoo clock.

Orson Welles - The Third Man ?

25/06/2008, 9:07 PM
See below: :rolleyes: :D

stojkovic
25/06/2008, 9:13 PM
All the goals scored by England at the 86 World Cup were scored by Gary Lineker (except one)

25/06/2008, 10:00 PM

Comedy gold alright. Just when you thought Dunphy couldn't make any more of a fool of himself. "They've avoided all the big guns, France, Italy.." But Eamonn, I thought they were both rubbish too ? What a wally. To dismiss the Germans winning mentality and self belief the way he did is just incredibly stupid. They've never had the most gifted players, but consistently over the years have a superb record in tournaments. That's not a coincidence. I've wanted Spain to win the competition from the start, but now I'm slightly torn. As you say it'll be hilarious to see Dunphy if the Germans do it. If Russia get to the final I'll definitely be cheering for the Fatherland.

Rovers fan
25/06/2008, 10:12 PM
You can't deny that they're entertaining on rte but you'd swear dunphy is in a competition with himself to see how many times he can contradict himself.He's a fool.The others talk to him like he is a child,which he is.He doesn't have a clue and the odd time he is right he never shuts up about it.When he's wrong he either dismisses or denies it. He's funny,but you don't laugh with him,you laugh at him.

old git
25/06/2008, 10:14 PM
Comedy gold alright. Just when you thought Dunphy couldn't make any more of a fool of himself. "They've avoided all the big guns, France, Italy.." But Eamonn, I thought they were both rubbish too ? What a wally. To dismiss the Germans winning mentality and self belief the way he did is just incredibly stupid. They've never had the most gifted players, but consistently over the years have a superb record in tournaments. That's not a coincidence. I've wanted Spain to win the competition from the start, but now I'm slightly torn. As you say it'll be hilarious to see Dunphy if the Germans do it. If Russia get to the final I'll definitely be cheering for the Fatherland.

yeah dunphy made a tool of himself tonight... even calling bayern munich a micky mouse club,, and only 2 average players in ballack and lahm ( only when attacking ) to say anyteam is rubbish / useless after reaching a major european final is crazy , as for winning mentaly and self belief did the same mr dunphy not use this over & over when he would drool over roy keane performances . :confused: as for rte coverage of match signal went same time as bbc but at least bbc got a commentary of it ,, it was at least 3-4 mins before rte got pictures back and they had not even the wit to advise the germans had scored a second goal while picture was off

kingdom hoop
25/06/2008, 10:52 PM
If that happened here in Bolivia

I thought lightning was a common occurrence in Bolivia Ruben? At least that's how my lads explained the apparent failure of this season's yield on my plantation anyway. Untrue? Swindlers?

I'm as annoyed as Chippy was with Dunphy earlier!

25/06/2008, 11:49 PM
RTE speech before picture is common just not their fault this time. BBC stuck with radio commentary possibly in attempt to match it up. I can never remember 3 interruptions in a match & to do it in Euro semi final is unacceptable. Last time they get big match in their poxy small stadiums.

To quote Larry David:

Switzerland is a place where they don't like to fight, so they get people to do their fighting for them while they ski and eat chocolate

RTE might be entertainment but it is more reality tv than sports now. Dunphy has become like a little englander (no offence meant English people). He now tries to win arguments by shouting the loudest & seems to think his opinion has credibility. Only a matter of time before he has fight with Brady regarding Ireland.

Dunphy dismissed Germany because none of their players (except for Ballack) played for "big clubs". Obviously he was unaware of Russia or Turkey squads. Is it my imagination or did he criticise Portugal after they were beaten by Germans suggesting Germans a proper team?

kingdom hoop
26/06/2008, 12:20 AM
I can never remember 3 interruptions in a match & to do it in Euro semi final is unacceptable. Last time they get big match in their poxy small stadiums.

:D:D:D

(you are joking - as in mimicking Platini - right?)

26/06/2008, 1:02 AM
Pete doesn't do jokes, it's genetic.
Sounds like the lid fell off again :rolleyes:

Why do you think it was the fault of the Swiss, Pete?

Closed Account 2
26/06/2008, 1:19 AM
Well the match was played in Switzerland, I know the problem was alledgely in Vienna (were the "media city" is), but to be honest they should have backup systems to send pictures out direct from Basel. The picture black out apparently happend all across Europe, once it happend for the 1st time there should have been systems in place to stop it happening again.

As I type this I am watching a game from Quito which is coming through fine via the web. If I can get pictures from Ecuador how come no one could get them from Switzerland about 1/10 of the distance and a supposedly developed country.

26/06/2008, 6:58 AM
Had a visitor in last night and had to turn the sound down and look at it out of the corner of my eye. There seemed to be a rare difference of opinion between the clown and Father Time at the end of the game (with Chippy staying mute) and the clown seemed to be getting agitated. What was all that about ? Didn't see Bill laughing as much either!!

Roadend
26/06/2008, 8:06 AM
Had a visitor in last night and had to turn the sound down and look at it out of the corner of my eye. There seemed to be a rare difference of opinion between the clown and Father Time at the end of the game (with Chippy staying mute) and the clown seemed to be getting agitated. What was all that about ? Didn't see Bill laughing as much either!!

I'm amazed you missed it, I was expecting a monumental rant against Dumpy this morning. He called Germany a rubbish team by the way.

26/06/2008, 8:58 AM
Swiss TV had pictures because they were able to tap into live feed from stadiums. They gave the Germans those pictures too. Seems like they only had a local back up plan.

26/06/2008, 9:12 AM
Dunphy ......... Only a matter of time before he has fight with Brady regarding Ireland.

That's guaranteed. Only question is when. This is the guy who thinks he's the great analyst, saying what lesser pundits fear to say, caling it like it is, etc, etc,etc. What rubbish. Watched a little bit of Hansen and O'Neill on BBC (ignored Shearer) They were saying similar things(i.e sensible) to Brady and Giles. Germany clearly not a great side, but they have a knack of getting the job done, which you just can't dismiss. Only a fool (Humpty Dunphy) would write off their chances in the final.

26/06/2008, 1:03 PM
Well the match was played in Switzerland, I know the problem was alledgely in Vienna (were the "media city" is), but to be honest they should have backup systems to send pictures out direct from Basel. The picture black out apparently happend all across Europe, once it happend for the 1st time there should have been systems in place to stop it happening again.

As I type this I am watching a game from Quito which is coming through fine via the web. If I can get pictures from Ecuador how come no one could get them from Switzerland about 1/10 of the distance and a supposedly developed country.
There have been some stupid
stereotypical barbs against the Swiss, all very ironic considering that Ireland is the infrastructure backwater of western europe, about 50 years behind and with a culture of ineptitude.
I am far from an expert in tv coverage matters but I assume that UEFA are responsible for policy decisions made about TV coverage and matters of back up.

Closed Account 2
26/06/2008, 2:13 PM
There have been some stupid
stereotypical barbs against the Swiss, all very ironic considering that Ireland is the infrastructure backwater of western europe, about 50 years behind and with a culture of ineptitude.
I am far from an expert in tv coverage matters but I assume that UEFA are responsible for policy decisions made about TV coverage and matters of back up.

Bottom line, you organise a tournament, you ensure that you have the means to deliver it. I remember all the tension about would Athens be ready to host the Olympics, it was a close run thing but in the end they did it. Last night the Swiss were caught slipping again. I've been watching football for the last two decades and I've never witnessed such a farce in terms of TV at a major competition. USA 94, Italia 90, Japan/Korea 02, Germany 06, Portugal 04... nothing like this happened there.

It's pretty ****ing basic, people should be able to watch a semi final of a tournament on TV. One or two glitches are fine but most of the second half was cut off. Like I say the Copa Libertadores was viewable live from Ecuador last night, they have nothing like the budget that the Swiss have. To put this into a bit of perspective the total prize fund of the Libertadores is $2.4m (USD), I would wager that the head of the Swiss organising committee probably pockets more than that for Euro 2008.

You can go on about our inadequate infrastructure all you want, but at the end of the day, it's the Swiss - not us - who were running the show last night. They dropped the ball. They were not prepared... but yeah happily for them they were able to watch all of the match on their TVs.

26/06/2008, 2:21 PM
What part did you not understand? UEFA are responsible for the decisions taken with the TV coverage. UEFA media technology is responsible for getting the feed out to the masses.
What next? blame the Swiss for the referee last night:rolleyes:

26/06/2008, 2:32 PM
Bottom line, you organise a tournament, you ensure that you have the means to deliver it. I remember all the tension about would Athens be ready to host the Olympics, it was a close run thing but in the end they did it. Last night the Swiss were caught slipping again. I've been watching football for the last two decades and I've never witnessed such a farce in terms of TV at a major competition. USA 94, Italia 90, Japan/Korea 02, Germany 06, Portugal 04... nothing like this happened there.

You never watched Mexico '86 then, and their frequent breakdowns.

Just one of those things. It can and does happen, from time to time.

26/06/2008, 3:04 PM

so you actually rate this german team then:rolleyes:

Closed Account 2
26/06/2008, 3:04 PM
What part did you not understand? UEFA are responsible for the decisions taken with the TV coverage. UEFA media technology is responsible for getting the feed out to the masses.
What next? blame the Swiss for the referee last night:rolleyes:

The host country should have relevant back up systems in place. They are hosting the tournament they should have the means to broadcast it. Yes it was a mess up by UEFA, but the Swiss are also responsible. Other people in this thread have confirmed they were able to get pictures out to the whole of their country and it seems the Swiss piped the images to Germany too. Audio was also transmitted from Basel (Radio 5 had constant commentary). Basel was the main Swiss location for this tournament, between last nights broadcasting issues and having to import a new pitch... It's all very shoddy.

You never watched Mexico '86 then, and their frequent breakdowns.

Just one of those things. It can and does happen, from time to time.

Well I was 3-4 years old so I dont remember too much of that. Technology has advanced a lot in the 22 years since.

26/06/2008, 3:06 PM
That's guaranteed. Only question is when. This is the guy who thinks he's the great analyst, saying what lesser pundits fear to say, caling it like it is, etc, etc,etc. What rubbish. Watched a little bit of Hansen and O'Neill on BBC (ignored Shearer) They were saying similar things(i.e sensible) to Brady and Giles. Germany clearly not a great side, but they have a knack of getting the job done, which you just can't dismiss. Only a fool (Humpty Dunphy) would write off their chances in the final.

thats not so true
the BBC panel all got it totally wrong last night.
hansen with his Ballack player of tourna rubbish, and how Turkey were going to shut up shop
I thought the RTe guys had it spot on. Turkey should have and so nearly did pull off a result
If turkey won last night what would all ye guys be spouting today?
That german team is rubbish, so what if they are in the final

jmurphyc
26/06/2008, 3:14 PM
so you actually rate this german team then:rolleyes:

No team that makes a European final is rubbish. This German team is by no means their best historically but they have some good individuals and are a decent unit. If such a rubbish team went on to win the competition, what does that say about the rest of Europe?

26/06/2008, 3:36 PM
The host country should have relevant back up systems in place. They are hosting the tournament they should have the means to broadcast it. Yes it was a mess up by UEFA, but the Swiss are also responsible. Other people in this thread have confirmed they were able to get pictures out to the whole of their country and it seems the Swiss piped the images to Germany too. Audio was also transmitted from Basel (Radio 5 had constant commentary). Basel was the main Swiss location for this tournament, between last nights broadcasting issues and having to import a new pitch... It's all very shoddy.
If the Germans tv system got hit by lightening 3 times, momentarily cutting out the signal and the whole system had to reboot, you would still blame the Swiss:rolleyes:
The Swiss have nothing to do with UEFA Media Technology and the Swiss responsibility for that depends upon the extent of their membership of UEFA, just like any other member nation..
The Swiss broadcasting feeds were perfect

UEFA Media (http://www.presseportal.ch/fr/print.htx?nr=100563130)

'For the first time in EURO history, UEFA will produce the television signal for the tournament itself through its subsidiary UEFA Media Technologies SA. As host broadcaster, UEFA Media Technologies will be responsible for the transmission of TV pictures from UEFA EURO 2008™. Over 2,000 people will be involved in Host Broadcast Operations at the IBC and the venues, and over sites such as the team training camps during a four-week period'.

26/06/2008, 3:39 PM
While there have been some great football matches & the play has generally been attacking if Ireland were in this there would be lots of complaints about lack of tickets. The biggest Swiss stadium is barely 40k where as at least the Austrians have 50k in Vienna. There has already been criticism of the organisation that sees only 2 stadiums (Basle & Vienna) used for the entire knock out phase - not so much a tournament held in 2 countries but 2 cities.

Lets face it the Swiss would never have got this if Uefa & Fifa did not have their HQs there.

Before anyone had a go Irelands infrastructure is worse.

26/06/2008, 3:44 PM
Before anyone had a go Irelands infrastructure is worse.
Don't let Greenforever hear you say that! :D