View Full Version : Racist booing must stop

Ref
14/08/2003, 12:43 PM
FAI CEO, Fran Rooney, has called for supporter power to come into play to eradicate racist-based treatment of players at football matches - starting against Australia next Tuesday.

Speaking at a press conference on Wednesday, Rooney revealed that the FAI have been effectively given a yellow card by UEFA, following the continued booing of certain opposition players because of their association with Glasgow Rangers - over the last number of years.

"The bottom line is that the reputation of the Irish fans is tarnished. We've got the best fans in the world but if this continues, it will disappear," he said. "It seems to start with a small group of people and then build from there. From correspondence I have received, I can see that some people didn't know why they are booing and think it was just fun because the player had a few bad touches and the booing was just putting him off.

"But I have also received letters from people in the North of Ireland who are Protestant who were personally abused for asking people to stop booing. We've got a situation that is racist but also bigoted and sectarian."

A complaint by a member of the public about the booing of Georgia and Glasgow Rangers' striker Shota Arveladze was made to UEFA following Ireland's 2-0 victory over Georgia in June, and Rooney stated that UEFA had taken a very dim view of the situation.

"I personally rang Shota Arveladze after the incident to apologise," he said. "The Georgian FA wrote a letter to UEFA saying that they were happy with what we did and UEFA have said they will take no further action. But they have taken the matter very seriously."

Before the Georgia game, manager Brian Kerr used his programme notes to criticise the booing of players while there was a notice below the team sheets in the programme. After the game, Rooney went on television to speak out against the booing as well as apologising to Arveladze.

Rooney also revealed that UEFA have the power to fine the FAI or even force Ireland to play behind closed doors should the problem persist.

For next week's Australia game, several messages have been placed in the programme while stewards have also been trained to deal with racist booing. "If people boo they will be asked to stop and if it continues, appropriate action will be taken," Rooney said, before adding: "If it continues, we would like to stop these people going to games."

Rooney also added that the Association is still committed to turning Lansdowne Road into an intimidating venue for visiting teams to play in, but that racist and sectartian abuse is not welcome.

A statement released by the FAI read:

Fran Rooney, FAI CEO, has called for supporter power to come into play to eradicate racist-based treatement of players at football matches. "With the fantastic support given by the vast majority of our fans, I would call on everyone who attends out games to exercise their influence on the small minority of so called fans who engage in racist based booing," he said.

The call comes in the wake of UEFA's decision to investigate the booing of Shota Arveladze by a minority of the spectators at Lansdowne Road during the recent game against Georgia. As part of the investigation UEFA asked the FAI to respond to the complaint.

In its response, the FAI told UEFA that the Association unequivocally condemns all forms of racist behaviour and that these sentiments had been expressed in the match programme, that the CEO condemned the behaviour of the section of the fans in the media and the Manager's programme comments also condemned such behaviour.

The response also pointed out that Mr Rooney personally made contact with Mr Arveladze on the day following the game, to apologise for the behaviour of the minority of fans who had engaged in the booing.

The FAI subsequently received correspondence from the Georgian FA expressing their deep appreciation of the FAI's handling of their visit.

The UEFA delegate at Lansdowne Road was also satisfied overall with what was an excellent atmosphere at the game.

In view of the above UEFA decided not to take disciplinary action against the FAI following an investigation by the Control and Disciplinary Body (of UEFA) into the booing.

Speaking today, Mr Rooney said: "The booing on a racist basis must stop before we find ourselves sanctioned by UEFA which can ultimately only have a negative impact on our own team. The tremendous reputation of the Irish supporters is in danger of being tarnished by the behaviour of some people at our recent games. We need to generate a wider awareness of this as an issue in football and clearly indicate that it is unacceptable, unwarranted and unhelpful," he added.

"We need to create a greater peer pressure and the fans need to understand the consequences of this type of behaviour in order to eradicate it completely," Mr Rooney said.

www.fai.ie

14/08/2003, 12:45 PM
boooooo

14/08/2003, 12:53 PM
Originally posted by wws
boooooo

That's the most pathetic "boo" I've ever seen.
You need borrow the boo machine off this guy, arpa_y_trebol, here. (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?s=&postid=69867#post69867)

14/08/2003, 6:21 PM
fed up of these idiots. kick them out of landsdowne and be done with it

parnell ranger
15/08/2003, 7:48 AM
drag them out and ban them.
send them to the camps!
Inform on ure neighbour.

(mmm McCarthyism-hes not gone away u know.)

Junior
15/08/2003, 10:12 AM
I know the majority on here have a fairly strong anti boo stance, for those willing to listen to the other side of the argument might find the new website below of interest which I picked up from a celtic forum.

http://www.ok2boo.com/

Ref
15/08/2003, 10:23 AM
incredible the lengths that some people will go to.

it's probably all run by that Silvio Dante.

ok2boo is a non-sectarian, non-racist organisation that has been formed to counterbalance the falsehoods being perpetuated in the media that the booing of Rangers footballers at international football matches involving Ireland is a racist and sectarian act.

what a load of rubbish.

get a life and grow up.

just to remind ok2boo:

For next week's Australia game, several messages have been placed in the programme while stewards have also been trained to deal with racist booing. "If people boo they will be asked to stop and if it continues, appropriate action will be taken," Rooney said, before adding: "If it continues, we would like to stop these people going to games."

Rooney also added that the Association is still committed to turning Lansdowne Road into an intimidating venue for visiting teams to play in, but that racist and sectartian abuse is not welcome.

NorthoftheLee
15/08/2003, 10:24 AM
it doesnt say anything new....they are of the mind set that celtic and ireland go as one.....

We believe that it is the basic right of any Ireland or Celtic supporter to boo a Rangers player on the basis that he plays for Celtic’s nearest and deadliest rivals.

What about all the non-celtic supporting irish supporters who couldnt give a fuc about the scottish league. Why is it our right to boo a rangers player because he playes for celtics rivals??....i couldnt give two fucs about celtic and their rivalries, so why should I have right to boo.....

Keep the celtic rivalry booing for the scottish league and leave it out of lansdowne rd. If celtic fans want to boo rangers players then go to Parkhead or Ibrox for an old firm and boo yourself to death there.

Scottish league football rivalries have no place at an Irish International Foootball Game

Ref
15/08/2003, 10:59 AM
Fran Rooney
"If people boo they will be asked to stop and if it continues, appropriate action will be taken,"

hence it is not 'ok2boo'.

Peterc
15/08/2003, 11:22 AM
Club politics should be left out of international games. You didn't hear Rovers fans booing Glen Crowe when he played for Ireland or Liverpool supporters booing John O'Shea etc. Irish Celtic supporters should bear that in mind and keep Scottish politics and all the trappings that go with it out of the international game. Come to think of it, you never see supporters of national teams wearing foreign club shirts to matches, only here!

15/08/2003, 12:18 PM
Originally posted by Silvio Dante
Let me stress that the oktoboo has nothing to do with me but I support its policies 100% and shall be giving them any support they need in their common sence campaign....

I find the people with the least common sense are those who spell sense with a "c"
[yes I know my spelling is all over the place but thats down to speedy typing, using "c" to spell sense points to a deeper problem, maybe its a thing with celtic fans and their "C' s, like why do they pronounce the first C in Celtic as an S and not the last one?

Double Standards>? Think about it Seltis fans, think about it!

Greenbod
15/08/2003, 12:26 PM
Originally posted by wws
I find the people with the least common sense are those who spell sense with a "c"
[yes I know my spelling is all over the place but thats down to speedy typing, using "c" to spell sense points to a deeper problem, maybe its a thing with celtic fans and their "C' s, like why do they pronounce the first C in Celtic as an S and not the last one?

Double Standards>? Think about it Seltis fans, think about it!

Methinks your slightly obsessed with Celtic!;)

Ref
15/08/2003, 12:53 PM
your views are shared by a few lads in shell suits with wispy moustaches drinking flagons of cider who will boo for a laugh.

fantastic. sums it all up really doesn't it.

:D :D

Greenbod
15/08/2003, 12:56 PM
Originally posted by Ref
fantastic. sums it all up really doesn't it.

:D :D

I think you're attitude to people with wispy moustaches and shell suits smacks of racism!;)

fergalr
15/08/2003, 1:14 PM
Folks,

I am most confused by all this palaver.

1. Why are we using the term "racist booing"?

"racist" (according to merriam-webster) is defined as "a belief that race is the primary determinant of human traits and capacities and that racial differences produce an inherent superiority of a particular race".

These opposition players are being booed because they play for a particular football team. Its nothing to do with the player's race, nationality or creed.

2. Do people equate our shenanigans with the truely racist behaviour that you see at, say a Lazio home game, or in certain mittle-europa venues?

3. Is it only Rangers players that we're not allowed to boo? For a variety of longstanding reasions, I have a particular dislike for Bayern Munich. Do I run the risk of being chucked out by the stewards when Oliver Kahn comes to play in D4?

4. What type of "booing" is now deemed acceptable? May we boo the referee after a dodgy decision? May we boo an opposition player after a bad foul? Are there any other suggested ways that a dedicated fan may help to create the "intimidating athmosphere" that the FAI claim to desire?

5. At the recent Bohs-Roseborg game, there was a considerable section of the home fans who booed every time Harald Brattback got the ball. This booing was, I am informed, bacause the said player used to play for Celtic. I hear that this booing was clearly audible on TV. Did I miss the outcry in the media the next day?

6. Its been widely reported (including page 1 of our national "paper of record") that we have been "warned" by UEFA. However, nowhere in the acres of text on this issue can I see any reference to a letter, memo, email, phone call or even a txt msg from Uefa containing this "warning". Has anyone seen this elusive warning?

If anyone of youse can enlighten me , I'd be most grateful.

Yours, etc
Confused

Ref
15/08/2003, 1:19 PM
see the first post in this thread.

explains it all really.

Mayo_Bhoy
15/08/2003, 1:23 PM
If they're fined so be it. They've been fleecing Irish football for decades anyway, allegedly

So you don't really care if they're fined yet you're concerned that they've been fleecing football for years? How exactly??:confused:

15/08/2003, 1:38 PM
Seltis Abú!!!

Mayo_Bhoy
15/08/2003, 1:40 PM
And sure John Delaney has been on the FAI board for years fleecing all round. Anyone can post any auld ****e they want on the net....so what proof have ya gor and how does this justify the booing???? What about the fine???

BTW Alan Maybury is a Rangers fan, so if he wins a cap how will you treat him??

Ref
15/08/2003, 1:49 PM
BTW if Alan Maybury ever gets in the Irish first 11 in the future it'll be Kerr I'll be booing for putting such a bog standard player on the pitch in the firstplace....:D

Alan Maybury has 2 full caps, 1 B cap and 8 U21 caps.

Mayo_Bhoy
15/08/2003, 2:06 PM
Oops…I’m suitably embarrassed. I remember now him getting a cap against the Czech Rep ¾ years ago but who did he win his second against??

But how would you and the other ‘fans’ react if a Rangers player lined out for Ireland??

Mayo_Bhoy
15/08/2003, 2:16 PM
If the lad in in the Green of ireland he'll get my full support....

A rare moment of snity in this thread:)

15/08/2003, 2:31 PM
agreed

u can never have too many 'snity' moments

15/08/2003, 4:22 PM
It is a way to express your feelings in the ground. I for one have a deep dislike for Rangers and what alot of their fans stand for. One way of expressing that emotion is to boo their players on the pitch.

so you support booing two australians because you don't like what rangers fans stand for. what exactly do they stand for?

that ok2boo website is very nicely put together, i like the way they give a prominent box to the fact that irish fans were voted the best at the WC2002. wouldn't it be great to maintain that reputation......

fergalr
15/08/2003, 4:54 PM
Originally posted by Ref
see the first post in this thread.

explains it all really.

Thanks, but that FAI statement leaves me none the wiser.
For example, how does "Uefa to take no action" morph into "Uefa warning" or "Uefa yellow card"??

It gets worse...

Now I see on uefa.com that Fran says that we boo them because we think cos they play for Rangers that they must be protestant!!! Has Fran not heard of Mo J, all those Italians, not to mention that Georgian lad?

Also on uefa.com, Fran refers to "predominantly Roman Catholic Irish supporters". As a non-Catholic Ireland fan I take grave exception to this sectarian slur. I feel a letter to the Irish Times coming on....

yur man
15/08/2003, 6:39 PM
club allegiances should be left to club competitions

its bad enough that irish fans ignore the eLeague, but its very insultin to bring foreign club politics to ireland games :mad:

grow up silvio et all

fan in reading
16/08/2003, 10:30 PM
The booing of (ex-) Rangers players is not the first example of booing at Landsdowne Road. Gerard Houllier made a presentation to one of Brian Kerr's successful underage teams (the European Championship winners, I think) during half-time at the Croatia Euro 2000 qualifier and, when his name was announced prior to coming onto the pitch to make the presentation, it was greeted with a not insignificant level of booing. I think that he was about to/had just become manager of Liverpool and I assumed (rightly or wrongly) that the boos came from Ireland/Manchester United supporters. Whilst I thought that it was strange and unnecessary at the time (and still do), I did not think it was racist.

As to the current debate, whilst I follow Celtic, I am an Ireland fan first and foremost, by some considerable distance, and prefer to concentrate on supporting anyone who pulls on the green (or whatever colour Umbro come up with next!) jersey rather than, possibly, firing up an opponent by booing them. However, if circumstances dicatate (i.e. bad foul, feigning injury, time wasting etc) then booing is understandable and part of the game.

16/08/2003, 11:51 PM
It's sad and childish that a Liverpool manager or a Rangers player or anything or anyone to do with "Sky Sports Premiership" would be booed or cheered at an Irish ground.

How the place can be overrun by Brit-wannabes like "Silvio Dante" and the rest of the barstool brigade is a shame on our country.

fan in reading
17/08/2003, 2:21 PM
Does the term "Brit-wannabee" include all/any Irish supporter/player/manager born outside of the 26 counties?

17/08/2003, 6:01 PM
Originally posted by fan in reading
Does the term "Brit-wannabee" include all/any Irish supporter/player/manager born outside of the 26 counties?

i think neil was suggestiong that silvio's interests are those of an irish man who's interests lie outside of irish football rather than how you took it up.

fan in reading
17/08/2003, 7:02 PM
Point taken - sorry if I appeared "touchy"!

18/08/2003, 10:13 AM
Originally posted by fan in reading
No.

Just idoits like Silvio who feel a need to "support" British teams. And put down our own.

Ref
18/08/2003, 3:29 PM
I've been on to mates who are going to the game and they're determined to boo their hearts out in protest against the FAI for their 'threats'(aswell as the Rangers players of course if they play)

well i hope they get kicked out.

NigeSausagepump
18/08/2003, 3:54 PM
I've been on to mates who are going to the game and they're determined to boo their hearts out in protest against the FAI for their 'threats'(aswell as the Rangers players of course if they play)

This is yet another FAI plan thats going belly up....:D
Good stuff

I've been on to mates sitting in various spots around the ground who are determined to have a quiet words with a steward to inform them where the boo boys are. It'll be done nice and discretely so the Celtic heroes won't know when to stop.

Let's see how effective their "point" is when they're languishing outside Landsdowne.

fergalr
19/08/2003, 12:47 PM
Originally posted by Ref
well i hope they get kicked out.
You'd actually want to see a fellow Ireland fan get ejected because they were booing opponents!?

Jeez - you boys must lead such sad, sad lives.

fergalr
19/08/2003, 1:06 PM
It must be remembered that most here are EL purists and have an aversion to teams with average attendances higher than 6,000 and get past the first round proper of European competitions....:D:D:D

Now, now Silvio!

I had thought that was distinguished the anti-boo lobby was that they read the Irish Times and secretly preferred rugger (much more sporting and inclusive y'know).

I'm an EL and Premiership fan myself.

Lets say that in a couple of years time we were playing Ukraine and Andrei Pereplyotkin was playing. I'd be booing my head off at the little runt - are any of you rugger-buggers going to be off complaining to the stewards?

NigeSausagepump
19/08/2003, 1:09 PM
We'll be going nowhere bud. Garauntee it....

Dear oh dear son.

Let me provide you with an elementary lesson in law.

You buy a ticket to enter the ground to attend an FAI sponsored event. Implicit in that transaction is your consent to submit to FAI rules and regulations for the duration of said event. Contravening these rules will make you liable for any censure outlined by the FAI. Resisting this censure entitles the FAI to call on the gardai to assist them in enforcing their rules.

Celtic fans like to identify with violent heroes in another part of this island and I think they will be the only people you will be impressing should you resist ejection this evening.

Looking forward to grassing you up son!

19/08/2003, 1:45 PM
It matters little what the personal opinions of people are about the booing & why it done. The simple fact is Uefa are watching & they will lump it in with other forms of sectarian or racist abuise & will fine the FAI or ensure the next game played behind closed doors.

If Manchester "fans" booed Harry Kewell it may not be sectarian but would pathetic & make irish supporters look like idiots.

NigeSausagepump
19/08/2003, 1:56 PM
Originally posted by pete
It matters little what the personal opinions of people are about the booing & why it done. The simple fact is Uefa are watching & they will lump it in with other forms of sectarian or racist abuise & will fine the FAI or ensure the next game played behind closed doors.

If Manchester "fans" booed Harry Kewell it may not be sectarian but would pathetic & make irish supporters look like idiots.

Very true, but y'see the welfare of the Ireland team matters not a whit to the Celtic heroes. As long as they get to "make their point" (which still escapes me) it doesn't matter if Ireland gets punished.

How great would it be if we ended up finishing second and having to play the home leg of the play off at a neutral venue because of these brainless gimps? Yeah it might seriously hamper our chances of qualification, but as long as they score some points over "the huns" it's all good.

19/08/2003, 4:59 PM
As far as i know Silvio is right about the fact that UEFA will not be watching (not officially to punish the FAI).

Where i stand on this is clear from my posts, but while I'm sick of the pro-boo lobby, i'm really annoyed with Fran Rooney at the moment. He doesn't seem to have thought any of his objections out. He's running around in circles without properly convincing anyone, and his arguments keep changing depending on who he's interviewing with. I hate to say it, but i think he's making the situation worse.

20/08/2003, 8:01 PM
Originally posted by tiktok
I hate to say it, but i think he's making the situation worse.
i think you're right there- the FAI are making a balls of his whole thing. Do they not realise the inherent stupidityand contradiction in what they're doing: they're asking celtic "fans" not to boo rangers players, and then playing the fields of athenry and you'll never walk alone and rooney himself was a celtic season ticket holder :rolleyes: