View Full Version : Paul McGrath on Newstalk

an_ceannaire
26/05/2008, 8:11 PM
Anyone else hear him? 2 senior and he was at pains to emphasise senior Irish players (oh who oh who could he mean :rolleyes: ) refused to sign autographs for 3 under 10 lads he has brought into the players lounge as a present afer being mascots I think he said. These two honourable Irishmen straight up blanked and refused them.
This wasnt on the side of the street, this wasnt at traffic lights, it was in the players lounge after the match and they were guests of Paul McGraths.
DISGRACE:mad:
what fu*king heros

stojkovic
26/05/2008, 8:32 PM
Why did he not box the head off them ?

Greenforever
26/05/2008, 8:43 PM
Anyone else hear him? 2 senior and he was at pains to emphasise senior Irish players (oh who oh who could he mean :rolleyes: ) refused to sign autographs for 3 under 10 lads he has brought into the players lounge as a present afer being mascots I think he said. These two honourable Irishmen straight up blanked and refused them.
This wasnt on the side of the street, this wasnt at traffic lights, it was in the players lounge after the match and they were guests of Paul McGraths.
what fu*king heros

any idea how recent this was?

Colbert Report
26/05/2008, 8:45 PM
Disgraceful. These players shouldn't forget where they came from. McGrath should stop being diplomatic, come out, and name them.

26/05/2008, 8:48 PM
Well I can safely say it wasn't John O'Shea. He'd be excited that somebody recognised him!!!

zenokelly
26/05/2008, 8:49 PM
what fu*king heros

Presuming this was in the last few days, well I presume that's why he's talkin about it now?? The senior players can really only include Duff, Keane and Dunne.

What ******* whoever they were. In fairness it's not too much to ask.

27/05/2008, 7:41 AM
McGrath must just be bitter for bringing these issues to the publics attention now.

Duggie
27/05/2008, 8:11 AM
who were the two players ? cant imagine it was robbie keane, met him before in a pub and had a chat even tho he was out with his mates. cant see him refusing little kids.

Billsthoughts
27/05/2008, 8:12 AM
McGrath must just be bitter for bringing these issues to the publics attention now.

Exactly. He had his chance to sign autographs and get his photo taken when he was a player. Now when the new guys are trying to find their feet he is on criticising them. Why are Newstalk employing such a bitter ex player? I liked McGrath before but now I think he should just put up or shut up.

Duggie
27/05/2008, 8:15 AM
mcgrath's a legend hes not bitter. Players not signing autograph's for kids, anyone actually isnt on really. it would only take a second.

27/05/2008, 8:24 AM

Someone must have been really talking stupid to you cause I reckon that barometer on the sarcasm-o-meter has burst :D

27/05/2008, 8:32 AM
Well mate was out in a Portmarnock hotel last Saturday afternoon at a communion and his 10-year old lad happened to nip into the room where the Irish players were dining and managed to get his pic taken with Keane, Dunne, and lots more of the players and even managed to get one of himself and Trap.

Another interesting story I heard was of the much maligned Steven Ireland meeting a young lad and his dad, United supporters, in a lift in a hotel in Manchester. The kid asked Ireland for his autograph, which he obliged. He told them to wait in the lobby and his brought down a host of other City players who all duly obliged. Unfortunately we only seem to hear about the bad incidents.

Duggie
27/05/2008, 8:52 AM
Well mate was out in a Portmarnock hotel last Saturday afternoon at a communion and his 10-year old lad happened to nip into the room where the Irish players were dining and managed to get his pic taken with Keane, Dunne, and lots more of the players and even managed to get one of himself and Trap.

Another interesting story I heard was of the much maligned Steven Ireland meeting a young lad and his dad, United supporters, in a lift in a hotel in Manchester. The kid asked Ireland for his autograph, which he obliged. He told them to wait in the lobby and his brought down a host of other City players who all duly obliged. Unfortunately we only seem to hear about the bad incidents.

thats cool fair play to him. wouldnt mind getting to meet trap myself either.:cool:

27/05/2008, 9:18 AM
Very disappointing to hear players acting like that. They whine enough when they get bad press that you'd think they could do something as simple as this.

Can someone move the John O'Shea stuff elsewhere. I'm sure he has a thread in here somewhere.

27/05/2008, 9:20 AM

bitter from what? he was involved with the mascots, he got them access to the player's lounge and the players failed with one of the most basic requests, sign your name and stand still for a few seconds while someone takes your photo
as for bringing it to the public's attention "now", it only happened on saturday night, and he has a regular slot on monday nights on newstalk, when else was he going to do it?

27/05/2008, 9:27 AM
bitter from what? he was involved with the mascots, he got them access to the player's lounge and the players failed with one of the most basic requests, sign your name and stand still for a few seconds while someone takes your photo
as for bringing it to the public's attention "now", it only happened on saturday night, and he has a regular slot on monday nights on newstalk, when else was he going to do it?

I'm sure Macy was pulling the proverbial. :)

Noelys Guitar
27/05/2008, 11:00 AM
We have a single version of these stories. One Kerr's and one McGrath's. Kerr's version of the players breaking a curfew has been rubbished by Trap. Certain players not liking Brady is to me a non-story. Brady is not the manager or the assistant manager. Lets wait to here the players version of events in relation to what allegedly happened in the lounge after the game. McGrath is quoting Kerr's account of certain players not liking Brady.

27/05/2008, 11:06 AM
mcgrath's a legend hes not bitter. Players not signing autograph's for kids, anyone actually isnt on really. it would only take a second.

Then another second, then another second, then another second. These guys spend their lives being harrassed by people looking for their autographs. I was beside the Serbian players seating position in the stand on Saturday and Vidic was there. The amount of hassle he was getting from people looking for his autograph when he was just trying to watch the game. Easy for us to say "it just takes a second" but people are entitled to some privacy.

Much ado about nothing.

27/05/2008, 11:10 AM
Kerrs version of the alleged breaking the curfew (courtesy of deep throat) is just his roundabout way of saying now Trap knows what I had to put up with.

Isn't it ironic that Kerr had to put up with journalists digging dirt.:D

Noelys Guitar
27/05/2008, 11:53 AM
Kerrs version of the alleged breaking the curfew (courtesy of deep throat) is just his roundabout way of saying now Trap knows what I had to put up with.

Isn't it ironic that Kerr had to put up with journalists digging dirt.:D

Who is talking to Kerr? Can't believe he is close to any of the current squad. It has to be a journo.

27/05/2008, 12:02 PM
Then another second, then another second, then another second. These guys spend their lives being harrassed by people looking for their autographs. I was beside the Serbian players seating position in the stand on Saturday and Vidic was there. The amount of hassle he was getting from people looking for his autograph when he was just trying to watch the game. Easy for us to say "it just takes a second" but people are entitled to some privacy.This was in a private area after the game where three mascots were brought in., they're well enough paid to take a few seconds out to do that. If they were out shopping with their family or something I could understand it being annoying but this was in the ground just after the game, it's not much to ask.

27/05/2008, 12:08 PM
This was in a private area after the game where three mascots were brought in., they're well enough paid to take a few seconds out to do that. If they were out shopping with their family or something I could understand it being annoying but this was in the ground just after the game, it's not much to ask.

Exactly. A few seconds is all it takes and you've given a few kids a memory for life. A bit of manners goes a long way.

lionelhutz
27/05/2008, 12:33 PM
A friend of mine was in a bar in Limerick Sunday night with all the Munster rugby team and he was amazed at how each of them mingled with every1 in the bar. He watched Paul O'Connell for a while and he worked through almost the entire bar taking photos with fans, signed autographs and generally chatted with them.

I know they may not be as well known as the Irish soccer team but I think it shows the contrasts in the charcter of some people.

27/05/2008, 12:51 PM
Who is talking to Kerr? Can't believe he is close to any of the current squad. It has to be a journo.
That makes sense, as
no one respects a snitch.
But it's an acceptable journalistic moral to snitch.

27/05/2008, 2:09 PM
I'm surprised we haven't started a witch hunt yet on who the culprits might be!!!

Duggie
27/05/2008, 2:39 PM
A friend of mine was in a bar in Limerick Sunday night with all the Munster rugby team and he was amazed at how each of them mingled with every1 in the bar. He watched Paul O'Connell for a while and he worked through almost the entire bar taking photos with fans, signed autographs and generally chatted with them.

I know they may not be as well known as the Irish soccer team but I think it shows the contrasts in the charcter of some people.

i met ken doherty at a snooker tournament in dublin few years ago and he never stopped signing autographs and taking pics. he also went over to a kid in a wheelchair and spent ages with him. i know this hasnt anything got to do with football but same thing.

Greenforever
27/05/2008, 4:03 PM
what fu*king heros

From reading the posts noone else heard it. Can anyone verify if this is true or not?

I find it very hard to believe that this is true, certainly would not be Keane, Duff or Dunne's form, remember after Basle 1 Robbie posed for photos with loads of people in the Hilton after the game and all the players were apologetic for letting the fans down.

27/05/2008, 4:47 PM
McGrath isn't one to just say something that wasn't true, if he said it, I'd believe it happened. He has nothing to gain from it, so why lie?

Greenforever
27/05/2008, 5:01 PM
McGrath isn't one to just say something that wasn't true, if he said it, I'd believe it happened. He has nothing to gain from it, so why lie?

Im not saying that, Im saying did anyone else here him say this? No one has confirmed they actually heard this.

stojkovic
27/05/2008, 7:07 PM
Im not saying that, Im saying did anyone else here him say this? No one has confirmed they actually heard this.

Its in tonights Herald.
But then again they probably robbed it off here :D

beepbeep
27/05/2008, 7:30 PM
i dunno what happened but just wanna point out. theres always 2 sides to every story.

27/05/2008, 8:39 PM
Im not saying that, Im saying did anyone else here him say this? No one has confirmed they actually heard this.I heard it, Paul's slot started after the headlines at 8, was over before 8:30

zenokelly
27/05/2008, 8:59 PM

I presume you didn't read any of the papers today, because it was all over them.

Greenforever
28/05/2008, 9:03 AM
I heard it, Paul's slot started after the headlines at 8, was over before 8:30

Thanks, and no i hadnt read any of the papers yesterday, i'd ;ove to know who it was because it stinks.

My clearest childhood memory was bumping into Don Revie as a 10yr old in a hotel toilet, and my dad asking him for an autograph for me, Don asked where we were from, and brought me up to meet all the Leeds team,

how any player could ignore a kid in circumstances as described by McGrath, is disgusting and really shows off the players ignorance.

i'd hope whoever it was cops on to themselves and goes and visits the kids and apologises for their behaviour.

seanfhear
29/05/2008, 9:59 AM
paul mcgrath is the greatest irish player of all time in terms of achievment for the national team ie;qualifying for and performing at major tournaments.he also had some shortcomings that have been well documented.Ibelieve that he was trying to make us aware of the behaviour of some of our socalled stars of today to try to bring them back closer to the supporters

29/05/2008, 10:10 AM
it could be nothing really. i witnessed one of our high profile rugby players refuse a photo once as he was talking to someone at the time and this lad came over and more or less expected him to drop everything else to allow the photo to be taken. thought it was fair enough as the fans behaviour amounted to hassle in my eyes. would be shocked if one of our players point blankly refused a kid an autograph

mcgrath is a legend but to be honest much of his punditary is poor

29/05/2008, 4:06 PM
Then another second, then another second, then another second. These guys spend their lives being harrassed by people looking for their autographs. I was beside the Serbian players seating position in the stand on Saturday and Vidic was there. The amount of hassle he was getting from people looking for his autograph when he was just trying to watch the game. Easy for us to say "it just takes a second" but people are entitled to some privacy.

Much ado about nothing.

yeah i think so
I mean people can be so rude these days, taking photos without even asking and shoving pens and paper into peoples faces , "heh sign this!

I met robbie keane before and thought he was sound enough, not snobby at all

ShamrockIreland
31/05/2008, 1:57 AM
I've met Damien Duff a few times around and I'd really be shocked if he was one off those players. He still goes into De La Salle College Churchtown to see his old teachers etc a very down to earth lad. A school friend of mine who's brother was in the same class with Duffer and both are still great mates went over to stay in his place last season. Robbie Keane and Dunne cannot see either of them, but McGrath should have at least told us who they were. By senior he could mean Kiely?

SilkCut
31/05/2008, 5:04 AM
I've met Damien Duff a few times around and I'd really be shocked if he was one off those players. He still goes into De La Salle College Churchtown to see his old teachers etc a very down to earth lad. A school friend of mine who's brother was in the same class with Duffer and both are still great mates went over to stay in his place last season. Robbie Keane and Dunne cannot see either of them, but McGrath should have at least told us who they were. By senior he could mean Kiely?

No chance, Kiely dedicates a lot of his free time to educational programmes for underprivilaged kids and people with learning disabilities in the midlands. There was a doco on BBC about the programme. Met him during the Special olympics in Dublin and he was incredible with the athletes. Top bloke our Dean!!!

Paddy Garcia
31/05/2008, 8:22 AM
mcgrath is a legend but to be honest much of his punditary is poor

I don't think this is in the least relevant.

If McGrath asked them to stick a rose up their arse and run around the stadium naked they should have thanked him for the opportunity.

31/05/2008, 8:50 AM
No chance, Kiely dedicates a lot of his free time to educational programmes for underprivilaged kids and people with learning disabilities in the midlands. There was a doco on BBC about the programme. Met him during the Special olympics in Dublin and he was incredible with the athletes. Top bloke our Dean!!!
When he was at Charlton, he used to donate his clean sheet bonus to a local hospital, not sure if it's the same now at West Brom, but I wouldn't be surprised if it was