View Full Version : Drogs 27-5-08
forza rovers
25/05/2008, 7:43 PM
it will be a tough game,i think we will snatch a 1-0 win and will mauro be fit for this one?what do ye think?
Boo_Boy
25/05/2008, 8:11 PM
it will be a tough game,i think we will snatch a 1-0 win and will mauro be fit for this one?what do ye think?
Like you say it'll be though, but i think we will get a 2-1 win, Faz & 4 Star with the goals(if he's fit)
26/05/2008, 5:41 PM
4 Star with the goals(if he's fit)
he hasnt been fit for years!
Boo_Boy
26/05/2008, 5:44 PM
he hasnt been fit for years!
he's only been here a few months!;)
26/05/2008, 6:14 PM
he's only been here a few months!;)
eh no hes been here since 2006 ;)
deecay
26/05/2008, 6:17 PM
4Star = Foy ?
26/05/2008, 6:57 PM
4Star = Foy ?
WAIT..I saw 4 star and thought 4 lights?....whos 4 star? :confused:
red arrow
26/05/2008, 8:12 PM
mauro is fit for the above. also chris butler back. so our defence is strong. don't know about boco i think he is gone. a draw would be a good result a win we are capable of. come on the' bit' o red.
26/05/2008, 8:35 PM
also chris butler back.You sure? Thought it was a 3 game suspension?:confused:
Coltron
26/05/2008, 8:44 PM
I appreciate that you might be playing well, very well even. However, if we don't hockey you tears will appear.
deecay
26/05/2008, 8:58 PM
I appreciate that you might be playing well, very well even. However, if we don't hockey you tears will appear.
Start crying now
srfc1928
26/05/2008, 9:19 PM
sayin as ye're still lookin for a sponsor,maybe ye should give kleenex a ring cause ye're gonna need a box or two to mop up all those tears tomorrow night.:p
26/05/2008, 9:32 PM
I wouldn't be so cocky lads, we'll be lucky to come out of here with a point. Especially if PJ's in goal.
srfc1928
26/05/2008, 10:35 PM
I wouldn't be so cocky lads, we'll be lucky to come out of here with a point. Especially if PJ's in goal.
why do you think Jennings will be in goal?
26/05/2008, 10:37 PM
why do you think Jennings will be in goal?Heard it from a good source today.
srfc1928
26/05/2008, 10:51 PM
Heard it from a good source today.
Has it got anything to do with pats second goal?
Gerry Carr was a bit critical in his interview.
A bit harsh if thats the case,
brush has been v good this season.
26/05/2008, 10:51 PM
Heard it from a good source today.
What's wrong with Dick?
Don't brush the story under the carpet sligoman.
srfc1928
26/05/2008, 11:06 PM
What's wrong with Dick?
Don't brush the story under the carpet sligoman.
No pun intended,eh sligobrewer !
26/05/2008, 11:08 PM
No pun intended,eh sligobrewer !
Completely intended.:cool:
biscuit
26/05/2008, 11:19 PM
PJ to start, well thats what was indicated immediatly after the game and the next day from what i heard, a good sourcve u could say. Its a load of ******, everyone knows he aint up to it. AFAIK GC & PC believe dick should have come for the cross, and arte ready to drophim for it. Brushy has been fantastic this season imo, and one half error doesnt justify him being dropped. Especially if you look at some of the contracts renewed at the start of the season, double standards??:rolleyes:
hopefully they see sense.
deecay
26/05/2008, 11:21 PM
Cookie should be over with us for this,hopefully he stands instead of sitting in that tiny stand
26/05/2008, 11:22 PM
if brush gets dropped due to pat's 2nd goal, i'll lose a bit of respect for cook and carr. ventre can make 50 mistakes a game and he's still guaranteed a start every week
Coltron
27/05/2008, 5:57 AM
We're not looking for a sponsor Srfc1928. We've gone down the charity route. "Playing for Life" is on the front of our new jerseys. It's about working with communities in Kenya to get them moving in the right direction. A good initiative.
On the game: You guys have been struggling on the road. Five points from five games, three of those against Harps. From the highlights against Pat's you played really well. I am looking forward to a good one as we've been banging the ball around at times, too. If we don't win we'll have missed a glorious chance to win the game. We've done this in the last three games so when that chance comes we'll put it away, I bloody hope so anyhow.
sligofan4ever
27/05/2008, 8:31 AM
We're not looking for a sponsor Srfc1928. We've gone down the charity route. "Playing for Life" is on the front of our new jerseys. It's about working with communities in Kenya to get them moving in the right direction. A good initiative.
On the game: You guys have been struggling on the road. Five points from five games, three of those against Harps. From the highlights against Pat's you played really well. I am looking forward to a good one as we've been banging the ball around at times, too. If we don't win we'll have missed a glorious chance to win the game. We've done this in the last three games so when that chance comes we'll put it away, I bloody hope so anyhow.
I was at the our first home game of the season when we played play drogheda it was a very entertaining game I just hope someone can net a goal or 2 this though.
sligofan4ever
27/05/2008, 8:38 AM
whats your team for this one I hear PJ is to be in goals becasue of pats second goal the other night but i highly doubt it. Dont if Butler is back and if Boco's fit enough to play this and bohs in 3 days before he heads too Africa. and those anyione know the story with Almeida if hes in jured or was just late for warm up on friday ?
Brush
Coleman Peers Almeida Bulter (if suspension is up)
Anto O' Grady Ventre Raff
Faz Boco
Subs:
Pat Jennings
Jamie McKenzie
Sean Doherty
Alan Moore
Matthew Judge
sligored
27/05/2008, 9:25 AM
whats your team for this one I hear PJ is to be in goals becasue of pats second goal the other night but i highly doubt it. Dont if Butler is back and if Boco's fit enough to play this and bohs in 3 days before he heads too Africa. and those anyione know the story with Almeida if hes in jured or was just late for warm up on friday ?
Brush
Coleman Peers Almeida Bulter (if suspension is up)
Anto O' Grady Ventre Raff
Faz Boco
Subs:
Pat Jennings
Jamie McKenzie
Sean Doherty
Alan Moore
Matthew Judge
cash a certain starter and he is not even in your 16?
butler has completed his suspension. 1 game for sending off and 1 game for cumulative yellow cards
heading more in hope than in expectation
dublinred
27/05/2008, 9:29 AM
Mother Hughes for the pre-match cup of tea?
Coltron
27/05/2008, 9:59 AM
I'll have the tea on. You guys going to this one?
Likely Drogs line up:
Ewings
Shelly Garts Gavin Cahill
Baker Byrne Keegan Hughes Robbo
Bates
Hughes is after getting a run of games. He looks like a quality midfielder. Has got a few goals and looks like he has a few more in him.
sligofan4ever
27/05/2008, 10:45 AM
cash a certain starter and he is not even in your 16?
butler has completed his suspension. 1 game for sending off and 1 game for cumulative yellow cards
heading more in hope than in expectation
I was actually thinking put cash out the wing and put anto in center mid ahead of danny ventre dont know why i didnt add him the first time :0
redobit
27/05/2008, 11:35 AM
I was actually thinking put cash out the wing and put anto in center mid ahead of danny ventre dont know why i didnt add him the first time :0
Id definetly have Anto in the middle ahead of Danny under current form, Danny seems to be caught at least once a game with his mouth open wondering if he should be doing somethin when the ball is two yards. Reading that back it sounds a little harsh, but he is prone to it
deecay
27/05/2008, 11:41 AM
Anto has to play in the middle,quality in there
brianw82
27/05/2008, 12:05 PM
Can anyone tell me how to get to Utd Park from the train station? Getting the Belfast train from Connolly at 19.00 which gets to Drogheda at 19.31. Is it a walkable distance, or is it safer to get a cab? (would prefer to walk, though)
27/05/2008, 12:10 PM
Hughes is after getting a run of games. He looks like a quality midfielder. Has got a few goals and looks like he has a few more in him.He has slippy feet though;)
Only1Rovers
27/05/2008, 12:50 PM
Almeida is a doubt, he'll be assessed when they get to Drogheda.
All other players are available/fit.
That's according to Cook.
Allegedly no Rovers player have been allowed near a shower for the last two weeks leading up to this game.
Michael Toolan has welcomed the move saying heating bills have been reduced slightly but some of the lads really don’t smell the best, however it is in the best interest of the club going forward!!!!!
WindmillWarrior
27/05/2008, 12:50 PM
Can anyone tell me how to get to Utd Park from the train station? Getting the Belfast train from Connolly at 19.00 which gets to Drogheda at 19.31. Is it a walkable distance, or is it safer to get a cab? (would prefer to walk, though)
Get a cab mate. its a half hour walk! when you're going by Gormanstown/Laytown stations ring this number - 041 9833502 - and tell them you're at the station.
sligofan4ever
27/05/2008, 1:27 PM
does anyone got a link where I can listen to the match much appreciated if anyone those
lowroadrover
27/05/2008, 8:44 PM
1 - 1 full time ,Faz with a penalty 90th minute according to aertel.
red bellied
27/05/2008, 8:53 PM
1 - 1 full time ,Faz with a penalty 90th minute according to aertel.
He missed penalty but put in the rebound. Gavin with the handball, all in the 92nd minute!
D.U.F.C Daire
27/05/2008, 9:07 PM
Fair play to you team, they never gave up and deserved it. Always tried to play football too. :ball:
biscuit
27/05/2008, 9:15 PM
Have to be delighted with that result, after friday i feared the worst. Fair play to the boys for picking themselves up cause moral was low after the pats game. We can realy look forward to getting something at Dalyer!
Boo_Boy
27/05/2008, 9:21 PM
whos 4 star? :confused:
Mauro is 4 star
4 Names: Mauro Alexandre De-Silva Almeida
And the man is a star!
Jeebus
28/05/2008, 12:06 AM
Mauro is 4 star
4 Names: Mauro Alexandre De-Silva Almeida
And the man is a star!
If ever we deserved a point out of a game it was tonight. Justice was served in the 92nd minute, although it did take Faz two goes to score.( initial penalty was saved and he followed through on the goalie's parry)
I think the Drogs fans will agree that we deserved our point. So proud of our lads, a great performance, especially in the 2nd half.
ROVERS TILL WE DIE!!!!!!!!!
deecay
28/05/2008, 12:58 AM
Deserved the point,Jamie played really well 2nd half.Hope Brush is back in for Friday
Coltron
28/05/2008, 5:40 AM
Why did you desever a point? You had a few half chances in the second half when you pushed on, we had about 5-6 breaks where that were half chances. We dominated the game. Should have been 2-0, not 1-1.
Fivesilver
28/05/2008, 8:10 AM
Wow - that was an unpredictable response.
brianw82
28/05/2008, 8:11 AM
Why did you desever a point? You had a few half chances in the second half when you pushed on, we had about 5-6 breaks where that were half chances. We dominated the game. Should have been 2-0, not 1-1.
I'd say we dominated in terms of possession/pressure, but only had 2 clear-cut chances (Peers's header and Coleman's shot). Ye made our goalie work more with whatever possession ye had. You guys were winning those types of games last year, but not now. Not sure what's gone wrong up there?
Personally speaking, I was disappointed with the booing of Hughes. The lad was a great player for us. Yeah, he made a rash tackle near the start, but it was just a rush of blood.
Nice to see Cooke in the away end too. How many of your Wengers would do that?
dublinred
28/05/2008, 8:42 AM
Great game of football in Drogheda last night, O’Grady gave Hughes a lesson in midfield and we totally dominated , gave away a stupid goal just before halftime, one of the Drogheda midfielders made a run and Anto Murphy failed to go with him , Murphy didn’t re-appear for the second half. We had Drogheda pinned in for almost all of the second half but are badly missing a striker who can head the ball as we got plenty of crosses in but they were dealt with by the best defence in the league they had a couple of chances on the counter but these were dealt with by Peers who had a great game. The referee and linesbird were brutal all night and we got nothing until the penalty , long kick from the back to Raf who beat a couple of defenders then sent in a low cross with hit a Drogheda players hand waist high, ref looked at the linesbird who took an eternity to award the penalty , Faz stepped up and did a slow motion version of Ronaldos champions league miss but followed up to score with the rebound. One of the most commited second half performances I have witnessed in long time great to see such pride and passion in the team, good noisy away support about 120 for a midweek game it’s a pity Drogheda are moving as united park is a great place to watch a game.
redobit
28/05/2008, 8:43 AM
Fine result and definelty needed for morale after the Pats match. Pats match was the most annoyed ive been leaving the showgrounds in ages, so two defets in a row would have been tought on the players. Wel done to the players.
redtildead
28/05/2008, 10:51 AM
In the report on Rovers website it shows 7 subs named for Drogs and 2 of them used.:confused:
It mentions Aidan O'Keeffe 3 times so that might be the problem?
http://www.sligorovers.com/content/view/555/1/
Paraic
28/05/2008, 11:02 AM
In the report on Rovers website it shows 7 subs named for Drogs and 2 of them used.:confused:
It mentions Aidan O'Keeffe 3 times so that might be the problem?
http://www.sligorovers.com/content/view/555/1/
thanks for that - I've been trying to confirm both teams - they were taken from Drogs site. will update when i get it.