View Full Version : Tonights Latest - 23/5/08
Mento
23/05/2008, 11:21 PM
I thought the second half was good and the last 10 minutes were very good.
Bus behind mine got attacked as it turned down towards Parnell Sq off North Circular road. Bottles flying, upper deck emergency exit kicked out and young lads jumping out.
Was just glad I wasn't on it.
Sounds like mayhem alright
What were people jumping out the window at the top for?
23/05/2008, 11:26 PM
Sounds like mayhem alright
What were people jumping out the window at the top for?
To get to the people outside.
It all looked pre-arranged. Big gang waiting at the corner, when I looked back I could see a gang standing up on the top deck banging windows and that. After that I didn't see much it was more running commentary from the people who pushed down the back for a better view. Those involved were all about 15-16, mix of male and female, a good few of the group waiting at the corner were carrying bottles and other objects, it was all pretty nasty.
Mento
23/05/2008, 11:34 PM
These retards can't even use the door like everyone else??
Let's smash the window and jump out, doesn't really make much sense
It didn't look pre-arranged or did I see anyone jumping out upstairs.
You could see them running past mine to the bus and by the time they got there, the Rovers fans would obviously have known what was going to happen and reacted. It looked like they were waiting for whatever bus the Rovers fans were on, slashed its tyres so it couldn't get away and then went for it. It's not the route they have normally picked and have done before or the one Rovers fans would be on.
23/05/2008, 11:43 PM
It didn't look pre-arranged or did I see anyone jumping out upstairs.
You could see them running past mine to the bus and by the time they got there, the Rovers fans would obviously have known what was going to happen and reacted. It looked like they were waiting for whatever bus the Rovers fans were on, slashed its tyres so it couldn't get away and then went for it. It's not the route they have normally picked and have done before or the one Rovers fans would be on.
You could see the fear in the eyes. Even random people walking up O'Connell Street on a night out saw it, ran back and away from it.
Was there two incidents? The incident I saw was a good ways from O'Connell St, hadn't even come down to Parnell Sq. It's possible that the group on the bus only jumped up because they saw what was coming, didn't really look that way to me though.
As I said above I didn't see them jumping out the emergency exit myself, it was referred to by a number of others on the bus who had moved down the back for a better view.
It was a horrible incident, planned or not, and I'd imagine very upsetting for anyone on the bus, or buses, involved.
Lack of Gardaí in the area needs to be addressed.
Not two incidents afaik. It took hold and continued with seats a-flying as it hobbled down to O'Connell St where they ran away back into the flats.
Left side of the bus was battered. I know it made O'Connell Street...don't think it would get much further tbh.:(
24/05/2008, 12:00 AM
Not two incidents afaik. It took hold and continued with seats a-flying as it hobbled down to O'Connell St where they ran away back into the flats.
Left side of the bus was battered. I know it made O'Connell Street...don't think it would get much further tbh.:(
The sad thing is all it takes is a couple of patrol cars along the bus route for an hour or so after games, just to keep an eye out for trouble makers gathering looking for trouble.
Football fans will get a bad name because little scumbags, with no interest in the actual game, can get away with attacking buses and terrorising innocent people. I was almost going to open a thread on this in Off Topic or Current Affairs, rather than discuss it here, because I don't really see it as football related. It's anti-social, gang related idiocy, that will result in serious injury or death if it's not gotten to grips with.
The sad thing is all it takes is a couple of patrol cars along the bus route for an hour or so after games, just to keep an eye out for trouble makers gathering looking for trouble.
Sounds so easy doesn't it?
Especially since it happened about 4 times last season too. In the same place. For the same reason.
WoodquayBoy
24/05/2008, 7:35 AM
How did the guy commentating on the Bohs game get a job on the radio!!;)
No idea, he actually works for a paper down here but somehow got the RTE gig for Utd home games as well, and also travels to the odd game outside Galway when there is a full programme like last night.
Don't think RTE ever heard him speak, just gave the job to the first guy who applied
Comic Book Guy
24/05/2008, 7:45 AM
Mukendi and Parkhouse won it for ye on their own. Ramblers were useless but Harps weren't great shakes themselves. That Gavin Cullen fella made 2 world class saves to deny Graham Cummins.
Ramblers, same old story, should have been 3 up inside 20 minutes, conceded a soft goal from a corner, Gethins could have made it two but Rams keeper made a good save, 2nd Harps goal was a fine shot but he went past some Rams players as though they weren't there.
Soft penalty to get us back in it, second half ye created some good chances on the break and hit the bar following a corner, but once again Ramblers finishing was criminal, 3 or 4 gilt edged chances passed up:mad::mad:.
Third killed it but we were missing 4 key players but Harps did enough to win but had Harps played anyone else they probably would have lost.
Larry 'da' Wyse
24/05/2008, 8:05 AM
Bohs 2-1 Galway
Galway did really well and looks like Kenna is moving in the right direction.
They had the majority of play in the first half but poor marking and a bit of Bohs class was the difference.
CharlesThompson
24/05/2008, 10:56 AM
Galway did really well and looks like Kenna is moving in the right direction.
They had the majority of play in the first half but poor marking and a bit of Bohs class was the difference.
+1
Galway were robbed last night. They were the better side in terms of their application last night. I was very impressed with their first half performance especially. Stand out players for me were McGlynn and Leech, the left midfielder (O'Brien?) and the left full back (with the blond hair). Kenna has definately instilled some belief into that side and they showed last night that they have the ability and wherewithall to stay up. We won the match because we had that bit more quality on the pitch, nothing else. When Galway equalised, we took the game to them for the first time and they started to wobble, then we scored and then the match went back to the status quo. It's so frustrating at times because as a Bohs supporter I know that we can play so much better. That of course is not to take away from Galway last night.
Obviously I'm delighted with the win and all and my confidence wouldn't be knocked necessarily as we have a (bad) habit of turning out against the 'bigger' sides, so with Tuesdays match against Pats in mind I can see the game being a score draw however it could obviously go either way, in fact I think I'm already climbing up onto that fence as we speak!
25/05/2008, 9:04 AM
Derry played flowing football all night apart for the 15 mins after UCD scored.
The atmosphere was the best I've seen at a UCD game. Derry could have won by at least 7. All Derry's goals were really good. Morrison's free kick was excellent. Should make for a good MNS on monday with so many goals tonight.
Genuinely baffled how you reckon it could have been seven.
First half was level (even with us down 12 players). Second half you realised our keeper was shaky and started capitalising on that to good effect, but after yez scored the third, yez played out the game and didn't do a huge amount until the last kick.
If youz should have won by seven, we should have scored four.
25/05/2008, 10:49 AM
...even with us down 12 players
I would like to know who the 12 are. All I can think of is:
Matt Gregg
Conor Kenna
Brian Shortall
Ian Bermingham
Killian Gallagher
Ronan Finn
And not all of them would have been playing.
mrtndvn
25/05/2008, 12:10 PM
I would like to know who the 12 are. All I can think of is:
Matt Gregg
Conor Kenna
Brian Shortall
Ian Bermingham
Killian Gallagher
Ronan Finn
And not all of them would have been playing.
Finn played in the second half.
25/05/2008, 12:18 PM
Finn didn't train all week.
The likes of James O'Sullivan, Darren Forsyth and Pat Mullins were out as well. I wasn't given a list; I was only told that we had a squad of 27 and had 15 fit players plus Finn.
It's not about whether they would have played (though Gregg, Kenna, Finn and Bermingham would have been definites and are arguably our four best player; possibly Shortall would have started too - that's half our team out); it's about whether they would have replaced those who were injured. If your replacements are injured along with your first teamers, you're in trouble.
mrtndvn
25/05/2008, 12:24 PM
Finn didn't train all week.
The likes of James O'Sullivan, Darren Forsyth and Pat Mullins were out as well. I wasn't given a list; I was only told that we had a squad of 27 and had 15 fit players plus Finn.
It's not about whether they would have played (though Gregg, Kenna, Finn and Bermingham would have been definites and are arguably our four best player; possibly Shortall would have started too - that's half our team out); it's about whether they would have replaced those who were injured. If your replacements are injured along with your first teamers, you're in trouble.
Last night we were missing plenty.
Quigley
Callaghan
Hargan
Higgins
McCourt
Morrow
Over half a team. So a good result for ourselves coping with that.
25/05/2008, 12:30 PM
You've a much bigger squad than us though; youz can cope with it, but it's harder for us to deal with it.
25/05/2008, 12:39 PM
Mullins is our fifth choice centre half, Shortall may not have started.
Forsyth was dropped from the first team squad long ago because he is crap.
O'Sullivan is fifth/sixth choice centre mid and, like Mullins and Forsyth, wouldn't have played any part in this game.
Gregg, Kenna, Finn and Bermingham were are only starting players absent. Gallagher the only player who was absent that would have started instead of them.
25/05/2008, 1:44 PM
O'Sullivan is fifth/sixth choice centre mid and, like Mullins and Forsyth, wouldn't have played any part in this game.
Like O'Callaghan too?
We had no options to change things around. Forsyth would have been handy to throw on for Paul Byrne, for example. Byrne's been well off form lately. Don't think Forsyth's great, but as options go, we didn't even have it. Not everything's black and white like you young eager whippersnappers would believe. ;)
25/05/2008, 2:42 PM
Rutherford puts Shels one up against Athlone.
25/05/2008, 2:52 PM
HT at Lissywoolen. Goal came in the 33rd minute.
25/05/2008, 4:12 PM
Result now.
25/05/2008, 7:11 PM
The RTÉ match report says Shels were very forunate to come away with 3 points... :mad:
26/05/2008, 3:45 PM
The RTÉ match report says Shels were very forunate to come away with 3 points... :mad:
Sounds accurate :D - the wind was our biggest opponent yesterday.
Battery Rover
26/05/2008, 4:01 PM
Fortunate wouldn't decribe it well enough. We had a 17 year old on the pitch in his 3rd ever match and he was dropping the ball right under the crossbar from corners. Their keeper and defence was having real difficulty dealing with them.
We also coped with the strong cross wind better and tired to play ball on the ground quite a bit more than Shels did.
If we perform like we did yesterday and Waterford on Tuesday we will be top half of the table easily.
deecay
26/05/2008, 5:06 PM
You've a much bigger squad than us though; youz can cope with it, but it's harder for us to deal with it.
Why can ye Dubland people not say ye
26/05/2008, 7:03 PM
I'm allowed choose either; it depends on my mood.