View Full Version : Carlisle keeper
Spoons
19/05/2008, 9:22 AM
What kind of a farce is it to have brought in Carlisle keeper Kieron Westwood into the Irish set-up!!??............the fella himself said "I'm not Irish as such but I am a Cathloic"!!!..............ah yea good lad.....what a plonker for saying such sh*t in the first place but to be called in a few days later is a major insult to Brian Murphy, Barry Murphy, Darren Quigley, Barry Ryan, Gary Rogers and every other keeper in the eircom League who qualify for Ireland........
Trapp said Alan Kelly(Irish goalkeeping coach) made the call , which doesn't surprise me as Gio can't speak English but my oh my Alan Kelly , you should be ashamed of yourself....
Then again our goalkeeping coach Alan Kelly does visit the eircom League grounds very often for talent--NOT!!....did he even hear of the eircom League or is he just on another jolly-up like the rest of the entourage picking up handy money! :mad:
While I agree that either of the Murphys could have been potentially a better call, Quigley is injured and Ryan and Rogers are nowhere near good enough.
Bear in mind that if one of our keepers was called up they would have to miss a couple of important league games just to sit on the bench at international level. While I am sure it would have been a good experience for them can you really see Scully or Fenlon being impressed?
Spoons
19/05/2008, 9:38 AM
I wasn't suggesting all players mentioned would be good enough or if they are injured or not at present.......to have a clown like this chap whom nobody heard of until last weeks first leg play off for Carlisle at Leeds, ahead of any of the lads I mentioned is an insult......people harp on about the major improvement in the LOI , how could anybody take it seriously if players are going to be overlooked by a fella who says he is a "Catholic"....... :eek:
KBurke
19/05/2008, 9:54 AM
Bit unfair on the clubs in the middle of the season to have players called up for a holiday sorry training camp in Portugal.:D
cheifo
19/05/2008, 10:08 AM
Murphys save for Rovers will be on MNS tonight.Check it out.World class save and you will see I am not exaggerating.
19/05/2008, 10:28 AM
Murphys save for Rovers will be on MNS tonight.Check it out.World class save and you will see I am not exaggerating.Whats the relevance of one save to an international call up?:confused:
Whats the relevance of one save to an international call up?:confused:
One game seems to be enough if you play for Carlisle.
Greenforever
19/05/2008, 10:45 AM
I wasn't suggesting all players mentioned would be good enough or if they are injured or not at present.......to have a clown like this chap whom nobody heard of until last weeks first leg play off for Carlisle at Leeds, ahead of any of the lads I mentioned is an insult......people harp on about the major improvement in the LOI , how could anybody take it seriously if players are going to be overlooked by a fella who says he is a "Catholic"....... :eek:
Whom YOU might not have heard of till last week. What makes you thing Alan Kelly doest know him and hasnt seen him play before this?
This talk about Westwood saying he's a catholic but not Irish, has anyone heard the whole interview?
Im not saying he's better than any EL goalkeepers but as previous posters have said do EL managers want to lose their star goalkeeper for a weeks holiday in the sun.
AS long as the EL is a summer season it will go against EL players getting picked for end of season training camps and U21s etc. Weather the El should play summer soccer is another debate altogether.
LeixlipRed
19/05/2008, 10:55 AM
Maybe Ireland should go Israel on us and open citizenship up to all Catholics. Wait, what century is this?
Spoons
19/05/2008, 10:56 AM
Rubbish!!..........Brian Murphy at Bohs last season alone had 25 clean sheets..
Westwood was released by Man City and has done well since he went to Carlisle 4 years ago.....if anybody genuinely believes Westwood warrants a place EVEN on an end of season jolly-up like the trip to Portugal is, then they are seriously deluded......
19/05/2008, 10:59 AM
Westwood had a decent season according to a carlisle fan I know.
Both Murphys are better keepers imo but as above, during the EL season it would be crazy to allow the lad go away for a Holiday when there is a mid season break coming up in a few weeks.
I think what Cheifo was getting at was, there will be a very good example of Murphys ability on MNS tonight.
Heres the two great saves in the Harps - Rovers game : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vxR3QxkpaQ4
1.21 from Cullen and Murphys at 3.54
Gavin Cullen for Ireland
McShels
19/05/2008, 11:03 AM
AS long as the EL is a summer season it will go against EL players getting picked for end of season training camps and U21s etc.
What he said.
Although I also think that Trap could had said, when unveiling his squad to the media, that no EL players were considered due to it only being a training camp.
19/05/2008, 11:03 AM
No point in beating the eL drum lads, Alan Kelly probably just wanted to have a better look at Westwood and so invited him out. He's not going to get a cap, and he probably won't be in any squad in the near future. Kelly probably realised that if he needed to watch Quigley, the Murphys etc. he could pop along to any of the competitive league matches this summer and check them out. With Westwood he would have to wait three months, and since Westwood is just declaring now I'm assuming he's never been looked over before, hence the call out to the camp to see what he's about. Real non-story to get worked up about
Duggie
19/05/2008, 11:06 AM
i blame alan kelly. hopefully after this training camp we will never hear of him again. westwood that is. bring bonner back as goalkeeping coach, proper legend.
19/05/2008, 11:20 AM
i blame alan kelly. hopefully after this training camp we will never hear of him again. westwood that is. bring bonner back as goalkeeping coach, proper legend.I don't think Packie would be too happy to be demoted from FAI technical director to goalkeeping coach....
Duggie
19/05/2008, 11:22 AM
I don't think Packie would be too happy to be demoted from FAI technical director to goalkeeping coach....
hah would like to see him involved in the team though. great guy.
Greenforever
19/05/2008, 11:52 AM
Rubbish!!..........Brian Murphy at Bohs last season alone had 25 clean sheets..
Westwood was released by Man City and has done well since he went to Carlisle 4 years ago.....if anybody genuinely believes Westwood warrants a place EVEN on an end of season jolly-up like the trip to Portugal is, then they are seriously deluded......
BUT ONCE again I ask do EL managers want their players called up for events like this and as long as EL is a summer season this will always be the case, as in the U21s
Greenforever
19/05/2008, 11:53 AM
What he said.
Although I also think that Trap could had said, when unveiling his squad to the media, that no EL players were considered due to it only being a training camp.
I can agree with this, but in fairness Givens made the point that he did not consider El payers for the same reason and got loads of abuse here.
19/05/2008, 11:53 AM
No point in beating the eL drum lads, Alan Kelly probably just wanted to have a better look at Westwood and so invited him out. He's not going to get a cap, and he probably won't be in any squad in the near future. Kelly probably realised that if he needed to watch Quigley, the Murphys etc. he could pop along to any of the competitive league matches this summer and check them out. With Westwood he would have to wait three months, and since Westwood is just declaring now I'm assuming he's never been looked over before, hence the call out to the camp to see what he's about. Real non-story to get worked up about
I'd call that a good point, well made. Can't see what the fuss is about.
Could you imagine the reaction of Pat Fenlon if Murphy packed his bags and headed off on a training camp, hours before Bohs play a vital league game with Cork?
19/05/2008, 11:57 AM
i blame alan kelly. hopefully after this training camp we will never hear of him again. westwood that is. bring bonner back as goalkeeping coach, proper legend.
and how many eL keepers would he call up in all seriousness if he did take the demotion?
I'll wager none at all
Plus ca change as the Frenchies say...
BUT ONCE again I ask do EL managers want their players called up for events like this and as long as EL is a summer season this will always be the case, as in the U21s
The only way I can see all parties being accomodated is if the mid-season break we have in the League is the same time as these camps - then calls up could be made, and the wishes of eL managers accomodated.
paulie_walnuts
19/05/2008, 12:34 PM
Typical rubbish spouted from a LOI fan. Don't take it so personal, he's bound to be more exposed to games in England than over here. Its high time some fans of our league got off their high horses with regard to players and call ups and well just about everything else when that forbidden thing known as English football is mentioned.
Its Irish football thats the forbidden thing surely ? Where else in Europe does playing in your own league debar you from selection from your national side. No point in kidding ourselves though, If you think Trapp has any intention of calling up any LOI player, ever, you're way off the mark. It's just not gpoing to happen. I'm not neccessarily saying he should either, but when you see managers reaching down into the lower English Divisions for players......
Trapp was desperate for a keeper to stand in goal for training. Alan Kelly was probably watching Sky Sports last week. Only probably Brian Murphy is good enough from the LOI. If he got called up would have missed a live TV match. Would Bohs have postponed the game? With mid season break coming up soon would Bohs moan about lost revenue?
19/05/2008, 7:30 PM
Murphy slams Westwood decision (http://www.eleven-a-side.com/boysingreen/news.asp?n=32341)
19/05/2008, 8:41 PM
Murphy slams Westwood decision (http://www.eleven-a-side.com/boysingreen/news.asp?n=32341)
He is only saying what we all think. Dead right fella. and dont care, we are entitled to make all the noise we want about this .... Look at the state of this decision in all fairness, to pick a guy through the granny rule and because he is catholic who plays for Carlisle, thats wht we are talking about here.
I'm sick and tired of the 'banging the eL drum', 'get off your high horses' lark at this stage. Step back ...... look at whats happening ........ and see it for what it is. A brutal decision.
monutdfc
19/05/2008, 8:44 PM
What kind of a farce is it to have brought in Carlisle keeper Kieron Westwood into the Irish set-up!!??............the fella himself said "I'm not Irish as such but I am a Cathloic"!!!
Nothing to do with the league, but international football is now a joke.
When Ireland were beaten by Belgium in the playoff for the 1998 World Cup the goals were scored by a Slav (Nilis - not sure which country but he is from one of the Balkans) and a Brazilian (Oliviera). It's not about representing countries when this rubbish is going on. This guy even says himself he's NOT IRISH.
Buller
19/05/2008, 8:45 PM
Whats the relevance of one save to an international call up?:confused:
Hmmmm, one? He does it nearly every week... I've been saying Barry Murphy is the best keeper in this league for the past two years. He really is a class act and I hope we can hold onto him for next year... Brian Murphy for Bohs comes a close 2nd though.
It's a complete and utter farce that they have not even considered one of the Murphys' and is soley prejudice on Alan Kellys part against the LOI. He really should be ashamed...
19/05/2008, 8:46 PM
Nothing to do with the league, but international football is now a joke.
When Ireland were beaten by Belgium in the playoff for the 1998 World Cup the goals were scored by a Slav (Nilis - not sure which country but he is from one of the Balkans) and a Brazilian (Oliviera). It's not about representing countries when this rubbish is going on. This guy even says himself he's NOT IRISH.
Eh? Nilis was Belgian through and through. Are you sure you're not confusing him with Josip Weber in 1994? And Oliveira had spent the early part of his career playing in Belgium and contributing to Belgian football, which is more than most of the fly-by-night chancers who played for "Ireland" that night ever did.
19/05/2008, 8:54 PM
Hmmmm, one? He does it nearly every week... I've been saying Barry Murphy is the best keeper in this league for the past two years. He really is a class act and I hope we can hold onto him for next year... Brian Murphy for Bohs comes a close 2nd though.
Even if they were looked at i'd be happy, but they weren't. Its ridiculous.
It's a complete and utter farce that they have not even considered one of the Murphys' and is soley prejudice on Alan Kellys part against the LOI. He really should be ashamed...
There in lies the problem.
monutdfc
19/05/2008, 8:57 PM
Eh? Nilis was Belgian through and through. Are you sure you're not confusing him with Josip Weber in 1994?
A quick google and I see I am totally wrong! (where's the embarrassed smilie?) But you are right, Weber played for both Croatia and Belgium, so that must be where I got it from.
And Oliveira had spent the early part of his career playing in Belgium and contributing to Belgian football, which is more than most of the fly-by-night chancers who played for "Ireland" that night ever did.
That's a fair point.
Greenforever
19/05/2008, 9:30 PM
Trapp was desperate for a keeper to stand in goal for training. Alan Kelly was probably watching Sky Sports last week. Only probably Brian Murphy is good enough from the LOI. If he got called up would have missed a live TV match. Would Bohs have postponed the game? With mid season break coming up soon would Bohs moan about lost revenue?
excellent post, dont know if the sky sports bit is through but i doubt if you will see westwood feature in sept.
FFS will all EL lovers cop on and remember this is a bloody training excercise in the middle of the EL season. No EL manager will want his players on this junket.
If the EL is ever going to be represented on the Irish team for junkets like this and invitational tournaments it is only realistically going to happen if they revert back to a traditional season, or they have a mid season break to coincide.
Now in fairness what would you be saying to the outside world if you had a mis season break so one or two players could go sunning themselves;)
cheifo
19/05/2008, 9:56 PM
If a fella says "I'M not Irish" then the gentleman should be taken at his word.Lord help us.
20/05/2008, 8:43 AM
A cynical view might be that perhaps given previous circumstances , He realised that if he overstated his Irishness and willingness to play for the country this might somehow lessen his chances of being called up
20/05/2008, 8:48 AM
FFS will all EL lovers cop on and remember this is a bloody training excercise in the middle of the EL season. No EL manager will want his players on this junket.
From your quote I take it you're not an "EL lover" so how do you know this?
If the EL is ever going to be represented on the Irish team for junkets like this and invitational tournaments it is only realistically going to happen if they revert back to a traditional season, or they have a mid season break to coincide.
You're so right. We're the only league in Europe that plays a summer season.
Now in fairness what would you be saying to the outside world if you had a mis season break so one or two players could go sunning themselves;)
Right again. Better to pick the English to play for us so the "outside world" doesn't laugh at us.
20/05/2008, 3:07 PM
This farce calls into question the entire meaning and purpose of having and supporting an international team. FAI needs to look at this very seriously.
Then again, I suppose the fuss will be buried under blanket coverage of 'our' teams in Moscow.
20/05/2008, 3:09 PM
This farce calls into question the entire meaning and purpose of having and supporting an international team.
How so?
niallsparky
20/05/2008, 3:23 PM
How so?
Being represented by an "Irish" team that isn't really Irish.
Westwood
Foley Bruce O'Brien Kilbane
McGeady Carsley Potter Reid
Connolly Morrison
Subs: Kenny, Breen, McPhail, Delap, Macken
20/05/2008, 3:27 PM
Westwood
Connolly Morrison
The likeliehood of that team ever playing is virtually nil . Delap and Macken havent figured in years and to doubt many of those players Irishness is ludicrious
20/05/2008, 3:28 PM
Oh - look at the Norwegian squad for a couple of games that you could call "junkets" in a couple of weeks time:
Rune Allmenning Jarstein (Rosenborg), Håkon Opdal (Brann), Martin Andresen (Vålerenga), Eirik Bakke (Brann), John Carew (Aston Villa), Vadim Demidov (Rosenborg), Tarik Elyounoussi (Fredrikstad), Christian Grindheim (Heerenveen), Brede Hangeland (Fulham), Thorstein Helstad (Brann), Daniel Fredheim Holm (Vålerenga), Jon Inge Høiland (Stabæk), Azar Karadas (Brann), Erik Nevland (Fulham), Morten Gamst Pedersen (Blackburn),Tore Reginiussen (Tromsø), John Arne Riise (Liverpool), Per Ciljan Skjelbred (Rosenborg), Jan Gunnar Solli (Brann), Jarl-Andre Storbæk (Vålerenga), Fredrik Strømstad (Start), Kjetil Wæhler (Vålerenga).
22 squad members - 16 of whom play in their own country's leagues...
A League season which runs at the same time as the eL
boovidge
20/05/2008, 3:35 PM
Westwood
Connolly Morrison
^Macken and Delap are nowhere near the squad
Mcphail was raised in Ireland to irish parents
Breen, Kilbane and Foley were all brought up as Irish, and supported the Irish side growing up. Kilbane turned down an england youth call up because he was irish.
McGeady suffers sectarian and racial abuse for picking Ireland over Scotland
niallsparky
20/05/2008, 3:52 PM
Alright I was just being pedantic to back up BohDiddley's point. I'm pointing out the worse case scenario. Would you be happy to support a team that looked like that and called themselves Ireland?
20/05/2008, 4:47 PM
How so?
If a third div English player can get into the Ireland team on the basis of his religion, then the team doesn't represent the country.
Even if it is a throwaway comment, which is most likely, and he gets in on a strict interpretation of the rules, his own attitude highlights the absurdity of the setup.
Greenforever
20/05/2008, 4:56 PM
From your quote I take it you're not an "EL lover" so how do you know this?
Incorrect - have been going to LOI games since the 70s, though more of a neutral these days, was a Rovers fan but got fed up with some of their scum supporters, was 400 club member and season ticket holder for shels as kids were shels fans
You're so right. We're the only league in Europe that plays a summer season.
its a fact that the international calender and the euefa club competitions revolve around the winter season
Right again. Better to pick the English to play for us so the "outside world" doesn't laugh at us.
not neccessesarily but i think you're ignoring the reality of how EL clubs would react to thier season being suspended for a jaunt for our interanional side or how they would react to losing players for a meaningless U23 tournament.
20/05/2008, 6:18 PM
McGeady suffers sectarian and racial abuse for picking Ireland over Scotland
Yeah, like that wasn't going to happen anyway :rolleyes:
20/05/2008, 6:22 PM
not neccessesarily but i think you're ignoring the reality of how EL clubs would react to thier season being suspended for a jaunt for our interanional side or how they would react to losing players for a meaningless U23 tournament.
Ah the same way any other club reacts when a player is called up i would have thought, actually no ... probably a better reaction than the 'I is a cat-oh-lick in'i' sentiment anyway. I'd say most clubs would be genuinely proud that a play was called up. I know that when Joe Gamble was called up everyone at our club was delighted.
boovidge
20/05/2008, 8:38 PM
Yeah, like that wasn't going to happen anyway :rolleyes:
So if he had played for Scotland instead he would have got the same amount of abuse?
Boh_So_Good
21/05/2008, 12:14 AM
If a third div English player can get into the Ireland team on the basis of his religion, then the team doesn't represent the country.
Even if it is a throwaway comment, which is most likely, and he gets in on a strict interpretation of the rules, his own attitude highlights the absurdity of the setup.
Spot on - but let's be honest here - I bet the only Irish soccer supporters he has met where probably Ole Ole ******* in Celtic tops and this is very much how they see the Irish team.
The issue is a psychological disorder at the very heart of the Ireland senior soccer set up and the majority of supporters who follow "the boys in green".
Greenforever
21/05/2008, 12:52 AM
Ah the same way any other club reacts when a player is called up i would have thought, actually no ... probably a better reaction than the 'I is a cat-oh-lick in'i' sentiment anyway. I'd say most clubs would be genuinely proud that a play was called up. I know that when Joe Gamble was called up everyone at our club was delighted.
Joe's trip to the US was for 2 recognized International games, the games in Protugal are not Internationals, and I doubt if any of the fringe players will be used once the absentees turn up for Saturday.
I am more than happy to see EL players called up on merit, but dont see much point if they are merely to make up the numbers and not get a look in whne it comes to the matches, in the meantime there clubs are weakened or looking for postponments.
sullanefc
24/05/2008, 12:20 AM
Mike Bassett - "Let's hear it for the England B team"
Tune in to 5:50
l3nX8XlTfJs
CraftyToePoke
26/05/2008, 12:17 PM
came by this info the other day
Westwood has sized up the England set up and although not impossible he would recieve a call up to it, as the Peterborough United keeper just has, he has tactically selected Ireland, citing Kielys less than settled club career of late as an oppertunity for him to take the nr2 spot. he already deems himself higher up than our third choice keepers in the pecking order.
he isnt, and doesnt see himself as Irish in any way, its a career driven decision, and it seems he has been told he will play a part in Thursdays game, so we are about to be represented by this guy.
he is being regularly scouted over the last ten weeks by both west brom and watford and carlisle are preparing for the possibility of losing him.
should they do so (and heres the sickner) one of his potential replacements is Conrad Logan, an Irish keeper on loan to stockport from leicester, a real live Irishman!! another one overlooked.
how accurate all this will prove to be, time will tell.