View Full Version : Weekend 16th-18th May Updates
HarpoJoyce
17/05/2008, 7:49 PM
Hynes has added a thrird goal for Sporting Fingal 0:3
17/05/2008, 8:00 PM
I'm at the showgies, Rovers have Bray outplayed all over the park.
Bray aren't at the races at all.
HarpoJoyce
17/05/2008, 8:20 PM
Kudozovic gets a second for Sligo 2:0 versus Bray.
Athlone Twn 0:3 Sporting Fingal res.
Longford 0:2 Waterford Utd. Res.
happydays97
17/05/2008, 8:53 PM
Sligo 3 up now
forza rovers
17/05/2008, 9:22 PM
full time rovers 3-0 bray
17/05/2008, 10:30 PM
I'm not really surprised.
The last two games (Cobh, Drogs) we've played pretty badly and have been lucky to win. That run of getting results without playing particularly well undoubtedly led them to thinking they'd win the game tonight easily.
LeixlipRed
17/05/2008, 10:34 PM
Should still be happy with the season so far. Another two or three wins and i can't see any possibility of you been drawn into a relegation battle.
Fivesilver
17/05/2008, 11:08 PM
From RTE:
Rovers deservedly went two-up ten minutes into the second-half, thanks to a bit of brilliance from Kuduzovic. Conor O'Grady broke down the left before picking out the Bosnian just inside the area. Kuduzovic skipped past three defenders and rifled the ball into the top of the net.
Bray had a decent chance of an equaliser minutes later when Cawley clipped the ball into captain Colm Tresson at the edge of the box, but the midfielder's fine volley was gathered by the impressive Brush.
Now that would've been some goal. :D
Battery Rover
18/05/2008, 9:25 AM
Sad to see Athlone struggling so bad.Not so long ago Liam Buckley had you flying at the top of the league only for a collapse similar to ours last year deny you promotion.
Have a lovely ground up there,hope ya get back on your feet soon.
Thanks
A lot of restructuring going on at the moment with everything from the Under 17s through Under 20s in the first squad.
We have already started bringing the younger players from these teams into the first team squad with 2 of them making their league debuts last night.
After last seasons disaster both on the pitch and financially it needs to be sorted but it will take time. A couple of good performances under our belt will turn the season round. We have a squad of 28 and of these 16 are aged 20 or under
18/05/2008, 2:04 PM
Should still be happy with the season so far. Another two or three wins and i can't see any possibility of you been drawn into a relegation battle.
I am very happy with the season so far but the last few games that I've seen, we haven't played that well and last night's result shows we didn't play. There's still a long way to go and I think a lot more than 6 or 9 more points will be needed for us to stay up.
WindmillWarrior
18/05/2008, 3:20 PM
Absolute cracker of a match at United Park. First half Drogs blew Pats away with some great football and should have been 2 or 3 up at the break. Pats came back strong in the 2nd half though and got their equaliser - then of course we scored again, and then they scored again. After that it was one of those mad end to end frantic games where anything could happen and there was many chances for both sides - thouroughly entertaining!
JC_GUFC
18/05/2008, 6:17 PM
Two evenly matched teams, but Galway took their chance and we didn't take ours. Would be surprised if they stayed up; we need a forward and a home pitch to stay up ourselves.
I dunno to be honest - I think if you look at the teams and squads the 2 promoted teams look the weakest. That means one of us has to stay up if the 2 of them go down.
We didn't win a game for 10 matches and are only 2 points from safety! I think of all 4 sides we're most likely to improve the most.
Bohs 1 Cork 0
second half just underway
18/05/2008, 7:39 PM
1-1 Heary og
yep, just seen it. fkin hell. :(
2-1 you beauty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rossi
18/05/2008, 7:45 PM
Lovely strike from him
18/05/2008, 7:52 PM
Injury time , im watching on stream itsprobably over
Over now 2-1
18/05/2008, 7:57 PM
i'll take that thanks!
Boo_Boy
18/05/2008, 7:58 PM
im watching on stream
on eircom.net?
18/05/2008, 8:21 PM
yea that was the one
Boo_Boy
18/05/2008, 8:24 PM
yea that was the one
everytime i try to watch setanta on eircom.net it says its unavailable:mad:
18/05/2008, 8:34 PM
I thought Bohs deserved it over the 90. They were the better side.
Fair play to Fenn for scoring. It was impressive when he's so small and he'd been knocked off balance by Gamble. Great delivery for the Cork goal and well done Behan for working Heary. Stunning strike from Rossiter though, right in the corner.
Why wasn't Devine subbed when he was clearly hurt?
18/05/2008, 9:10 PM
2-1 you beauty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rossi
Cracking goal to win, fair play. Bohs look handy this year i has to be said. Dont think City are as bad as results/table makes out but thats never any good to us. Have to start winning now, no more messin' about.
18/05/2008, 9:19 PM
City dominated in the 15 mins before we equalised. When we scored took our foot off the pedal instead of keeping the tempo up.
To do the same thing after the Pats game is not good enough
18/05/2008, 9:19 PM
everytime i try to watch setanta on eircom.net it says its unavailable:mad:
are you watching it from the pc that uses the eircom router?
oldyouth
18/05/2008, 9:23 PM
Sorry, but I gotta butt in with the result of the FAI Youth Cup final played today. Wexford Youths 4-0 Dundalk. Well done lads:p
5ForKeeps
18/05/2008, 9:40 PM
Sorry, but I gotta butt in with the result of the FAI Youth Cup final played today. Wexford Youths 4-0 Dundalk. Well done lads:p
Fair play to the lads, didn't hear the result but jaysus what a win....some party 2nite at Ferrycarraig Park.
oldyouth
18/05/2008, 9:42 PM
Danny Furlong with 4 but one going to the dubious goals committee I would say. I don't want to be the one to tell him if it's been taken away:o
18/05/2008, 9:44 PM
Danny Furlong with 4 but one going to the dubious goals committee I would say. I don't want to be the one to tell him if it's been taken away:o
Aw, hat-trick not good enough for him?
oldyouth
18/05/2008, 9:48 PM
Aw, hat-trick not good enough for him?
Let's just say that Danny can be a little tempremental:p
Nah, his 2nd was a piledriver from about 25 yards. The sweetest strike of a ball I've seen in a long while
18/05/2008, 10:10 PM
Wexford Youths Youths? :p
18/05/2008, 10:11 PM
I dunno to be honest - I think if you look at the teams and squads the 2 promoted teams look the weakest. That means one of us has to stay up if the 2 of them go down.
We didn't win a game for 10 matches and are only 2 points from safety! I think of all 4 sides we're most likely to improve the most.
We'll pick up points others won't (Pat's away, for example). If we get the Bowl pitch sorted, we'll be grand. Two points at home against six away (on proper pitches). Says a lot.
18/05/2008, 10:13 PM
are you watching it from the pc that uses the eircom router?
dont think you need to have an eircom router but you have to have eircom providing broadband. You need to sign up for it. Great service too by the way.
19/05/2008, 7:27 PM
We'll pick up points others won't (Pat's away, for example). If we get the Bowl pitch sorted, we'll be grand. Two points at home against six away (on proper pitches). Says a lot.
We have been performing more or less at our potential and have been lucky to get anything from some games. Other teams around us have either underperformed or been unlucky and are still only two points behind us. As Friday showed, our luck won't last forever.
You can't use the pitch as a reason for not getting points at home- it's the same for everyone that plays on it.