View Full Version : Keiren Westwood G Crewe Alexandra b.1984
Pages :
[
11]
30/05/2016, 4:07 PM
So many people there 20 years or younger who have no recollection of them being in the top flight. 40k tickets sold and many thousands left without tickets, including the missus who had to watch it in a nearby hostelry.
30/05/2016, 4:09 PM
How can anyone not remember or not know of Carlton Palmer?
30/05/2016, 4:15 PM
How can anyone not remember or not know of Carlton Palmer?
Had a quick look at Carlton on Wikipedia. Ended his career at Staveley Miners Welfare FC but I notice that in 2004 he is linked to Dublin City but apparently didn't play. Don't remember that.
30/05/2016, 4:21 PM
We nearly started a mini-riot at a mid-season friendly between UCD and Stockport by singing "One Carlton Palmer". The Stockport fans didn't like him at all after only winning six league games all season as manager (2001/02).
Anyways, Stockport took revenge by signing Gary Dicker off us fairly soon after the match.
30/05/2016, 4:51 PM
Dan McDonnel tweeted that all 4 keepers trained in Cork today. That'd be Westwood, not Rogers :)
Indo had earlier said that FAI refused to confirm if Westwood would make the trip.
Keane sat it out as he was sore. Nice double entendre thrown in there, in context of Fallon's article. That's at least a year's worth of ambiguous interpretation for TOWK to tackle.
TheOneWhoKnocks
30/05/2016, 4:59 PM
Don't kill the messenger!
It's my old friend John Fallon who inferred Keano was throwing a strop several days ago.
ger121
30/05/2016, 10:54 PM
Had a quick look at Carlton on Wikipedia. Ended his career at Staveley Miners Welfare FC but I notice that in 2004 he is linked to Dublin City but apparently didn't play. Don't remember that.
Could have sworn I seen him play for Dublin City against us in Tolka. Mind you the mind plays tricks on you as you get older...
30/05/2016, 11:16 PM
Did anyone see the two bandages around the knee on Westwood:D
30/05/2016, 11:51 PM
Could have sworn I seen him play for Dublin City against us in Tolka. Mind you the mind plays tricks on you as you get older...
Same. Didn't him and Efan Ekoku both move there under Roddy. Pretty sure they played a game or two too...
30/05/2016, 11:52 PM
Did anyone see the two bandages around the knee on Westwood:D
Do you reckon he got Alfe-Inged?
31/05/2016, 8:40 AM
Same. Didn't him and Efan Ekoku both move there under Roddy. Pretty sure they played a game or two too...
They did play. I think it's just that Wiki hasn't complete stats.
31/05/2016, 9:23 AM
Everton showing interest in Westwood http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-3616543/Barcelona-consider-Juan-Mata-midfielder-waits-fit-Jose-Mourinho-s-Manchester-United-plans-Everton-eye-keeper-Keiren-Westwood.html
I see Wednesday are quoted as saying £3 million would acquire his services. I am always fascinated as to how relatively cheaply you can acquire a keeper who is the equivalent really of a top class goal scorer by saving definite goals.
Rumour mill says Middlesboro are also interested.
31/05/2016, 9:33 AM
Can't see Everton signing anyone until they appoint a new manager
DeLorean
31/05/2016, 11:59 PM
I just meant he [Packie] wasn't claiming to know anymore than the rest of us and he made it clear enough that he is only speculating. I've a feeling he's wrong though and that Westwood will get the nod over Forde, fingers crossed.
Delores > Packie > Geysir
01/06/2016, 12:01 AM
They did play. I think it's just that Wiki hasn't complete stats.
Might it be that Dublin City had their results expunged that year?
EDIT: You'd think that I'd recall that was 2006. CAMPIONES!
02/06/2016, 2:05 PM
"but his inclusion flew in the face of some unfavourable perceptions that had hardened into accepted wisdom."
We'll know not to accept Packies wisdom from now on :D Or Geysirs for that matter either :D :D
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/ireland-top-priority-for-keiren-westwood-in-three-way-race-to-be-number-one-402806.html
DannyInvincible
02/06/2016, 2:40 PM
Good piece, that, and clears up a few things.
My brother suggested to me the other day that when O'Neill first intimated there was a possible problem with reliability (which was very vague and ambiguous), he was actually referring purely to physical fitness rather than Westwood's commitment. The idea being that O'Neill wasn't certain about picking a player who would be likely to be suffering injuries and having to pull out, thereby causing squad disruption (not in a malicious way) or fluidity/continuity problems. Those comments by Westwood yesterday would seem to support that notion - that it was purely a physical fitness issue rather than a mentality thing - whilst it seems the media and many others read a meaning into O'Neill's words about Westwood's "reliability" that he may not have actually intended.
News of his withdrawal from various Ireland squads had become an irritant. They raised questions over commitment and sparked the observation from O’Neill that reliability was an issue while feeding the feeling that the pair’s relationship was strained from their time at Sunderland.
“It’s easy to throw that at me, I suppose, but I don’t see where that has any reason,” Westwood said when his frequent absences were put to him, after training at Fota Island yesterday. “The only reason I wouldn’t be in the squad is because I was injured.
“That’s frustrating to read, lads, yeah. I’m not going to lie to you because there’s no real substance to it, apart from I’m injured. It’s not like I’m fully fit and I’ve gone ‘nah, that’s not for me’. I haven’t done that, so it is a bit frustrating.”
I think the comment quoted below shows that he certainly is interested and committed to playing for Ireland.
His was an odd omission [from the squad for the Switzerland/Slovakia games] given his form with Wednesday, with whom he has enjoyed two superb seasons, but it seemed to chime with his experiences under O’Neill in the north-east where he spent so much of his time on the sidelines.
Westwood had sought a move away on loan at one point as Simon Mignolet kept watch in goal, but the Manchester native has explained before that he understood the manager’s refusal to allow him leave and he stressed yesterday that his motives were based on international ambitions.
“I remember telling him that (Giovanni) Trapattoni’s told me if I didn’t play, I’m not going to play (for Ireland). I told Martin that and before I knew it I was out of the team, like. Both teams.” He laughed as he said it, but Westwood eager to look forward now rather than back.
02/06/2016, 2:41 PM
"but his inclusion flew in the face of some unfavourable perceptions that had hardened into accepted wisdom."
We'll know not to accept Packies wisdom from now on :D Or Geysirs for that matter either :D :D
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/ireland-top-priority-for-keiren-westwood-in-three-way-race-to-be-number-one-402806.html
or anyone who claims to know what a look, smile or wink to camera really means
Neither.that he knows he isn't in the squad and saving face by looking happy and unperturbed.
Still trying to figure this one out...
http://gifrific.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/Coach-Mick-Mcarthy-Look-at-Camera-Smile.gif
DeLorean
02/06/2016, 2:59 PM
My brother suggested to me the other day that when O'Neill first suggested there was a possible problem with reliability (which was very vague and ambiguous), he was actually referring purely to physical fitness rather than Westwood's commitment.
Your brother is very wise. That was the very first thing I questioned when O'Neill's 'reliability' comments first surfaced. :)
Is he basically saying that he's pulled out of squads for reasons other than injuries? Or is he just saying he's injured too often?
It's becoming clearer and clearer that his commitment should never have been in question I think, by O'Neill or anybody else.
02/06/2016, 3:12 PM
Delores, you need your own forum( a huge blank canvas) with all this self-quoting.
You'll be worse than me soon with the told you so's. But obviously its more than legitimate and an entitlement.
02/06/2016, 3:14 PM
:D Funny, if you read that piece, the author says the exact same thing! That he was saving face, a wry smile. That article only backs up what I was saying.
Except of course, everyone had read O'Neill wrong and/or McDonagh and the other coaches have a lot of sway. I got a hint of the latter from the same piece and another article(keane and whittling down the squad) on the same paper.
DeLorean
02/06/2016, 3:28 PM
Delores, you need a huge blank canvas with all this self-quoting.
You'll be worse than me soon with the told you so's. But obviously its more than legitimate and an entitlement.
In my defence, I had only asked a question at the time, I didn't have the answers... so not much in the way of 'I told you so'. :o
Plus, I think O'Neill probably was questioning his commitment at the time really.
02/06/2016, 4:27 PM
But sure that's what we do most on this forum, speculate.
That's why Stutts lives in fancy NW London, in a beautiful house after making his millions speculating correctly.
YOu should follow suit El Del.
02/06/2016, 4:43 PM
There was an interview he did before the Swiss game where he said it was Westwood's record of actually being fit after call-ups. The suggestion may be his club is pressurising him to pull out.
Some people should have listened to me sooner.
02/06/2016, 4:53 PM
I doubt if there was club pressure to pull out. I would say O'Neill was miffed about the pull outs but wiser counsel prevailed, possibly from others, that you should bring your best squad and forget about the past. Hmmmm, that said he still brought Given.
p.s. I notice that Westwood got a fingernail to the Hull shot in the semi-final. Meanwhile Given was only getting off the ground by the time a similar "unstoppable" Belarus shot hit the back of the net. I am only sayin'....
02/06/2016, 7:28 PM
In fairness, the Belarus shot was further wide. I actually think Westwood missed a trick with the Hull goal. We debated it here while you were drowning your sorrows.
03/06/2016, 8:37 AM
I doubt if there was club pressure to pull out. I would say O'Neill was miffed about the pull outs but wiser counsel prevailed, possibly from others, that you should bring your best squad and forget about the past. Hmmmm, that said he still brought Given.
We had already proven beyond medical doubt on this thread after the friendlies v Swiss and Slo that Westwood had only pulled out when injured and it was noted that he had also pulled out of the next club game/s. O'Neill also referred to Westwood missing out on club games, supporting his Westwood is unreliable claim but this also did not cut the mustard. There was no basis for MO'Ns unreliable claims re Westwood's availability and dependability, that's why many thought the issue lay elsewhere, ambivalence or ironically began at Sunderland with a dissenting Westwood wanting to start games/go out on loan so he could get back in the Ireland squad.
But if Westwood's past exclusion just came mainly down to O'Neill thinking that Westwood was unreliable then he didn't do his job properly to establish the facts of Westwood's injury/club record and left an important team position vulnerable.
We don't build a team's tactics around the goalkeeper, we play the best goalkeeper available for the competitive games, it's okay if the nr 1 goalie misses 2 games due to injury, the team's formation is not disturbed. When it comes to goalies and O'Neill, somehow the image of a hapless Rab Douglas in the UEFA final is etched in my memory.
03/06/2016, 9:00 AM
Some people should have listened to me sooner.
How did no one like this post? So serious and stuffy on here sometimes. :rolleyes:
03/06/2016, 9:02 AM
p.s. I notice that Westwood got a fingernail to the Hull shot in the semi-final. Meanwhile Given was only getting off the ground by the time a similar "unstoppable" Belarus shot hit the back of the net. I am only sayin'....
I alluded to your first point on another thread, not sure which one, but I think thats another good sign of O'Neills management that he is willing to listen to his trusted advisers. Pity none of them knew/know nothing about Doyle :D
Geysir, unreliable in the sense that his fitness is being called into question, missing club games after ireland internationals proves this too. You don't build your tactics or team around your goalkeeper, but a solid defensive is built around a goalkeeper and his back four, getting to know eachtoher, being able to communicate and control and command the box/defense when needed, the ability to spot weaknesses of your back 4 and use your strengths to compensate and likewise for the back 4 and the keeper. If you are continually disrupting your goalkeeper every couple of games then you lose this consistency and experience. IT still would be no excuse not to bring Westwood, and in my opinion after 2/3 weeks together he could and should be back in as number 1.
07/06/2016, 2:53 PM
IT still would be no excuse not to bring Westwood, and in my opinion after 2/3 weeks together he could and should be back in as number 1.
Well, he has been given the No. 1 jersey. Does that count as coming back as No. 1 ?
this is what went down...
Martin: so Keiren, are you comin to France or whats the story?
Westwood: I will only go if I am number one Marty, a buachaill!
Martin: good enough hi. Westwood gets the number 1 jersey, Roy. Darren starts though.
Westwood: ah youre some cute hoor Marty!
Martin: ah would ye ever feck off ye wee boll!xy boll!x ye.
Westwood: theres a great big shopping centre in Ballymena hi.
Martin: #bants #bestmates
(sorry)
20/07/2016, 9:06 AM
Linked with Hull City in this morning's papers
20/07/2016, 1:42 PM
Linked with Hull City in this morning's papers
Could be seen as one of the bargains of the summer for Hull as the report goes on to say that Westwood has a release clause of £2m, much less than what Wednesday would be hoping to get for one of their star assets. Was wondering why Wednesday signed Jake Kean from Norwich.
20/07/2016, 1:59 PM
Is he going to as backup to mcgregor? Or is jakupovic pushing? Good move if true, only if he is first team.
05/08/2016, 5:10 PM
Signed contract extension until 2019.
08/08/2016, 9:32 AM
Another clean sheet although he didn't really have much to do except deal with some tight back passes. Not convinced about his dominance of the box - inclined to stay on his line perhaps a bit too much. A couple of instances where a call to a defender to let him take the ball might have served the team better.
Spent Sunday afternoon channel surfing between the Test Match, Wednesday/Villa and the hurling (mother was from Waterford). Isn't sport a great way to spend a Sunday afternoon, especially when the in-laws come calling and they are shooed off to the kitchen "because Wednesday are on the tv!!" ?
27/08/2016, 3:18 PM
Howler by Westwood to gift Brentford a goal. Just as Paul predicted :)
28/08/2016, 10:53 AM
Yep, delayed clearing the ball and was charged down.
TheOneWhoKnocks
17/09/2016, 8:34 PM
Conceded a penalty today. Still a better goalkeeper than Randolph apparently.
seanfhear
17/09/2016, 9:16 PM
Conceded a penalty today. Still a better goalkeeper than Randolph apparently.A goalkeeper would be doing particularly badly if he conceded penalties while sitting on the subs bench !
19/09/2016, 9:01 AM
Second major mistake from Westwood in last few games I am afraid (he also dived too early for the peno which was hit down the middle). His ground kicking also seems to have gone askew. Hopefully just a temporary slump in form after two brilliant (I use the word advisedly) seasons.
19/09/2016, 2:57 PM
I still wouldn't be concerned for one second about Westwood being in goals for us. Regardless of how well Randolph has done to date I really do think his lack of game time will catch up on him. He rode his luck in Belgrade, mixing 2 important saves with one colossal blunder and an unconvincing flap and I think it was his worst game for us since he impressed against Germany. Despite Adrian's recent wobble I think he's a good keeper and I'm not sure Bilic will be in a hurry to drop him. I hope I'm wrong.
DeLorean
19/09/2016, 4:51 PM
If I thought it would mean that Westwood would become our number one I'd be happy enough for Adrian to retain his place. For some reason I don't think it will work that way though so hopefully Bilic gives Randolph a run in the team. Was he even considered to be among the best goalkeepers in the Championship when he played there? I wouldn't have thought so.
Fizzer
19/09/2016, 8:29 PM
Who cares what he was considered when he was in the championship? He's at a premier league team now and Westwood isn't.surely it'd be preferable for both keepers to be first choice for their respective teams and for the in-form one to start for us?cant understand the desperation to drop Randolph and get Westwood back in.it wasn't so long ago that Germany fired 6 past him
DeLorean
19/09/2016, 8:49 PM
And Bournemouth put eight past Randy. I just think Westwood is a fair bit better, that's all. Westwood is at the very least an elite Championship goalkeeper, Randolph is/was middle of the road at Championship level I think. He was brought to the PL as back up on a free transfer and never really likely to feature barring an injury to Adrian. I'm not saying it as a dig at Randolph, just pointing out that it's not that outrageous to have a heavy preference towards Westwood, as others believe it's only splitting hairs, which is fair enough too.
TheOneWhoKnocks
19/09/2016, 10:04 PM
Who cares what he was considered when he was in the championship? He's at a premier league team now and Westwood isn't.surely it'd be preferable for both keepers to be first choice for their respective teams and for the in-form one to start for us?cant understand the desperation to drop Randolph and get Westwood back in.it wasn't so long ago that Germany fired 6 past him
Randolph has been a highly rated goalkeeper since he was at Motherwell. And Westwood hasn't exactly cemented a place at any Premier League team he's ever played for. Splitting hairs methinks.
I think Randolph is the least of our problems. There are a couple of other players who are integral to the lack of possession and long ball tactics we are currently deploying which are making us such a turgid team to watch.
Fizzer
20/09/2016, 10:53 AM
Yeah I must say TOWK,I don't usually agree with you but I think in this case you're bang on the point.there are much more concerning positions that we really desperately need to fix as soon as possible in my view,particularly at centre half.Im not sure we'll get away with defending like we did in Belgrade again.Hopefully it was just down to early season rustiness.having said that,it isn't ideal that Randolph is warming the bench,but he does strike me as a guy who doesn't let lack of game time affect him mentally.
20/09/2016, 12:41 PM
Who said it was the most concerning position? Every position is open to debate especially on a quiet forum between matches!
20/09/2016, 2:29 PM
And Bournemouth put eight past Randy..
I must have missed that one during my frequent snoozes! When was that ? What do they say about consciousness? That annoying brief interval between naps!
Goalkeeper is a vital position. Randolph, despite Whelan giving him man of the match, almost presented the opposition with two goals. That said, Westwood is no longer on fire so my clamour for him is diminishing. Where's Forde when you need him.
Now where was I? Oh yeah zzzzzzzzzz